• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Fraps 2.8.0 Released

1Strive

New Member
Joined
Dec 17, 2005
Messages
682 (0.15/day)
Likes
30
Location
Texas
System Name Back in Black
Processor AMD Opteron 180 @ 2.6GHz (Dual Core)
Motherboard Asus A8N-SLI Premium
Cooling All Antec Case Fans (3-speed and Quiet as they come.)
Memory 2GB DDR440MHz (Corsair XMS LED Series) 1GB x2 [Dual-Channel]
Video Card(s) 8800GTS G92 512mb (eVGA-745/1000) 9474 in 3Dmark06 at Defaults.
Storage 2 WD 74GB Raptors in RAID Zero for Vista. WD 250GB for XP and Storage
Display(s) Acer 22' widescreen. 1680x1050 res / 5ms
Case Antec Black Server Chassis / Logitec G7 Wireless-Laser Mouse
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Music w/ 5.1 Surround Sound Headphones
Power Supply Antec 500Watt ATX2.0 Modular
Software Vista Ultimate (64-bit) / Playing: Crysis in DX9 on XP @ 1680x1050 High with 30FPS
Benchmark Scores Over 9k in 3DMark06! That's better than 80% of all systems tested and logged according to 3Dmark's s
#1
FRAPS STAFF said:
Dear Registered User,

A new version of Fraps has just been released. As a registered
user of the software you are entitled to free updates to the program. You
can download the full version of Fraps 2.8.0 from the Members Area at
the following page:

http://www.fraps.com/members.php

-------------------------
FRAPS 2.8.0 RELEASE NOTES
-------------------------

Got Dual Core? For video capture we're happy to announce the
removal of resolution restrictions on multi-core systems. So whether you
want to record in 1280x1024 or go for HD 1080p you now have the choice :)


We're also proud to once again be a sponsor of the Machinima Film
Festival. For anyone interested in the convergence of games and cinema
this is THE event to attend and we look forward to seeing the year's
best Machinima. If you're in the New York area on Nov 4th-5th please
consider checking out the the festival and saying hi! More information:
http://festival.machinima.org/


---------
CHANGELOG
---------

- Added full-size video capture up to 2560x1600 for dual core CPUs
- Added G15 gameinfo screen (mapped to 4th button)
- Added Targa (TGA) screenshot format support
- Added dual core optimizations to Fraps FPS1 codec
- Added extra digit to counter (now displays above 999 fps)
- Improved full-size D3D9 video capture speed (10-20%)
- Fixed G15 display not scaling properly with high framerates
- Fixed Company of Heroes reporting 999 fps
- Fixed mouse cursor offset in some windowed applications
- Fixed flickering movies recording Flight Simulator 9/FSX with dual
monitors
So no more capture at HALF the resolution! Yeah! Makes a differencs when playing games at 1920x1440.

Enjoy,
1STRIVE (on vacation)
 
Joined
Jan 15, 2005
Messages
5,458 (1.15/day)
Likes
242
Location
England
System Name Jimmy 2004's PC
Processor S754 AMD Athlon64 3200+ @ 2640MHz
Motherboard ASUS K8N
Cooling AC Freezer 64 Pro + Zalman VF1000 + 5x120mm Antec TriCool Case Fans
Memory 1GB Kingston PC3200 (2x512MB)
Video Card(s) Saphire 256MB X800 GTO @ 450MHz/560MHz (Core/Memory)
Storage 500GB Western Digital SATA II + 80GB Maxtor DiamondMax SATA
Display(s) Digimate 17" TFT (1280x1024)
Case Antec P182
Audio Device(s) Audigy 4 + Creative Inspire T7900 7.1 Speakers
Power Supply Corsair HX520W
Software Windows XP Home
#2
Fraps has started crashing my PC when I use it now, so i'm staying clear from it for a while. Anyone know any other good FPS software?
 
Joined
Aug 30, 2006
Messages
6,377 (1.53/day)
Likes
984
System Name ICE-QUAD // ICE-CRUNCH
Processor Q6600 // 2x Xeon 5472
Memory 2GB DDR // 8GB FB-DIMM
Video Card(s) HD3850-AGP // FireGL 3400
Display(s) 2 x Samsung 204Ts = 3200x1200
Audio Device(s) Audigy 2
Software Windows Server 2003 R2 as a Workstation now migrated to W10 with regrets.
#3
FRAPS is the best. If you are getting issues, use an older version until 2.8.0 is debugged.

