• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

FLASH performance boost?

Joined
Aug 8, 2010
Messages
540 (0.20/day)
Likes
58
Location
TX
System Name W540
Processor i7 4700MQ 4x 3.40GHz
Motherboard W540
Cooling Modded Fan + AS5
Memory 16GB PC12800 DDR3 Dual Channel
Video Card(s) nVidia Quadro K2100M 2GB GDDR5
Storage 256GB Samsung 850 Pro SSD
Display(s) 15.4" 3K IPS
Case ThinkPad W540
Audio Device(s) Realtek HD Audio
Power Supply 175W
Mouse Razer DeathAdder WOT Edition
Keyboard Razer Deathstallker
Software Windows 10 Home
#26
Your CPU doesn't support dual channel, mainly because your CPU only has 1 64-bit DDR3-channel. You'll be running two DIMMs on a single channel. The only benefit you'll get is the 1333Mhz speed over 1066Mhz. I don't know what to tell you though, this platform isn't designed for gaming. You're not going to get much of anything out of this platform when it comes to games.
there seems to be a Rev1 and a Rev2 board for the G585 (google)
When I put in 2x2GB DDR3 same chip multiple programs report dual chanel and not a single one does not.
Putting in 2 different dimms doesn't give me that.
hmmmm

And as for gaming I think I have proven that it handels more or less modern games even on max --- NOW don't get me wrong here!
I will never see this thing running BF above 1024x768 xD but if it runns even that smooth on low then I don't see a reason why not enjoy some pixelated Deadspace 2 on it from time to time. :)
 

Aquinus

Resident Wat-man
Joined
Jan 28, 2012
Messages
10,398 (4.85/day)
Likes
5,477
Location
Concord, NH
System Name Kratos
Processor Intel Core i7 3930k @ 4.2Ghz
Motherboard ASUS P9X79 Deluxe
Cooling Zalman CPNS9900MAX 130mm
Memory G.Skill DDR3-2133, 16gb (4x4gb) @ 9-11-10-28-108-1T 1.65v
Video Card(s) MSI AMD Radeon R9 390 GAMING 8GB @ PCI-E 3.0
Storage 2x120Gb SATA3 Corsair Force GT Raid-0, 4x1Tb RAID-5, 1x500GB
Display(s) 1x LG 27UD69P (4k), 2x Dell S2340M (1080p)
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek® ALC898 8-Channel High Definition Audio
Power Supply Seasonic 1000-watt 80 PLUS Platinum
Mouse Logitech G602
Keyboard Rosewill RK-9100
Software Ubuntu 17.10
Benchmark Scores Benchmarks aren't everything.
#27
When I put in 2x2GB DDR3 same chip multiple programs report dual chanel and not a single one does not.
Then those "multiple programs" are wrong, because Brazos only sports a single channel. This is the same for all Brazos based APUs.

Try CPU-Z, and I'm willing to bet it will say single channel. Throw a screenshot up when you try it as well.
 
Joined
Aug 8, 2010
Messages
540 (0.20/day)
Likes
58
Location
TX
System Name W540
Processor i7 4700MQ 4x 3.40GHz
Motherboard W540
Cooling Modded Fan + AS5
Memory 16GB PC12800 DDR3 Dual Channel
Video Card(s) nVidia Quadro K2100M 2GB GDDR5
Storage 256GB Samsung 850 Pro SSD
Display(s) 15.4" 3K IPS
Case ThinkPad W540
Audio Device(s) Realtek HD Audio
Power Supply 175W
Mouse Razer DeathAdder WOT Edition
Keyboard Razer Deathstallker
Software Windows 10 Home
#28
Then those "multiple programs" are wrong, because Brazos only sports a single channel. This is the same for all Brazos based APUs.

Try CPU-Z, and I'm willing to bet it will say single channel. Throw a screenshot up when you try it as well.
like I sayed - I only get this mode with 2x2GB reported!
2 different 4GB sticks won't do it - has to be the same size and clock.

