• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Force flashed my HD 6950 Flex using ATIFlash, now the computer won't POST. Bricked?

Joined
Dec 2, 2008
Messages
368 (0.11/day)
Likes
31
Location
Over There
System Name Games for Breakfast
Processor i7 2600k @ 4.3ghz
Motherboard ASRrock Z77 extreme6
Cooling Cooler Master TX3 Dual Fan
Memory 16GB DDR3 - RipjawsX 1600 1.5v @ 8-8-8-22 1T
Video Card(s) Asus AMD R9 290 4GB Reference PCB
Storage Samsung F3 Spinpoint 1TB
Display(s) HP 22vx IPS LED
Case Cooler Master Elite 331
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair TX650 V1
Keyboard CM Storm Devastator
Software Windows 10 64bit
#1
Like it says in the title... I was a freaking idiot playing around with ATIflash.

Long story short: To get try to get rid of the annoying desktop flickering, I flashed my card's original BIOS with 2D clocks to 500mhz on the core and 800mhz on the memory.

This stopped windows from booting, so I went online to find my card's BIOS (I was once again a idiot and didn't backup my original BIOS), and the closest thing I could find was the dirt 3 edition right here on TPU's database.

I force flashed it, and now it won't post.

Did I stupidly kill my card? Is there anything I can do? :/
 

fullinfusion

Vanguard Beta Tester
Joined
Jan 11, 2008
Messages
9,603 (2.65/day)
Likes
3,361
Processor I7-7700K
Motherboard Asus Z270 Maximus IX Code
Cooling Custom water plus another cooler
Memory Corsair Vengeance LED Red 4x8GB 32GB 3200MHz kit
Video Card(s) 2 x MSI RX Vega 56 and a single MSI RX Vega 64 in test rig
Storage 960 EVO/960 Pro M.2 nvme 250/1TB, Samsumg 850 evo 256/ WD 1TB blue
Display(s) Nexius 32" freesync 2 HDR
Case Corsair Obsidion 650D/ cardboard box
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply EVGA Supernova G2 1300W
Mouse Mionix Naos 7000
Keyboard G15
Software Windows 10 Home
#2
I doubt it.. your card have a bios switch?

EDIT* dont ever flash your gpu bios unless your sure of what your doing!

Point said, anyways need more info.. Are you flashing in DOS? Can you see your bios screen? probably not... Can you blind flash?
 
Joined
Dec 2, 2008
Messages
368 (0.11/day)
Likes
31
Location
Over There
System Name Games for Breakfast
Processor i7 2600k @ 4.3ghz
Motherboard ASRrock Z77 extreme6
Cooling Cooler Master TX3 Dual Fan
Memory 16GB DDR3 - RipjawsX 1600 1.5v @ 8-8-8-22 1T
Video Card(s) Asus AMD R9 290 4GB Reference PCB
Storage Samsung F3 Spinpoint 1TB
Display(s) HP 22vx IPS LED
Case Cooler Master Elite 331
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair TX650 V1
Keyboard CM Storm Devastator
Software Windows 10 64bit
#3
It does have a BIOS switch, but it does nothing, I already tried it. It's a dummy switch. It was common with these cards.

How do I blind flash it if it doesn't POST? can you help me out?

Yes, I used DOS since windows wasn't booting, and Safe Mode wouldn't allow me to use RBE.
 
Joined
May 14, 2009
Messages
2,132 (0.68/day)
Likes
477
Location
Chicago burbs
System Name Halloween Boo!
Processor Intel Core i7 3770K
Motherboard Gigabyte Z77-Up7
Cooling Custom Water/ Thermalchill TA 120.3/ Swiftech Apogeee XT/ MCP655/ Swiftech M icrores/ XSPC RX 240
Memory 16G G.Skill trident 2400MHz
Video Card(s) 3 x Radeon 7970
Storage OCZ Revo Drive 240G
Display(s) 24 inch Viewsonic
Case Phobia WayCoolIt Test Bench
Power Supply Nexus 1100 watt
#4
You card is bricked. I take it you have another card to reflash? or onboard graphics?
 
