• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Foxconn A7DA-S 3.0 good replacement for Biostar TA790GX?

p_o_s_pc

F@H&WCG addict
Joined
May 2, 2007
Messages
13,002 (3.32/day)
Likes
2,156
Location
Newark ohio
System Name el'lappy|Cruncher | Cruncher 2
Processor intel C2D T6400 | i7 3770k @4.2ghz | AII X2 220 @3.4ghz
Motherboard some Acer | Asus P8Z77-V Pro |Gigabyter GA-M61p-S3
Cooling dual 80mm cooling fan | WC'ing ) |cheapo
Memory 2x2gb ddr3 | 2x2gb Ripjaws 1600 |4x512mb D9s
Video Card(s) onboard | 60 1GB(hd7770 ) |8800GTS
Storage Momuntus xt 320gb |Kingston Hyper X 120gb SATA III|500gb WD
Display(s) 17in | 42" 1080P HD 3D TV
Case lappy case | CM HAF XB |none yet
Audio Device(s) onboard | onboard | onboard
Power Supply Dell brick w/ acer end end | Antec EW 650w |Antec SP 350w(upg.soon)
Software Windows 7 Ult. 64bit---->------->
#1
My motherboard(Biostar TA790GX A2+) is giving me problems i can no longer overclock without getting a BSOD even alittle above stock(2.6ghz)(chip has run 3.4ghz for benching and 3.1ghz 24/7 before) I have cleared the CMOS and flashed to the latest bios changed ram and tried different CPU. It doesn't post sometimes.I don't really want to have to mess with it much as its my main rig(if i can get it to work it will crunch) I have been looking to upgrade to AM3 anyways so back to the main question would the Foxconn board be a good replacement? I plan on running a Athlon II 250 and not sure on the ram yet. I WILL be overclocking. I would like your input on this. If you can recommend another board for the same price or cheaper that is also on the egg please do it can be AM2+ OR AM3

thanks
p_o_s_pc
 
Joined
May 16, 2008
Messages
216 (0.06/day)
Likes
19
Location
East Yorkshire
System Name Box
Processor AMD 720BE @ 3700MHz 1.4v
Motherboard Biostar TA790GX 128M
Cooling Arctic Cooling Freezer64 (I know I've had it years but it just works)
Memory Corsair 4 x 2Gb (8Gb DDR2)
Video Card(s) ATI HD4850 512Mb
Storage Samsung F3 1TB OS, Samsung F3 1TB Media
Display(s) 22" Belinea 1680 x 1050
Case Coolermaster HAF 922 (dusty)
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi Extreme Music
Power Supply Thermaltake TR2 550w
Software Windows 7-64
Benchmark Scores 8669 in Overdrive 3.0.2
#2
can you rma the board?
 

p_o_s_pc

F@H&WCG addict
Joined
May 2, 2007
Messages
13,002 (3.32/day)
Likes
2,156
Location
Newark ohio
System Name el'lappy|Cruncher | Cruncher 2
Processor intel C2D T6400 | i7 3770k @4.2ghz | AII X2 220 @3.4ghz
Motherboard some Acer | Asus P8Z77-V Pro |Gigabyter GA-M61p-S3
Cooling dual 80mm cooling fan | WC'ing ) |cheapo
Memory 2x2gb ddr3 | 2x2gb Ripjaws 1600 |4x512mb D9s
Video Card(s) onboard | 60 1GB(hd7770 ) |8800GTS
Storage Momuntus xt 320gb |Kingston Hyper X 120gb SATA III|500gb WD
Display(s) 17in | 42" 1080P HD 3D TV
Case lappy case | CM HAF XB |none yet
Audio Device(s) onboard | onboard | onboard
Power Supply Dell brick w/ acer end end | Antec EW 650w |Antec SP 350w(upg.soon)
Software Windows 7 Ult. 64bit---->------->
#3
can you rma the board?
i don't know if i can or not. I am more of trying to use this as a reason to get something else.(haven't been too happy with the board and now maybe my chance to get a new one)
 