 
Last edited:

Aquinus

Resident Wat-man
Joined
Jan 28, 2012
Messages
10,398 (4.85/day)
Likes
5,477
Location
Concord, NH
System Name Kratos
Processor Intel Core i7 3930k @ 4.2Ghz
Motherboard ASUS P9X79 Deluxe
Cooling Zalman CPNS9900MAX 130mm
Memory G.Skill DDR3-2133, 16gb (4x4gb) @ 9-11-10-28-108-1T 1.65v
Video Card(s) MSI AMD Radeon R9 390 GAMING 8GB @ PCI-E 3.0
Storage 2x120Gb SATA3 Corsair Force GT Raid-0, 4x1Tb RAID-5, 1x500GB
Display(s) 1x LG 27UD69P (4k), 2x Dell S2340M (1080p)
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek® ALC898 8-Channel High Definition Audio
Power Supply Seasonic 1000-watt 80 PLUS Platinum
Mouse Logitech G602
Keyboard Rosewill RK-9100
Software Ubuntu 17.10
Benchmark Scores Benchmarks aren't everything.
#29
as I sayed - I only get this mode with 2x2GB reported!
2 different 4GB sticks won't do it - has to be the same size and clock.

http://img838.imageshack.us/img838/5826/g585ram.jpg
That's unusual that it's reporting that way. I suspect CPU-Z might not have been updated to properly identify it on Brazos 2.0. Either way, yeah, it's going to work but it's really not running dual channel. It's important to realize that even if it is misreporting. The biggest benefit you'll get is the larger amount of memory (vram and system memory are shared,) and the slightly faster clock (assuming same timings.)
 
Joined
Aug 8, 2010
Messages
540 (0.20/day)
Likes
58
Location
TX
System Name W540
Processor i7 4700MQ 4x 3.40GHz
Motherboard W540
Cooling Modded Fan + AS5
Memory 16GB PC12800 DDR3 Dual Channel
Video Card(s) nVidia Quadro K2100M 2GB GDDR5
Storage 256GB Samsung 850 Pro SSD
Display(s) 15.4" 3K IPS
Case ThinkPad W540
Audio Device(s) Realtek HD Audio
Power Supply 175W
Mouse Razer DeathAdder WOT Edition
Keyboard Razer Deathstallker
Software Windows 10 Home
#30
That's unusual that it's reporting that way. I suspect CPU-Z might not have been updated to properly identify it on Brazos 2.0. Either way, yeah, it's going to work but it's really not running dual channel. It's important to realize that even if it is misreporting. The biggest benefit you'll get is the larger amount of memory and the slightly faster clock (assuming same timings.)
hmmm kk :/
But when I have 2x2GB vs 1x4GB I get about %4 higher troughput in RAM benchmark tests.
Wird.
 

Aquinus

Resident Wat-man
Joined
Jan 28, 2012
Messages
10,398 (4.85/day)
Likes
5,477
Location
Concord, NH
System Name Kratos
Processor Intel Core i7 3930k @ 4.2Ghz
Motherboard ASUS P9X79 Deluxe
Cooling Zalman CPNS9900MAX 130mm
Memory G.Skill DDR3-2133, 16gb (4x4gb) @ 9-11-10-28-108-1T 1.65v
Video Card(s) MSI AMD Radeon R9 390 GAMING 8GB @ PCI-E 3.0
Storage 2x120Gb SATA3 Corsair Force GT Raid-0, 4x1Tb RAID-5, 1x500GB
Display(s) 1x LG 27UD69P (4k), 2x Dell S2340M (1080p)
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek® ALC898 8-Channel High Definition Audio
Power Supply Seasonic 1000-watt 80 PLUS Platinum
Mouse Logitech G602
Keyboard Rosewill RK-9100
Software Ubuntu 17.10
Benchmark Scores Benchmarks aren't everything.
#31
But when I have 2x2GB vs 1x4GB I get about %4 higher troughput in RAM benchmark tests.
That's within error, I would call that the same. Dual-channel should give you a lot more than just 4% if it really had 2 channels.
 
Joined
Aug 8, 2010
Messages
540 (0.20/day)
Likes
58
Location
TX
System Name W540
Processor i7 4700MQ 4x 3.40GHz
Motherboard W540
Cooling Modded Fan + AS5
Memory 16GB PC12800 DDR3 Dual Channel
Video Card(s) nVidia Quadro K2100M 2GB GDDR5
Storage 256GB Samsung 850 Pro SSD
Display(s) 15.4" 3K IPS
Case ThinkPad W540
Audio Device(s) Realtek HD Audio
Power Supply 175W
Mouse Razer DeathAdder WOT Edition
Keyboard Razer Deathstallker
Software Windows 10 Home
#32
That's within error, I would call that the same. Dual-channel should give you a lot more than just 4% if it really had 2 channels.
Hmmm ok. :ohwell:
well - back to topic :p - any tweaks for faster flash? :)
 

