• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Flashing green grainy effect on new monitor.

Joined
Mar 3, 2012
Messages
63 (0.02/day)
Processor Intel Core i9-9900K
Motherboard MSI Z390 Tomahawk
Cooling NZXT Kraken
Memory 48GB G.Skill Trident Z Neo
Video Card(s) MSI RTX 2080 Super
Storage 256GB & 1TB M.2 NVMe SSDs + 4x 3TB HDDs in RAID-5
Display(s) Alienware 38
Case Corsair Crystal
Power Supply Corsair TX650M
Software Windows 10
Hi,

I'm posting this on a friend's behalf, so admittedly this is second-hand, as she's feeling anxious about asking a public forum for tech support, but I ran out of thoughts on this.

She recently got a new PC, but when she plugged in the monitor, there was a recurring thing where there'd be a flashy green grainy effect across the whole screen.

She took this picture of the effect here: (It's not at all visible on screenshots)

1638240132933.png


Initially, since this is a 144Hz monitor I thought it was an HDMI bandwidth issue, so I advised her to get a DisplayPort cable.

This seems to have helped but not cure the issue. The effect is far less frequent when she uses the DP connection.

Does anyone have any idea what could be going on here? She has the latest GPU drivers as far as she knows.

Her specs are:


i5-11400F, 16 GB ddr4, 1 TB HDD and 256 GB SSD, RTX 3060 Ti 8 GB
 
Last edited:
Joined
Aug 12, 2019
Messages
713 (0.79/day)
System Name Custom
Processor i9 9900k
Motherboard Gigabyte Z390 arous master
Cooling corsair h150i
Memory 4x8 3200mhz corsair
Video Card(s) Galax RTX 3090 EX Gamer White OC
Storage 500gb Samsung 970 Evo PLus
Display(s) MSi MAG341CQ
Case Lian Li Pc-011 Dynamic
Audio Device(s) Arctis Pro Wireless
Power Supply 850w Seasonic Focus Platinum
Mouse Logitech G403
Keyboard Logitech G110
what is the model and brand of the monitor?
 
Joined
Mar 3, 2012
Messages
63 (0.02/day)
Processor Intel Core i9-9900K
Motherboard MSI Z390 Tomahawk
Cooling NZXT Kraken
Memory 48GB G.Skill Trident Z Neo
Video Card(s) MSI RTX 2080 Super
Storage 256GB & 1TB M.2 NVMe SSDs + 4x 3TB HDDs in RAID-5
Display(s) Alienware 38
Case Corsair Crystal
Power Supply Corsair TX650M
Software Windows 10
Her monitor is an MSI Optix G241. Seems to be a pretty standard budget monitor, and I'd not expect anything overly weird from MSI.
 
Joined
Jul 25, 2006
Messages
9,340 (1.65/day)
Location
Nebraska, USA
System Name Brightworks Systems BWS-6 E-IV
Processor Intel Core i5-6600 @ 3.9GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-Z170-HD3 Rev 1.0
Cooling Quality case, 2 x Fractal Design 140mm fans, stock CPU HSF
Memory 32GB (4 x 8GB) DDR4 3000 Corsair Vengeance
Video Card(s) EVGA GEForce GTX 1050Ti 4Gb GDDR5
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 256GB SSD, Samsung 860 Evo 500GB SSD
Display(s) Samsung S24E650BW LED x 2
Case Fractal Design Define R4
Power Supply EVGA Supernova 550W G2 Gold
Mouse Logitech M190
Keyboard Microsoft Wireless Comfort 5050
Software W10 Pro 64-bit
She recently got a new PC,
How recently? Is it still under warranty? Is the monitor new too?

She needs to try a different monitor on that computer to see if the problem is still there. If it goes away, the problem is with the monitor. If the problem appears on the 2nd monitor, the problem is in the computer.

Regardless where the fault is, if under warranty - contact tech support before doing something that voids the warranty.
 

ixi

Joined
Aug 19, 2014
Messages
812 (0.30/day)
Try installing older or newer drivers. Change cable or try different port and as well gpu.
 
