• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Flashed Wrong Video Bios :-(

Joined
Feb 10, 2007
Messages
2,402 (0.61/day)
Likes
468
Location
Oulu, Finland
System Name Enslaver :)
Processor Intel i5 3570K Ivy Bridge, 4GHz no voltage increase OC
Motherboard ASRock Z77 Extreme4
Cooling CPU: Noctua NH-D14, Case: mix of different fans
Memory 24GB DDR3 1866MHz- mix Samsung green 1600MHZ OC + Kingston Fury 1866MHz stock
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX 1080 A8G Strix + disbled Intel HD4000
Storage 500GB Samsung Evo 850 SSD, internal WD Red 4TB for storage
Display(s) LG 55SJ810V 4K IPS TV, HDR
Case Corsair 800D
Audio Device(s) Over HDMI
Power Supply Quite new Corsair RM850x
Mouse ROG Gladius
Keyboard QPAD MX-50 mechanical
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#1
Flashed Wrong Video Bios X600XT :-(

Hi all!

I installed a new video card yesterday (Sapphire X800GTO Fireblade 256Mb) and decided to flash other bios versions on my old one to see if they could remove the overclocking problems I had with it.
Quite dumb isn´t it? - I could have sold it for about 50€
My old card is an PCI-E Club3D X600 XT 128Mb an has 2.8ns Hynix rams.

First I made a backup of the default bios with Rabit bios editor. Then I downloaded the ATI X600 XT 128 MB Hynix 2.8ns (503/368MHz) bios from the ATI Bios Collection. I checked the downloaded bios with Rabit for differences and found them to be very similar. I flashed it into the bios with Flashrom and rebooted.
The card worked a little bit slower afterwards so I decided to try the Asus X600 XT 128Mb Hynix 2.2ns from ATI Bios Collection (503/370MHz). Before flashing I checked the bios for differences from the default. All timings were the same so I thought the 0.6ns difference in Ram speed wouldn´t hurt the card. The only difference I found was:
There was:
Active TV type: 'NTSC'
> Multimedia table: at 0x6EF, Rev.1
> Hardware table: at 0x6DD, Rev.2
instead of only (Default bios):
Active TV type: 'NTSC'
> Hardware table: at 0x69D, Rev.2

However I flashed it into the bios (without any error message) and rebooted. No picture. I installed a PCI video card and tried flashing the old bios back. But Flashrom does not find the card anymore. I installed my new PCI-E card to see if Flashrom would detect it and it did. I read a lot about flashing before and nearly all say that it is possible to flash back an old bios with a PCI video card installed. But no one said anything about cards not found anymore afterwards. So what should i try next?
 
Last edited:

Kammster

New Member
Joined
Nov 26, 2006
Messages
188 (0.05/day)
Likes
3
Location
Guyana, South America
Processor Sempron 64 2800+ DH-E6 (@2Ghz - bios limit)
Motherboard DFI NF3 250-AL (@250 FSB - 2000 HTT)
Cooling 92mm + 80mm Exhausts / Amd HSF mod:80mm fan + VF700 cuLED [mod to x800 fan control]
Memory 1GB Buffalo DDR 400 @416 3-4-4-8 1T
Video Card(s) Sapphire X800 GTO (broken- sapphire is BAD)--256mb 6200
Storage WD 120 GB Caviar SE + 1GB Flash [80GB 7200.9 offline]
Display(s) 19" Samsung Widesceen LCD
Case Xtech cheapo
Audio Device(s) onboard - Realtek 6Ch
Power Supply Coolermaster eXtreme Power 550W w/ Antec 120mmLED
Software Windows XP SP2 + nforce 76.45 + nforce 5.10
#2
try atiflash