Aquinus

Resident Wat-man
Joined
Jan 28, 2012
Messages
10,398 (4.85/day)
Likes
5,477
Location
Concord, NH
System Name Kratos
Processor Intel Core i7 3930k @ 4.2Ghz
Motherboard ASUS P9X79 Deluxe
Cooling Zalman CPNS9900MAX 130mm
Memory G.Skill DDR3-2133, 16gb (4x4gb) @ 9-11-10-28-108-1T 1.65v
Video Card(s) MSI AMD Radeon R9 390 GAMING 8GB @ PCI-E 3.0
Storage 2x120Gb SATA3 Corsair Force GT Raid-0, 4x1Tb RAID-5, 1x500GB
Display(s) 1x LG 27UD69P (4k), 2x Dell S2340M (1080p)
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek® ALC898 8-Channel High Definition Audio
Power Supply Seasonic 1000-watt 80 PLUS Platinum
Mouse Logitech G602
Keyboard Rosewill RK-9100
Software Ubuntu 17.10
Benchmark Scores Benchmarks aren't everything.
#33
Hmmm ok.
well - back to topic :p - any tweaks for faster flash?
Not really but I also don't quite understand why it would be going slow to begin with (unless you're running it full screen @ 1080p), if it's going really slow it could be a problem with GPU accelerated flash video. Are you running the latest catalyst drivers or tried disabling GPU accelerated flash (or enabling it if it is disabled)?

http://forums.adobe.com/thread/891337
 
Joined
Aug 8, 2010
Messages
540 (0.20/day)
Likes
58
Location
TX
System Name W540
Processor i7 4700MQ 4x 3.40GHz
Motherboard W540
Cooling Modded Fan + AS5
Memory 16GB PC12800 DDR3 Dual Channel
Video Card(s) nVidia Quadro K2100M 2GB GDDR5
Storage 256GB Samsung 850 Pro SSD
Display(s) 15.4" 3K IPS
Case ThinkPad W540
Audio Device(s) Realtek HD Audio
Power Supply 175W
Mouse Razer DeathAdder WOT Edition
Keyboard Razer Deathstallker
Software Windows 10 Home
#34
Not really but I also don't quite understand why it would be going slow to begin with (unless you're running it full screen @ 1080p), if it's going really slow it could be a problem with GPU accelerated flash video. Are you running the latest catalyst drivers or tried disabling GPU accelerated flash (or enabling it if it is disabled)?

http://forums.adobe.com/thread/891337
yep!
tryed all!
And CPU also only capps at %80.
It's NOT SLOW but it could be better!
I want the CPU to put %100 into flash but it's only 70-%80 and I get poor 20 FPS on animations.
 

Aquinus

Resident Wat-man
Joined
Jan 28, 2012
Messages
10,398 (4.85/day)
Likes
5,477
Location
Concord, NH
System Name Kratos
Processor Intel Core i7 3930k @ 4.2Ghz
Motherboard ASUS P9X79 Deluxe
Cooling Zalman CPNS9900MAX 130mm
Memory G.Skill DDR3-2133, 16gb (4x4gb) @ 9-11-10-28-108-1T 1.65v
Video Card(s) MSI AMD Radeon R9 390 GAMING 8GB @ PCI-E 3.0
Storage 2x120Gb SATA3 Corsair Force GT Raid-0, 4x1Tb RAID-5, 1x500GB
Display(s) 1x LG 27UD69P (4k), 2x Dell S2340M (1080p)
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek® ALC898 8-Channel High Definition Audio
Power Supply Seasonic 1000-watt 80 PLUS Platinum
Mouse Logitech G602
Keyboard Rosewill RK-9100
Software Ubuntu 17.10
Benchmark Scores Benchmarks aren't everything.
#35
I want the CPU to put 0 into flash but it's only 70-€ and I get poor 20 FPS on animations.
Not all software will use 100% of your CPU, even more so when you start using more than 1 core. That sounds about right to me. I doubt you'll get that to go much faster.

