• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

First-Time Build Advice

markd87

New Member
Joined
Jan 27, 2011
Messages
41 (0.02/day)
Likes
0
Location
Chicago
#26
Good catch n-ster.

Mark, you've said this is your first build, and it is obvious that you are trying to build a powerful do-it-all workstation. Almost no one really talks about building a workstation, but there is a lot of talk about gaming systems. Both types of systems are high performance, but a workstation should not be OC'd where as it is assumed that a gaming system will be. The memory that you chose is great, no matter what, but is designed for gaming. I looked on Newegg last night and saw 12GB kits for ~$140 that will do just fine.

The other thing that I wonder is if you really need a 6 core 12 thread system. Please finish the following sentence: I want to be able to.....
Thanks for the advice n-ster and Bumblebee. I chose the 6-core because I want to be able to do very serious multi-tasking. I know I said I will not be gaming, but that may not be entirely accurate. I will do some gaming, but I do most gaming on PS3. The primary functionalities of the system would be music, movies, browsing, Microsoft office, web design, and possibly web hosting. The thing is, when I work I am usually doing a heavy combination of these tasks. I am pretty much always listening to music unless I am watching a movie. I download movies and music on a regular basis in the background. I do web designing using Dreamweaver and Microsoft visual web developer, and always have several browsers and music open while I am working on sites. I also use all other programs on CS5 including Photoshop. In regards to hosting, I am working on a few sites right now that I was considering hosting from my home PC. I felt the 6-core might be overkill, but I thought it more closely fit my profile since I am a heavy multi-tasker, but I don’t use many heavy programs (like gaming). I also chose the 970 because it has more expandability than the 2600k and I hope this system will last me awhile. Let me know your thoughts. I am still considering the 2600k so please let me know if you think I would definitely be wasting money on the 970.

Thanks,

Mark.
 
Joined
Jan 11, 2009
Messages
9,032 (2.71/day)
Likes
1,448
Location
Montreal, Canada
System Name Homelabs, #2 in construction
Processor i7 3930k @ 3.6 GHz | Ryzen 1700
Motherboard AsRock X79 Fatal1ty pro | AsRock x370
Cooling Dark Rock Pro 3 | Wraith Cooler
Memory 32GB (4x8gb) DDR3 2133Mhz | can't afford DDR4 yet lol
Video Card(s) GTX 970 incoming | RX 560 2gb
Storage Bunch of SSDs (HDDs coming eventually)
Display(s) Korean 1440p | Dell refurb 19"
Case BeQuiet! SilentBase 800 | some ATX case
Audio Device(s) AKG KXXX
Power Supply EVGA P2 750W | none yet
#27
In my opinion, whether you need it or not, i7 970 and 12GB of RAM is a good investment. better than a 2600K for sure
 

markd87

New Member
Joined
Jan 27, 2011
Messages
41 (0.02/day)
Likes
0
Location
Chicago
#28
Good catch n-ster.

Mark, you've said this is your first build, and it is obvious that you are trying to build a powerful do-it-all workstation. Almost no one really talks about building a workstation, but there is a lot of talk about gaming systems. Both types of systems are high performance, but a workstation should not be OC'd where as it is assumed that a gaming system will be. The memory that you chose is great, no matter what, but is designed for gaming. I looked on Newegg last night and saw 12GB kits for ~$140 that will do just fine.

The other thing that I wonder is if you really need a 6 core 12 thread system. Please finish the following sentence: I want to be able to.....
Hey Bumblebee, I was also curious... what makes a memory more use for a gaming system?
 
Joined
Jul 2, 2008
Messages
6,433 (1.83/day)
Likes
8,590
Location
Hillsboro, OR
System Name Main/DC
Processor i7-3770K/i7-2600K
Motherboard MSI Z77A-GD55/GA-P67A-UD4-B3
Cooling Phanteks PH-TC14CS/H80
Memory Crucial Ballistix Sport 16GB (2 x 8GB) LP /4GB Kingston DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) Asus GTX 660 Ti/MSI HD7770
Storage Crucial MX100 256GB/120GB Samsung 830 & Seagate 2TB(died)
Display(s) Asus 24' LED/Samsung SyncMaster B1940
Case P100/Antec P280 It's huge!
Audio Device(s) on board
Power Supply SeaSonic SS-660XP2/Seasonic SS-760XP2
Software Win 7 Home Premiun 64 Bit
#29
Hey Bumblebee, I was also curious... what makes a memory more use for a gaming system?
It's ability to OC.

