• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Flashed rx 480 to rx470 bios

VelvetOverlap

New Member
Joined
Jan 8, 2021
Messages
10 (0.08/day)
hi,
I accidentally flashed the rx 480 to rx 470 bios. It had mining bios before so I wanted to put regular bios and mistakenly put wrong bios, now the card has artifacts and every time I try to flash it is says subsystem id's mismatch. Any help would be appreciated.
 

Attachments

  • bde4db15-f178-4e3b-8f2d-f737337cd83f.jpg
    bde4db15-f178-4e3b-8f2d-f737337cd83f.jpg
    107.7 KB · Views: 32
Joined
Nov 22, 2014
Messages
77 (0.03/day)
System Name I could say remaining parts or something like that...
Processor i5 2500k @ 4,8 ghz/Xeon x5650
Motherboard Asus Z68 gene-z/G1 Assassin
Cooling 240mm radiator/212+
Memory 8gb ddr3-1333/16gb ddr3-1866
Video Card(s) Nitro RX460 4gb/2x RX570 Red Devil
Storage Many
Display(s) Samsung TV/Topsync 2560*1440
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply Seasonic 620w/Corsair 860i
Software 10 64 bit ultimate
Take your card apart. Take pictures of the gpu chip and one memory chip after a bit of cleaning, the kind people who'll be able to help you will ask for them anyway.

Be sure to have thermal paste and high purity alcool (closest to 100% you can get) on hand before starting the process. Advance slowly and be cautious, and all should be good.

Your card's memory is not using the right parameters, hence the artifacts. You did not broke anything, just got yourself in for a lesson on how to recover from a bad flash!
 

VelvetOverlap

New Member
Joined
Jan 8, 2021
Messages
10 (0.08/day)
I did my best, I don't have the best camera on the phone, I hope it's enough.
 

Attachments

  • 2fb5c12c-5220-401f-8ec6-1da0792e6bde.jpg
    2fb5c12c-5220-401f-8ec6-1da0792e6bde.jpg
    215.8 KB · Views: 38
  • 6f868224-00dd-4647-82a3-5ff2f3c6721b.jpg
    6f868224-00dd-4647-82a3-5ff2f3c6721b.jpg
    290.1 KB · Views: 34
Joined
Oct 26, 2016
Messages
1,086 (0.65/day)
Location
BGD
System Name KING-XEON
Processor Xeon 2697 V2(12c/24t) (OC-3,45Ghz-ALL*CORES----TURBO BOOSTING 4,03Ghz)
Motherboard Sabertooth X79
Cooling Xigmatek LOKI SD963 double-Fan
Memory 34Gb DDR3 Kingston Hyper Blue 1540Mhz Active clocks(9-9-9-30-160-2T)
Video Card(s) 1)R9 Fury Sapphire Nitro 4gbHBM/1080Mhz***2)MATROX P690
Storage 2 x ssd-Kingston 240Gb A400 in RAID 0+ HDD 500Gb +Samsung 128gb
Display(s) BenQ 28"EL2870U(4K-HDR)/ Acer 24"(1080P)/ 2x Eizo 19"
Case Lian Lee
Audio Device(s) Realtek/Creative T20 Speakers
Power Supply F S P Hyper S 700W
Mouse Asus TUF-GAMING M3
Keyboard Func FUNC-KB-460/Mechanical Keyboard
Software Win 10
Benchmark Scores Fire Strike=14610,Cinebench R15=1789,Cinebench R20=3756.Passmark=20073,Geekbench4=32885 multi
Well seems like RX 480 Nitro 4gb with Samsung memory it should be this BIOS anyway you will probably need to use also -F(force) command when you try flashing next time.....
P.S.I am just trying to help but it's totally ONLY YOURS responsibility what are you going to do next.....
GL
 

VelvetOverlap

New Member
Joined
Jan 8, 2021
Messages
10 (0.08/day)
Well seems like RX 480 Nitro 4gb with Samsung memory it should be this BIOS anyway you will probably need to use also -F(force) command when you try flashing next time.....
P.S.I am just trying to help but it's totally ONLY YOURS responsibility what are you going to do next.....
GL
so what's the best thing to do, should I 1st try using flasing tool, and then if it doesn't work force command? I never did it that way, anything I can screw up?
 
Joined
Oct 26, 2016
Messages
1,086 (0.65/day)
Location
BGD
System Name KING-XEON
Processor Xeon 2697 V2(12c/24t) (OC-3,45Ghz-ALL*CORES----TURBO BOOSTING 4,03Ghz)
Motherboard Sabertooth X79
Cooling Xigmatek LOKI SD963 double-Fan
Memory 34Gb DDR3 Kingston Hyper Blue 1540Mhz Active clocks(9-9-9-30-160-2T)
Video Card(s) 1)R9 Fury Sapphire Nitro 4gbHBM/1080Mhz***2)MATROX P690
Storage 2 x ssd-Kingston 240Gb A400 in RAID 0+ HDD 500Gb +Samsung 128gb
Display(s) BenQ 28"EL2870U(4K-HDR)/ Acer 24"(1080P)/ 2x Eizo 19"
Case Lian Lee
Audio Device(s) Realtek/Creative T20 Speakers
Power Supply F S P Hyper S 700W
Mouse Asus TUF-GAMING M3
Keyboard Func FUNC-KB-460/Mechanical Keyboard
Software Win 10
Benchmark Scores Fire Strike=14610,Cinebench R15=1789,Cinebench R20=3756.Passmark=20073,Geekbench4=32885 multi
You Need to use Atiflash from the command Prompt and maybe even some Atiflash version that will allow you to do force command....
There are videos&text how to do it and probably you should try to search and read FIRST before you do any attempt.....
As I remember in this VIDEO not exactly your case but (around 6 min)you can see how to use -f and Atiflash from the command prompt....GL
 