If this is @ 1080p, I would try dropping down to 720P, I bet you that it will run better, albeit with jagged edges on a 1080P display, but you know all about that running games at low graphics. ;)
 
Joined
Aug 8, 2010
Messages
540 (0.20/day)
Likes
58
Location
TX
System Name W540
Processor i7 4700MQ 4x 3.40GHz
Motherboard W540
Cooling Modded Fan + AS5
Memory 16GB PC12800 DDR3 Dual Channel
Video Card(s) nVidia Quadro K2100M 2GB GDDR5
Storage 256GB Samsung 850 Pro SSD
Display(s) 15.4" 3K IPS
Case ThinkPad W540
Audio Device(s) Realtek HD Audio
Power Supply 175W
Mouse Razer DeathAdder WOT Edition
Keyboard Razer Deathstallker
Software Windows 10 Home
#36
Not all software will use 100% of your CPU, even more so when you start using more than 1 core. That sounds about right to me. I doubt you'll get that to go much faster.

If this is @ 1080p, I would try dropping down to 720P, I bet you that it will run better, albeit with jagged edges on a 1080P display, but you know all about that running games at low graphics. ;)
1080p h.264 video plays perfect with only %50 cpu load
im talking about NON VIDEO flash :)
.swf files for example - why wont the cpu try HARDER!!??? xD
It's like a truck that has 300HP but will only go 250HP.
CPU has %20 - %30 breathing space and I wanna find a way of pushing it higher - setting the process priority to real time got me to %85.
 

Aquinus

Resident Wat-man
Joined
Jan 28, 2012
Messages
10,398 (4.85/day)
Likes
5,477
Location
Concord, NH
System Name Kratos
Processor Intel Core i7 3930k @ 4.2Ghz
Motherboard ASUS P9X79 Deluxe
Cooling Zalman CPNS9900MAX 130mm
Memory G.Skill DDR3-2133, 16gb (4x4gb) @ 9-11-10-28-108-1T 1.65v
Video Card(s) MSI AMD Radeon R9 390 GAMING 8GB @ PCI-E 3.0
Storage 2x120Gb SATA3 Corsair Force GT Raid-0, 4x1Tb RAID-5, 1x500GB
Display(s) 1x LG 27UD69P (4k), 2x Dell S2340M (1080p)
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek® ALC898 8-Channel High Definition Audio
Power Supply Seasonic 1000-watt 80 PLUS Platinum
Mouse Logitech G602
Keyboard Rosewill RK-9100
Software Ubuntu 17.10
Benchmark Scores Benchmarks aren't everything.
#37
1080p h.264 video plays perfect with only %50 cpu load
im talking about NON VIDEO flash :)
.swf files for example - why wont the cpu try HARDER!!??? xD
It's like a truck that has 300HP but will only go 250HP.
CPU has %20 - %30 breathing space and I wanna find a way of pushing it higher - setting the process priority to real time got me to %85.
Right, video is GPU accelerated. Vector animation IS NOT and relies on the CPU to do those vector calculations and at higher resolutions it hits the CPU harder. Just try lowing the resolution to see if it makes a difference. As a programmer I can tell you that when you start using multiple threads you have to lock data and there are only certain segments of code that can be made to run in parallel so it's very unlikely that it will hit 100% because that isn't how the application was programmed. This isn't a car where you give it throttle and it goes, it's much more complex than that and it's very important to realize that.
 
Joined
Aug 8, 2010
Messages
540 (0.20/day)
Likes
58
Location
TX
System Name W540
Processor i7 4700MQ 4x 3.40GHz
Motherboard W540
Cooling Modded Fan + AS5
Memory 16GB PC12800 DDR3 Dual Channel
Video Card(s) nVidia Quadro K2100M 2GB GDDR5
Storage 256GB Samsung 850 Pro SSD
Display(s) 15.4" 3K IPS
Case ThinkPad W540
Audio Device(s) Realtek HD Audio
Power Supply 175W
Mouse Razer DeathAdder WOT Edition
Keyboard Razer Deathstallker
Software Windows 10 Home
#38
Right, video is GPU accelerated. Vector animation IS NOT and relies on the CPU to do those vector calculations and at higher resolutions it hits the CPU harder. Just try lowing the resolution to see if it makes a difference.
would be nice if Adobe could make that GPU accelerated somehow - but im asking for too much.
Well thank you for all the info :)
Seems like I have to tweak the CPU a little with Brazostweker!
Thanks again!
If any1 has to add feel free !!! :D
 

