• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

ForeSight Systems Pertelian X2040

Darksaber

W1zzard's Sidekick
Staff member
Joined
Jul 8, 2005
Messages
2,642
Likes
1,074
Location
Gmunden, Austria
System Name Core i7 Overclocked - Main Workstation
Processor Core i7 940 at 3.66 GHz
Motherboard Asus P6T Deluxe
Cooling Noktua U14P Super Silent
Memory 3x2GB OCZ 1600 MHz CL8
Video Card(s) 2x MSI Cyclone Radeon 6850 1GB in Crossfire - tuned to be silent
Storage G.Skill 240GB Sandforce SSD, 1x 640GB Samsung F1, 2x500GB Samsung Spinpoint, 1.5TB External Samsung
Display(s) Samsung 305T 30" 2560x1600 DVI LCD
Case Corsair Obsidian 800D
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar D2X PCIe
Power Supply Thermaltake Toughpower XT 750W
Software Windows 7 Home Premium 64 Bit
#1
The Pertelian X2040 is a multi purpose display, which can display IM messages, media information, stock and Ebay items among other things. Its software is based on an ever growing number of plugins, allowing the user to add further functionality to this LCD. The device is very well constructed and the display is quite bright. We give the display a try and set up a few plugins, to evaluate how useful such a secondary display can be.

Read the whole review here
 
Last edited:
Joined
Oct 2, 2005
Messages
2,908
Likes
656
Location
Baltimore MD
Processor FX-8320@ 4.2Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte 970A-UD3
Cooling Xigmatek S1283
Memory 2x4Gb Corsair 1600 9-9-9-24
Video Card(s) Sapphire RX-480 Nitro
Storage OCZ Vertex 3 120G, 1TB WD Black
Display(s) Dell S2330MX
Case Corsair Carbide Air 540
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Fatal1ty / 5.1 Logitech Z-5500
Power Supply Silverstone DA750
Software Win10 pro 64bit
#2
can you test it to see if it works with lcd studio, 3rd party lcd customization software ?
 

Protius

New Member
Joined
May 24, 2006
Messages
1,410
Likes
18
Location
Wonderful Ohio
Processor E6420 @ 3.6 -1.4v
Motherboard ASUS P5K Premium
Cooling Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme Lapped
Memory GSkill 4GB (2x2GB) DDR1000 @1080 5-5-5-15 2t 2.1v
Video Card(s) Sapphire HD5850
Storage 74gb Raptor 16mb cache & 500gb sata2 WD Cavaliar
Display(s) SAMSUNG 226bw 22" widescreen
Case Lian-Li PC-A05 w/ window & top 120mm blowhole
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Extreme Music-Logitech Z-530 (5.1)
Power Supply CORSAIR 550VX
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit
#3
pretty cool
 
Joined
Dec 28, 2005
Messages
1,531
Likes
0
Location
San Luis Obispo, CA
Processor AMD Athlon64 X2 3800+ @ 2.4Ghz
Motherboard ECS NForce4 A-939
Cooling CPU: Zalman CNPS7000B-AlCu GFX: Zalman VF-700AlCu, 2x120mm+5x80mm w/ Ultra 7ch Fan Controller
Memory Kingston 2x512MB DDR PC3200 Dual Channel 3-3-3-8
Video Card(s) EVGA Nvidia 7900GT KO Superclocked
Storage 2xSeagate Barracuda 7200.8/9 160GB SATAII NCQ in RAID0: 300GB total capacity
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster 941BW (19" widescreen, 1440x900)
Case Antec P180B
Audio Device(s) Built in. 5.1Ch Logitech Z-5500 500w soundsystem, digital Coax connection
Power Supply Spire 500W
Software Windows Vista Ultimate
#4
thats actually pretty schweet. but with vista's sideshow coming on the scene, especially with those diy mobos from asus coming out with sideshow units, this is going to become obsolete pretty fast. maybe its a poor-man's sideshow.....idk.
 
Joined
Apr 7, 2006
Messages
7,404
Likes
663
#5
4 line? thats gay...for 20 bucks more, just get a g15...it has a higher lcd field, contrast control, and buttons to scroll data.

is there any buttons on the unit itself?
 