Edit: Oh, and the eye candy.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jan 11, 2009
Messages
9,032 (2.71/day)
Likes
1,448
Location
Montreal, Canada
System Name Homelabs, #2 in construction
Processor i7 3930k @ 3.6 GHz | Ryzen 1700
Motherboard AsRock X79 Fatal1ty pro | AsRock x370
Cooling Dark Rock Pro 3 | Wraith Cooler
Memory 32GB (4x8gb) DDR3 2133Mhz | can't afford DDR4 yet lol
Video Card(s) GTX 970 incoming | RX 560 2gb
Storage Bunch of SSDs (HDDs coming eventually)
Display(s) Korean 1440p | Dell refurb 19"
Case BeQuiet! SilentBase 800 | some ATX case
Audio Device(s) AKG KXXX
Power Supply EVGA P2 750W | none yet
#30
Actually, for gaming you do not need that much memory or memory speed. 4GB~6GB of ddr3 1333 is ample enough. In certein sockets, memory is very important or gaming as good and fast memory led to higher CPU overclock. This is not true for the X58 platform, therefore After 6GB of DDR3 1600, it is practically impossible to actually feel the difference between that and better RAM

"Gaming memory" is really a gimmick, especially the triple channel sets since triple channel is only used for lga 1366 processors and anything over DDR3 1066 is good for gaming
 

markd87

New Member
Joined
Jan 27, 2011
Messages
41 (0.02/day)
Likes
0
Location
Chicago
#31
Actually, for gaming you do not need that much memory or memory speed. 4GB~6GB of ddr3 1333 is ample enough. In certein sockets, memory is very important or gaming as good and fast memory led to higher CPU overclock. This is not true for the X58 platform, therefore After 6GB of DDR3 1600, it is practically impossible to actually feel the difference between that and better RAM

"Gaming memory" is really a gimmick, especially the triple channel sets since triple channel is only used for lga 1366 processors and anything over DDR3 1066 is good for gaming
Ok thanks n-ster. Just a quick follow up question... would you go with the more expensive 12gb DD3 1600 RAM(G.SKILL Ripjaws Series 12GB (3 x 4GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800), or with the cheaper 12gb DD3 1333 RAM (Mushkin Enhanced Silverline 12GB (3 x 4GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1333 (PC3 10666)?
 
Joined
Jan 11, 2009
Messages
9,032 (2.71/day)
Likes
1,448
Location
Montreal, Canada
System Name Homelabs, #2 in construction
Processor i7 3930k @ 3.6 GHz | Ryzen 1700
Motherboard AsRock X79 Fatal1ty pro | AsRock x370
Cooling Dark Rock Pro 3 | Wraith Cooler
Memory 32GB (4x8gb) DDR3 2133Mhz | can't afford DDR4 yet lol
Video Card(s) GTX 970 incoming | RX 560 2gb
Storage Bunch of SSDs (HDDs coming eventually)
Display(s) Korean 1440p | Dell refurb 19"
Case BeQuiet! SilentBase 800 | some ATX case
Audio Device(s) AKG KXXX
Power Supply EVGA P2 750W | none yet
#32
definitiely the mushkins. 40$ premium if just way to much IMO
 
Joined
Jan 11, 2009
Messages
9,032 (2.71/day)
Likes
1,448
Location
Montreal, Canada
System Name Homelabs, #2 in construction
Processor i7 3930k @ 3.6 GHz | Ryzen 1700
Motherboard AsRock X79 Fatal1ty pro | AsRock x370
Cooling Dark Rock Pro 3 | Wraith Cooler
Memory 32GB (4x8gb) DDR3 2133Mhz | can't afford DDR4 yet lol
Video Card(s) GTX 970 incoming | RX 560 2gb
Storage Bunch of SSDs (HDDs coming eventually)
Display(s) Korean 1440p | Dell refurb 19"
Case BeQuiet! SilentBase 800 | some ATX case
Audio Device(s) AKG KXXX
Power Supply EVGA P2 750W | none yet
#34
Don't need to post thanks, you can just use the :) Thanks button :roll:

NP, you'll love your beast, uh I mean PC
 

markd87

New Member
Joined
Jan 27, 2011
Messages
41 (0.02/day)
Likes
0
Location
Chicago
#35
Should I purchase the Windows 7 OEM version at $99.99 or the regular version at $184.99? Is the only difference the fact that the regular can be transferred to a different system if my MOBO breaks?
 
