• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

First Time OCer (AMD 6400+)

1337noob

New Member
Joined
Dec 19, 2008
Messages
6 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
Processor AMD Athlon 64 X2 Dual Core 3.2GHz (OC 3.4GHz)
Motherboard ASUS M3N72-D
Cooling Artic Cooling CPU Fan, 2 120mm RAIDMAX Case Fans, 2 80mm RAIDMAX side vent fans
Memory 3Gb Crucial Ballistx
Video Card(s) XFX GeForce 8800GT Aplha Dog Edition
Storage WD 500Gb 16Mb Cache 7200rpm
Display(s) 24" Westinghouse
Case RAIDMAX Smilodon
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply Antec Phantom 500w
Software Windows XP Pro
#1
Ok I've been building PCs for some time now (about a year and a half) and just placing parts where they go is getting old (only because I'm running out of money for exciting parts). So I want to try to overclock my AMD Athlon 64 X2 6400+ (3.2GHz) CPU. It's not the Black edition so it is only partially unlocked. meaning I can only lower the multiplier (at least thats my understanding). But, if I lower the multiplier to 15 (from standard 16) and raise the operating speed to 233 (from 200) I should be able to get about 3.5GHz out of it. I did that and upon restart my CPU shows a speed of 3495MHz which is great. But I can't find a voltage that will stabilize it, Right now, at those settings I can't boot windows. It freezes during the load screen.

So can anyone tell me anything about this?? what voltages / speeds are you running with this CPU? I know there are other factors in OCing like HT link speed and RAM voltage. Please help me out with any information you can.

Thanks
 

CH@NO

New Member
Joined
May 24, 2007
Messages
901 (0.23/day)
Likes
59
Location
Toluca, Mexico
System Name Thank God you're back!!!
Processor Intel Core i3 2100 @ 3.1GHz (stock)
Motherboard ECS H67H2-M3
Cooling Stock + 1 X 80mm Thermaltake red LED
Memory 1 X 4 GB Kingston 1333MHz DDR3
Video Card(s) coming soon
Storage 1TB Seagate SATAII + 500GB Hitachi USB (External)
Display(s) Samsung 20" LED Widescreen
Case coming soon
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek HD 6ch Audio
Power Supply Generic 450W with 20A on the 12v+ rail
Software Windows 7 Ultimate x64
Benchmark Scores coming soon
#2
What speed are you using on your rams?

If It's at 800MHz, lower it to 667MHz and so....

also lower the HT speed, from 5X to 4X, HT speed can become unstable when OC
 

CH@NO

New Member
Joined
May 24, 2007
Messages
901 (0.23/day)
Likes
59
Location
Toluca, Mexico
System Name Thank God you're back!!!
Processor Intel Core i3 2100 @ 3.1GHz (stock)
Motherboard ECS H67H2-M3
Cooling Stock + 1 X 80mm Thermaltake red LED
Memory 1 X 4 GB Kingston 1333MHz DDR3
Video Card(s) coming soon
Storage 1TB Seagate SATAII + 500GB Hitachi USB (External)
Display(s) Samsung 20" LED Widescreen
Case coming soon
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek HD 6ch Audio
Power Supply Generic 450W with 20A on the 12v+ rail
Software Windows 7 Ultimate x64
Benchmark Scores coming soon
#3
your 6400+ can reach easy (since It's a brisbane) 3.5GHz

Just raise the multiplier to maintain at stock the rest of the system, meaning, don't raise your FSB

also check the temps, if you're using the stock cooler maybe the hangs It's due to overheating

EDIT:

Forget about the multiplier, I read that you have the non BE CPU.

Just low the HT link AND your RAM speed, to achieve the max. OC of your CPU, knowing that you can play with the memory to achieve the max. OC of your system, don't forget to run ORTHOS or PRIME95 a couple of hours to ensure the stability of your system.

But again, your CPU should reach 3.5GHz.