Last edited:

Wile E

Power User
Joined
Oct 1, 2006
Messages
24,318
Likes
3,682
System Name The ClusterF**k
Processor 980X @ 4Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD5 BIOS F12
Cooling MCR-320, DDC-1 pump w/Bitspower res top (1/2" fittings), Koolance CPU-360
Memory 3x2GB Mushkin Redlines 1600Mhz 6-8-6-24 1T
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 580
Storage Corsair Neutron GTX 240GB, 2xSeagate 320GB RAID0; 2xSeagate 3TB; 2xSamsung 2TB; Samsung 1.5TB
Display(s) HP LP2475w 24" 1920x1200 IPS
Case Technofront Bench Station
Audio Device(s) Auzentech X-Fi Forte into Onkyo SR606 and Polk TSi200's + RM6750
Power Supply ENERMAX Galaxy EVO EGX1250EWT 1250W
Software Win7 Ultimate N x64, OSX 10.8.4
#7
Can it be configured to monitor voltages and temps?
 

Wile E

Power User
Joined
Oct 1, 2006
Messages
24,318
Likes
3,682
System Name The ClusterF**k
Processor 980X @ 4Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD5 BIOS F12
Cooling MCR-320, DDC-1 pump w/Bitspower res top (1/2" fittings), Koolance CPU-360
Memory 3x2GB Mushkin Redlines 1600Mhz 6-8-6-24 1T
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 580
Storage Corsair Neutron GTX 240GB, 2xSeagate 320GB RAID0; 2xSeagate 3TB; 2xSamsung 2TB; Samsung 1.5TB
Display(s) HP LP2475w 24" 1920x1200 IPS
Case Technofront Bench Station
Audio Device(s) Auzentech X-Fi Forte into Onkyo SR606 and Polk TSi200's + RM6750
Power Supply ENERMAX Galaxy EVO EGX1250EWT 1250W
Software Win7 Ultimate N x64, OSX 10.8.4
#9
Crap, speedfan doesn't work right on my board. I get erratic readings off of my sensors.

The G15 display does look nice, but I hate large keyboards. I actually use an Apple keyboard on my PC because of this. Not optimal, as it doesn't have the insert, prtscr, and a couple of other buttons. Been eying the Saitek Eclipse for a while tho.

Back on topic: I was thinking this could be a cheap way to monitor temps and volts while benching or gaming.
 
Joined
Apr 7, 2006
Messages
7,404
Likes
663
#10
From what i hear, you can get a cheap old palm for 10-15 bucks are program it to say anything...which is neat cuz it has the inputs and a large screen.
 

Wile E

Power User
Joined
Oct 1, 2006
Messages
24,318
Likes
3,682
System Name The ClusterF**k
Processor 980X @ 4Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD5 BIOS F12
Cooling MCR-320, DDC-1 pump w/Bitspower res top (1/2" fittings), Koolance CPU-360
Memory 3x2GB Mushkin Redlines 1600Mhz 6-8-6-24 1T
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 580
Storage Corsair Neutron GTX 240GB, 2xSeagate 320GB RAID0; 2xSeagate 3TB; 2xSamsung 2TB; Samsung 1.5TB
Display(s) HP LP2475w 24" 1920x1200 IPS
Case Technofront Bench Station
Audio Device(s) Auzentech X-Fi Forte into Onkyo SR606 and Polk TSi200's + RM6750
Power Supply ENERMAX Galaxy EVO EGX1250EWT 1250W
Software Win7 Ultimate N x64, OSX 10.8.4
#11
From what i hear, you can get a cheap old palm for 10-15 bucks are program it to say anything...which is neat cuz it has the inputs and a large screen.
Now that's something I never thought of. Thanx, ktr.
 
Joined
Dec 28, 2005
Messages
1,531
Likes
0
Location
San Luis Obispo, CA
Processor AMD Athlon64 X2 3800+ @ 2.4Ghz
Motherboard ECS NForce4 A-939
Cooling CPU: Zalman CNPS7000B-AlCu GFX: Zalman VF-700AlCu, 2x120mm+5x80mm w/ Ultra 7ch Fan Controller
Memory Kingston 2x512MB DDR PC3200 Dual Channel 3-3-3-8
Video Card(s) EVGA Nvidia 7900GT KO Superclocked
Storage 2xSeagate Barracuda 7200.8/9 160GB SATAII NCQ in RAID0: 300GB total capacity
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster 941BW (19" widescreen, 1440x900)
Case Antec P180B
Audio Device(s) Built in. 5.1Ch Logitech Z-5500 500w soundsystem, digital Coax connection
Power Supply Spire 500W
Software Windows Vista Ultimate
#12
From what i hear, you can get a cheap old palm for 10-15 bucks are program it to say anything...which is neat cuz it has the inputs and a large screen.
yep. its called palmorb, runs thru the usb/serial/bt sync setup. essentially, it emulates a 4x16 (i think, beta versions are larger) matrix orbital alphanumeric LCD. Works with LCDSmartie, etc.

