• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Flashing GPU BIOS

Joined
Oct 27, 2016
Messages
54 (0.07/day)
Likes
4
System Name old gaming PC
Processor AMD FX 6300 4.2GHz@1.337V
Motherboard M5A78L-M LX3
Cooling Stock cooler + Case fan
Memory Kingston HyperX Fury 2x4GB 1600@1866MHz
Video Card(s) Sapphire AMD HD 7750 1GDDR5@top1USERBENCHMARK
Storage Seagate 500HD CC49 (from CC38)
Display(s) VW 195S 1440x900@75Hz
Case idk
Audio Device(s) Razer Kraken 7.1 V2
Power Supply nJoy 500W
Mouse Marvo M309
Keyboard Deluxe
Software Windows 10
Benchmark Scores http://www.userbenchmark.com/UserRun/9984941
#1
So, today I just fixed my old GPU and I want to try out something new.
I modified MY own bios from an Sapphire AMD Radeon HD 7750 (https://www.techpowerup.com/vgabios/129938/sapphire-hd7750-1024-120820) and I overclocked it to 1175MHz core clock and 1295 MHz memory clock ( i even modified the bios to these values so I don't need to OC at every start) and it's working very good. It doesn't has any pin connecters, so maybe the power will be a limiting factor here. My question would be, can I flash ANOTHER Sapphire AMD HD 7750-s bios, specially this: https://www.techpowerup.com/vgabios/125721/sapphire-hd7750-1024-120619

Memory is the same (elpida) and the freqs are even lower than my OC ones, so normally should be stable, but i'm worried about voltages and power. Right now i'M rocking at MAXIMUM voltage (def 1100mV now 1300mV, +20 power usage limit) .

Up1: I guess it's this GPU, https://www.techpowerup.com/gpudb/b2093/sapphire-hd-7750-black-diamond-oc and I didn't saw a card having external power cables.
 
Joined
May 2, 2013
Messages
430 (0.21/day)
Likes
75
Location
GA
System Name RYZEN RECKER
Processor Ryzen 5 1600X @ 4ghz
Motherboard Asus Prime B350-plus
Cooling Thermaltake Silent 12 on CPU, Arctic Cooling Acellero Extreme 3 on GPU, Cougar case fans.
Memory 16GB (2x8GB) Corsair LPX 3200mhz
Video Card(s) XFX R9 290 1040 mhz core / 1500 mhz memory (R9 390 clocks..)
Storage 1TB Seagate for Steam games, 1TB WD for backup, Patriot 120gb SSD for boot. 3TB for more Steam games
Display(s) ASUS VX24A 1440p @ 72hz
Case Antec 900
Audio Device(s) Logitech G430 headset
Power Supply Corsair CX850m
Mouse Steel Series Sensei
Keyboard Corsair K55
Software Windows 10 64-bit
#2
Does your card have a BIOS switch on it? One is used as a factory backup, then when you flip the switch it gives you another place to store a BIOS file. They are identical from the factory so if you screw up the update and brick your card, you just flip the switch and it sets it back to factory. I THINK you can overwrite both...not 100% if it works on every card, but I always just use 1 BIOS and then overclock from there. I always leave the factory one in case I brick the BIOS update.
 
Joined
Mar 26, 2014
Messages
5,711 (3.37/day)
Likes
4,249
Location
Washington, USA
System Name Volt
Processor i7-4790k
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-Z97X Gaming 5
Cooling NZXT Kraken X60
Memory G.Skill Ripjaws 4x8GB
Video Card(s) MSI GTX1080 Ti Gaming X
Storage 250GB SSD / 2x1TB + 2x2TB HDD
Display(s) 3x AOC 2425W + ViewSonic VA2855Smh
Case Nanoxia Deep Silence 6
Audio Device(s) LucidSound LS30
Power Supply Rosewill Fortress 750w
Mouse Logitech G602
Keyboard G.Skill KM780 RGB (Brown switches)
Software Windows 10 Professional
Benchmark Scores Technical term is PEBCAK issue, which stands for Problem Exists Between Chair And Keyboard
#3
Does software overclocking not work? I don't know about the 7750 but I had 7950s and they had stable overclocks on maxed sliders in afterburner.
 