Hope I've been clear
 
Last edited:
Joined
May 13, 2006
Messages
1,550 (0.36/day)
Likes
291
Location
City 17, California, U.S.A.
Processor AMD FX 8300 @ stock.//AMD 5350 AM1 APU.
Motherboard Biostar TA970.//ASUS AM1M-A.
Cooling AMD vanilla Wraith.//APU oem.//80mm Arctic Cooling fans both cases.
Memory 16G G.Skill TridentX @ 1866mhz.//8G low/low Crucial 1600mhz.
Video Card(s) Sapphire 8G RX 580 Pulse @ stock.//APU.
Storage Seagate 1T SSHD.//WD 500g Black.
Display(s) Dell S2309W 23" 1080p, shared.
Case Blue Chenming 301KB. (Vintage beauty).//Antec NSK 1300.
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Fatal1ty Xtreme Gamer.//Onboard Realtek.//Shared Logitech 2.1's.
Power Supply PC Power & Cooling Silencer 610.//Antec NSK 1380 psu.
Mouse Logitech MX518, shared.
Keyboard Logitech K310, shared.
Software Windows 10 Pro x64.//Windows 10 Home x64, XP Pro x86 dual boot.
Benchmark Scores FX rig is the gamer.//AM1 rig is the daily driver.
#4
^ Where is there such a thing as a 6400+ Brisbane? There isn't.
 
Joined
Nov 22, 2008
Messages
3,779 (1.13/day)
Likes
567
Location
Latin America, Uruguay
System Name The Lizard v2.4
Processor Intel Celeron G1840 (for the time being
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-H81-S2PH
Cooling Intel Stock Fan
Memory 16GB Kingston HyperX 1600
Video Card(s) MSI Gaming GTX 750Ti (For the time being)
Storage 500GB Samsung F1, 160GB Maxtor "Older than god"
Display(s) AOC 28' LCD
Case Coolermaster N200
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Antec VP500P
Software Windows 7 Ultimate x64
Benchmark Scores No crashes in the last 24 minutes.
#5
try to keep the ht at a low default, so the sistem is more stable
 

Whef

New Member
Joined
Dec 23, 2008
Messages
7 (0.00/day)
Likes
2
Processor AMD Athlon x2 6400+ Black Edition OC'd to 3.45 GHz
Motherboard ASUS M3A79-T Deluxe
Cooling 360mm side panel fan, 250mm front hard drive fan, 200mm top case fan, 120mm exhuast fan, 120mm CPU
Video Card(s) 8800GT Superclocked (Memory clock 1100 MHz, Core clock 700 MHz)
Storage 320GB Western Digital drive
Display(s) 17" LCD 1280x720 monitor
Case Xclio A380PLUS
Audio Device(s) None
Power Supply 700 watt
#6
The people on this thread used 1.5V. I run at 3.45 GHz with 1.47V.
 

1337noob

New Member
Joined
Dec 19, 2008
Messages
6 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
Processor AMD Athlon 64 X2 Dual Core 3.2GHz (OC 3.4GHz)
Motherboard ASUS M3N72-D
Cooling Artic Cooling CPU Fan, 2 120mm RAIDMAX Case Fans, 2 80mm RAIDMAX side vent fans
Memory 3Gb Crucial Ballistx
Video Card(s) XFX GeForce 8800GT Aplha Dog Edition
Storage WD 500Gb 16Mb Cache 7200rpm
Display(s) 24" Westinghouse
Case RAIDMAX Smilodon
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply Antec Phantom 500w
Software Windows XP Pro
#7
CH@NO: The core is a Windsor I believe. If that's what you meant by brisbane. Oh, and I am running DDR2 800MHz RAM. Thanks for the tip on lowering it and the HT. I will try that.
 

1337noob

New Member
Joined
Dec 19, 2008
Messages
6 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
Processor AMD Athlon 64 X2 Dual Core 3.2GHz (OC 3.4GHz)
Motherboard ASUS M3N72-D
Cooling Artic Cooling CPU Fan, 2 120mm RAIDMAX Case Fans, 2 80mm RAIDMAX side vent fans
Memory 3Gb Crucial Ballistx
Video Card(s) XFX GeForce 8800GT Aplha Dog Edition
Storage WD 500Gb 16Mb Cache 7200rpm
Display(s) 24" Westinghouse
Case RAIDMAX Smilodon
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply Antec Phantom 500w
Software Windows XP Pro
#8
Ok guys, everyone's been a great help here. Im am currently botted in Windows at about 3.4GHz. I will tweak it more to hopefully reach 3.5GHz.