Joined
Feb 12, 2006
Messages
2,289 (0.53/day)
Likes
410
System Name MONEY PIT
Processor i7-3770K @ 4800 1.20v batch #3231B415 Delided
Motherboard ASrock Z77 OC Formula w onboard waterblocks
Cooling Apogee HD, MCP655,rad MCR320-XP,Micro Rev2 res
Memory G,skill Trident X F3-2400C10D-16GTX
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 980 Ti Classified with EK nickel/acetal waterblock installed
Storage 2x120gig Wildfire raid0 2x120gig VERTEX3 raid0
Display(s) 3/ Samsung2343bwx + 65in LG 4K
Case NZXT Phantom White w/red
Audio Device(s) ReCon3d fatal1ty pro, Logitech z906 THX
Power Supply corsair AX860i
Mouse Rat7
Software 64bit ++++ win 10
#5
try this first see if it will work
if all else fails read the PDF here
good luck
 
Last edited:
Joined
Dec 2, 2008
Messages
368 (0.11/day)
Likes
31
Location
Over There
System Name Games for Breakfast
Processor i7 2600k @ 4.3ghz
Motherboard ASRrock Z77 extreme6
Cooling Cooler Master TX3 Dual Fan
Memory 16GB DDR3 - RipjawsX 1600 1.5v @ 8-8-8-22 1T
Video Card(s) Asus AMD R9 290 4GB Reference PCB
Storage Samsung F3 Spinpoint 1TB
Display(s) HP 22vx IPS LED
Case Cooler Master Elite 331
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair TX650 V1
Keyboard CM Storm Devastator
Software Windows 10 64bit
#6
I'm using my spare Geforce 8600 GT on the first PCI-E slot and my HD 6950 on the second slot.

I booted my USB drive into ATIflash, tried to reflash a new BIOS but it says "Adapter not found".

I used the command "atiflash -p 1 -f cayman.rom" and it didn't work. I get Adapter not found error.

I'm in deep trouble, aren't I?
 
Joined
Dec 2, 2008
Messages
368 (0.11/day)
Likes
31
Location
Over There
System Name Games for Breakfast
Processor i7 2600k @ 4.3ghz
Motherboard ASRrock Z77 extreme6
Cooling Cooler Master TX3 Dual Fan
Memory 16GB DDR3 - RipjawsX 1600 1.5v @ 8-8-8-22 1T
Video Card(s) Asus AMD R9 290 4GB Reference PCB
Storage Samsung F3 Spinpoint 1TB
Display(s) HP 22vx IPS LED
Case Cooler Master Elite 331
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair TX650 V1
Keyboard CM Storm Devastator
Software Windows 10 64bit
#7
Frogger, I just read your PDF and it's way beyond my capabilities.

I never soldered anything, I wouldn't even know where to start.

I guess I just killed my GPU.

F*ck me for being a complete idiot :/
 

fullinfusion

Vanguard Beta Tester
Joined
Jan 11, 2008
Messages
9,603 (2.65/day)
Likes
3,361
Processor I7-7700K
Motherboard Asus Z270 Maximus IX Code
Cooling Custom water plus another cooler
Memory Corsair Vengeance LED Red 4x8GB 32GB 3200MHz kit
Video Card(s) 2 x MSI RX Vega 56 and a single MSI RX Vega 64 in test rig
Storage 960 EVO/960 Pro M.2 nvme 250/1TB, Samsumg 850 evo 256/ WD 1TB blue
Display(s) Nexius 32" freesync 2 HDR
Case Corsair Obsidion 650D/ cardboard box
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply EVGA Supernova G2 1300W
Mouse Mionix Naos 7000
Keyboard G15
Software Windows 10 Home
#8
I'm using my spare Geforce 8600 GT on the first PCI-E slot and my HD 6950 on the second slot.

I booted my USB drive into ATIflash, tried to reflash a new BIOS but it says "Adapter not found".

I used the command "atiflash -p 1 -f cayman.rom" and it didn't work. I get Adapter not found error.

I'm in deep trouble, aren't I?
Run the same command in ati flash after moving the bricked gpu to the top slot.

type atiflash -i and make sure the cards detectid ok? Then once you see the card type your command and im thinking top slot is a 0 and the most likely spot to flash properly...

I had 2 6950's and I screwed them up as well. I wasn't able to flash properly unless the bricked card was in the top pci-e slot and the other working card in the lower slot...

Good luck mate! :toast:
 

erocker

Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 19, 2006
Messages
42,375 (10.17/day)
Likes
18,020
Processor Intel i7 8700k
Motherboard Gigabyte z370 AORUS Gaming 7
Cooling Water
Memory 16gb G.Skill 4000 MHz DDR4
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 1080
Storage 3 x Samsung Evo 850 500GB, 1 x 250GB, 2 x 2TB HDD
Display(s) Nixeus EDG27
Case Thermaltake X5
Power Supply Corsair HX1000i
Mouse Zowie EC1-B
Software Windows 10
#9

fullinfusion

Vanguard Beta Tester
Joined
Jan 11, 2008
Messages
9,603 (2.65/day)
Likes
3,361
Processor I7-7700K
Motherboard Asus Z270 Maximus IX Code
Cooling Custom water plus another cooler
Memory Corsair Vengeance LED Red 4x8GB 32GB 3200MHz kit
Video Card(s) 2 x MSI RX Vega 56 and a single MSI RX Vega 64 in test rig
Storage 960 EVO/960 Pro M.2 nvme 250/1TB, Samsumg 850 evo 256/ WD 1TB blue
Display(s) Nexius 32" freesync 2 HDR
Case Corsair Obsidion 650D/ cardboard box
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply EVGA Supernova G2 1300W
Mouse Mionix Naos 7000
Keyboard G15
Software Windows 10 Home
#10