Joined
Jan 11, 2009
Messages
9,032 (2.71/day)
Likes
1,448
Location
Montreal, Canada
System Name Homelabs, #2 in construction
Processor i7 3930k @ 3.6 GHz | Ryzen 1700
Motherboard AsRock X79 Fatal1ty pro | AsRock x370
Cooling Dark Rock Pro 3 | Wraith Cooler
Memory 32GB (4x8gb) DDR3 2133Mhz | can't afford DDR4 yet lol
Video Card(s) GTX 970 incoming | RX 560 2gb
Storage Bunch of SSDs (HDDs coming eventually)
Display(s) Korean 1440p | Dell refurb 19"
Case BeQuiet! SilentBase 800 | some ATX case
Audio Device(s) AKG KXXX
Power Supply EVGA P2 750W | none yet
#36
I'd go for OEM. I've transferred mobos already with an OEM version. and if it doesn't install, you phone them and half the time they let you use it on another mobo, but Retail gives you more piece of mind.

I went for the Win 7 Pro for the extra features like Win XP compatibility mode
 

markd87

New Member
Joined
Jan 27, 2011
Messages
41 (0.02/day)
Likes
0
Location
Chicago
#37
I'd go for OEM. I've transferred mobos already with an OEM version. and if it doesn't install, you phone them and half the time they let you use it on another mobo, but Retail gives you more piece of mind.

I went for the Win 7 Pro for the extra features like Win XP compatibility mode
I am about to buy all this stuff off newegg and there is an ASUS P6X58D Premium MOBO open box for the same price as the Sabertooth. Would there be any reason not to get it instead...?
 
Joined
Jan 11, 2009
Messages
9,032 (2.71/day)
Likes
1,448
Location
Montreal, Canada
System Name Homelabs, #2 in construction
Processor i7 3930k @ 3.6 GHz | Ryzen 1700
Motherboard AsRock X79 Fatal1ty pro | AsRock x370
Cooling Dark Rock Pro 3 | Wraith Cooler
Memory 32GB (4x8gb) DDR3 2133Mhz | can't afford DDR4 yet lol
Video Card(s) GTX 970 incoming | RX 560 2gb
Storage Bunch of SSDs (HDDs coming eventually)
Display(s) Korean 1440p | Dell refurb 19"
Case BeQuiet! SilentBase 800 | some ATX case
Audio Device(s) AKG KXXX
Power Supply EVGA P2 750W | none yet
#38
open box items may be missing the necessary Sata cables, driver disks and manual. If this is the 1st time you are building a computer, stay away
 

markd87

New Member
Joined
Jan 27, 2011
Messages
41 (0.02/day)
Likes
0
Location
Chicago
#39
open box items may be missing the necessary Sata cables, driver disks and manual. If this is the 1st time you are building a computer, stay away
Yeah I saw that on newegg's disclosure when I went to check out and opted out.
 
Joined
Jan 11, 2009
Messages
9,032 (2.71/day)
Likes
1,448
Location
Montreal, Canada
System Name Homelabs, #2 in construction
Processor i7 3930k @ 3.6 GHz | Ryzen 1700
Motherboard AsRock X79 Fatal1ty pro | AsRock x370
Cooling Dark Rock Pro 3 | Wraith Cooler
Memory 32GB (4x8gb) DDR3 2133Mhz | can't afford DDR4 yet lol
Video Card(s) GTX 970 incoming | RX 560 2gb
Storage Bunch of SSDs (HDDs coming eventually)
Display(s) Korean 1440p | Dell refurb 19"
Case BeQuiet! SilentBase 800 | some ATX case
Audio Device(s) AKG KXXX
Power Supply EVGA P2 750W | none yet
#40
I'd go with my motherboard if I were you.. X58A-UD3R... The Sabertooth is great, but for X58 mobos I prefer Gigabyte :)