OneMoar

There is Always Moar
Joined
Apr 9, 2010
Messages
7,697 (2.45/day)
Likes
4,266
Location
Rochester area
System Name Kreij Lives On
Processor Intel Core i5 4670K @ 4.4Ghz 1.32V
Motherboard ASUS Maximus VI Gene Z87
Cooling Reeven Okeanos Single 140MM Fan +2 SP120 White's
Memory 16GB kingston hyper x @ 2133 @ 11 11 11 32
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1060 ACX Copper Single fan
Storage 240gb Cruical MX200SSD/WD Blue 1TB
Display(s) Samsung S24D300/HP2071D
Case Custom Full Aluminum By ST.o.CH <3
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply HX 750i
Mouse Roccat KONE
Keyboard Rocatt ISKU with ISKUFX keycaps
Software Windows 10 +startisback
#4
you don't overclock by flashing the bios
install msi afterburner and set a profile ...
flashing the bios is not gonna get you anymore out of it it s a 7750 a low end card from 6 years ago
 
Joined
Oct 27, 2016
Messages
54 (0.07/day)
Likes
4
System Name old gaming PC
Processor AMD FX 6300 4.2GHz@1.337V
Motherboard M5A78L-M LX3
Cooling Stock cooler + Case fan
Memory Kingston HyperX Fury 2x4GB 1600@1866MHz
Video Card(s) Sapphire AMD HD 7750 1GDDR5@top1USERBENCHMARK
Storage Seagate 500HD CC49 (from CC38)
Display(s) VW 195S 1440x900@75Hz
Case idk
Audio Device(s) Razer Kraken 7.1 V2
Power Supply nJoy 500W
Mouse Marvo M309
Keyboard Deluxe
Software Windows 10
Benchmark Scores http://www.userbenchmark.com/UserRun/9984941
#5
Guys, i overclocked from 800mhz to 1175 and from 1125 to 1290 with 1.3VDDC, and some of you respond like you don't even read the post... I don't want to OC further, i asked if I can flash another hd 7750 bios for this gpu. Oh and larry, no i don't have switchable bios, but i can "reflash" it with the igpu boot.
 
Joined
Mar 26, 2014
Messages
5,711 (3.37/day)
Likes
4,249
Location
Washington, USA
System Name Volt
Processor i7-4790k
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-Z97X Gaming 5
Cooling NZXT Kraken X60
Memory G.Skill Ripjaws 4x8GB
Video Card(s) MSI GTX1080 Ti Gaming X
Storage 250GB SSD / 2x1TB + 2x2TB HDD
Display(s) 3x AOC 2425W + ViewSonic VA2855Smh
Case Nanoxia Deep Silence 6
Audio Device(s) LucidSound LS30
Power Supply Rosewill Fortress 750w
Mouse Logitech G602
Keyboard G.Skill KM780 RGB (Brown switches)
Software Windows 10 Professional
Benchmark Scores Technical term is PEBCAK issue, which stands for Problem Exists Between Chair And Keyboard
#6
I read it, and I'm sure OneMoar read it too, and I'm standing by my post when I asked about software overclocking. You're actually taking a risk flashing to overclock rather than to move two little sliders over to get the same effect unless the card won't let you change clocks that way.
 
Joined
Oct 27, 2016
Messages
54 (0.07/day)
Likes
4
System Name old gaming PC
Processor AMD FX 6300 4.2GHz@1.337V
Motherboard M5A78L-M LX3
Cooling Stock cooler + Case fan
Memory Kingston HyperX Fury 2x4GB 1600@1866MHz
Video Card(s) Sapphire AMD HD 7750 1GDDR5@top1USERBENCHMARK
Storage Seagate 500HD CC49 (from CC38)
Display(s) VW 195S 1440x900@75Hz
Case idk
Audio Device(s) Razer Kraken 7.1 V2
Power Supply nJoy 500W
Mouse Marvo M309
Keyboard Deluxe
Software Windows 10
Benchmark Scores http://www.userbenchmark.com/UserRun/9984941
#7
I read it, and I'm sure OneMoar read it too, and I'm standing by my post when I asked about software overclocking. You're actually taking a risk flashing to overclock rather than to move two little sliders over to get the same effect unless the card won't let you change clocks that way.
I raised those more than i should, than i simply flashed my own custom oced bios(idk anymore then bios modifier program name) and it's working excellently, but i don't know if it's safe to flash for ex xfx bios to sapphire card(having same memory chip and vram, ddr)
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
23,458 (5.65/day)
Likes
7,481
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
#8
I raised those more than i should, than i simply flashed my own custom oced bios(idk anymore then bios modifier program name) and it's working excellently, but i don't know if it's safe to flash for ex xfx bios to sapphire card(having same memory chip and vram, ddr)
No, different stock keeping unit and device ID.
 
Top