erocker

Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 19, 2006
Messages
42,375 (10.17/day)
Likes
18,020
Processor Intel i7 8700k
Motherboard Gigabyte z370 AORUS Gaming 7
Cooling Water
Memory 16gb G.Skill 4000 MHz DDR4
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 1080
Storage 3 x Samsung Evo 850 500GB, 1 x 250GB, 2 x 2TB HDD
Display(s) Nixeus EDG27
Case Thermaltake X5
Power Supply Corsair HX1000i
Mouse Zowie EC1-B
Software Windows 10
#11
Joined
Dec 2, 2008
Messages
368 (0.11/day)
Likes
31
Location
Over There
System Name Games for Breakfast
Processor i7 2600k @ 4.3ghz
Motherboard ASRrock Z77 extreme6
Cooling Cooler Master TX3 Dual Fan
Memory 16GB DDR3 - RipjawsX 1600 1.5v @ 8-8-8-22 1T
Video Card(s) Asus AMD R9 290 4GB Reference PCB
Storage Samsung F3 Spinpoint 1TB
Display(s) HP 22vx IPS LED
Case Cooler Master Elite 331
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair TX650 V1
Keyboard CM Storm Devastator
Software Windows 10 64bit
#12
Still no luck guys.

The wierd thing is this:

- With the HD 6950 on the second slot, and the 8600 GT on the primary slot, I can't boot into windows normally, only in safe mode.

- With the Geforce 8600 only, computer boots 100% normally.

- With the HD 6950 only, computer won't POST.

The HD 6950 does show up in the device manager if I boot into safe mode with the 8600 GT as the primary card, but apparently, ATIFlash can't detect it in DOS mode.
 
Joined
Dec 2, 2008
Messages
368 (0.11/day)
Likes
31
Location
Over There
System Name Games for Breakfast
Processor i7 2600k @ 4.3ghz
Motherboard ASRrock Z77 extreme6
Cooling Cooler Master TX3 Dual Fan
Memory 16GB DDR3 - RipjawsX 1600 1.5v @ 8-8-8-22 1T
Video Card(s) Asus AMD R9 290 4GB Reference PCB
Storage Samsung F3 Spinpoint 1TB
Display(s) HP 22vx IPS LED
Case Cooler Master Elite 331
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair TX650 V1
Keyboard CM Storm Devastator
Software Windows 10 64bit
#13
OH MY GOD! It LIVES! :D

Fullinfusion was right, all I had to do was type "atiflash -p -f 0 cayman.rom" Don't ask me how or why, but even though the Hd 6950 was in the second slot, it was still named device 0.

What the f*ck. I just flashed it and it works!

Holy crap, i'm never flashing a GPU again.
 

fullinfusion

Vanguard Beta Tester
Joined
Jan 11, 2008
Messages
9,603 (2.65/day)
Likes
3,361
Processor I7-7700K
Motherboard Asus Z270 Maximus IX Code
Cooling Custom water plus another cooler
Memory Corsair Vengeance LED Red 4x8GB 32GB 3200MHz kit
Video Card(s) 2 x MSI RX Vega 56 and a single MSI RX Vega 64 in test rig
Storage 960 EVO/960 Pro M.2 nvme 250/1TB, Samsumg 850 evo 256/ WD 1TB blue
Display(s) Nexius 32" freesync 2 HDR
Case Corsair Obsidion 650D/ cardboard box
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply EVGA Supernova G2 1300W
Mouse Mionix Naos 7000
Keyboard G15
Software Windows 10 Home
#14
OH MY GOD! It LIVES! :D

Fullinfusion was right, all I had to do was type "atiflash -p -f 0 cayman.rom" Don't ask me how or why, but even though the Hd 6950 was in the second slot, it was still named device 0.

What the f*ck. I just flashed it and it works!

Holy crap, i'm never flashing a GPU again.
:toast:

I had my issues with 2 of my 6950's and that's how I got it to work..

I have a little journal written up on my fixes and also my fails and I go by it :wtf:

Glad it works for ya now leave the bloddy thing alone :rockout:
 
Joined
Dec 2, 2008
Messages
368 (0.11/day)
Likes
31
Location
Over There
System Name Games for Breakfast
Processor i7 2600k @ 4.3ghz
Motherboard ASRrock Z77 extreme6
Cooling Cooler Master TX3 Dual Fan
Memory 16GB DDR3 - RipjawsX 1600 1.5v @ 8-8-8-22 1T
Video Card(s) Asus AMD R9 290 4GB Reference PCB
Storage Samsung F3 Spinpoint 1TB
Display(s) HP 22vx IPS LED
Case Cooler Master Elite 331
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair TX650 V1
Keyboard CM Storm Devastator
Software Windows 10 64bit
#15
:toast:

I had my issues with 2 of my 6950's and that's how I got it to work..

