1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

First time to try RAID 0...HELP :)

Discussion in 'Storage' started by JATownes, Feb 17, 2010.

  1. JATownes

    JATownes

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2008
    Messages:
    2,163 (0.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,023
    Location:
    Texas
    Ok...Hello all, I haven't posted in a while, but I have been here lurking everyday. I have a new CM690 II Advanced showing up today with Win 7 Ultimate and a couple of 500Gb 7200.12 drives showing up today. I have decided to jump into the RAID 0 setup with these 2 new drives since I have massive amounts of space already for backup. I have never done this before so I have some n00b questions for the TPU gods.

    To the best of my knowledge, this is the process:

    1.) Set SATAs to RAID in BIOS;
    2.) Use the AMD FastBuild Utility to to set up the array;
    3.) 128K Stripe Size, Partition the drive to Maximum Capacity;
    4.) Install Win 7 from the DVD.

    I know it can't be this easy, so what am I missing? Does Win 7 need raid drivers installed? If so, what is the process? I have MANY flash drives to use. HELP.

    Thanks.
     
  2. xrealm20

    xrealm20

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    Messages:
    467 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    129
    Location:
    Houston
    what motherboard are you using?

    You shouldn't have to provide drivers for windows 7, it has almost all of the raid drivers currently out.

    Your steps are what you need to do to configure raid.
     
    JATownes says thanks.
  3. JATownes

    JATownes

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2008
    Messages:
    2,163 (0.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,023
    Location:
    Texas
    Everything is listed in my system specs....Asus M4A79 Deluxe.
     
  4. xrealm20

    xrealm20

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    Messages:
    467 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    129
    Location:
    Houston
    You should be good. Just assemble the raid and install 7 -
     
  5. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    19,442 (6.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,935
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    raid 0 is FAST! im trying it as well. i just set it up about 2 weeks ago and the speeds are crazy compared to 1 hard drive
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  6. JATownes

    JATownes

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2008
    Messages:
    2,163 (0.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,023
    Location:
    Texas
    Hell yea. My rig is pretty fast now, but I had always heard about data loss with RAID, yada, yada, yada. Now I have enough space to back everything up, so I figured f*** it, time to jam.

    I really would like a pair of 5850s to replace my 4850s but price is still a little high for the performance. I could grab one 5850, but the performance would be about par with what I have now. So I will wait for Fermi to launch and hopefully a price drop.

    Thanks for the heads up on the RAID speed though. :toast:
     
  7. DirectorC

    DirectorC New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009
    Messages:
    1,624 (0.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    268
    Location:
    Florizy
    Of course it's that easy. Why wouldn't it be?
     
  8. JATownes

    JATownes

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2008
    Messages:
    2,163 (0.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,023
    Location:
    Texas
    I guess I am used to hearing how difficult it is. I like easy. Complicated is fun too though. :D
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)