IMO, its pretty cool, but it can't do graphics, etc, like the g15 can. but still, a cheap palm is great for that kind of thing.
 
Joined
Apr 7, 2006
Messages
7,404
Likes
663
#13
yep. its called palmorb, runs thru the usb/serial/bt sync setup. essentially, it emulates a 4x16 (i think, beta versions are larger) matrix orbital alphanumeric LCD. Works with LCDSmartie, etc.

IMO, its pretty cool, but it can't do graphics, etc, like the g15 can. but still, a cheap palm is great for that kind of thing.
sweet! something to do with my TX...i do have an orginal palm, but it restarts every time you turn it upside down it restarts...lol
 

Scavar

New Member
Joined
Aug 29, 2006
Messages
573
Likes
0
Location
Ft Lauderdale, FL
System Name ScarredWolf(Desktop), MBlackWolf(Laptop)
Processor E6600(Desktop), T7300(Laptop)
Motherboard EVGA 680i(Desktop), IFL90(Laptop)
Cooling Akasa EVO 120(Desktop), No idea(Laptop)
Memory G Skill PI 8GB 4x2gb(Desktop), G Skill 3GB 1GB/2GB(Laptop)
Video Card(s) 8800GTS 640mb(Desktop), 8600m GT(Laptop)
Storage 3x250GB 1x500GB(Desktop), 1x320GB(Laptop)
Display(s) Acer AL2216W 22"(Desktop), 15.4"(Laptop)
Case Cosmos 1000(Desktop), PowerPro J 10:15(Laptop)
Audio Device(s) CreativeX-Fi/Z-5500(Desktop), Realtek/No idea(Laptop)
Power Supply PC Power and Cooling Silencer 610w(Desptop), *shrug*(Laptop)
Software Windows Vista Ultimatex64 with tweaks(Both)
Benchmark Scores I'm too lazy to benchmark anything.
#14
Can someone give me the reasoning behind why you would want a little screen somewhere else telling you things that you can look at on your monitor? Or is it along the samelines of using like Dual View for monitors? Heh

The Saitek Eclipse is a nice keyboard by the way. I have the original. Had it for at least two years now. I wouldn't get the Saitek Eclipse II though, at least not if you are getting it for the light up effects, which it doesn't seem you are. Also Logitech as a newer keyboard out thats really nice...has some weird stuff on it though...and it cost like a 100$
 
Joined
Apr 7, 2006
Messages
7,404
Likes
663
#15
Can someone give me the reasoning behind why you would want a little screen somewhere else telling you things that you can look at on your monitor? Or is it along the samelines of using like Dual View for monitors? Heh
Well the object is to be able to view data, while doing something else that occupies the entire screen, like gaming, or watching a movie. Why pay another something-something for another monitor (and power cost to run it) when you can have a small screen,

The Saitek Eclipse is a nice keyboard by the way. I have the original. Had it for at least two years now. I wouldn't get the Saitek Eclipse II though, at least not if you are getting it for the light up effects, which it doesn't seem you are. Also Logitech as a newer keyboard out thats really nice...has some weird stuff on it though...and it cost like a 100$
I checked out the eclipse II at circuit city today, and it wasnt any better than a basic keyboard, the buttons felt funky too (like if they were spring loaded). the g15 is around 60-70bucks on sale, which shows up often.
 
