• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

FreeSync causing boot problems

Joined
Feb 13, 2016
Messages
178 (0.18/day)
Likes
170
Location
Buenos Aires, Argentina
System Name Monster
Processor Ryzen 5 2600X
Motherboard Asus ROG Crosshair Hero VII WiFi
Cooling Corsair H100i V1.0
Memory Corsair Vengeance 16GB (2x8GB) 2400Mhz
Video Card(s) Asus ROG Strix RX580 OC 8Gb
Storage 250Gb Samsung EVO SSD, 500Gb WD M.2, plus three spinners up to 1.5Tb
Display(s) Samsung C27F591 curved monitor 27" with FreeSync
Case Cooler Master Storm Trooper
Audio Device(s) Supreme FX
Power Supply Corsair RM850X full modular
Mouse AFX LMO216
Keyboard Corsair Strafe RGB Silent
Software Windows 10 x64
Benchmark Scores 3DMark 4053 (lower with freesync off)
#1
After fitting a new Asus Strix RX580 and enabling FreeSync on my monitor, I'm getting weird boot ups where the screen just remains black and nothing else happens. Keyboard lights up as does the PC, but there doesn't appear to be any HDD activity.
If I switch off FreeSync on the monitor the boot up is normal as before. Weird.
Mobo is GA-970A-UD3P with latest BIOS
Monitor Samsung C27F591
GPU has latest Adrenalin drivers too.
I've Googled this but not read of exactly the same issue yet.
 
Joined
Feb 19, 2009
Messages
1,582 (0.44/day)
Likes
572
Location
Warwick
System Name PC-Chips
Processor Intel core I5 4690K
Motherboard Asrock z87 Extreme 3
Cooling Noctua NH-D14
Memory G-Skill Ripjaws 2133mhz 4x4gig
Video Card(s) Sapphire RX-480 Nitro+ 8gig
Storage Samsung 250gig 840 SSD / 1TB HDD
Display(s) Samsung C27F591 27 inch Curved LED
Case NZXT phantom 410
Audio Device(s) Realtek digital out - Yamaha A-S501 - Wharfedale pacific evo 20 speakers - Wharfedale SW150 sub
Power Supply Cooler Master G650M
Mouse logitech G402
Keyboard Logitech delux 250
Software Windows 10 pro 64bit
#2
Hi, are you using HDMI by any chance? I have the same screen and had nothing but issues using an HDMI cable and FreeSync with my RX480.
I tried many things to sort the issues out but had no luck so in the end i decided to try a DisplayPort cable.

Since using DisplayPort i've had no issues with Freesync or random black screens and stuff like i did with HDMI.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Feb 13, 2016
Messages
178 (0.18/day)
Likes
170
Location
Buenos Aires, Argentina
System Name Monster
Processor Ryzen 5 2600X
Motherboard Asus ROG Crosshair Hero VII WiFi
Cooling Corsair H100i V1.0
Memory Corsair Vengeance 16GB (2x8GB) 2400Mhz
Video Card(s) Asus ROG Strix RX580 OC 8Gb
Storage 250Gb Samsung EVO SSD, 500Gb WD M.2, plus three spinners up to 1.5Tb
Display(s) Samsung C27F591 curved monitor 27" with FreeSync
Case Cooler Master Storm Trooper
Audio Device(s) Supreme FX
Power Supply Corsair RM850X full modular
Mouse AFX LMO216
Keyboard Corsair Strafe RGB Silent
Software Windows 10 x64
Benchmark Scores 3DMark 4053 (lower with freesync off)
#3
Yes, HDMI which is pretty much default nowadays isn't it.
Anyway, I read somewhere that disabling CSM Compatibilty Support Module and FastBoot in the UEFI sorts the problem.
I'll try later when I get home and if that doesn't work I'll look into a display port cable, as you have done.
Thanks for the tip!
 