Aquinus

Resident Wat-man
Joined
Jan 28, 2012
Messages
10,398 (4.85/day)
Likes
5,477
Location
Concord, NH
System Name Kratos
Processor Intel Core i7 3930k @ 4.2Ghz
Motherboard ASUS P9X79 Deluxe
Cooling Zalman CPNS9900MAX 130mm
Memory G.Skill DDR3-2133, 16gb (4x4gb) @ 9-11-10-28-108-1T 1.65v
Video Card(s) MSI AMD Radeon R9 390 GAMING 8GB @ PCI-E 3.0
Storage 2x120Gb SATA3 Corsair Force GT Raid-0, 4x1Tb RAID-5, 1x500GB
Display(s) 1x LG 27UD69P (4k), 2x Dell S2340M (1080p)
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek® ALC898 8-Channel High Definition Audio
Power Supply Seasonic 1000-watt 80 PLUS Platinum
Mouse Logitech G602
Keyboard Rosewill RK-9100
Software Ubuntu 17.10
Benchmark Scores Benchmarks aren't everything.
#39
would be nice if Adobe could make that GPU accelerated somehow - but im asking for too much.
Well thank you for all the info :)
Seems like I have to tweak the CPU a little with Brazostweker!
Thanks again!
If any1 has to add feel free !!! :D
I don't think that you're realizing that this is simply a CPU or memory bandwidth bottleneck (or both), it's not much more complex than that. You didn't get a super fast CPU and it's going to struggle with a lot of things. Just keep that in mind.

Good luck. :toast:
 
Joined
Aug 8, 2010
Messages
540 (0.20/day)
Likes
58
Location
TX
System Name W540
Processor i7 4700MQ 4x 3.40GHz
Motherboard W540
Cooling Modded Fan + AS5
Memory 16GB PC12800 DDR3 Dual Channel
Video Card(s) nVidia Quadro K2100M 2GB GDDR5
Storage 256GB Samsung 850 Pro SSD
Display(s) 15.4" 3K IPS
Case ThinkPad W540
Audio Device(s) Realtek HD Audio
Power Supply 175W
Mouse Razer DeathAdder WOT Edition
Keyboard Razer Deathstallker
Software Windows 10 Home
#40
dont think its the ram!
my core 2 duo with 533mhz single chanel handles it just fine - pritty sure it's the cpu but I don't even wanna imagine how a atom would run this thing haha
 

Aquinus

Resident Wat-man
Joined
Jan 28, 2012
Messages
10,398 (4.85/day)
Likes
5,477
Location
Concord, NH
System Name Kratos
Processor Intel Core i7 3930k @ 4.2Ghz
Motherboard ASUS P9X79 Deluxe
Cooling Zalman CPNS9900MAX 130mm
Memory G.Skill DDR3-2133, 16gb (4x4gb) @ 9-11-10-28-108-1T 1.65v
Video Card(s) MSI AMD Radeon R9 390 GAMING 8GB @ PCI-E 3.0
Storage 2x120Gb SATA3 Corsair Force GT Raid-0, 4x1Tb RAID-5, 1x500GB
Display(s) 1x LG 27UD69P (4k), 2x Dell S2340M (1080p)
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek® ALC898 8-Channel High Definition Audio
Power Supply Seasonic 1000-watt 80 PLUS Platinum
Mouse Logitech G602
Keyboard Rosewill RK-9100
Software Ubuntu 17.10
Benchmark Scores Benchmarks aren't everything.
#41
dont think its the ram!
I agree, but it's always a consideration.
my core 2 duo with 533mhz single chanel handles it just fine
C2Ds aren't that slow, in fact it is most likely faster.
pritty sure it's the cpu but I don't even wanna imagine how a atom would run this thing haha
Hah! Yeah, certainly not better but I wouldn't imagine that it would be that much less if it isn't more (which I doubt it is). Newer atoms aren't that bad in comparison if you don't consider the iGPU.
 
Joined
Aug 8, 2010
Messages
540 (0.20/day)
Likes
58
Location
TX
System Name W540
Processor i7 4700MQ 4x 3.40GHz
Motherboard W540
Cooling Modded Fan + AS5
Memory 16GB PC12800 DDR3 Dual Channel
Video Card(s) nVidia Quadro K2100M 2GB GDDR5
Storage 256GB Samsung 850 Pro SSD
Display(s) 15.4" 3K IPS
Case ThinkPad W540
Audio Device(s) Realtek HD Audio
Power Supply 175W
Mouse Razer DeathAdder WOT Edition
Keyboard Razer Deathstallker
Software Windows 10 Home
#42
Yeah core 2 duos are much faster!
I would say the E2-1800 is more like Core Duo speed or a AMD Turion64 X2 speed.
I can tell you that a N270 it slower than a pentium 3 @ 1.4GHz!
Youtube only runs @240p on that thing.