• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

For power requirements can you add two 12v rails together

Joined
Jun 28, 2008
Messages
1,662 (0.48/day)
Likes
118
Location
Newcastle
System Name The neighbour of the beast|NC10
Processor Q6600 GO|Atom N270
Motherboard Asus P5QSE/R
Cooling Stock|Stock
Memory 4GB Crucial Ballistix Tracer Red @800|1GB@533
Video Card(s) Palit HD4850|Intel GMA 945
Storage Maxtor 500GB 32 MB Cache|160GB IDE 2.5"
Display(s) 15.4" touchscreen, 15.4" Digimate LCD| 10.2"
Case Coolermaster Elite 330|Black NC10 case
Audio Device(s) Realtek HD audio|Integrated
Power Supply Corsair 650W TX|6 Cell battery
Software Vista Home Premium, Win 7| Win XP
Benchmark Scores Benches will be taken on the main rig soon. (AKA never)
#1
My friend's recently got a 7900GT and needs a PSU capable of providing 20 amps on the +12V rail, I've found him an FSP one capable of providing 18A on each 12V rail but it's got two +12V rails so would that be plenty to power his system?
Specs here:
Pentium D that was 2.8GHZ@ stock running at 3.5
7900GT
ASrock dual vsta mobo AFAIK, may be a different model but think it's got a 965 chipset
3 sticks of RAM@667
1 DVD drive
2 HDDs
DVD drive through USB
6 USB devices.
Aftermarket cooler
If it can't reccomend one that would preferably under £40.
 

cdawall

where the hell are my stars
Joined
Jul 23, 2006
Messages
26,760 (6.37/day)
Likes
7,664
Location
Houston
System Name Team Blue
Processor 5960X@4.8 1.42v
Motherboard Asus X99M-WS
Cooling EK Supremecy EVO, MCR220-Stack+MCR220+MCR320, D5-PWM+EK X-RES 140
Memory 4x8GB G.Skill Trident Z 3200 CL16
Video Card(s) (2) EVGA SC BLACK 1080Ti's+ EVGA reference 1080Ti soon to be under water
Storage Samsung SM951 512GB, Samsung PM961 512GB
Display(s) Dell UP2414Q 3840X2160@60hz
Case Caselabs Mercury S5
Audio Device(s) Fischer HA-02->Fischer FA-002W High edition/FA-003/Jubilate/FA-011 depending on my mood
Power Supply Seasonic Prime 1200w
Mouse Thermaltake Theron
Keyboard Thermaltake Poseidon ZX
Software W10P
Benchmark Scores Zoom zoom mofo
#3
yea when they say 20A they mean total system so dual 18A is more than enough
 

Black Panther

Senior Moderator™
Staff member
Joined
May 30, 2007
Messages
8,962 (2.30/day)
Likes
2,169
System Name Great White Bengal
Processor i7 930 @ 4.2Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-X58A-UD3R
Cooling Scythe Yasya
Memory 12GB (3 x 4GB DDR3 Geil Black Dragon)
Video Card(s) EVGA 1070Ti SC Black Edition 8GB
Storage eSata Seagate 2TB -- 240GB SSD Sandisk Extreme
Display(s) 27" 2560x1440 Dell U2711
Case NZXT Switch 810 White
Audio Device(s) Onboard sound & Z5500 Speakers
Power Supply Corsair 850W Gold
Mouse Asus ROG Sica
Keyboard Motospeed
Software Windows 10
#4
It's definitely more than enough to power his system.

I've been running my 8800GT that way for the past year, gaming and oc'ing with no problems.

The 8800GT needs 22A on the +12V. Anyway, my PSU's got two +12V rails, one at 16A and the other at 18A. Lol that's less than your friend is running his 7900GT on so quite very surely he should be fine 100% because the amperage requirements for a 7900GT are less than that of the 8800GT.

To be precise, the 7900GT needs 20A on the +12V rail.
Now the amperage on the +12V rails doesn't simply add up so it doesn't mean that since he has 2x18A he has a total of 36A because he got much less actually.

In case you want to calculate the exact amount of +12v amperage being delivered - you need to divide the combined power with 12, then you will have the amps...

W=V.A
A=W/V
 
Joined
Jun 28, 2008
Messages
1,662 (0.48/day)
Likes
118
Location
Newcastle
System Name The neighbour of the beast|NC10
Processor Q6600 GO|Atom N270
Motherboard Asus P5QSE/R
Cooling Stock|Stock
Memory 4GB Crucial Ballistix Tracer Red @800|1GB@533
Video Card(s) Palit HD4850|Intel GMA 945
Storage Maxtor 500GB 32 MB Cache|160GB IDE 2.5"
Display(s) 15.4" touchscreen, 15.4" Digimate LCD| 10.2"
Case Coolermaster Elite 330|Black NC10 case
Audio Device(s) Realtek HD audio|Integrated
Power Supply Corsair 650W TX|6 Cell battery
Software Vista Home Premium, Win 7| Win XP
Benchmark Scores Benches will be taken on the main rig soon. (AKA never)
#5
Ok then, cheers guys. I just wanted to make sure since I don't want his rig to blow up and him blame me.
 

kiriakost

New Member
Joined
Dec 24, 2008
Messages
1,054 (0.32/day)
Likes
69
Location
Volos, Greece
System Name ATLAS
Processor Q6600 QUAD
Motherboard ASUS P5QC
Cooling ProlimaTech Armageddon
Memory HYPER-X KHX1600C8D3T1K2 /4GX PC3-12800 1600MHz
Video Card(s) Sapphire HD 5770 VAPOR-X
Storage Raptors 73Gb - Raid1
Display(s) DELL U2311H
Case HEC Special moded ..
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Music + mods Audigy front Panel (full working)
Power Supply HIPER 4M780 PE 980W Peak
Software XP PRO SP3
#6
The Black Panther answer , was a bit confusing to me .

There are on the net specifically info , about components and energy requirements .

For instance all the CPUs from 2005 until now, they use from the 12V line 6-12A .
The PCIe and AGP , have both specific limits in wattage.

So the sub total of energy needs, are some how easy to calculate.

CPU=10A + VGA =20 + HDD,DVD,Fan,lights=4A generic total 34A as Peak value.

Logically , systems with multiple VGAs will demand more.

The only question are ... Does the PSU delivers truly the power that is written on the label.

In case you want to calculate the exact amount of +12v amperage being delivered - you need to divide the combined power with 12, then you will have the amps...
No one can do that in praxis ... with out special tools as induction amperage clamp .

I like to believe, that the "non that detailed rule" of 34A or 30A as efficient wattage for single VGA systems , are more easy as description for wider understanding.

I have read lots of technical white papers, and the only that i gained from it,
are to evaluate the PSU wattage by more realistic factors, but still in theory.