Joined
Dec 23, 2007
Messages
16,919 (4.59/day)
Likes
1,622
Location
Omaha, NE
System Name The ShadowFold Draconis (Ordering soon)
Processor AMD Phenom II X6 1055T 2.8ghz
Motherboard ASUS M4A87TD EVO AM3 AMD 870
Cooling Stock
Memory Kingston ValueRAM 4GB DDR3-1333
Video Card(s) XFX ATi Radeon HD 5850 1gb
Storage Western Digital 640gb
Display(s) Acer 21.5" 5ms Full HD 1920x1080P
Case Antec Nine-Hundred
Audio Device(s) Onboard + Creative "Fatal1ty" Headset
Power Supply Antec Earthwatts 650w
Software Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit
Benchmark Scores -❶-❸-❸-❼-
#4
Spend the extra on a PII 550 or even better, a 720. They aren't THAT much more! And yes, I remember seeing a review on that AM3 Foxconn 790GX and it was a beast. Got a 550 to like 4ghz if I remember correctly.
 
Joined
May 16, 2008
Messages
216 (0.06/day)
Likes
19
Location
East Yorkshire
System Name Box
Processor AMD 720BE @ 3700MHz 1.4v
Motherboard Biostar TA790GX 128M
Cooling Arctic Cooling Freezer64 (I know I've had it years but it just works)
Memory Corsair 4 x 2Gb (8Gb DDR2)
Video Card(s) ATI HD4850 512Mb
Storage Samsung F3 1TB OS, Samsung F3 1TB Media
Display(s) 22" Belinea 1680 x 1050
Case Coolermaster HAF 922 (dusty)
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi Extreme Music
Power Supply Thermaltake TR2 550w
Software Windows 7-64
Benchmark Scores 8669 in Overdrive 3.0.2
#5
bump on the 720 BE x3 - mine now running happy at 3700 on a (*hah*) Biostar 790GX 128M.
 

p_o_s_pc

F@H&WCG addict
Joined
May 2, 2007
Messages
13,002 (3.32/day)
Likes
2,156
Location
Newark ohio
System Name el'lappy|Cruncher | Cruncher 2
Processor intel C2D T6400 | i7 3770k @4.2ghz | AII X2 220 @3.4ghz
Motherboard some Acer | Asus P8Z77-V Pro |Gigabyter GA-M61p-S3
Cooling dual 80mm cooling fan | WC'ing ) |cheapo
Memory 2x2gb ddr3 | 2x2gb Ripjaws 1600 |4x512mb D9s
Video Card(s) onboard | 60 1GB(hd7770 ) |8800GTS
Storage Momuntus xt 320gb |Kingston Hyper X 120gb SATA III|500gb WD
Display(s) 17in | 42" 1080P HD 3D TV
Case lappy case | CM HAF XB |none yet
Audio Device(s) onboard | onboard | onboard
Power Supply Dell brick w/ acer end end | Antec EW 650w |Antec SP 350w(upg.soon)
Software Windows 7 Ult. 64bit---->------->
#6
Spend the extra on a PII 550 or even better, a 720. They aren't THAT much more! And yes, I remember seeing a review on that AM3 Foxconn 790GX and it was a beast. Got a 550 to like 4ghz if I remember correctly.
GOOGLE TIME :D Thats what i was wanting to hear.
 
Joined
Jul 28, 2008
Messages
2,526 (0.73/day)
Likes
507
System Name Desktop | Poweredge r410
Processor i5 6500 4.5GHz@1.275V | 2 x E5620 @2.4GHz
Motherboard ASRock Fatal1ty Gaming | Intel 5500
Memory 16GB DDR4 2400MHz | 32GB ECC DDR3
Video Card(s) RX480 8GB |On-Board
Storage 250GB SSD + 512GB SSD|4x320GB
Display(s) 27" Dell + 2 x 24" LCD Setup
Case Fractal Design Define Nano S
Software Windows 10 | Server 2012 r2
#7
I personally am not fan of neither Biostar nor Foxcon. Almost every other manufacturer is better than those two IMO.