1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

First router with Touch screen

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by JunkBear, Jul 26, 2014.

  1. JunkBear

    JunkBear

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2013
    Messages:
    1,150 (1.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    525
    Location:
    Canada
    FordGT90Concept, johnspack and erocker say thanks.
  2. johnspack

    johnspack

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    4,902 (1.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,065
    Location:
    Nelson B.C. Canada
    Dam, you beat me to it I think.... I like it!
     
  3. FR@NK

    FR@NK

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2006
    Messages:
    699 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    157
    Seems silly to have a 7 inch touch screen on the actual router.
     
    Guitar and remixedcat say thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU
  4. remixedcat

    remixedcat

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    Messages:
    4,053 (1.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,274
    And prolly skimps on the actual parts that matter like the quality of radios, RF management, etc... There's one company that allready has touchscreen anyways called Securify almond. So no this company is not the first.

    Another gimmack like the fridges that can tweet. -_-
     
  5. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    9,422 (5.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,525
    Location:
    Concord, NH
    You ran the software that came on the CD with your router? How cute. :)
     
    Jetster says thanks.
  6. bubbleawsome

    bubbleawsome

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2014
    Messages:
    865 (0.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    845
    Location:
    Alabama, USA
    "500GB SSD Upgrade. Give the Soap more memory"
    *twitch*

    Anyway, it looks pretty cool and I'll admit I would use it if all of my house was linked and I was a billionaire but not for now. :p
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  7. remixedcat

    remixedcat

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    Messages:
    4,053 (1.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,274
    The only use for that storage space that I can see on a router is the OS itself and WAN optimization cache... which this most certainly DOES NOT HAVE!!!
     
  8. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    22,953 (5.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8,918
    Not the first router with a touchscreen.
     
    remixedcat says thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU Crunching for Team TPU
  9. Guitar

    Guitar

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2008
    Messages:
    1,339 (0.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    560
    Location:
    NC
    Seems pretty ridiculous IMO.
     
  10. Toothless

    Toothless

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2014
    Messages:
    3,777 (4.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,712
    Location:
    Bremerton, WA
    Soap?
    [​IMG]
     
    Solaris17 and remixedcat say thanks.
  11. remixedcat

    remixedcat

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    Messages:
    4,053 (1.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,274
    s.o.a.p.!!!
     
    Toothless says thanks.
  12. Liquid Cool

    Liquid Cool

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2011
    Messages:
    697 (0.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    732
    Location:
    The Narrow Road
  13. Shambles1980

    Joined:
    May 3, 2014
    Messages:
    559 (0.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    106
    i dont really get the point of it.
    or the name
     
  14. DayKnight

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2012
    Messages:
    357 (0.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    31
    Lame, fancy, crap, waste of money.
     
  15. Frick

    Frick Fishfaced Nincompoop

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2006
    Messages:
    13,348 (3.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,307
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  16. FordGT90Concept

    FordGT90Concept "I go fast!1!11!1!"

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    18,310 (6.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,585
    Location:
    IA, USA
    I'm seriously thinking about it. My D-Link DGL-4500 has been having more and more hiccups and I really don't see any routers on the market that are that attractive for the asking price. The one thing for sure that is stopping me from contributing is that they haven't convinced me it will actually be a good router. Case in point, the Indie Go Go page says nothing about whether it even has a web/remote admin page. I sure don't want to do all configuration directly from the router. Also, I'm not entirely sure the touchscreen/Android actually serves a useful purpose. If I bought it, it would mostly be for the hardware (2x5GHz, 2x2.4GHz antennas and lots of USB3/SATA connectivity).
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  17. a_ump

    a_ump

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2007
    Messages:
    3,677 (1.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    399
    Location:
    Smithfield, WV
    i agree with many, i'd rather have that cost of screen and arm cpu implementation put into something that pertains to its job....routing network data.
     
    Aquinus and remixedcat say thanks.
  18. FordGT90Concept

    FordGT90Concept "I go fast!1!11!1!"

