• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Flashing different BIOS

Joined
Jan 22, 2009
Messages
262 (0.08/day)
Likes
4
System Name my comp~
Processor Intel Core 2 Duo E6750 @ 3.6Ghz
Motherboard Asus P5K
Cooling OCZ Vendetta 2
Memory Kingston HyperX 1GB x 2 5-5-5-15 2.2v
Video Card(s) MSI 4830 512MB OC @ 735/1140
Storage Samsung 320GB (7200/16M)
Display(s) 21.6" Samsung Syncmaster 2253LW
Case GMC H-70
Power Supply 430w atx power
Software Windows XP Pro SP 3
Benchmark Scores 3D Mark06 - 13487 Super Pi - 14.078s
#1
I have heard that some people flash their BIOS that is not their own.

For example, my board is Asus p5k and instead of flashing it with newer asus p5k bios,

the person got um... a better Asus board's bios and flashed it and got it to work.

And he has more options for say.. Overclocking.

Is this really possible?? :confused:

If so, why do people even bother to buy a good expensive board with many settings?

Or is it just really risky
 
Joined
May 31, 2008
Messages
5,787 (1.66/day)
Likes
855
Location
Switzerland, Heart of Europe
System Name Fractality 1.0
Processor Intel Core i7-860 @ 3.6GHz
Motherboard EVGA P55 SLI
Cooling Prolimatech Megahalems and four Fractal Design 120mm fans, sleeved
Memory 16GB Kingston Hyper RAM
Video Card(s) PNY GeForce 580 XLR8
Storage 64GB and 180GB SSDs / 1TB and 2TB HDDs
Display(s) 24" Acer V243W
Case Fractal Design Define R2, sleeved all I/O cables
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply Corsair HX750W modular, sadly only stock sleeving
Software Win 7 64bit
#2
It has better options for overclocking, afaik. Wanted to flash my Maximus Formula to Rampage BIOS. Didn't work so far tho:rolleyes:

But it doesn't work with all the boards. So no 50$ board will magically turn into a 300$ one.
 

sneekypeet

Unpaid Babysitter
Staff member
Joined
Apr 12, 2006
Messages
24,616 (5.77/day)
Likes
9,342
System Name His
Processor Intel i7 5930K
Motherboard Asus Maximus V Extreme
Cooling Thermalright True Spirit 140 BW Rev.A
Memory Corsair Dominator Platinum ROG
Video Card(s) nVidia GTX 1080 SLI with EVGA Hybrid coolers.
Storage Samsung 960 Pro / Crucial MX300 750GB / Seagate 1TB Spinner
Display(s) Sony 43" 4K 60hz
Case SilverStone Temjin TJ11
Audio Device(s) Realtek on board > Sony receiver > Cerwin Vega's
Power Supply Thermaltake TPSG 1050W
Mouse Always Changing
Keyboard Always Changing
Software Windows 10 Pro 64
#3
yes it is possible with cretain motherboards, but all the ducks need to be in a row for this to happen, same or similar chipset ie ASUS X38 flashes to X48 in a specific case. Even back when you could flash a DFI SLI-DR to many of the counterparts. Hell the Expert would even flash to the Venus, and even then it was like a $75-100 difference in new pricing.

My advice is to do a ton of homework if you plan to try this, or hit up Ketxxx via PM and see what he may have to offer you.
 
Joined
Jan 22, 2009
Messages
262 (0.08/day)
Likes
4
System Name my comp~
Processor Intel Core 2 Duo E6750 @ 3.6Ghz
Motherboard Asus P5K
Cooling OCZ Vendetta 2
Memory Kingston HyperX 1GB x 2 5-5-5-15 2.2v
Video Card(s) MSI 4830 512MB OC @ 735/1140
Storage Samsung 320GB (7200/16M)
Display(s) 21.6" Samsung Syncmaster 2253LW
Case GMC H-70
Power Supply 430w atx power
Software Windows XP Pro SP 3
Benchmark Scores 3D Mark06 - 13487 Super Pi - 14.078s
#4
I see that it is possible!

I should start googling now :)

But I have no idea what to google ... lol

I guess it will be like asus p5k bios + something...

But what should it be? bios upgrade? different bios?

Thanks !
 
Joined
May 31, 2008
Messages
5,787 (1.66/day)
Likes
855
Location
Switzerland, Heart of Europe
System Name Fractality 1.0
Processor Intel Core i7-860 @ 3.6GHz
Motherboard EVGA P55 SLI
Cooling Prolimatech Megahalems and four Fractal Design 120mm fans, sleeved
Memory 16GB Kingston Hyper RAM
Video Card(s) PNY GeForce 580 XLR8
Storage 64GB and 180GB SSDs / 1TB and 2TB HDDs
Display(s) 24" Acer V243W
Case Fractal Design Define R2, sleeved all I/O cables
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply Corsair HX750W modular, sadly only stock sleeving
Software Win 7 64bit
#5
I googled "Asus Maximus formula to Rampage BIOS". SO you should know which BIOS you want to "upgrade" to.
 

sneekypeet

Unpaid Babysitter
Staff member
Joined
Apr 12, 2006
Messages
24,616 (5.77/day)
Likes
9,342
System Name His
Processor Intel i7 5930K
Motherboard Asus Maximus V Extreme
Cooling Thermalright True Spirit 140 BW Rev.A
Memory Corsair Dominator Platinum ROG
Video Card(s) nVidia GTX 1080 SLI with EVGA Hybrid coolers.
Storage Samsung 960 Pro / Crucial MX300 750GB / Seagate 1TB Spinner
Display(s) Sony 43" 4K 60hz
Case SilverStone Temjin TJ11
Audio Device(s) Realtek on board > Sony receiver > Cerwin Vega's
Power Supply Thermaltake TPSG 1050W
Mouse Always Changing
Keyboard Always Changing
Software Windows 10 Pro 64
#6
Does the P5K fall under Ketxxx mod bios?
 
Joined
Jan 22, 2009
Messages
262 (0.08/day)
Likes
4
System Name my comp~
Processor Intel Core 2 Duo E6750 @ 3.6Ghz
Motherboard Asus P5K
Cooling OCZ Vendetta 2
Memory Kingston HyperX 1GB x 2 5-5-5-15 2.2v
Video Card(s) MSI 4830 512MB OC @ 735/1140
Storage Samsung 320GB (7200/16M)
Display(s) 21.6" Samsung Syncmaster 2253LW
Case GMC H-70
Power Supply 430w atx power
Software Windows XP Pro SP 3
Benchmark Scores 3D Mark06 - 13487 Super Pi - 14.078s
#7
Ohh I see, but first I have to find which one I can upgrade to and I don't even know that.

I'm kind of lost, dunno where to start ... any suggestion for p5k?

And another question, if I upgrade my bios to a different mobo's bios,

Do I have to reinstall all my drivers ?? like chipset, audio etc?