1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

FIXED!! Windows 7 sp1 never ends searching for updates

Discussion in 'General Software' started by Solaris17, Apr 16, 2016.

  1. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    19,114 (4.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,972
    Location:
    Florida
    Over the past several months reports have been rolling in in the tech world that users have been having issues updating Windows Vista, 7 and 8. The issue comes from how Windows updates are done. Basically, The older Windows gets the more updates accumulate. When Windows starts searching for updates it takes all of the available updates and THEN it needs to calculate which of the updates replaces the older ones known as "superseded". For example if you have 3 patches.

    3
    2
    1

    You would install them in that order right? Well windows will tally that it needs all 3. HOWEVER. Then Windows must double check and when it does this it finds out that patch 3 is a newer version of patch 1. It then finds out that neither are related to patch 2. Now Windows figures out that it only needs 2 patches, Patch 2 and Patch 3. As you can probably see this starts taking alot of resources and a LONG time when we have thousands of potential updates.

    Thankfully we can shorten this process by downloading and installing specific patches. This is kind of like telling windows "I'm at least at this point."

    I have made a script (batch) that will detect your version of Windows (Vista, 7, 8 Supported) and install type (64 or 32 bit) and download the appropriate patches and apply them so that you can get to updating in no time.

    You can read more about this here, and download the patch.

    http://couchit.net/windows-and-long-updates/

    Change Log:
    Code:
    ::v8 Added UAC disable feature for even more touchless approach. Fixed some typos. Clarified instructions.
    ::v7 Changed batch layout to a more universal install process and rebuilt the downloads section for easier modification. Added /norestart flag.
    ::v6 Added Vista Support.
    ::v5 Added Windows 8 Support.
    ::v4 Fixed bug with other windows versions leaving script in startup. | Clarified actions needed by user | Improved Architecture check | Improved chance script won't hang via WU
    ::v3 Added /quiet | Fixed bug with other windows versions leaving script in startup. | Put check for previous run at head to skip start text.
    
    You can always download the most recent version from the static link here

    http://couchit.net/Downloads/Windows Quick Patch.bat
     
    Last edited: Dec 19, 2016
    Crap Daddy, Frick, natr0n and 4 others say thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU More than 25k PPD
  2. silentbogo

    silentbogo

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2013
    Messages:
    2,300 (1.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,418
    Location:
    Kiev, Ukraine
    We might need to make a sticky thread for this. Had to post it on several occasions, and I know for sure that it does happen 99% of the time on Win7x64 SP1 regardless of underlying hardware.

    0) Disable updates temporarily, or manually turn off the update service
    1) Get Microsoft FixIt tool and repair both Update Service and BITS
    Download here
    2) Manually download and install the latest windows update manager
    Download here
    3) Manually download and install KB_3102810
    Download here
    4) Re-enable updates. Reboot. Start the update process.

    It may take awhile (between 8 and 12 hours if your internet connection is good), but it will get you out of the loop.

    If you do not update the Update Agent, then it will get stuck again. Last year a simple reset/cache cleanup was sufficient.
     
    Spaceman Spiff, GLD, HD64G and 4 others say thanks.
  3. P4-630

    P4-630 The Way It's Meant to be Played

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2006
    Messages:
    8,685 (2.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8,399
    Location:
    Vinewood
    Ok I'll give it a try, thanks.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  4. natr0n

    natr0n

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2012
    Messages:
    4,136 (2.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,306
    Location:
    Boca Raton, Florida
    I usually download those trusted custom updated isos example(march 2016) and put my own key.

    It really saves lots of bs and hassle
     
  5. P4-630

    P4-630 The Way It's Meant to be Played

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2006
    Messages:
    8,685 (2.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8,399
    Location:
    Vinewood
    If I click on the fixit it will not download it but instead it is redirecting me to https://www.microsoft.com/nl-nl/ :banghead::banghead:
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  6. silentbogo

    silentbogo

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2013
    Messages:
    2,300 (1.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,418
    Location:
    Kiev, Ukraine
    Holy f$%&ing Microsoft... I guess it no longer exists (including an old FixIt website).

    Old Windows Update Troubleshooter for Win7 does the same thing.

    Try this:
    http://windows.microsoft.com/en-us/windows-10/windows-update-troubleshooter

    Even though it says Win10, it might work on Win7 (pretty much does the same thing).
    Otherwise google for Windows Update reset batch script, since I can't remember where I've seen it...

    Looks like MS is really persistent with pushing W10 upgrade process.
     
    HD64G and rtwjunkie say thanks.
  7. jboydgolfer

    jboydgolfer

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2012
    Messages:
    6,178 (3.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8,443
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    iirc there is SOME type of download for windows stored here on TPU in the database, i just cant remember what....ill look in a minute if noone has,making breakfast for my daughter.
     
    HD64G and P4-630 say thanks.
  8. silentbogo

    silentbogo

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2013
    Messages:
    2,300 (1.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,418
    Location:
    Kiev, Ukraine
    @P4-630 , you can try and skip that step and see if it works. Just get the update manager and CPU load fix.
    If it does not work, you can always try one more time. :toast:
     
    P4-630 says thanks.
  9. P4-630

    P4-630 The Way It's Meant to be Played

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2006
    Messages:
    8,685 (2.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8,399
    Location:
    Vinewood
    I did this after disabling the update service: https://support.microsoft.com/en-us/gp/windows-update-issues/en-us

    Currently at step 3.
     