Joined
Feb 19, 2009
Messages
1,582 (0.44/day)
Likes
572
Location
Warwick
System Name PC-Chips
Processor Intel core I5 4690K
Motherboard Asrock z87 Extreme 3
Cooling Noctua NH-D14
Memory G-Skill Ripjaws 2133mhz 4x4gig
Video Card(s) Sapphire RX-480 Nitro+ 8gig
Storage Samsung 250gig 840 SSD / 1TB HDD
Display(s) Samsung C27F591 27 inch Curved LED
Case NZXT phantom 410
Audio Device(s) Realtek digital out - Yamaha A-S501 - Wharfedale pacific evo 20 speakers - Wharfedale SW150 sub
Power Supply Cooler Master G650M
Mouse logitech G402
Keyboard Logitech delux 250
Software Windows 10 pro 64bit
#5
site says to use the Display port cable for freeSync.. plus its only a 60hz monitor... and if you get it working on DP use 17.11.4 drivers because FS is busted on both 17.12.1 and 2 drivers.
FreeSync range when set to max is 48 to 72hz on this screen and FreeSync seems to work fine on my RX480 using 17.12.1 but no idea about RX580 :)
 
Joined
Feb 13, 2016
Messages
178 (0.18/day)
Likes
170
Location
Buenos Aires, Argentina
System Name Monster
Processor Ryzen 5 2600X
Motherboard Asus ROG Crosshair Hero VII WiFi
Cooling Corsair H100i V1.0
Memory Corsair Vengeance 16GB (2x8GB) 2400Mhz
Video Card(s) Asus ROG Strix RX580 OC 8Gb
Storage 250Gb Samsung EVO SSD, 500Gb WD M.2, plus three spinners up to 1.5Tb
Display(s) Samsung C27F591 curved monitor 27" with FreeSync
Case Cooler Master Storm Trooper
Audio Device(s) Supreme FX
Power Supply Corsair RM850X full modular
Mouse AFX LMO216
Keyboard Corsair Strafe RGB Silent
Software Windows 10 x64
Benchmark Scores 3DMark 4053 (lower with freesync off)
#6
site says to use the Display port cable for freeSync.. plus its only a 60hz monitor... and if you get it working on DP use 17.11.4 drivers because FS is busted on both 17.12.1 and 2 drivers.
Which site would that be?

The DP cable only added to my problems resulting in blue screens and failure of the PC to even physically switch on. The C27F591 monitor appeared to have difficulty detecting a signal, even though source was set to auto. In short, when I did manage to get past safe mode, games and everything else worked fine with the DP cable, but restarting or cold booting ended up as a continuous bsod loop.
I then reconnected the HDMI cable supplied with the monitor and returned to some kind of normality, albeit with a slightly quirky boot, with or without FreeSync turned on at the monitor.
I'm not sure what to make of this. It could be a crap DP cable and I know for sure that this monitor supports FreeSync over HDMI and when it kicks in, it's running at 72Hz.
I'll try the earlier drivers just to see what occurs, but I'd also be interested to see proof of FS 'being busted', as if AMD would let that one slip through without noticing, especially after they made so much of FS over HDMI and all the other features of Adrenalin.

Edit
I did a clean install of 17.11.4 using DDU but AMD software reported that FreeSync wasn't supported. Went back to 17.12.2 and FreeSync is back.
Restart and cold booting are still a bit hesitant but I can live with it, but will probably go for a reformat and clean Windows install soon as it's overdue.
 
Last edited:

fullinfusion

Vanguard Beta Tester
Joined
Jan 11, 2008
Messages
9,765 (2.47/day)
Likes
3,559
#7
Which site would that be?

The DP cable only added to my problems resulting in blue screens and failure of the PC to even physically switch on. The C27F591 monitor appeared to have difficulty detecting a signal, even though source was set to auto. In short, when I did manage to get past safe mode, games and everything else worked fine with the DP cable, but restarting or cold booting ended up as a continuous bsod loop.
I then reconnected the HDMI cable supplied with the monitor and returned to some kind of normality, albeit with a slightly quirky boot, with or without FreeSync turned on at the monitor.
I'm not sure what to make of this. It could be a crap DP cable and I know for sure that this monitor supports FreeSync over HDMI and when it kicks in, it's running at 72Hz.
I'll try the earlier drivers just to see what occurs, but I'd also be interested to see proof of FS 'being busted', as if AMD would let that one slip through without noticing, especially after they made so much of FS over HDMI and all the other features of Adrenalin.

