• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Flashing edited BIOS from R6950 OC turns into BSOD

Joined
Sep 2, 2010
Messages
38 (0.01/day)
Likes
1
#1
I'm one of the many guys who fell into the hands of the bad engineering work. My R6950 OC CFX setup crashes because they can't stand the 1000 MHz in the memory clock.

MSI Afterburner wasn't responding very well, so I decided to edit the BIOS of the cards.

I changed the clocks of the memories from 1000 (or more) to 900. So I reflashed and when Windows was above to start I received a BSOD making reference to "atisys" or "ati.sys".

I have attached the original BIOS from my cards and my edited ones.

Can someone take a look to them and help me with this?
 

Attachments

Joined
Aug 2, 2008
Messages
776 (0.22/day)
Likes
193
Location
in retarded hell
#4
this may be CCC related, for some reason the latest Cat drivers doesn't like the BIOS clock being changed. You may have to do a complete driver clean and reinstall.
 
Joined
Jun 23, 2006
Messages
8 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#6
I found the same problem but on a 6990. If i open and save each bios (not changing anything) and flash using atiflash, windows boots correctly. If i change a single value on RBE I get bsod. I'm using the correct bios for each gpu. I did try to remove and re install amd drivers but I got bsod again. Have to use stock bios..

Any ideas ??
 
Joined
Aug 2, 2008
Messages
776 (0.22/day)
Likes
193
Location
in retarded hell
#7
A thorough driver clean (registry specific) may fix it.

I tried it with my 5970:

BIOS FLASH - BSOD

BIOS FLASH - driver clean / reinstall - BSOD

BIOS FLASH - OS reinstall - all good.

there must be a specific registry entry hidden in there somewhere, perhaps even a windows registry entry and not driver?????

if you really really want to change the clocks via BIOS and not use AB or the sapphire utility, then I would say do it before you even look at installing any sort of driver, these newer cards/drivers are turning out to be a pain when changing the stock BIOS clocks.

suffice to say, i use AB
 
Joined
Jun 23, 2006
Messages
8 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#9
I'm doing it atm ! I'll report back in half hour..

EDIT: No, sorry but i get instant bsod after installing amd drivers and restarting. I reinstalled OS with the modified bios(s)..

It has to be something else. Had to roll back to original bios(s)
 
Last edited:

TimoX

New Member
Joined
Mar 10, 2011
Messages
49 (0.02/day)
Likes
14
Processor C2D E8400@4600
Motherboard DFI-Lanparty LP UT P45-T2RS
Cooling Corsair H70
Memory 8 gigs DDR1066 @1200
Video Card(s) HD6950, unlocked, 950/1450
Storage SSD, dual TB drives
Display(s) 24" Dell 2407WFP-HC
Case CM HAF 932
Audio Device(s) X-Fi XtremeGamer Fatal1ty Pro
Power Supply Rosewill RBR1000-M
Software Win7 and XP dual boot
#14
You can't change clocks in the BIOS at this time without causing a driver failure on the 6950/6970.
6990 is probably the same.

Reason being the driver looks for a matching signature from the BIOS, which if altered will cause a BSOD or even a BlackSOD.

This is why a OS re-install will "seem to work", as the updated driver isn't loaded yet.

ATIKMDAG.sys seems to be the culprit.

Until AMD drops the stupid id check, unless someone can modify the driver file to ignore the id check, you won't be able to modify clocks and fan profiles via the BIOS. (Or if someone can find out a way to change clocks and not let it change the signature)



With no drivers installed, other than the default generic windows driver, you could tweak and play with the clocks all day, but you can't run any 3D apps.

You could even take last years ATIKMDAG.sys, and drop it in the latest driver folder and do a "new driver install", and everything will probably install, but you still won't get to run any 3D apps, as the driver file won't recognize the newer card, and the minute you drop a version in that does, the ID check fails and no boot.
 

W1zzard

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
May 14, 2004
Messages
17,164 (3.43/day)
Likes
18,132
Processor Core i7-4790K
Memory 16 GB
Video Card(s) GTX 1080
Display(s) 30" 2560x1600 + 19" 1280x1024
Software Windows 7
#15
BIOS FLASH - OS reinstall - all good.
are you saying that with a modified bios (broken checksum) you can boot if you are on a new windows installation that has never seen the card before?
 