    HD64G, rtwjunkie and silentbogo say thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU
  10. jsfitz54

    jsfitz54

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2010
    Messages:
    1,373 (0.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    567
    This has been all over the internet: Microsoft is making it hard to update and download anything for Windows 7. Try and get a W7 with SP1 ISO for reinstall...

    Pushing GWX.

    You need to run the Windows Update for 24hrs or more depending on how old the machine is.

    Be sure to look at the shut down button for items being ready for install: ie the Gold Shield
     
    HD64G and rtwjunkie say thanks.
  11. silentbogo

    silentbogo

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2013
    Messages:
    2,300 (1.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,418
    Location:
    Kiev, Ukraine
    This problem usually happens on SP1 installations. Tried it on official EN and RU iso images - same thing. Update may run for 24+ hours with no results.
     
    HD64G says thanks.
  12. Liquid Cool

    Liquid Cool

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2011
    Messages:
    726 (0.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    778
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    I've had this same problem on the last half dozen installs...

    If I manually search for updates it sits there and loops - forever. The solution that has worked for me is to leave it alone and let it update everything passively...then it works just fine. Secondarily...after installing SP1, you get a 230 update download. Each time...this has failed the first go around, where some updates are installed...others are failed. Again...if i leave it alone...it all works out in the end.

    I even let the GWX stuff install...then I run Aegis for Windows 7 "after" all updates are completed.

    Best,

    Liquid Cool
     
    HD64G and rtwjunkie say thanks.
  13. P4-630

    P4-630 The Way It's Meant to be Played

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2006
    Messages:
    8,685 (2.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8,399
    Location:
    Vinewood
    For about how long should step 3 be running @silentbogo ?

    20160416_162141.jpg
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  14. rtwjunkie

    rtwjunkie PC Gaming Enthusiast

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2008
    Messages:
    9,187 (2.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,865
    Location:
    Louisiana -Laissez les bons temps rouler!
    Yeah, I've been noting it for months on the refusenik thread. They do NOT want anything older than 10 running.

    I still have an HTPC on W7, and every other month I have to fix the update agent in order to get all updates. SMH....

    You provided a good step by step fix. I've bookmarked it for future reference.
     
    Countryside, HD64G and Liquid Cool say thanks.
  15. MrGenius

    MrGenius

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2015
    Messages:
    1,293 (1.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,030
    Location:
    On The Highway To Hell \m/
    I'm having the same problem with Vista right now. Maybe some of this will apply too. Though I'm just about ready to quit trying and install 10.
     
  16. ThE_MaD_ShOt

    ThE_MaD_ShOt

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2011
    Messages:
    5,975 (2.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,293
    Location:
    Hi! I'm from the Internet
    This. I had the same problem and just rebooted the rig and let it do it's own thing instead of manually pushing the updates. Within a day or so it was fully updated on it own.
     
    Liquid Cool says thanks.
  17. silentbogo

    silentbogo

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2013
    Messages:
    2,300 (1.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,418
    Location:
    Kiev, Ukraine
    Should be relatively fast (no more than 10 min) If it is stuck, try to skip it. Apparently some crap has changed in the pile of updates and some report even more issues.

    I had this thing on my APU rig. Had to run FixIt again and again until this update installed (couldn't go any further due to 100% CPU load on a dual-core w/3GB RAM)
     
    HD64G says thanks.
  18. P4-630

    P4-630 The Way It's Meant to be Played

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2006
    Messages:
    8,685 (2.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8,399
    Location:
    Vinewood
    Last edited: Apr 16, 2016
    HD64G says thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU
  19. Octopuss

    Octopuss

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2009
    Messages:
    1,938 (0.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    646
    Location:
    Czech republic
    This (3 being even more important). Literally everything else is irrelevant.
     
  20. P4-630

    P4-630 The Way It's Meant to be Played

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2006
    Messages:
    8,685 (2.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8,399
    Location:
    Vinewood
    3 was "searching for updates on this computer" and never ended on my laptop, unless I have to let it run for hours or so.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  21. silentbogo

    silentbogo

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2013
    Messages:
    2,300 (1.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,418
    Location:
    Kiev, Ukraine
    Reboot and try to repair the updater, clear cache again and start manual update process without (3)
     
    P4-630 says thanks.
  22. puma99dk|

    puma99dk|

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2005
    Messages:
    4,750 (1.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,523
    Location:
    Whatever my internet protocol shows I guess O.o
    I notice this problem too at work when all the Lenovo laptops i sell comes with pre-installed Windows 7 Professional, updates takes most of the morning to find and finish until the "Windows 10 Upgrade" update is installed than it updates fine after that one is installed.

    Mby Microsoft has started to priorities updates for Windows 7 lower bcs they want ppl to upgrade to Windows 10 ;)
     
    HD64G says thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU
  23. P4-630

    P4-630 The Way It's Meant to be Played

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2006
    Messages:
    8,685 (2.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8,399
    Location:
    Vinewood
    Ok I did another reboot, disabled windows update service, did step 3 again, this time it installed an update, enabled windows update service and did a reboot and voila!! :peace:

    20160416_190650.jpg
     
    silentbogo says thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU
  24. puma99dk|

    puma99dk|

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2005
    Messages:
    4,750 (1.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,523
    Location:
    Whatever my internet protocol shows I guess O.o
    Mby u should make ur own Win7 with all updates installed so u don't have to deal with this pain in the ass long time update :laugh:
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  25. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1 The Exiled Airman

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    18,296 (4.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,398
    Go to askwoody.com and look at the topics there under MS-DEFCON
     
    HD64G says thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)