Edit
I did a clean install of 17.11.4 using DDU but AMD software reported that FreeSync wasn't supported. Went back to 17.12.2 and FreeSync is back.
Restart and cold booting are still a bit hesitant but I can live with it, but will probably go for a reformat and clean Windows install soon as it's overdue.
I just googled you monitor and the manufacture said DP
 
Joined
Feb 13, 2016
Messages
178 (0.18/day)
Likes
170
Location
Buenos Aires, Argentina
System Name Monster
Processor Ryzen 5 2600X
Motherboard Asus ROG Crosshair Hero VII WiFi
Cooling Corsair H100i V1.0
Memory Corsair Vengeance 16GB (2x8GB) 2400Mhz
Video Card(s) Asus ROG Strix RX580 OC 8Gb
Storage 250Gb Samsung EVO SSD, 500Gb WD M.2, plus three spinners up to 1.5Tb
Display(s) Samsung C27F591 curved monitor 27" with FreeSync
Case Cooler Master Storm Trooper
Audio Device(s) Supreme FX
Power Supply Corsair RM850X full modular
Mouse AFX LMO216
Keyboard Corsair Strafe RGB Silent
Software Windows 10 x64
Benchmark Scores 3DMark 4053 (lower with freesync off)
#8
Appreciate your help mate, but the manual says HDMI only is supported for freeSync
freesync.jpg

It does work fine on an HDMI connection, but boot up is just weird.
 

fullinfusion

Vanguard Beta Tester
Joined
Jan 11, 2008
Messages
9,765 (2.47/day)
Likes
3,559
#9
@Splinterdog I see that one site says HDMI only and other says DP only so hmmm :kookoo: anyways..

Here I checked, maybe a setting in the monitor is off? I experienced a freesync issue here not to long ago and some how freesync was disabled in the monitor :confused:

But it was for some odd reason..

Here just trying to help :toast:

 
Joined
Feb 13, 2016
Messages
178 (0.18/day)
Likes
170
Location
Buenos Aires, Argentina
System Name Monster
Processor Ryzen 5 2600X
Motherboard Asus ROG Crosshair Hero VII WiFi
Cooling Corsair H100i V1.0
Memory Corsair Vengeance 16GB (2x8GB) 2400Mhz
Video Card(s) Asus ROG Strix RX580 OC 8Gb
Storage 250Gb Samsung EVO SSD, 500Gb WD M.2, plus three spinners up to 1.5Tb
Display(s) Samsung C27F591 curved monitor 27" with FreeSync
Case Cooler Master Storm Trooper
Audio Device(s) Supreme FX
Power Supply Corsair RM850X full modular
Mouse AFX LMO216
Keyboard Corsair Strafe RGB Silent
Software Windows 10 x64
Benchmark Scores 3DMark 4053 (lower with freesync off)
#10
Really appreciate it mate!
But it's odd how it says FreeSync is only available in HDMI mode, then a few lines down that FreeSync function is only enabled in HDMI or DP.
Could be that I bought a cheapo DP cable?
 

OneMoar

There is Always Moar
Joined
Apr 9, 2010
Messages
7,697 (2.45/day)
Likes
4,266
Location
Rochester area
System Name Kreij Lives On
Processor Intel Core i5 4670K @ 4.4Ghz 1.32V
Motherboard ASUS Maximus VI Gene Z87
Cooling Reeven Okeanos Single 140MM Fan +2 SP120 White's
Memory 16GB kingston hyper x @ 2133 @ 11 11 11 32
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1060 ACX Copper Single fan
Storage 240gb Cruical MX200SSD/WD Blue 1TB
Display(s) Samsung S24D300/HP2071D
Case Custom Full Aluminum By ST.o.CH <3
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply HX 750i
Mouse Roccat KONE
Keyboard Rocatt ISKU with ISKUFX keycaps
Software Windows 10 +startisback
#11
with dp and freesync. you aren't gonna get any display output until the machine reaches windows and the driver comes up
blame your motherboard bios for its poor choices in life
 

fullinfusion

Vanguard Beta Tester
Joined
Jan 11, 2008
Messages
9,765 (2.47/day)
Likes
3,559
#12
Really appreciate it mate!
But it's odd how it says FreeSync is only available in HDMI mode, then a few lines down that FreeSync function is only enabled in HDMI or DP.
Could be that I bought a cheapo DP cable?
If you roll back to say 17.11.4 driver do you have any issues with freesync?