Joined
Dec 28, 2005
Messages
1,531
Likes
0
Location
San Luis Obispo, CA
Processor AMD Athlon64 X2 3800+ @ 2.4Ghz
Motherboard ECS NForce4 A-939
Cooling CPU: Zalman CNPS7000B-AlCu GFX: Zalman VF-700AlCu, 2x120mm+5x80mm w/ Ultra 7ch Fan Controller
Memory Kingston 2x512MB DDR PC3200 Dual Channel 3-3-3-8
Video Card(s) EVGA Nvidia 7900GT KO Superclocked
Storage 2xSeagate Barracuda 7200.8/9 160GB SATAII NCQ in RAID0: 300GB total capacity
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster 941BW (19" widescreen, 1440x900)
Case Antec P180B
Audio Device(s) Built in. 5.1Ch Logitech Z-5500 500w soundsystem, digital Coax connection
Power Supply Spire 500W
Software Windows Vista Ultimate
#16
sweet! something to do with my TX...i do have an orginal palm, but it restarts every time you turn it upside down it restarts...lol
ahh the tx is a nice palm.

i have a zire 72, its slowly dying. a combination of dog chewing (slightly damaged digitizer) and a dying battery (froze a coupla times in yellowstone) has severely limited my palm's usage. bah.

might pick up a new battery soon tho.

or maybe i'll just buy a new one.
 
Joined
Apr 7, 2006
Messages
7,404
Likes
663
#17
ahh the tx is a nice palm.

i have a zire 72, its slowly dying. a combination of dog chewing (slightly damaged digitizer) and a dying battery (froze a coupla times in yellowstone) has severely limited my palm's usage. bah.

might pick up a new battery soon tho.

or maybe i'll just buy a new one.
So i got it working with my tx via bluetooth (wireless lcd ftw!)...its neat, but i wish for a larger screen...i shall try the beta version and see if they are good.
 
Joined
Dec 28, 2005
Messages
1,531
Likes
0
Location
San Luis Obispo, CA
Processor AMD Athlon64 X2 3800+ @ 2.4Ghz
Motherboard ECS NForce4 A-939
Cooling CPU: Zalman CNPS7000B-AlCu GFX: Zalman VF-700AlCu, 2x120mm+5x80mm w/ Ultra 7ch Fan Controller
Memory Kingston 2x512MB DDR PC3200 Dual Channel 3-3-3-8
Video Card(s) EVGA Nvidia 7900GT KO Superclocked
Storage 2xSeagate Barracuda 7200.8/9 160GB SATAII NCQ in RAID0: 300GB total capacity
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster 941BW (19" widescreen, 1440x900)
Case Antec P180B
Audio Device(s) Built in. 5.1Ch Logitech Z-5500 500w soundsystem, digital Coax connection
Power Supply Spire 500W
Software Windows Vista Ultimate
#18
schweet, glad to hear it works. the beta version has some issues, because only certain programs work with the unusual lcd layout. theres a list of compatible software in the beta page so you know what will work and what doesn't. i think beta version b fills up most of a 320x320 display, so you're still going to be running with virtural grafitti on the bottom.
 
Joined
Apr 7, 2006
Messages
7,404
Likes
663
#19
schweet, glad to hear it works. the beta version has some issues, because only certain programs work with the unusual lcd layout. theres a list of compatible software in the beta page so you know what will work and what doesn't. i think beta version b fills up most of a 320x320 display, so you're still going to be running with virtural grafitti on the bottom.
I am gonna try out lcdstudio 1.5 & the latest alpha and see what more i can do.
 

Darksaber

W1zzard's Sidekick
Staff member
Joined
Jul 8, 2005
Messages
2,642
Likes
1,074
Location
Gmunden, Austria
System Name Core i7 Overclocked - Main Workstation
Processor Core i7 940 at 3.66 GHz
Motherboard Asus P6T Deluxe
Cooling Noktua U14P Super Silent
Memory 3x2GB OCZ 1600 MHz CL8
Video Card(s) 2x MSI Cyclone Radeon 6850 1GB in Crossfire - tuned to be silent
Storage G.Skill 240GB Sandforce SSD, 1x 640GB Samsung F1, 2x500GB Samsung Spinpoint, 1.5TB External Samsung
Display(s) Samsung 305T 30" 2560x1600 DVI LCD
Case Corsair Obsidian 800D
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar D2X PCIe
Power Supply Thermaltake Toughpower XT 750W
Software Windows 7 Home Premium 64 Bit
#20
Just want to let you guys know, that there has been a update to the software with new features. Check out page 5 of the review with updated info!

cheers
DS