A few notes: I tweaked the memory speed down to 667MHz and changed the voltage to 2.04 or something. And I ran the stock multiplier with a bus speed of 215MHz. Which achieved the 3.4GHz. Oh and my CPU temp says its right around 50c in my BIOS. it ran at 47c before. If anyone thinks that's too high I have some MX2 I can swap for the stock thermal pad that came with my arctic cooling freezer. Should drop it a couple of degrees.

Thanks again.

ps, I included a screenshot of CPU-Z
 

Attachments

CH@NO

New Member
Joined
May 24, 2007
Messages
901 (0.23/day)
Likes
59
Location
Toluca, Mexico
System Name Thank God you're back!!!
Processor Intel Core i3 2100 @ 3.1GHz (stock)
Motherboard ECS H67H2-M3
Cooling Stock + 1 X 80mm Thermaltake red LED
Memory 1 X 4 GB Kingston 1333MHz DDR3
Video Card(s) coming soon
Storage 1TB Seagate SATAII + 500GB Hitachi USB (External)
Display(s) Samsung 20" LED Widescreen
Case coming soon
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek HD 6ch Audio
Power Supply Generic 450W with 20A on the 12v+ rail
Software Windows 7 Ultimate x64
Benchmark Scores coming soon
#9
^ Where is there such a thing as a 6400+ Brisbane? There isn't.
OOps, I mistake the versions, still the BE It's a Brisbane isn't it? :slap:
 
Last edited:

CH@NO

New Member
Joined
May 24, 2007
Messages
901 (0.23/day)
Likes
59
Location
Toluca, Mexico
System Name Thank God you're back!!!
Processor Intel Core i3 2100 @ 3.1GHz (stock)
Motherboard ECS H67H2-M3
Cooling Stock + 1 X 80mm Thermaltake red LED
Memory 1 X 4 GB Kingston 1333MHz DDR3
Video Card(s) coming soon
Storage 1TB Seagate SATAII + 500GB Hitachi USB (External)
Display(s) Samsung 20" LED Widescreen
Case coming soon
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek HD 6ch Audio
Power Supply Generic 450W with 20A on the 12v+ rail
Software Windows 7 Ultimate x64
Benchmark Scores coming soon
#10
Ok guys, everyone's been a great help here. Im am currently botted in Windows at about 3.4GHz. I will tweak it more to hopefully reach 3.5GHz.

A few notes: I tweaked the memory speed down to 667MHz and changed the voltage to 2.04 or something. And I ran the stock multiplier with a bus speed of 215MHz. Which achieved the 3.4GHz. Oh and my CPU temp says its right around 50c in my BIOS. it ran at 47c before. If anyone thinks that's too high I have some MX2 I can swap for the stock thermal pad that came with my arctic cooling freezer. Should drop it a couple of degrees.

Thanks again.

ps, I included a screenshot of CPU-Z
Your voltage is set too HIGH, I don't think the CPU need too much Vcore to boot at 3.4GHz.

The temps that you're have it are a little bit high, It's due to the extra Vcore of your CPU, lowering the Vcore will lower the temps.

Also search for the actual rate that your RAM's Voltage work (on the manufacturer's website). Keeping your RAMs at different voltages (+ or -) can cause system unstability or a damage of them....also look for the rated timmings, they will be useful to achieve a nice OC.

And sorry for assuming that your CPU was a Brisbane, still, I think you'll be able to push it to 3.5GHz
 

1337noob

New Member
Joined
Dec 19, 2008
Messages
6 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
Processor AMD Athlon 64 X2 Dual Core 3.2GHz (OC 3.4GHz)
Motherboard ASUS M3N72-D
Cooling Artic Cooling CPU Fan, 2 120mm RAIDMAX Case Fans, 2 80mm RAIDMAX side vent fans
Memory 3Gb Crucial Ballistx
Video Card(s) XFX GeForce 8800GT Aplha Dog Edition
Storage WD 500Gb 16Mb Cache 7200rpm
Display(s) 24" Westinghouse
Case RAIDMAX Smilodon
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply Antec Phantom 500w
Software Windows XP Pro
#11
Well my CPU core voltage showed 1.48V on CPU-Z before the overclock. So, I hardly raised it from what it was. But, I thought that was strange because I thought the stock voltage of this CPU was 1.3V. I will play with those settings you mentioned, thanks.
 