These new 17.12.1/17.12.2 drivers are busted with freesync.. I know as I beta test for AMD and it's a known issue and why AMD pushed out the 17.12.2 driver in hope to fix FS in games but still it's busted.
It wont be till just after the new year before they get back to rolling out the fixes.
 
Joined
Feb 13, 2016
Messages
178 (0.18/day)
Likes
170
Location
Buenos Aires, Argentina
System Name Monster
Processor Ryzen 5 2600X
Motherboard Asus ROG Crosshair Hero VII WiFi
Cooling Corsair H100i V1.0
Memory Corsair Vengeance 16GB (2x8GB) 2400Mhz
Video Card(s) Asus ROG Strix RX580 OC 8Gb
Storage 250Gb Samsung EVO SSD, 500Gb WD M.2, plus three spinners up to 1.5Tb
Display(s) Samsung C27F591 curved monitor 27" with FreeSync
Case Cooler Master Storm Trooper
Audio Device(s) Supreme FX
Power Supply Corsair RM850X full modular
Mouse AFX LMO216
Keyboard Corsair Strafe RGB Silent
Software Windows 10 x64
Benchmark Scores 3DMark 4053 (lower with freesync off)
#13
Oddly enough, 17.11.4 told me that FreeSync wasn't supported, in spite of turning it on at the monitor settings, so I couldn't toggle it in Radeon settings anyway.
I then DDU'd back to the latest and it says FreeSync is on.
That's just weird.
The GPU is brand new and the Samsung is only 6 months old so I'm not suspecting a hardware problem, except the DP cable.
 

fullinfusion

Vanguard Beta Tester
Joined
Jan 11, 2008
Messages
9,765 (2.47/day)
Likes
3,559
#14
Oddly enough, 17.11.4 told me that FreeSync wasn't supported, in spite of turning it on at the monitor settings, so I couldn't toggle it in Radeon settings anyway.
I then DDU'd back to the latest and it says FreeSync is on.
That's just weird.
The GPU is brand new and the Samsung is only 6 months old so I'm not suspecting a hardware problem, except the DP cable.
a bad DP cable is rare IMHO, Try even an older driver. Like I said the December drivers are screwed.. Let me know what you find so I can pass it up the chain of command ;)
 

DimBo

New Member
Joined
Dec 30, 2017
Messages
14 (0.04/day)
Likes
9
System Name Old_Ironsides
Processor Intel Core i7-4770k
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-Z87P-D3 rev 1.0
Cooling EK Supreme HF + XSPC EX360 + some chinese pump
Memory 2*8 GB DDR-III 1600 (Kingston ValueRAM or smth)
Video Card(s) MSI GeForce GTX 980 Gaming 4GB
Storage SanDisk SSD PLUS 240GB + Kingston KC 120GB + OCZ Vertex 3 120GB + Kingston SSDNow V100 64 GB
Display(s) LG 29UM67
Case None at the moment
Audio Device(s) ESI Maya 44 XTe, Focusrite Forte
Power Supply Cooler Master Silent Pro Gold 800W
Mouse Logitech G500
Keyboard Oklick Iron Edge 910G
Software Win7 x64
#15
Just wanted to ask: for all I know, FreeSync is an extension of the DisplayPort 1.2a specification, how can it work through HDMI?
 