atiflash -i .....to locate card


atiflash -f -p 0 bios file

0 is the number of the card
0 is primary
1 is secondary
 
Joined
Feb 10, 2007
Messages
2,402 (0.61/day)
Likes
468
Location
Oulu, Finland
System Name Enslaver :)
Processor Intel i5 3570K Ivy Bridge, 4GHz no voltage increase OC
Motherboard ASRock Z77 Extreme4
Cooling CPU: Noctua NH-D14, Case: mix of different fans
Memory 24GB DDR3 1866MHz- mix Samsung green 1600MHZ OC + Kingston Fury 1866MHz stock
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX 1080 A8G Strix + disbled Intel HD4000
Storage 500GB Samsung Evo 850 SSD, internal WD Red 4TB for storage
Display(s) LG 55SJ810V 4K IPS TV, HDR
Case Corsair 800D
Audio Device(s) Over HDMI
Power Supply Quite new Corsair RM850x
Mouse ROG Gladius
Keyboard QPAD MX-50 mechanical
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#3
Atiflash or Flashrom do not recognize the PCI-E card anymore using a PCI card to boot.
With the PCI-E card alone the PC won´t post (no beep sound) so blindflash is not possible.
 
Joined
Feb 10, 2007
Messages
2,402 (0.61/day)
Likes
468
Location
Oulu, Finland
System Name Enslaver :)
Processor Intel i5 3570K Ivy Bridge, 4GHz no voltage increase OC
Motherboard ASRock Z77 Extreme4
Cooling CPU: Noctua NH-D14, Case: mix of different fans
Memory 24GB DDR3 1866MHz- mix Samsung green 1600MHZ OC + Kingston Fury 1866MHz stock
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX 1080 A8G Strix + disbled Intel HD4000
Storage 500GB Samsung Evo 850 SSD, internal WD Red 4TB for storage
Display(s) LG 55SJ810V 4K IPS TV, HDR
Case Corsair 800D
Audio Device(s) Over HDMI
Power Supply Quite new Corsair RM850x
Mouse ROG Gladius
Keyboard QPAD MX-50 mechanical
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#5
thx a lot i`ll try it
 
Joined
Feb 10, 2007
Messages
2,402 (0.61/day)
Likes
468
Location
Oulu, Finland
System Name Enslaver :)
Processor Intel i5 3570K Ivy Bridge, 4GHz no voltage increase OC
Motherboard ASRock Z77 Extreme4
Cooling CPU: Noctua NH-D14, Case: mix of different fans
Memory 24GB DDR3 1866MHz- mix Samsung green 1600MHZ OC + Kingston Fury 1866MHz stock
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX 1080 A8G Strix + disbled Intel HD4000
Storage 500GB Samsung Evo 850 SSD, internal WD Red 4TB for storage
Display(s) LG 55SJ810V 4K IPS TV, HDR
Case Corsair 800D
Audio Device(s) Over HDMI
Power Supply Quite new Corsair RM850x
Mouse ROG Gladius
Keyboard QPAD MX-50 mechanical
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#6
Last edited:
Joined
Feb 10, 2007
Messages
2,402 (0.61/day)
Likes
468
Location
Oulu, Finland
System Name Enslaver :)
Processor Intel i5 3570K Ivy Bridge, 4GHz no voltage increase OC
Motherboard ASRock Z77 Extreme4
Cooling CPU: Noctua NH-D14, Case: mix of different fans
Memory 24GB DDR3 1866MHz- mix Samsung green 1600MHZ OC + Kingston Fury 1866MHz stock
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX 1080 A8G Strix + disbled Intel HD4000
Storage 500GB Samsung Evo 850 SSD, internal WD Red 4TB for storage
Display(s) LG 55SJ810V 4K IPS TV, HDR
Case Corsair 800D
Audio Device(s) Over HDMI
Power Supply Quite new Corsair RM850x
Mouse ROG Gladius
Keyboard QPAD MX-50 mechanical
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#7
Read tread "Wrong Bios Disaster Recovery!"
 
