• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Forcing resolutions

bubba_000

New Member
Joined
Jul 3, 2007
Messages
76 (0.02/day)
Likes
5
System Name Packard Bell MV86-003
Processor Core 2 Duo T5500
Motherboard MV86
Memory 2 GB DDR2 667
Video Card(s) Mobility Radeon X1700 64 bits 128 MB DDR2
Storage 100GB @ 5400 RPM
Audio Device(s) Realtek HD Audio
Software Windows Vista Ultimate SP1
#1
HI

I was just wondering if i canforce a particular resolution in a game that doesn't support it. For example, the only widescreen resolutions that the witcher supports are 1024x640 and 1280x800, both being too much for my 64bit x1700. it would be nice if i could run it at 848x480.

Thanks in advance.
 
Joined
May 4, 2007
Messages
2,165 (0.56/day)
Likes
361
Location
Wallingford, CT
Processor Intel i7-5930k
Motherboard ASRock Taichi X99
Cooling Phanteks PH-TC14PE
Memory 4x8GB HyperX FURY DDR4-2666 15-17-17-15
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1070 Gaming X 8G
Storage 1x Plextor PX-512M6S SSD, 1x WD 750gb HDD, 2x Hitachi 2TB HDD, 1x Seagate 4TB HDD
Display(s) 2x Dell P2314H
Case Fractal Define R4
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair AX860i
Mouse ROCCAT Kone Pure Color White
Keyboard Corsair K95 RGB - Cherry MX Brown
Software Windows 10 Professional x64
#2
You can, theres a command you add to the shortcut on your desktop that will force the resolution. I'm trying to remember what it is...I'll edit this post if I can remember.
 

JrRacinFan

Served 5k and counting ...
Joined
Mar 17, 2007
Messages
19,666 (5.00/day)
Likes
4,754
Location
Youngstown, OH
System Name Gamer :Server and Android BuildBox
Processor i7 3930k: Xeon e5-2660
Motherboard MSI X79A-GD45 Plus : Generic
Cooling Liqid cooled: CM 212+
Memory Klevv Neo 2x4Gb 1866 @ 1600 CL9 : 2x8Gb Vengeance 1600 cl9
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 950 SC : XFX R5 220
Storage HGST 2TB + 480GB OCZ Trion 150 : Seagate 1TB SSHD + WD 3TB + 2x HGST 2TB
Display(s) ViewSonic VX2457-MHD 23.6" : headless
Case DIYPC D480-W White Window : Bitfenix Comrade
Audio Device(s) nVidia HDMI : Onboard
Power Supply EVGA 500b : Tt 775W Modular
Software Windows 7 Ultimate+Manjaro 16.06: Ubuntu Server 16.10
#3
Which game in particular?
 
Joined
Apr 2, 2007
Messages
2,807 (0.72/day)
Likes
230
Location
US
Processor Intel Q9400
Motherboard asus p5q-pro
Cooling Ultra120
Memory 6GB ddr2
Video Card(s) NVS 290
Storage 3TB + 1.5TB
Display(s) Samsung F2380
Case Silverstone Fortress FT02B
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi
Power Supply 750W PC P&C
Software win 7 ultimate 64bit
#4
the witcher
 
Joined
May 4, 2007
Messages
2,165 (0.56/day)
Likes
361
Location
Wallingford, CT
Processor Intel i7-5930k
Motherboard ASRock Taichi X99
Cooling Phanteks PH-TC14PE
Memory 4x8GB HyperX FURY DDR4-2666 15-17-17-15
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1070 Gaming X 8G
Storage 1x Plextor PX-512M6S SSD, 1x WD 750gb HDD, 2x Hitachi 2TB HDD, 1x Seagate 4TB HDD
Display(s) 2x Dell P2314H
Case Fractal Define R4
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair AX860i
Mouse ROCCAT Kone Pure Color White
Keyboard Corsair K95 RGB - Cherry MX Brown
Software Windows 10 Professional x64
#5
Okay I remembered it. It only works with some games, but its worth a shot:

-width 848 –height 480

Add that to the end of the "Target" in the games shortcut.

Another option is adding this to the end of "Target" (Use only if first option does not work):

+szx 848 +szy 480

EDIT: If either of these work remember to hit the "Thanks" button! :)
 

bubba_000

New Member
Joined
Jul 3, 2007
Messages
76 (0.02/day)
Likes
5
System Name Packard Bell MV86-003
Processor Core 2 Duo T5500
Motherboard MV86
Memory 2 GB DDR2 667
Video Card(s) Mobility Radeon X1700 64 bits 128 MB DDR2
Storage 100GB @ 5400 RPM
Audio Device(s) Realtek HD Audio
Software Windows Vista Ultimate SP1
#6
None of those work, but thanks anyway