1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Flashed Wrong Video Bios :-(

Discussion in 'Graphics Cards' started by Laurijan, Feb 13, 2007.

  1. Laurijan

    Laurijan

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2007
    Messages:
    2,356 (0.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    421
    Location:
    Oulu, Finland
    Flashed Wrong Video Bios X600XT :-(

    Hi all!

    I installed a new video card yesterday (Sapphire X800GTO Fireblade 256Mb) and decided to flash other bios versions on my old one to see if they could remove the overclocking problems I had with it.
    Quite dumb isn´t it? - I could have sold it for about 50€
    My old card is an PCI-E Club3D X600 XT 128Mb an has 2.8ns Hynix rams.

    First I made a backup of the default bios with Rabit bios editor. Then I downloaded the ATI X600 XT 128 MB Hynix 2.8ns (503/368MHz) bios from the ATI Bios Collection. I checked the downloaded bios with Rabit for differences and found them to be very similar. I flashed it into the bios with Flashrom and rebooted.
    The card worked a little bit slower afterwards so I decided to try the Asus X600 XT 128Mb Hynix 2.2ns from ATI Bios Collection (503/370MHz). Before flashing I checked the bios for differences from the default. All timings were the same so I thought the 0.6ns difference in Ram speed wouldn´t hurt the card. The only difference I found was:
    There was:
    Active TV type: 'NTSC'
    > Multimedia table: at 0x6EF, Rev.1
    > Hardware table: at 0x6DD, Rev.2
    instead of only (Default bios):
    Active TV type: 'NTSC'
    > Hardware table: at 0x69D, Rev.2

    However I flashed it into the bios (without any error message) and rebooted. No picture. I installed a PCI video card and tried flashing the old bios back. But Flashrom does not find the card anymore. I installed my new PCI-E card to see if Flashrom would detect it and it did. I read a lot about flashing before and nearly all say that it is possible to flash back an old bios with a PCI video card installed. But no one said anything about cards not found anymore afterwards. So what should i try next?
     
    Last edited: Feb 13, 2007
    10 Year Member at TPU
  2. Kammster New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2006
    Messages:
    188 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Location:
    Guyana, South America
    try atiflash

    atiflash -i .....to locate card


    atiflash -f -p 0 bios file

    0 is the number of the card
    0 is primary
    1 is secondary
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  3. Laurijan

    Laurijan

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2007
    Messages:
    2,356 (0.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    421
    Location:
    Oulu, Finland
    Atiflash or Flashrom do not recognize the PCI-E card anymore using a PCI card to boot.
    With the PCI-E card alone the PC won´t post (no beep sound) so blindflash is not possible.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  4. dolf New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2005
    Messages:
    2,058 (0.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    30
  5. Laurijan

    Laurijan

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2007
    Messages:
    2,356 (0.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    421
    Location:
    Oulu, Finland
    thx a lot i`ll try it
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  6. Laurijan

    Laurijan

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2007
    Messages:
    2,356 (0.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    421
    Location:
    Oulu, Finland
    Last edited: Feb 14, 2007
    10 Year Member at TPU
  7. Laurijan

    Laurijan

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2007
    Messages:
    2,356 (0.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    421
    Location:
    Oulu, Finland
    Read tread "Wrong Bios Disaster Recovery!"
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  8. cristiano New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2007
    Messages:
    2 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    please help me and tell me where i can find original bios for ati radeon x 1300pro AGP
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  9. Laurijan

    Laurijan

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2007
    Messages:
    2,356 (0.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    421
    Location:
    Oulu, Finland
    Sorry I am no expert in this one
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  10. cristiano New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2007
    Messages:
    2 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    hey

    do you know anybody who know´s that
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  11. Laurijan

    Laurijan

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2007
    Messages:
    2,356 (0.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    421
    Location:
    Oulu, Finland
    this i found in the Ati-Bios Collection - but none of them is Ati original.

    GeCube X1300 Pro 512 MB Dec 23rd 2005 10:19 AM Jul 24th 2006 2:45 PM 601 / 265
    unknown Download

    MSI X1300 Pro 256 MB Sep 29th 2005 1:52 AM Jan 6th 2006 5:14 PM 600 / 400
    Infineon 2.5 Download

    Sapphire X1300 Non-Pro 256 MB Oct 18th 2005 12:32 PM Jan 6th 2006 5:12 PM 450 / 250
    Infineon 2.8 Download

    Sapphire X1300 Pro 256 MB Dec 12th 2005 10:20 AM Jul 24th 2006 3:33 PM 600 / 400
    Infineon
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  12. Quake

    Quake

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2006
    Messages:
    37 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    One question for Laurijan.How could you flash x1900 crossfire card with x1300 bios and it´s working?That isn´t possible...
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  13. Laurijan

    Laurijan

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2007
    Messages:
    2,356 (0.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    421
    Location:
    Oulu, Finland
    When flashing bioses with are not compatible (W1zzard made it by mistake) theres not allways a error message somehow. And "I flashed my X1900 Crossfire with an X1300 bios"
    by W1zzard is the solution how he fixed the error he made.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  14. dolf New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2005
    Messages:
    2,058 (0.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    30
    When you force the flash using -f option it won't worn you about mistake because the flash program didn't care about what you are flashing to the EEPROM chip. It just "follows" your instructions ;) .
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  15. Quake

    Quake

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2006
    Messages:
    37 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    And it`s working?That isnt possible
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  16. Laurijan

    Laurijan

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2007
    Messages:
    2,356 (0.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    421
    Location:
    Oulu, Finland
    Why shouldn´t it be possible - it worked for W1zzard and it worked for me - I don´t know why it work it is somehow.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  17. mullered07

    mullered07 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2007
    Messages:
    2,646 (0.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    204
    Location:
    UK
    congrats mate, glad you have finally got it sorted, thats why i try and stay away from bios flashing myt cards, too much room for error and imo the benefit is outweighed by potential or risk of damage to my card (which i love and cant wait to start gaming on it when i get my new hdd tomorrow ;) )
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  18. dolf New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2005
    Messages:
    2,058 (0.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    30

    The method of flashing of seemingly dead card WORKS not the X1900 BIOS flashed with X1300 ;) .
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  19. tigger

    tigger I'm the only one

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2006
    Messages:
    10,476 (2.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,695
    do i turn on with wire connected then disconnect when it boots up or when i'm gonna flash it?
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  20. Laurijan

    Laurijan

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2007
    Messages:
    2,356 (0.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    421
    Location:
    Oulu, Finland
    Like i said in thread "Wrong Bios Disaster Recovery! (W1zzards trick)" i soldered on the wire with the switch and put in into the posistion where it short cuts the pins. Then installed the PCI card and the PCI-E card while having the monitor connected to the PCI one and started and the computer - the card was recognized once i type -flashrom -i (atiflash -i) then put the swith in the position where is did not short cut the pins and flashed the bios onto it - so remember - short cut position - previosly not recognized card is recognized - close position - flashing ability is on
     
    Last edited: Dec 17, 2007
    10 Year Member at TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)