Joined
Oct 22, 2010
Messages
589 (0.20/day)
Likes
97
Location
Latvia
System Name Zen2600
Processor Ryzen 2600
Motherboard Gigabyte AB350M-D3V
Cooling CM Hyper 612S (Modified to fit AM4)
Memory 8 GB Crucial Elite 3000 @3200MHz [18-18-18-36-59] DDR4
Video Card(s) MSI R9 380 Gaming 4G @1120/1450MHz
Storage Crucial M550 256GB+WD Black 1TB+Seagate 4TB
Display(s) Samsung C27HG70
Case Phanteks Eclipse P400
Audio Device(s) Custom HP AMP + Sennheiser HD380
Power Supply Thermaltake Toughpower 850w Modular
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard ElE Game1
Software Windows 10 Home 64-bit
Benchmark Scores Cinebench 1220, Geekbench 4433 & 20080, Passmark9 4747
#16
with dp and freesync. you aren't gonna get any display output until the machine reaches windows and the driver comes up
blame your motherboard bios for its poor choices in life
Thanks for the info!
I recently got Samsung C27HG70 and had the same problem. Because i had not used Freesync before, I did not know why it was happening.

After fitting a new Asus Strix RX580 and enabling FreeSync on my monitor, I'm getting weird boot ups where the screen just remains black and nothing else happens. Keyboard lights up as does the PC, but there doesn't appear to be any HDD activity.
I also got boot errors and auto-resets, basically PC refused to boot with new monitor, using DP. And all that with black screen :( PC worked fine when I connected my old monitor, which does not support Freesync.
I resolved this by connecting first my old monitor, then new one. This seemingly prevented Freesync to be activated automatically.
Next, I turned source and aspect ratio to "auto" in monitor settings and disabled Freesync. I did not know which setting cured the problem at the time.
Now it works without problems.
 
Joined
Jul 15, 2006
Messages
380 (0.08/day)
Likes
299
Location
Malaysia
Processor AMD Ryzen 5 1600
Motherboard Gigabyte AB350M Gaming 3
Cooling Arctic Freezer 64 Pro
Memory 2x4GB Crucial DDR4-2400 @ 3200MHz
Video Card(s) HIS Radeon RX Vega 56 flashed 64 VBIOS
Storage 120GB Samsung Evo 840 SSD+ 2TB Seagate Barracuda + 2TB Seagate Surveillance
Display(s) 24" LG 24MP59G
Case Tecware Nexus M
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi Titanium HD modded
Power Supply Corsair CX750M
Mouse Logitech G402 Hyperion Fury
Keyboard CM Storm QuickFire Pro Cherry MX Black
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#17
Just wanted to ask: for all I know, FreeSync is an extension of the DisplayPort 1.2a specification, how can it work through HDMI?
VESA Adaptive Sync really uses DP only, but I believe AMD is the one that brings this to HDMI for its Freesync tech because HDMI allows vendor-specific extension to be implemented.
 
Likes: DimBo

DimBo

New Member
Joined
Dec 30, 2017
Messages
14 (0.04/day)
Likes
9
System Name Old_Ironsides
Processor Intel Core i7-4770k
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-Z87P-D3 rev 1.0
Cooling EK Supreme HF + XSPC EX360 + some chinese pump
Memory 2*8 GB DDR-III 1600 (Kingston ValueRAM or smth)
Video Card(s) MSI GeForce GTX 980 Gaming 4GB
Storage SanDisk SSD PLUS 240GB + Kingston KC 120GB + OCZ Vertex 3 120GB + Kingston SSDNow V100 64 GB
Display(s) LG 29UM67
Case None at the moment
Audio Device(s) ESI Maya 44 XTe, Focusrite Forte
Power Supply Cooler Master Silent Pro Gold 800W
Mouse Logitech G500
Keyboard Oklick Iron Edge 910G
Software Win7 x64
#18
Just for the record, I used an LG 29UM67 with a reference-design R9 290 for almost a year through DP connection with FreeSync enabled and had no problems. I think the problems you experience are vendor- or model-specific (is it possible for you to get a FreeSync-capable monitor not from Samsung and try it?)
 
Joined
Dec 6, 2005
Messages
10,491 (2.22/day)
Likes
4,344
Location
Manchester, NH
System Name Working on it ;)
Processor I7-4790K (Stock speeds right now)
Motherboard MSI Z97 U3 Plus
Cooling Be Quiet Pure Rock Air
Memory 16GB 4x4 G.Skill CAS9 2133 Sniper
Video Card(s) GIGABYTE Vega 64 (Non Reference)
Storage Samsung EVO 500GB / 8 Different WDs / QNAP TS-253 8GB NAS with 2x2Tb WD Black
Display(s) 34" LG 34CB88-P 21:9 Curved UltraWide QHD (3440*1440) *FREE_SYNC*
Case Rosewill Challenger
Audio Device(s) Onboard + HD HDMI
Power Supply Corsair HX750 (love it)
Mouse Logitech G5
Keyboard Corsair Strafe RGB & G610 Orion Red
Software Win 10 upgraded from Win 7 Pro
#19
@Splinterdog I see that one site says HDMI only and other says DP only so hmmm :kookoo: anyways..