Joined
Feb 10, 2007
Messages
2,402 (0.61/day)
Likes
468
Location
Oulu, Finland
System Name Enslaver :)
Processor Intel i5 3570K Ivy Bridge, 4GHz no voltage increase OC
Motherboard ASRock Z77 Extreme4
Cooling CPU: Noctua NH-D14, Case: mix of different fans
Memory 24GB DDR3 1866MHz- mix Samsung green 1600MHZ OC + Kingston Fury 1866MHz stock
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX 1080 A8G Strix + disbled Intel HD4000
Storage 500GB Samsung Evo 850 SSD, internal WD Red 4TB for storage
Display(s) LG 55SJ810V 4K IPS TV, HDR
Case Corsair 800D
Audio Device(s) Over HDMI
Power Supply Quite new Corsair RM850x
Mouse ROG Gladius
Keyboard QPAD MX-50 mechanical
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#9
Sorry I am no expert in this one
 
Joined
Feb 10, 2007
Messages
2,402 (0.61/day)
Likes
468
Location
Oulu, Finland
System Name Enslaver :)
Processor Intel i5 3570K Ivy Bridge, 4GHz no voltage increase OC
Motherboard ASRock Z77 Extreme4
Cooling CPU: Noctua NH-D14, Case: mix of different fans
Memory 24GB DDR3 1866MHz- mix Samsung green 1600MHZ OC + Kingston Fury 1866MHz stock
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX 1080 A8G Strix + disbled Intel HD4000
Storage 500GB Samsung Evo 850 SSD, internal WD Red 4TB for storage
Display(s) LG 55SJ810V 4K IPS TV, HDR
Case Corsair 800D
Audio Device(s) Over HDMI
Power Supply Quite new Corsair RM850x
Mouse ROG Gladius
Keyboard QPAD MX-50 mechanical
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#11
this i found in the Ati-Bios Collection - but none of them is Ati original.

GeCube X1300 Pro 512 MB Dec 23rd 2005 10:19 AM Jul 24th 2006 2:45 PM 601 / 265
unknown Download

MSI X1300 Pro 256 MB Sep 29th 2005 1:52 AM Jan 6th 2006 5:14 PM 600 / 400
Infineon 2.5 Download

Sapphire X1300 Non-Pro 256 MB Oct 18th 2005 12:32 PM Jan 6th 2006 5:12 PM 450 / 250
Infineon 2.8 Download

Sapphire X1300 Pro 256 MB Dec 12th 2005 10:20 AM Jul 24th 2006 3:33 PM 600 / 400
Infineon
 
Joined
Nov 1, 2006
Messages
37 (0.01/day)
Likes
6
#12
One question for Laurijan.How could you flash x1900 crossfire card with x1300 bios and it´s working?That isn´t possible...
 
Joined
Feb 10, 2007
Messages
2,402 (0.61/day)
Likes
468
Location
Oulu, Finland
System Name Enslaver :)
Processor Intel i5 3570K Ivy Bridge, 4GHz no voltage increase OC
Motherboard ASRock Z77 Extreme4
Cooling CPU: Noctua NH-D14, Case: mix of different fans
Memory 24GB DDR3 1866MHz- mix Samsung green 1600MHZ OC + Kingston Fury 1866MHz stock
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX 1080 A8G Strix + disbled Intel HD4000
Storage 500GB Samsung Evo 850 SSD, internal WD Red 4TB for storage
Display(s) LG 55SJ810V 4K IPS TV, HDR
Case Corsair 800D
Audio Device(s) Over HDMI
Power Supply Quite new Corsair RM850x
Mouse ROG Gladius
Keyboard QPAD MX-50 mechanical
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#13
When flashing bioses with are not compatible (W1zzard made it by mistake) theres not allways a error message somehow. And "I flashed my X1900 Crossfire with an X1300 bios"
by W1zzard is the solution how he fixed the error he made.
 

dolf

New Member
Joined
Mar 16, 2005
Messages
2,058 (0.44/day)
Likes
30
#14
When you force the flash using -f option it won't worn you about mistake because the flash program didn't care about what you are flashing to the EEPROM chip. It just "follows" your instructions ;) .
 
