1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

FITs: realistic HTPC

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by Fitseries3, Dec 1, 2009.

  1. Fitseries3

    Fitseries3 Eleet Hardware Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    15,508 (4.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,120
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    ok...

    i know im known to go over the top and have some high end parts but i think im over that crap.

    i had a funny conversation with W1zzard one day and he asked why i wanted a certain video card for a possible HTPC build. i told him i needed one with svideo and he laughed lol! i told him i still had an oldschool tube tv. we both laughed and he responded... "stop buying excessive hardware and get a decent LCD tv man!"

    so i did!

    newegg had a black friday deal on a 32" LG thats 1080p instead of standard 720p that most 32" lcd's are. it was $399 + $9 shipping. i thought it was a good deal so i grabbed one.

    im also working on a review of a HTPC case that i cannot talk about at this moment but you'll see it soon enough when i finish the review... no pics of it till then either. this gave me the push to build a reasonable HTPC and not go overboard with high end stuff that would just go to waste.

    i asked around and came up with a decent idea of what would be a decent setup and still have a little room for play.

    here's the 1st round of stuff i recieved today. still have several more packages coming so dont think this is it:p

    im still contemplating on what OS to run. perhaps you have a suggestion?

    oh yeah... once i get all the stuff i'll be in this whole setup for under $900, TV included :D
     

    Attached Files:

  2. Steevo

    Steevo

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2005
    Messages:
    9,818 (2.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,277
    For upconverted Flash video that chipset is going to give you headaches unless you disable hardware acceleration, unless the new flash beta gives better performance. I ahve built a few and even at 800Mhz GPU core speed it still stutters a bit. A dedicated video card will render much better and allow for more advanced filters.
    Hulu, Tvshack, and other video sites are going to suck.

    But it plays everything else great.
     
    Fitseries3 says thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU 10 Million points folded for TPU
  3. Fitseries3

    Fitseries3 Eleet Hardware Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    15,508 (4.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,120
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    i think i'll be using it more to watch tv, look at pics, and net, and use it as a dvr occasionally. i wont have hdtv till after the 1st of the year so thats not a concern right now. watching BR will only be done every now and then as well. i dont plan to buy any BR movies. does netflix do BR rentals now?
     
  4. MK4512

    MK4512 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2009
    Messages:
    222 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    42
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    If I had to recommend an OS I'd go with Windows, because it has alot of Multimedia software... Netflix rents Blurays by the way...
     
    Fitseries3 says thanks.
  5. OnBoard

    OnBoard New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2006
    Messages:
    3,033 (0.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    379
    Location:
    Finland
    That's a nice price, I payed $900 for my 32" 720p LCD couple years back.. :ohwell:

    Anyway, you'll sooo enjoy your new telly, tube will try to screeem "doooon't leeeeeave mee" but you don't hear it at all :)
     
    Fitseries3 says thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU
  6. Fitseries3

    Fitseries3 Eleet Hardware Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    15,508 (4.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,120
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    is win 7 good for htpc?
     
  7. Sasqui

    Sasqui

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2005
    Messages:
    9,411 (2.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,467
    Location:
    Manchester, NH
    Off topic, kind of... but is the baby swing in the pic meant for empty computer part boxes? :roll:
     
    Fitseries3 says thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU Crunching for Team TPU
  8. Fitseries3

    Fitseries3 Eleet Hardware Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    15,508 (4.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,120
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    yes... its very nurturing for those pc parts that are feeling grumpy or sleepy. an hour in the swing and usually they are ready to go full throttle again.

    dammit... my hardware secrets are getting out
     
  9. Wrigleyvillain

    Wrigleyvillain PTFO or GTFO

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2007
    Messages:
    7,693 (2.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,788
    Location:
    Chicago
    LOL! :toast:
     
    Fitseries3 says thanks.
  10. DonInKansas

    DonInKansas

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    Messages:
    5,105 (1.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,292
    Location:
    Kansas
    When fit's parts are at idle, he SERIOUSLY means idle. :roll:
     
    Fitseries3 says thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU
  11. Steevo

    Steevo

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2005
    Messages:
    9,818 (2.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,277
    Har.


    Kids are the ultimate hardware. Overclock them a bit with some coffee drink, and drive mom crazy. Fun watching them learn, the things they pick up on. But they cost alot, a whole lot. My daughters hospital bills amounted to about 250K and picking up the extra tab for that nearly broke me. But they are worth it.

    Other than my Projector I still have the 31" tube TV I bought with a high end DVD plaer and surround system years ago.


    I want a new optima though http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16824219062 , move the old projector onto a moveable tripod and speaker set for use outside during the summer. BBQ and 360 on the side of the house while having a few cold ones.
     
    Fitseries3 says thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU 10 Million points folded for TPU
  12. Sasqui

    Sasqui

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2005
    Messages:
    9,411 (2.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,467
    Location:
    Manchester, NH
    FWIW, I just bought a Logitec MX Air mouse for HTPC use. Copied a friend who had one - was great waving from the couch picking out tunes through a 40" plasma from the PC attached and a good set of media speakers.