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    18,310 (6.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,585
    Location:
    IA, USA
    Decided against it. The router isn't next to me and it isn't moving. The person who does sit next to it would never use it. It would probably only get used like five times in its entire life. Additionally, I have no 802.11ac devices and there are none in the foreseeable future. The $200 featured price is tempting (nothing on the market presently can compete just looking at its hardware) but when it's main features would not be used much/at all, I should be looking at a $50 802.11n and not this.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  19. JunkBear

    JunkBear

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2013
    Messages:
    1,150 (1.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    525
    Location:
    Canada
    Almond seems to be based on Windows 8 not Android so basically it's the first one with Android


    Who are you asking that to?

    What does Twitch means? Thx :)

    First one I think with Android. I may be wrong
     
  20. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    9,422 (5.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,525
    Location:
    Concord, NH
    All the people who want a touch screen on their router. ;)
     
    a_ump says thanks.
  21. Liquid Cool

    Liquid Cool

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2011
    Messages:
    697 (0.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    732
    Location:
    The Narrow Road
    FordGT90Concept...

    If you're looking in the 'under $50' range...put this on a short list.

    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produ...e=asus_wireless_router-_-33-320-168-_-Product

    With Shibby Tomato...it's a pretty damn good router.

    Also...

    I came from a D-Link DGL 4300 that I loved...never dropped a connection in 5 years.

    It's made me a big fan of D-Link...so for my own home, I'm using the DIR-655(refurbs are about $30). Despite quite a few people complaining about them, it's the best router I've ever owned. The only downside is with the custom chip they use in the 655...you can't use any open source software on it...but....the latest 1.37 firmware is rock-solid. I'm running two pc's, Roku, and Ooma on mine and it hasn't dropped a connection - period. I've tested an ASUS RT N66 in the house and the D-Link had much better coverage and seemed faster to me(it had less trouble connecting at 300mbps). Just my experience...but I ended up returning the ASUS and keeping my D-Link. I don't plan on upgrading for quite some time. Although...I do get the upgrade bug like everybody else...so I'm a regular reader of small net builder.

    Nothing in our house connects over 300mbps...why buy more.

    Best,

    LC
     
    Last edited: Jul 27, 2014
  22. remixedcat

    remixedcat

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    Messages:
    4,053 (1.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,274
    The router I use is a Cisco Meraki Z1 (review: http://remixedcat.blogspot.com/2014/02/cisco-meraki-z1-review.html) and it's awesome. (I also have two Aruba RAP-109 access points as well as a Meraki MTR12 AP)

    I ditched consumer grade networking becuase the companies don't give a shit about their customers and they rarely fix firmware when my Meraki Z1 has had two firmware updates since I got it about a couple weeks ago.

    having proper VLANs (most consumer implementations have no trunk ports and no custom DHCP scopes) and having more control of my network is worth it. It also has PER CLIENT policies as well so i can allow/block stuff on a per client basis and it also intergrates with meraki systems manager as well. See my review for more details. I have real time B/W monitoring, event logs, site visit logs, application usage logs, performance logs, rogue AP detection,etc. It also has a neat android app for monitoring the Z1 as well. Oh and it also has SNMP support so I get PRTG sensors :)
     
  23. bubbleawsome

    bubbleawsome

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2014
    Messages:
    865 (0.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    845
    Location:
    Alabama, USA
    Ah man I can't explain stuff well. Um, like a jerk or sudden, small movement? I meant "twitch" as a reaction to them calling the 500GB SSD memory instead of storage. 500 GB of RAM would be awesome. :p
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  24. JunkBear

    JunkBear

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2013
    Messages:
    1,150 (1.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    525
    Location:
    Canada
    Ok lile twitchimg when u suddenly have a violient itching attack on your back :)
     
    bubbleawsome says thanks.
  25. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    18,461 (4.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,868
    Location:
    Florida
    but isnt that a license router? how is a consumer going to buy that and afford to have it licensed for use? is it a reduced functionality mode like watch dogs?
     
    10 Year Member at TPU More than 25k PPD

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)