• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Flash 5700 to stock?

cfc7709

New Member
Joined
Feb 14, 2020
Messages
7 (0.16/day)
Hi guys

Im looking to put my 5700 back to stock. Its currently flashed to the xt
Its been fine as xt flash , i went to flash back to stock (no errors on atiflash) but when i try to install drivers it doesn't see the card.
i flashed back to xt and can install drivers.

Any ideas? TIA
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
30,345 (6.52/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
Need specific info from card, sticker pictures and gpu-z screenshot and also,

Click arrow next to uefi checkbox in gpu-z and attempt to upload bios to vga bios collection, you may be prompted that the bios is already in the database with a link to the bios, copy and paste link here.
 

cfc7709

New Member
Joined
Feb 14, 2020
Messages
7 (0.16/day)
Need specific info from card, sticker pictures and gpu-z screenshot and also,

Click arrow next to uefi checkbox in gpu-z and attempt to upload bios to vga bios collection, you may be prompted that the bios is already in the database with a link to the bios, copy and paste link here.
yes sorry that would help lol

Its the ref card (msi version)

GPU drop down doesnt pick anything up, its like no card exists. But when i go back to the xt bios it picks it up
Its all blank
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
30,345 (6.52/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
Still need gpu-z info and link because even with reference cards they change bios coding.

Once I know then we can proceed

yes sorry that would help lol

Its the ref card (msi version)

GPU drop down doesnt pick anything up, its like no card exists. But when i go back to the xt bios it picks it up
Its all blank
 

cfc7709

New Member
Joined
Feb 14, 2020
Messages
7 (0.16/day)
Still need gpu-z info and link because even with reference cards they change bios coding.

Once I know then we can proceed
Do you need it with the xt flash as the stock flash doesnt even pick up the card so gpuz doesnt output any data on it
 
Joined
Feb 8, 2020
Messages
54 (1.08/day)
Do you need it with the xt flash as the stock flash doesnt even pick up the card so gpuz doesnt output any data on it
When you tried to flash it back to stock is it from the stock bios you saved or one you downloaded?
 
Joined
Feb 8, 2020
Messages
54 (1.08/day)
Download. But.. i searched pc found old bios, flashed back and it worked!!
That was your issue and what @eidairaman1 was getting at asking for the GPU-Z screenshot for the correct information to give you the correct bios file so you are all good and back to stock now?
 

cfc7709

New Member
Joined
Feb 14, 2020
Messages
7 (0.16/day)
That was your issue and what @eidairaman1 was getting at asking for the GPU-Z screenshot for the correct information to give you the correct bios file so you are all good and back to stock now?
See above, i must have saved the xt bios :(

1st - xt flash
2nd - bios for 5700 im using
3rd - flash
4th - gpuz post flash to 5700
 

Attachments

cfc7709

New Member
Joined
Feb 14, 2020
Messages
7 (0.16/day)
The first rule of bios flash club: Always save stock ROM....

Anyway, try this stock bios: https://www.techpowerup.com/vgabios/212613/msi-rx5700-8192-190616

NVM I see you have tried that one. give me a sec..

Hang on, so it works still with the XT bios after trying a stock rom and flashing back to XT?
i know, mad at myself for not saving!

Yes only works when i flash to xt bios! 5700 boots but it doesnt pick it up in gpu or when i try to install driver.. so weird
 
Joined
Feb 8, 2020
Messages
54 (1.08/day)
i know, mad at myself for not saving!

Yes only works when i flash to xt bios! 5700 boots but it doesnt pick it up.. so weird
Contact MSI for your correct stock image vbios and in the meantime run the XT bios, if you have no issues running the xt one, why go back? it's a free performance uplift
 

cfc7709

New Member
Joined
Feb 14, 2020
Messages
7 (0.16/day)
Contact MSI for your correct stock image vbios and in the meantime run the XT bios, if you have no issues running the xt one, why go back? it's a free performance uplift
ok will do. im looking to sell so want to have it back to 5700. If not i guess tick on ebay and just be honest
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
30,345 (6.52/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
Do you need it with the xt flash as the stock flash doesnt even pick up the card so gpuz doesnt output any data on it
Yes thats right because i can find the one you need and get you procedure needed to flash back.
 
Top