CH@NO

New Member
Joined
May 24, 2007
Messages
901 (0.23/day)
Likes
59
Location
Toluca, Mexico
System Name Thank God you're back!!!
Processor Intel Core i3 2100 @ 3.1GHz (stock)
Motherboard ECS H67H2-M3
Cooling Stock + 1 X 80mm Thermaltake red LED
Memory 1 X 4 GB Kingston 1333MHz DDR3
Video Card(s) coming soon
Storage 1TB Seagate SATAII + 500GB Hitachi USB (External)
Display(s) Samsung 20" LED Widescreen
Case coming soon
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek HD 6ch Audio
Power Supply Generic 450W with 20A on the 12v+ rail
Software Windows 7 Ultimate x64
Benchmark Scores coming soon
#12
Well my CPU core voltage showed 1.48V on CPU-Z before the overclock. So, I hardly raised it from what it was. But, I thought that was strange because I thought the stock voltage of this CPU was 1.3V. I will play with those settings you mentioned, thanks.
On your last screen of CPU-Z the Vcore was set at 1.568v and that's why I told you the warning.

If your actual Vcore is 1.48v, then that's fine, Just keep it under 1.5v with descent temps and you'll be fine.

Please run orthos or prime95 to push your system at full load and see what temps you have, IDLE temps aren't too important, the FULL LOAD temps makes the difference between a HEALTHY OC and a KILLER one (the hotter core will lead the max. temp).

GOOD LUCK!!!
 
Last edited:

1337noob

New Member
Joined
Dec 19, 2008
Messages
6 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
Processor AMD Athlon 64 X2 Dual Core 3.2GHz (OC 3.4GHz)
Motherboard ASUS M3N72-D
Cooling Artic Cooling CPU Fan, 2 120mm RAIDMAX Case Fans, 2 80mm RAIDMAX side vent fans
Memory 3Gb Crucial Ballistx
Video Card(s) XFX GeForce 8800GT Aplha Dog Edition
Storage WD 500Gb 16Mb Cache 7200rpm
Display(s) 24" Westinghouse
Case RAIDMAX Smilodon
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply Antec Phantom 500w
Software Windows XP Pro
#13
CH@NO: Can you give me some more info on prime95. I had never used until you recommended it yesterday and when I ran it all it does is open three windows and run simple processes. Is that its purpose? Does it ever finish or do you just stop it when its been long enough? Thanks

ps. I was running crysis yesterday with the overclock setup for about 20 mins. then I checked my CPU temp and it was up to 59C.
 

Whef

New Member
Joined
Dec 23, 2008
Messages
7 (0.00/day)
Likes
2
Processor AMD Athlon x2 6400+ Black Edition OC'd to 3.45 GHz
Motherboard ASUS M3A79-T Deluxe
Cooling 360mm side panel fan, 250mm front hard drive fan, 200mm top case fan, 120mm exhuast fan, 120mm CPU
Video Card(s) 8800GT Superclocked (Memory clock 1100 MHz, Core clock 700 MHz)
Storage 320GB Western Digital drive
Display(s) 17" LCD 1280x720 monitor
Case Xclio A380PLUS
Audio Device(s) None
Power Supply 700 watt
#14
CH@NO: Can you give me some more info on prime95. I had never used until you recommended it yesterday and when I ran it all it does is open three windows and run simple processes. Is that its purpose? Does it ever finish or do you just stop it when its been long enough? Thanks

ps. I was running crysis yesterday with the overclock setup for about 20 mins. then I checked my CPU temp and it was up to 59C.
You just stop it whenever you want. Make sure you're running the torture test -> Options -> Torture test...
Prime95 doesn't seem to do it for me, it completely pushes my Core#0 but Core#1 is left with nothing to do. You could also try AMD OverDrive's stability test--Performance Contrl -> Stability test

Keep in mind the 6400+ max temp is 63C.