Here I checked, maybe a setting in the monitor is off? I experienced a freesync issue here not to long ago and some how freesync was disabled in the monitor :confused:

But it was for some odd reason..

Here just trying to help :toast:


FS over HDMI is supported by newer AMD cards, but NOT all monitors, SOME monitors only support it over DP: https://www.amd.com/en/technologies/free-sync

Also, if you need DP, the cable itself comes into play. ...just to add to the confusion
 
Joined
Feb 13, 2016
Messages
178 (0.18/day)
Likes
170
Location
Buenos Aires, Argentina
System Name Monster
Processor Ryzen 5 2600X
Motherboard Asus ROG Crosshair Hero VII WiFi
Cooling Corsair H100i V1.0
Memory Corsair Vengeance 16GB (2x8GB) 2400Mhz
Video Card(s) Asus ROG Strix RX580 OC 8Gb
Storage 250Gb Samsung EVO SSD, 500Gb WD M.2, plus three spinners up to 1.5Tb
Display(s) Samsung C27F591 curved monitor 27" with FreeSync
Case Cooler Master Storm Trooper
Audio Device(s) Supreme FX
Power Supply Corsair RM850X full modular
Mouse AFX LMO216
Keyboard Corsair Strafe RGB Silent
Software Windows 10 x64
Benchmark Scores 3DMark 4053 (lower with freesync off)
#20
FS over HDMI is supported by newer AMD cards, but NOT all monitors, SOME monitors only support it over DP: https://www.amd.com/en/technologies/free-sync

Also, if you need DP, the cable itself comes into play. ...just to add to the confusion
Precisely and here's a snip from that AMD page, highlighting the monitor that I have, FS over HDMI.
fsync-monitor.jpg

Also, and by sheer coincidence, this video pretty much proves what I suspected about the DP cable I bought without my head fixed on correctly. Exactly the same boot problem that I had before switching back to HDMI.
 
Joined
Dec 6, 2005
Messages
10,491 (2.22/day)
Likes
4,344
Location
Manchester, NH
System Name Working on it ;)
Processor I7-4790K (Stock speeds right now)
Motherboard MSI Z97 U3 Plus
Cooling Be Quiet Pure Rock Air
Memory 16GB 4x4 G.Skill CAS9 2133 Sniper
Video Card(s) GIGABYTE Vega 64 (Non Reference)
Storage Samsung EVO 500GB / 8 Different WDs / QNAP TS-253 8GB NAS with 2x2Tb WD Black
Display(s) 34" LG 34CB88-P 21:9 Curved UltraWide QHD (3440*1440) *FREE_SYNC*
Case Rosewill Challenger
Audio Device(s) Onboard + HD HDMI
Power Supply Corsair HX750 (love it)
Mouse Logitech G5
Keyboard Corsair Strafe RGB & G610 Orion Red
Software Win 10 upgraded from Win 7 Pro
#21
Precisely and here's a snip from that AMD page, highlighting the monitor that I have, FS over HDMI.
View attachment 95356

Also, and by sheer coincidence, this video pretty much proves what I suspected about the DP cable I bought without my head fixed on correctly. Exactly the same boot problem that I had before switching back to HDMI.
Yea, two things:

1) The monitor needs to support FS over HDMI or DP (or both). I don't even know if mine does FS over HDMI. I know I can only get 75 Hz using DP, so that's what I do... with FS enabled and so far, it's beautiful. That said, it'd be interesting to try the DP@ 75Hz (card and monitor) and see how it looks with FS off.

2) The cable... I posted a question about DP cables and FS. I learned a lot from that post and poking around. DP VESA ver 1.2a spec has FS as "Optional". Also, 4K monitors aren't likely to get over 60Hz with a cheap DP cable, but then again it's hit or miss. There is a list of "certified" cables at displayport.org: https://www.displayport.org/product-category/cables-adaptors/?ps&pcat[0]=cables-connectors

The other advice I got in this thread is buy a bunch of cables and use the one that works ;) https://www.techpowerup.com/forums/...-1-4-for-freesync-75hz-at-3440-x-1440.239663/
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
23,458 (5.65/day)
Likes
7,481
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
#22
FS over HDMI is supported by newer AMD cards, but NOT all monitors, SOME monitors only support it over DP: https://www.amd.com/en/technologies/free-sync

Also, if you need DP, the cable itself comes into play. ...just to add to the confusion
I like DP better honestly, Higher resolutions, more robust connection too, plus it supports analog vga monitors through passive adapter. Since card makers are pulling DVI-I connectors off and replacing them with dvi-d only...
 
Joined
Feb 13, 2016
Messages
178 (0.18/day)
Likes
170
Location
Buenos Aires, Argentina
System Name Monster
Processor Ryzen 5 2600X
Motherboard Asus ROG Crosshair Hero VII WiFi
Cooling Corsair H100i V1.0
Memory Corsair Vengeance 16GB (2x8GB) 2400Mhz
Video Card(s) Asus ROG Strix RX580 OC 8Gb
Storage 250Gb Samsung EVO SSD, 500Gb WD M.2, plus three spinners up to 1.5Tb
Display(s) Samsung C27F591 curved monitor 27" with FreeSync
Case Cooler Master Storm Trooper
Audio Device(s) Supreme FX
Power Supply Corsair RM850X full modular
Mouse AFX LMO216
Keyboard Corsair Strafe RGB Silent
Software Windows 10 x64
Benchmark Scores 3DMark 4053 (lower with freesync off)
#23
Joined
Jan 26, 2018
Messages
2 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
#24
I can't find a decent quality DP cable where I live so I'll probably get this one posted to me. Interesting to see that this reviewer experienced the same as me.
https://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/custome...ef=cm_cr_dp_d_rvw_ttl?ie=UTF8&ASIN=B007PKPUIK
Hi,
Sorry to bump this thread once again, but I'm having exactly the same problem as you with Freesync over HDMI as told in your OP.

I'm using an RX 460 and an LG 23MP68VQ-P monitor. Have you found any solutions for the black screen during bootup? Sadly DP is not a solution for me, as my monitor does not have a DP connector.
 
Joined
Feb 13, 2016
Messages
178 (0.18/day)
Likes
170
Location
Buenos Aires, Argentina
System Name Monster
Processor Ryzen 5 2600X
Motherboard Asus ROG Crosshair Hero VII WiFi
Cooling Corsair H100i V1.0
Memory Corsair Vengeance 16GB (2x8GB) 2400Mhz
Video Card(s) Asus ROG Strix RX580 OC 8Gb
Storage 250Gb Samsung EVO SSD, 500Gb WD M.2, plus three spinners up to 1.5Tb
Display(s) Samsung C27F591 curved monitor 27" with FreeSync
Case Cooler Master Storm Trooper
Audio Device(s) Supreme FX
Power Supply Corsair RM850X full modular
Mouse AFX LMO216
Keyboard Corsair Strafe RGB Silent
Software Windows 10 x64
Benchmark Scores 3DMark 4053 (lower with freesync off)
#25
Hi,
Sorry to bump this thread once again, but I'm having exactly the same problem as you with Freesync over HDMI as told in your OP.

I'm using an RX 460 and an LG 23MP68VQ-P monitor. Have you found any solutions for the black screen during bootup? Sadly DP is not a solution for me, as my monitor does not have a DP connector.
Since running Adrenalin 18.1 the system boots, albeit more slowly than it should, especially being on SSD. However, when I turn FS off at the monitor controls, boot is completely normal.
I'm still going to try the DP route as I'm not convinced about FS over HDMI, for all the reasons stated. Many have suggested rolling back the drivers to 17.11.14 perhaps. I see your monitor supports FS over HDMI, so this is also puzzling.
Sorry I can't help more.
 
Top