    Kind of my plan as well. Just wish I could get the same quality 1080p upscaling from my PC as through the HD-DVD set top I have - perhaps that's software?
     
    Fitseries3 says thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU Crunching for Team TPU
  13. BUCK NASTY

    BUCK NASTY F@H Mod & 4P Enthusiust Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    Messages:
    4,968 (1.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,639
    Location:
    Port St Lucie, FL. U.S.A.
    Win7 works great in my HTPC with an HD3300 chipset (similar to your HD4200). Netflix does rent Blu-Rays, but watch for small cracks around the outside edges that make the discs unplayable(thanks USPS:shadedshu). You'll prob want PowerDVD 9 to view your Blu-Ray's.
     
    Fitseries3 says thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU
  14. Steevo

    Steevo

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2005
    Messages:
    9,818 (2.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,277
    Yep, and the 3300 deosn't ahve the junk in the trun for that kond of hardware upscale.


    But a cheap 4000 series card and you will be golden.


    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16814127436R


    Like this. Cheap, easy, and great for hardware upscalling. I setup a friend with a 4650 and he loves it, hooked up to his 46" plasma he does a few easy games and uses his TV and a wireless mouse and KB for surfing the net and regular PC work.

    next year he wants to add a Blu-Ray to his PC.




    Blu-Ray is handled by the internal UVD, but hardware accelerated upscaling on flash requires a bit more as you can stack a few filters for a much better look and eat up some processign power. Unless I am doing something wrong I have tried the native to CCC settings, the 007 shark codecs, the CCCP codec pack, and a couple hacks of my own and anytime you enable edge enhancement, or sharpening filters, and/or a generic filter you get dropped frames and stuttering.
     
    Fitseries3 says thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU 10 Million points folded for TPU
  15. TeXBill

    TeXBill

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2009
    Messages:
    1,362 (0.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    646
    Location:
    TX
    Bought the same LG TV on Newegg also. Damm thing is great no dead or stuck pixels, hooked my PS3 to it and the blueray movies look awesome..... You will love your LG HD TV....
    By the way I live about 90 miles from Austin.......... Got to LOVE them Longhorns
    :toast::toast::toast::D
     
    Fitseries3 says thanks.
  16. Fitseries3

    Fitseries3 Eleet Hardware Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    15,508 (4.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,120
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    well thanks to Vidabox i have this great keyboard... http://www.techpowerup.com/reviews/VidaBox/Premium_Wireless_Keyboard/ and im using it for the htpc.

    not really a shameless plug for their product but more of me being ecstatic about how good the keyboard actually is.

    it kinda got the ball rolling for me on this whole HTPC craze im in.

    i love win 7 but i dont have a key for it. dont have money to buy one either :(

    i might get a add in vid card some day but im going to try what i have for now and see how it does.
     
  17. Steevo

    Steevo

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2005
    Messages:
    9,818 (2.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,277
    Use a RTM and key for now. I have a extra or two. PM me.
     
    Fitseries3 says thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU 10 Million points folded for TPU
  18. TeXBill

    TeXBill

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2009
    Messages:
    1,362 (0.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    646
    Location:
    TX
    {Pm me} I have an extra key for Win7 Pro. 64bit if you need it. It's a legal copy and Pro is a little better than the RTM version. I bought several copies when they offered it for people that had a .edu account. I work for a Tech. college and was able to get some extra keys.
    Have fun with your new build.....:toast: ;)
     
    Fitseries3 says thanks.
  19. Fitseries3

    Fitseries3 Eleet Hardware Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    15,508 (4.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,120
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    PMed.

    so use powerdvd for BR? wmc is crap?

    what should i use for DVR software?
     
  20. Zubasa

    Zubasa

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    3,999 (1.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    470
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    Media Player Classic should be fine for BD/HD video play back.
    PowerDVD is an okay choice as always, but it isn't free.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  21. Fitseries3

    Fitseries3 Eleet Hardware Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    15,508 (4.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,120
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    well my BDrom came with it. dont know which version though.
     
  22. erocker

    erocker Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    42,239 (10.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    18,208
    I may have missed it, but what are you using for a case? :)
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  23. Fitseries3

    Fitseries3 Eleet Hardware Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    15,508 (4.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,120
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    vidabox sent me a case for review. i cannot speak about it until the review is finish of course.

    staff with the right credentials will be able to see it here in a bit when i take pics.
     
  24. erocker

    erocker Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    42,239 (10.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    18,208
    Ah, I know the case. I think I was supposed to get it until I got sick. Nice stuff. :toast:
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  25. Zubasa

    Zubasa

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    3,999 (1.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    470
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    Then use it I guess, since you payed for it. ;)
    Just like everybody else Win 7 Home Premium is a good choice since it comes with Media Center. :D

    Edit: BTW what CPU are you going to use?
    Some secert Hexa-core AM3 Opteron? :laugh:
     
    Last edited: Dec 2, 2009
    10 Year Member at TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)