Some games (e.g. quake engine and others) have inbuilt FPS indicator. Turn it on. e.g. cg_drawfps 1
 

dvvv

New Member
Joined
Oct 26, 2006
Messages
3 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#4
No doubt fraps rulzzz... but.. i have 19" lcd monitor, so the prefered resolution is 1280*1024, but i have no dual core processor, so movies i record in 1280*1024 are half-sized, and only thing i can do to get full-sized movies - is to switch game resolution to 1024*768, but the quality will suffer as i use lcd monitor.
Is there any way i can record 1280*1024 movies with no dual core processor(i understand that performance will slowdown, but anyway)?
Such situation a bit offends me =(
 
Last edited:

1Strive

New Member
Joined
Dec 17, 2005
Messages
682 (0.15/day)
Likes
30
Location
Texas
System Name Back in Black
Processor AMD Opteron 180 @ 2.6GHz (Dual Core)
Motherboard Asus A8N-SLI Premium
Cooling All Antec Case Fans (3-speed and Quiet as they come.)
Memory 2GB DDR440MHz (Corsair XMS LED Series) 1GB x2 [Dual-Channel]
Video Card(s) 8800GTS G92 512mb (eVGA-745/1000) 9474 in 3Dmark06 at Defaults.
Storage 2 WD 74GB Raptors in RAID Zero for Vista. WD 250GB for XP and Storage
Display(s) Acer 22' widescreen. 1680x1050 res / 5ms
Case Antec Black Server Chassis / Logitec G7 Wireless-Laser Mouse
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Music w/ 5.1 Surround Sound Headphones
Power Supply Antec 500Watt ATX2.0 Modular
Software Vista Ultimate (64-bit) / Playing: Crysis in DX9 on XP @ 1680x1050 High with 30FPS
Benchmark Scores Over 9k in 3DMark06! That's better than 80% of all systems tested and logged according to 3Dmark's s
#5
No doubt fraps rulzzz... but.. i have 19" lcd monitor, so the prefered resolution is 1280*1024, but i have no dual core processor, so movies i record in 1280*1024 are half-sized, and only thing i can do to get full-sized movies - is to switch game resolution to 1024*768, but the quality will suffer as i use lcd monitor.
Is there any way i can record 1280*1024 movies with no dual core processor(i understand that performance will slowdown, but anyway)?
Such situation a bit offends me =(
Easy...

You don't have to have a dual core proc to run the new version of FRAPS (2.8). It runs on my laptop just fine (Pentium M).

The new version will allow you to record your movies at 1280x1024.

The old version just went up to like 1158x864 or whatever.

Hope this helps,
1STRIVE
 

dvvv

New Member
Joined
Oct 26, 2006
Messages
3 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#6
Easy...

You don't have to have a dual core proc to run the new version of FRAPS (2.8). It runs on my laptop just fine (Pentium M).

The new version will allow you to record your movies at 1280x1024.

The old version just went up to like 1158x864 or whatever.

Hope this helps,
1STRIVE
Thanks for your response 1Strive :respect:
but i have a new version of fraps (2.8.1) and a new NVIDIA drivers, but anyway when capturing video in a game(resolution 1280*1024) it's being half-sized, reduced to 640*512.

gameCFG:


systemCFG:


videoFile:


And as I understand from http://www.fraps.com/news.php
For video capture we're happy to announce the removal of resolution restrictions on multi-core systems.
New resolutions are available only for Dual Core systems, otherwise I don't understand why I can't capture 1280*1024 video... :banghead: :cry:

Best Regards,
dvvv
 

dvvv

New Member
Joined
Oct 26, 2006
Messages
3 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#7
Update, i've got a response from "beepa support" <help@beepa.com>
Dear dvvv,

Thanks for your message. We are always looking for ways to improve
the features of Fraps, however at the moment we are unable to provide
support for video capture at resolutions higher than 1152x864 (or 1280x800
widescreen) on machines using a single core CPU. This is because Fraps
requires a lot of bandwidth to record high resolution videos due to the
very high amount of data being saved to disk.


Regards,
Chris Van Graas
So.. without dual core there is no any posibility =(
 

1Strive

New Member
Joined
Dec 17, 2005
Messages
682 (0.15/day)
Likes
30
Location
Texas
System Name Back in Black
Processor AMD Opteron 180 @ 2.6GHz (Dual Core)
Motherboard Asus A8N-SLI Premium
Cooling All Antec Case Fans (3-speed and Quiet as they come.)
Memory 2GB DDR440MHz (Corsair XMS LED Series) 1GB x2 [Dual-Channel]
Video Card(s) 8800GTS G92 512mb (eVGA-745/1000) 9474 in 3Dmark06 at Defaults.
Storage 2 WD 74GB Raptors in RAID Zero for Vista. WD 250GB for XP and Storage
Display(s) Acer 22' widescreen. 1680x1050 res / 5ms
Case Antec Black Server Chassis / Logitec G7 Wireless-Laser Mouse
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Music w/ 5.1 Surround Sound Headphones
Power Supply Antec 500Watt ATX2.0 Modular
Software Vista Ultimate (64-bit) / Playing: Crysis in DX9 on XP @ 1680x1050 High with 30FPS
Benchmark Scores Over 9k in 3DMark06! That's better than 80% of all systems tested and logged according to 3Dmark's s
#8
Update, i've got a response from "beepa support" <help@beepa.com>

So.. without dual core there is no any posibility =(

Just one more reason to go dual core! (or Quad Core, or Multi Core)

Sorry about your luck,
Later,
1STRIVE
 

Mohbius

New Member
Joined
Oct 29, 2008
Messages
1 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#9
Hello, i was googleing and i found this forum.

As i can see the posts are old, but let's try.

I have a question, i have too a simple core procesor, i would like to know if it's possible to play in 1280*1024 and when recording resize it to 1024*768 and not halfsized.

Thx.