Joined
Feb 10, 2007
Messages
2,402 (0.61/day)
Likes
468
Location
Oulu, Finland
System Name Enslaver :)
Processor Intel i5 3570K Ivy Bridge, 4GHz no voltage increase OC
Motherboard ASRock Z77 Extreme4
Cooling CPU: Noctua NH-D14, Case: mix of different fans
Memory 24GB DDR3 1866MHz- mix Samsung green 1600MHZ OC + Kingston Fury 1866MHz stock
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX 1080 A8G Strix + disbled Intel HD4000
Storage 500GB Samsung Evo 850 SSD, internal WD Red 4TB for storage
Display(s) LG 55SJ810V 4K IPS TV, HDR
Case Corsair 800D
Audio Device(s) Over HDMI
Power Supply Quite new Corsair RM850x
Mouse ROG Gladius
Keyboard QPAD MX-50 mechanical
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#16
Why shouldn´t it be possible - it worked for W1zzard and it worked for me - I don´t know why it work it is somehow.
 
Joined
Jan 28, 2007
Messages
2,646 (0.67/day)
Likes
201
Location
UK
System Name Ma Biatch
Processor i7 860
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-P55-UD3A
Cooling Noctua
Memory 8gb (4x2gb) G-Skill
Video Card(s) GTX 470
Storage WD5000aaks raid0
Display(s) Sony Bravia 37" 1080p
Case CM 690
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair HX520
Software Windows 7 Ultimate
#17
congrats mate, glad you have finally got it sorted, thats why i try and stay away from bios flashing myt cards, too much room for error and imo the benefit is outweighed by potential or risk of damage to my card (which i love and cant wait to start gaming on it when i get my new hdd tomorrow ;) )
 

tigger

I'm the only one
Joined
Mar 20, 2006
Messages
10,476 (2.45/day)
Likes
1,673
System Name Black to the Core MKIV
Processor Intel I7 6700k
Motherboard Asus Z170 Pro Gaming socket 1151
Cooling NZXT Kraken X61 280mm radiator
Memory 2x8gb Corsair vengeance LPX 2400 DDR4
Video Card(s) XFX Radeon R9 290 4gb ddr5
Storage Patriot Blast 120gb ssd Boot and WD10EADX-22TDHB0 1TB Data
Display(s) Dell 2408WFP 24" 1920x1200
Case Nzxt IS 340
Audio Device(s) Asus xonar dsx pci-e
Power Supply Corsair CX750
Mouse Logitech G502
Software Win 10 Pro x64
#19
do i turn on with wire connected then disconnect when it boots up or when i'm gonna flash it?
 
Joined
Feb 10, 2007
Messages
2,402 (0.61/day)
Likes
468
Location
Oulu, Finland
System Name Enslaver :)
Processor Intel i5 3570K Ivy Bridge, 4GHz no voltage increase OC
Motherboard ASRock Z77 Extreme4
Cooling CPU: Noctua NH-D14, Case: mix of different fans
Memory 24GB DDR3 1866MHz- mix Samsung green 1600MHZ OC + Kingston Fury 1866MHz stock
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX 1080 A8G Strix + disbled Intel HD4000
Storage 500GB Samsung Evo 850 SSD, internal WD Red 4TB for storage
Display(s) LG 55SJ810V 4K IPS TV, HDR
Case Corsair 800D
Audio Device(s) Over HDMI
Power Supply Quite new Corsair RM850x
Mouse ROG Gladius
Keyboard QPAD MX-50 mechanical
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#20
do i turn on with wire connected then disconnect when it boots up or when i'm gonna flash it?
Like i said in thread "Wrong Bios Disaster Recovery! (W1zzards trick)" i soldered on the wire with the switch and put in into the posistion where it short cuts the pins. Then installed the PCI card and the PCI-E card while having the monitor connected to the PCI one and started and the computer - the card was recognized once i type -flashrom -i (atiflash -i) then put the swith in the position where is did not short cut the pins and flashed the bios onto it - so remember - short cut position - previosly not recognized card is recognized - close position - flashing ability is on
 
Last edited: