1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Folding rig plans

Discussion in 'Folding@Home' started by ShadowFold, Feb 26, 2009.

  1. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,919 (4.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,642
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    I plan on building a folding rig when I get a job.. Right now I plan on getting this stuff
    Case - Cooler Master HAF, I am going to use my old Antec 300 for this and use the HAF for my gaming rig http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16811119160
    CPU - Phenom II X3 720BE - Again, this is going into my gaming rig. I am gonna use my old Athlon X2 4200+ that does 2.9ghz stable http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16819103649
    GPU - Dual EVGA 9800GTX http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16814130339
    PSU - Antec EW 500w http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16817371007
    Mobo - Jetway 780G(two PCI-E 2.0 slots) http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813153132
    RAM/Cooler/CD drive will be all reused.
    Now.. What's better for folding? Windows XP, Vista 32/64 or Windows 7? Also, I won't be doing this until June/July so it might change to dual GTX 260's.
     
  2. stanhemi

    stanhemi New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2008
    Messages:
    801 (0.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    351
    Location:
    Montreal,-Canada.
    Install windows xp for folding and 500 watt psu is probably not enough powerful for 2 9800gtx :confused:
    :toast:keep folding :toast:
     
    ShadowFold says thanks.
  3. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,919 (4.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,642
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    I'm pretty sure it's up to the test. I've had one before with a GTX 280 and they're pretty strong. I might get like a Corsair 750w and use my FSP 700w in it but this won't be built for awhile!
     
  4. BUCK NASTY

    BUCK NASTY F@H Mod & 4P Enthusiust Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    Messages:
    4,968 (1.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,639
    Location:
    Port St Lucie, FL. U.S.A.
    It will work. I have done amazing things with the Antec EA-500D. Go with XP for mutli card set up. Why limit yourself to 2xPCI-E. For 15 bucks more get this and have 4x PCI-E flexibility for future expansion. They always have them avail on open box.

    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813130136R

    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Feb 27, 2009
    ShadowFold says thanks.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)