• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Fix Bricked HIS iceQX 6950

TheRam

New Member
Joined
Aug 22, 2012
Messages
5 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#1
Hello everyone i need help, my dad bricked his HIS 6950 and now im trying to fix it. i belive the reason he bricked it was because he was trying to do something with the eyefinity setup and decided to flash it without knowing it was not a reference card.
what i have tried so far. i have 2 5770s that i use as my normal cards, and after some reading i found that i should be able to use a 5770 as the primary card to get it started, with the hd6950 in the second slot. i started my computer that way and booted into a win98 usb with atiflash.(can only boot into win7 in safe-mode with the 2 different cards)
the commands i used
atiflash -ai 0
atiflash -ai 1
just for information on the cards, at this point i assumed that the 0 was my 5770 and the 1 was the 6950, i then used the bios i downloaded from this site i believe.
atiflash -f -p 1 6950.rom
after restarting it dident work (neither card) apparently i flashed my 5770 with 6950 bios, but i have another so im not worried about the 5770.
i think atiflash just showed me my integrated graphics (0) and the 5770 (1)
i went back into atiflash and used atiflash -ai 2 and it didnt find anything.
what do you all think is the best way for me to fix this 6950?
 
Last edited:

erocker

Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 19, 2006
Messages
42,370 (10.17/day)
Likes
18,019
Processor Intel i7 8700k
Motherboard Gigabyte z370 AORUS Gaming 7
Cooling Water
Memory 16gb G.Skill 4000 MHz DDR4
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 1080
Storage 3 x Samsung Evo 850 500GB, 1 x 250GB, 2 x 2TB HDD
Display(s) Nixeus EDG27
Case Thermaltake X5
Power Supply Corsair HX1000i
Mouse Zowie EC1-B
Software Windows 10
#2
If the 6950 is in the first PCI-E slot it should be: atiflash -f -p 0 bios.rom
 
Joined
Jun 29, 2007
Messages
1,126 (0.29/day)
Likes
651
Location
Repentigny, QC, CANADA
System Name CTG Computer
Processor Intel i7 4770k @ 4.3ghz 1.264v
Motherboard Asus Maximus VI Formula
Cooling Noctua NH-U12S
Memory 2x 8gb Mushkin Blackline 2133mhz@2400mhz 11-13-13-31-1T 1.65v
Video Card(s) Gigabyte RX580 Gaming 4GB
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 256gb (OS) | Crucial MX100 256gb (games) | Silicon Power S55 240gb (Games)
Display(s) Asus vg248qe
Case Fractal Design Define S
Audio Device(s) Creative SoundBlaster Z PCI-E
Power Supply eVGA SuperNova 750w G2
Mouse CM Mizar
Keyboard Logitech G110
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#3
By forcing the flash if it was your HD5770, it did flash.

Does the card has the bios switch??? That might help.


How did he flashed so that the card is not working anymore?
 

TheRam

New Member
Joined
Aug 22, 2012
Messages
5 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#4
I don't believe it has a bios switch, i took a look and i don't see any form of one.
the 6950 was in the second slot.
upon further inspection i ran atiflash again with just the 5770 (that still works) and it showed as the same card in the first slot as 0. (no other cards, so integrated seems ignored)
so it seems as tho the command went through but instead of effecting adapter 1 it did 0 instead
the 5770s have the word juniper and the 6950 show the word cayman, even after the flash was done it showed that the flash effected the card with cayman in it. so why was my 5770 effected?
is it because i forced it?
idk how he flashed ill find out soon
 

TheRam

New Member
Joined
Aug 22, 2012
Messages
5 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#5
he used winflash, i had tried to use winflash before but when i have the 2 different cards plugged in i can only boot into windows in safemode, and safemode doesnt seem to let me run winflash in administrative mode
 

TheRam

New Member
Joined
Aug 22, 2012
Messages
5 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#6
Update: the 5770 was totally unaffected, sorry about the loop, threw me for one aswell. i guess i was impatient on the reboot
 

TheRam

New Member
Joined
Aug 22, 2012
Messages
5 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#7
Solved! used the 6950 in the second slot 5770 in the first, found the correct bios for the exact card. flashed the bios in atiflash and now it works like new