Joined
Aug 2, 2008
Messages
776 (0.22/day)
Likes
193
Location
in retarded hell
#16
are you saying that with a modified bios (broken checksum) you can boot if you are on a new windows installation that has never seen the card before?
this is what I know:

I have a 5970 4Gb, default clocks 850/1200

I edited the BIOS with RBE to give default clocks 900/1200 (aka 5970 toxic)

BIOS edited = BSOD
BIOS edited after drivers removed, then drivers reinstalled = BSOD
BIOS edited then initiated an OS reinstall = everything worked.

I had a PM saying a similar thing to a guy who offered me his 5970 toxic BIOS, but I stated to him I fixed the BSOD issue with an OS install. PM deleted now, can't remember who it was but if he sees this, he may still have the message himself...?
 
Joined
Jun 23, 2006
Messages
8 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#17
no, he is saying that without drivers windows boots and gpu-z confirms the clocks you used on bios, but since you have no drivers you have no 3d has you know.
 

W1zzard

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
May 14, 2004
Messages
17,164 (3.43/day)
Likes
18,132
Processor Core i7-4790K
Memory 16 GB
Video Card(s) GTX 1080
Display(s) 30" 2560x1600 + 19" 1280x1024
Software Windows 7
#18
ah ok :(
 
Joined
Jun 23, 2006
Messages
8 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#20
in your case, and i don't understand how, it worked.. ON the 6990 with 11.4 drivers you get bsod with modified bios. If you uninstall drivers you can still read the card with gpu-z and confirm your modded bios clocks but that's it, you can't do shit with it that way so back to stock bios.
 
Joined
Sep 2, 2010
Messages
38 (0.01/day)
Likes
1
#21
F*cking atikmdag.

I tried to change the BIOS clocks in first instance because MSI AB doesn't work properly with my configuration... I have no idea way, so...

Is there a way to configure CCC to apply overclock when windows starts?
 
Joined
Aug 2, 2008
Messages
776 (0.22/day)
Likes
193
Location
in retarded hell
#23
F*cking atikmdag.

I tried to change the BIOS clocks in first instance because MSI AB doesn't work properly with my configuration... I have no idea way, so...

Is there a way to configure CCC to apply overclock when windows starts?

CCC should do it automatically if you set it in the overdrive section(whatever its called now)? is it not doing this for you?

i'm on my laptop so it just show powerplay settings
 

Tatty_One

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jan 18, 2006
Messages
19,826 (4.52/day)
Likes
6,110
Location
Worcestershire, UK
Processor Skylake Core i7 6700k @ 4.6gig
Motherboard MSI Z170A Tomahawk
Cooling Cooler Master Seidon 240V AIO/Viper140's
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX 3000mhz CL14
Video Card(s) Sapphire 4gb R9 290X VaporX @1150mhz
Storage SkHynix SL308 120GB/CrucialM4/1TB WD Black
Display(s) LG 29inch 2560x1080 Curved Ultrawide IPS
Case Phanteks Enthoo Pro M Windowed - Gunmetal
Audio Device(s) Xifi Elite Pro 7.1/VideoLogic ZXR550's
Power Supply XFX Pro Black Edition 750W Gold modular
Keyboard CM Storm Octane Combo
Software Win 10 Home x64
#24
Why not just flash the shader only 6950 Bios giving you all the 6970's shaders but standard 6950 clocks (this should get around any driver issues), you can even tweak the voltage on the shader only Bios in RBE to give you 6970 GPU clocks then just OC in AB.
 
Joined
Aug 2, 2008
Messages
776 (0.22/day)
Likes
193
Location
in retarded hell
#25
Why not just flash the shader only 6950 Bios giving you all the 6970's shaders but standard 6950 clocks (this should get around any driver issues), you can even tweak the voltage on the shader only Bios in RBE to give you 6970 GPU clocks then just OC in AB.
he's already stated AB doesn't work for him/his set-up/config.