I have a little journal written up on my fixes and also my fails and I go by it :wtf:

Glad it works for ya now leave the bloddy thing alone :rockout:
You bet. I downloaded the BIOS for the HD 6970 Flex (which works on mine perfectly because my 6950 already had the shaders unlocked out of the box, so it is basically a 6970) and it is working perfectly.

Running 3Dmark as we speak :D
 
Joined
Feb 12, 2006
Messages
2,289 (0.53/day)
Likes
410
System Name MONEY PIT
Processor i7-3770K @ 4800 1.20v batch #3231B415 Delided
Motherboard ASrock Z77 OC Formula w onboard waterblocks
Cooling Apogee HD, MCP655,rad MCR320-XP,Micro Rev2 res
Memory G,skill Trident X F3-2400C10D-16GTX
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 980 Ti Classified with EK nickel/acetal waterblock installed
Storage 2x120gig Wildfire raid0 2x120gig VERTEX3 raid0
Display(s) 3/ Samsung2343bwx + 65in LG 4K
Case NZXT Phantom White w/red
Audio Device(s) ReCon3d fatal1ty pro, Logitech z906 THX
Power Supply corsair AX860i
Mouse Rat7
Software 64bit ++++ win 10
#16
:toast::toast: glad to se your back up!! :D Next time PLAY with a card you can toss if you "F" it up ;);)
 

fullinfusion

Vanguard Beta Tester
Joined
Jan 11, 2008
Messages
9,603 (2.65/day)
Likes
3,361
Processor I7-7700K
Motherboard Asus Z270 Maximus IX Code
Cooling Custom water plus another cooler
Memory Corsair Vengeance LED Red 4x8GB 32GB 3200MHz kit
Video Card(s) 2 x MSI RX Vega 56 and a single MSI RX Vega 64 in test rig
Storage 960 EVO/960 Pro M.2 nvme 250/1TB, Samsumg 850 evo 256/ WD 1TB blue
Display(s) Nexius 32" freesync 2 HDR
Case Corsair Obsidion 650D/ cardboard box
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply EVGA Supernova G2 1300W
Mouse Mionix Naos 7000
Keyboard G15
Software Windows 10 Home
#17
:toast::toast: glad to se your back up!! :D Next time PLAY with a card you can toss if you "F" it up ;);)
You wouldn'y believe the frantic I was going through when i bricked my gpu!

I hunted down an Nvidia card from a local chain store.... Got the one card working... took the Nvidia gpu back and saved the day lulz...

Lesson learned! Leave the bios alone unless the gpu manufacturer gives out a proper bios flash program to fix the problem... reminded me of the cold bug my 5990 had that Sapphire had a fix for :rolleyes:

It's a sad day when a bios flash fucks shit up!! But the day's always better when you get it back working! And dont cost ya :p
 
Joined
May 20, 2013
Messages
1 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#18
Hellppp!!!!

Hi
Hope everyone is doing well this my first time posting on this site! I have been trying to get this HIS Radeon 6950 working which evidently had a bad bios flash. I managed to get it back to the original bios using ati flash and it would get detected while still in the secondary slot. However as soon as windows installs the drivers and does the required restart it black screens after loading windows. When I go into safe mode it shows the both of the 6950's but still says the card is not working properly if I try to boot solely from the HIS 6950 it will still not POST. Sorry if this is an extremely noob question I have been working on this thing for hours and just trying to get some help. Thank you so much for taking the time to read everyone! This seems to be the same kind of issue being that I have two 6950s so I hope it will be able to work
 
Joined
Feb 12, 2006
Messages
2,289 (0.53/day)
Likes
410
System Name MONEY PIT
Processor i7-3770K @ 4800 1.20v batch #3231B415 Delided
Motherboard ASrock Z77 OC Formula w onboard waterblocks
Cooling Apogee HD, MCP655,rad MCR320-XP,Micro Rev2 res
Memory G,skill Trident X F3-2400C10D-16GTX
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 980 Ti Classified with EK nickel/acetal waterblock installed
Storage 2x120gig Wildfire raid0 2x120gig VERTEX3 raid0
Display(s) 3/ Samsung2343bwx + 65in LG 4K
Case NZXT Phantom White w/red
Audio Device(s) ReCon3d fatal1ty pro, Logitech z906 THX
Power Supply corsair AX860i
Mouse Rat7
Software 64bit ++++ win 10