Joined
Oct 26, 2016
Messages
1,086 (0.65/day)
Location
BGD
System Name KING-XEON
Processor Xeon 2697 V2(12c/24t) (OC-3,45Ghz-ALL*CORES----TURBO BOOSTING 4,03Ghz)
Motherboard Sabertooth X79
Cooling Xigmatek LOKI SD963 double-Fan
Memory 34Gb DDR3 Kingston Hyper Blue 1540Mhz Active clocks(9-9-9-30-160-2T)
Video Card(s) 1)R9 Fury Sapphire Nitro 4gbHBM/1080Mhz***2)MATROX P690
Storage 2 x ssd-Kingston 240Gb A400 in RAID 0+ HDD 500Gb +Samsung 128gb
Display(s) BenQ 28"EL2870U(4K-HDR)/ Acer 24"(1080P)/ 2x Eizo 19"
Case Lian Lee
Audio Device(s) Realtek/Creative T20 Speakers
Power Supply F S P Hyper S 700W
Mouse Asus TUF-GAMING M3
Keyboard Func FUNC-KB-460/Mechanical Keyboard
Software Win 10
Benchmark Scores Fire Strike=14610,Cinebench R15=1789,Cinebench R20=3756.Passmark=20073,Geekbench4=32885 multi
what do you think about this Video ? is it legit
Yeah it is.....you just don't need to save your stock bios because it's not actually yours card stock bios as you already flashed WRONG bios on it.....
 
Joined
Oct 26, 2016
Messages
1,086 (0.65/day)
Location
BGD
System Name KING-XEON
Processor Xeon 2697 V2(12c/24t) (OC-3,45Ghz-ALL*CORES----TURBO BOOSTING 4,03Ghz)
Motherboard Sabertooth X79
Cooling Xigmatek LOKI SD963 double-Fan
Memory 34Gb DDR3 Kingston Hyper Blue 1540Mhz Active clocks(9-9-9-30-160-2T)
Video Card(s) 1)R9 Fury Sapphire Nitro 4gbHBM/1080Mhz***2)MATROX P690
Storage 2 x ssd-Kingston 240Gb A400 in RAID 0+ HDD 500Gb +Samsung 128gb
Display(s) BenQ 28"EL2870U(4K-HDR)/ Acer 24"(1080P)/ 2x Eizo 19"
Case Lian Lee
Audio Device(s) Realtek/Creative T20 Speakers
Power Supply F S P Hyper S 700W
Mouse Asus TUF-GAMING M3
Keyboard Func FUNC-KB-460/Mechanical Keyboard
Software Win 10
Benchmark Scores Fire Strike=14610,Cinebench R15=1789,Cinebench R20=3756.Passmark=20073,Geekbench4=32885 multi

VelvetOverlap

New Member
Joined
Jan 8, 2021
Messages
10 (0.08/day)
soooo, I flashed it, and uninstalled the driver from the device manager (since someone told me I have to do it after bios flash), the artifacts were gone after the flash, I restarted it after all that and now I get blank screen. welp
 
Last edited:
Joined
Oct 26, 2016
Messages
1,086 (0.65/day)
Location
BGD
System Name KING-XEON
Processor Xeon 2697 V2(12c/24t) (OC-3,45Ghz-ALL*CORES----TURBO BOOSTING 4,03Ghz)
Motherboard Sabertooth X79
Cooling Xigmatek LOKI SD963 double-Fan
Memory 34Gb DDR3 Kingston Hyper Blue 1540Mhz Active clocks(9-9-9-30-160-2T)
Video Card(s) 1)R9 Fury Sapphire Nitro 4gbHBM/1080Mhz***2)MATROX P690
Storage 2 x ssd-Kingston 240Gb A400 in RAID 0+ HDD 500Gb +Samsung 128gb
Display(s) BenQ 28"EL2870U(4K-HDR)/ Acer 24"(1080P)/ 2x Eizo 19"
Case Lian Lee
Audio Device(s) Realtek/Creative T20 Speakers
Power Supply F S P Hyper S 700W
Mouse Asus TUF-GAMING M3
Keyboard Func FUNC-KB-460/Mechanical Keyboard
Software Win 10
Benchmark Scores Fire Strike=14610,Cinebench R15=1789,Cinebench R20=3756.Passmark=20073,Geekbench4=32885 multi
Ok so OP send me the private messages asking what he was supposed to do next.....in short after all he realized that his bios flashing actually WAS successful but he have old motherboard that could not recognized GPU(UEFI issue)so as soon as he tried on other mobo everything worked perfectly fine!!!here bellow is png file /our private conversation/ and I just wanted to post that here so that maybe someone who get the similar issue know what/how to solve the problem.....also I asked him to post all of this in his thread but from some reason he still didn't do it....so then I decide to do it :).....
P.S. CASE CLOSED
 

Attachments

  • solution.png
    solution.png
    314.3 KB · Views: 27
Last edited:
Top