Joined
Mar 3, 2012
Messages
63 (0.02/day)
Processor Intel Core i9-9900K
Motherboard MSI Z390 Tomahawk
Cooling NZXT Kraken
Memory 48GB G.Skill Trident Z Neo
Video Card(s) MSI RTX 2080 Super
Storage 256GB & 1TB M.2 NVMe SSDs + 4x 3TB HDDs in RAID-5
Display(s) Alienware 38
Case Corsair Crystal
Power Supply Corsair TX650M
Software Windows 10
How recently? Is it still under warranty? Is the monitor new too?

She needs to try a different monitor on that computer to see if the problem is still there. If it goes away, the problem is with the monitor. If the problem appears on the 2nd monitor, the problem is in the computer.

Regardless where the fault is, if under warranty - contact tech support before doing something that voids the warranty.
A matter of days ago - this is brand new.

Unfortunately she doesn't have access to another monitor that uses digital video - all of the others in her house are VGA.
 
Joined
Jul 25, 2006
Messages
9,340 (1.65/day)
Location
Nebraska, USA
System Name Brightworks Systems BWS-6 E-IV
Processor Intel Core i5-6600 @ 3.9GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-Z170-HD3 Rev 1.0
Cooling Quality case, 2 x Fractal Design 140mm fans, stock CPU HSF
Memory 32GB (4 x 8GB) DDR4 3000 Corsair Vengeance
Video Card(s) EVGA GEForce GTX 1050Ti 4Gb GDDR5
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 256GB SSD, Samsung 860 Evo 500GB SSD
Display(s) Samsung S24E650BW LED x 2
Case Fractal Design Define R4
Power Supply EVGA Supernova 550W G2 Gold
Mouse Logitech M190
Keyboard Microsoft Wireless Comfort 5050
Software W10 Pro 64-bit
Unfortunately she doesn't have access to another monitor that uses digital video - all of the others in her house are VGA.
Then she need to try that monitor on another computer, or connect that monitor to a DVD/Blu-ray player or even a cable TV box.

Or, most TVs made in the last 10 years or so accept digital input from a computer. She could try that.

Point is, at this point, she does not know if the problem is in the monitor, or the computer.
 

FreedomEclipse

~Technological Technocrat~
Joined
Apr 20, 2007
Messages
22,107 (4.10/day)
Location
London,UK
System Name Codename: Icarus Mk.VI
Processor Intel 8600k@4.8Ghz
Motherboard Asus ROG Strixx Z370-F
Cooling CPU: BeQuiet! Dark Rock Pro 4 {1xCorsair ML120 Pro|5xML140 Pro}
Memory 32GB XPG Gammix D10 {2x16GB}
Video Card(s) Gigabyte 1080Ti Gaming OC|Accelero Xtreme IV
Storage Samsung 970Evo 512GB SSD (Boot)|WD Blue 1TB SSD|2x 3TB Toshiba DT01ACA300
Display(s) Asus PB278Q 27"
Case Corsair 760T (White)
Audio Device(s) Yamaha RX-V573|Speakers: JBL Control One|Auna 300-CN|Wharfedale Diamond SW150
Power Supply Corsair AX760
Mouse Logitech G900/G502
Keyboard Duckyshine Dead LED(s) III
Software Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores (ノಠ益ಠ)ノ彡┻━┻
Try setting the overdrive option to 'fast' or 'fastest' in the monitors control panel/OSD/Menu. It could be a refresh rate issue.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Nov 13, 2007
Messages
8,844 (1.71/day)
Location
Austin Texas
System Name Espresso Machine
Processor 12600K @ 5.3
Motherboard MSI 690-A PRO
Cooling 280MM push pull water Loop
Memory 32 GB 4000 Mhz DDR4 17-18-18-37
Video Card(s) MSI Ventus RTX 3080 UC @1830mhz 810mv
Storage 3x1TB SSDs, 2TB SSD
Display(s) LG CX OLED 48"
Case Lian Li O11 Dynamic Mini
Audio Device(s) Bose Solo
Power Supply Corsair SF750
Mouse Logitech GPro Wired
Keyboard Tecware phantom w/ pudding keycaps
Software Windows 11
Actually the cable was a good idea, and the fact that it helped points to signal issues.

My advice would be to try another monitor - if the effect is gone then you may have just gotten a lemon or something went wrong in the LCD. It may just have a bad filter board in the display, one of the cables in there connecting to lcd might be loose etc....

Have her hook the machine up to another display to eliminate the possibility of video card issues and then yeah - looks to me like a monitor issue.
 
Top