• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Frequent display driver crashes and MEMORY_MANAGEMENT BSOD

Joined
Oct 28, 2017
Messages
30 (0.60/day)
Likes
1
#1
Didn't know if this was more fitting here or in General Hardware, so forgive me if the other board was more appropriate

Computer Type: Desktop
GPU: Gigabyte AORUS Radeon RX 580 8GB
CPU: Ryzen 5 1600
Motherboard: GA-AB350-Gaming 3
RAM: LPX Vengeance 2x4gb 2800
PSU: Corsair CX550M
Operating System & Version: Windows 7 Ultimate

Description of Original Problem: The suffering knows no limits. Decided to give up on my old GPU and buy a new one, picked up a second hand RX 580, which he showed to be working with no problems in a pretty heavy load game. However, I'm never so lucky.
After about 5h of installing windows updates and drivers, I got my first freeze followed by a black screen for about a second, followed by a "Display Driver has stopped responding" message. About half an hour later I had another, then half an hour later I had yet another. I noticed I wasn't running the latest driver for my GPU even though I selected the newest version when given the option from the driver install disk. ( I had 17.7.2 installed, which is the recommended version, and did a clean install of 17.11.1 at this point) So I installed that and things seemed fine for a while. I ran my pc for two hours straight just browsing and watching some youtube without any display driver crashes and then went to bed.
When I woke up I did another hour or so of browsing and youtube just fine and then decided to boot up a game. Settings autodetected everything on the highest quality and when I loaded in I seemed to have a smooth ~ 80FPS on max settings 1080p, however after only 10 seconds display driver crashed and with it the game. Thought it might be overloaded due to high settings, so I booted the game up again to lower settings, instantly greeted with another display driver crash. To make matters even worse, shortly after, the random crashes started happening again as well. Not to mention some random BSODs with the label MEMORY_MANAGEMENT.

tl;dr Display driver crashes randomly every half hour to an hour or so. When launching a game it crashes practically instantly, randomly has some BSODs labelled MEMORY_MANAGEMENT as well.

Troubleshooting:
Had a quick google and these are the most suggested "fixes"
>"update graphics driver"
which I already did. At first it seemed to stop the random crashes while just browsing, it ran for 2h fine yesterday and another hour fine earlier today, but when I launched a game it practically instantly crashed again anyway and now the browsing crashes started again.
>"check ram with memtest86+"
got through 4 full passes with no errors
>"check hard drive with seatools"
got through SMART check, short generic & short drive self test no problems (which were the recommended ones)
>"Run System File Checker"
which I ran with no issues
>"reinstall windows"
This windows installation is a day old, it's basically a brand new pc, other than my old HDD and a second hand GPU I bought, but was shown to be working fine
>"check for overheating"
at idle it hovers around 45 which is apparently normal'ish for an RX 580, and it crashes at that temperature as well. When gaming, it shoots up to about 60 but I can't get it to go much further before it crashes.
 
Last edited:

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
19,242 (5.04/day)
Likes
4,819
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
#2
How old is psu?
 

bogmali

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Mar 16, 2008
Messages
7,442 (2.09/day)
Likes
4,758
Location
Pacific Northwest
System Name System Has No Name
Processor Core i7-7820X
Motherboard MSI X299 Gaming Pro Carbon
Cooling CryoRig R1 Universal
Memory Apacer Blade 4x8GB DDR4-3200
Video Card(s) MSI GTX-1080 Gaming X
Storage Sandisk SDSSDXP 240GB SSD, Sandisk Extreme Pro 480GB SSD, Seagate 1TB HDD
Display(s) Samsung UE510 UHD 28"
Case Corsair Carbide Series Air 540 w/ 5 AF140 Blue LED Quiet Edition Case Fan
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair RM1000W
Mouse EpicGear Zora
Keyboard CM Quickfire Xti
Software Win10 Pro 64
Benchmark Scores Xbox Live Gamertag=jondonken
#3
Had this very same problem with my 1700 and Win10. I knew that AMD did not support Ryzen's on Win7 but I've read some workarounds. Only thing I could suggest is find a Win7 ISO that has all the updates or you can make one. There are a few threads about it on the General Software section.
 

TSR3

New Member
Joined
Nov 6, 2017
Messages
26 (0.64/day)
Likes
2
#4
Posted here before but can't remember login details. Lost that paper somewhere. Ah well.

To OP..
If you've the time can you check your bios and list:
Vcore at idle
Vcore at load
PCH voltage
VCCIO and especially System agent voltages.
Memory timings and mem voltage.

I'm asking as this sounds familiar.
 
Joined
Oct 28, 2017
Messages
30 (0.60/day)
Likes
1
#5
Just reinstalled windows, installed things off the included CD from my motherboard (chipset driver, internet driver, net framework, etc.) installed recommended GPU driver, installed firefox, started installing windows updates and installed the game and it still crashes practically instantly. I tried this to see if it would still happen with as few possible variables as possible.

Like a week old
Had this very same problem with my 1700 and Win10. I knew that AMD did not support Ryzen's on Win7 but I've read some workarounds. Only thing I could suggest is find a Win7 ISO that has all the updates or you can make one. There are a few threads about it on the General Software section.
Yeah I applied the "fix" though all it does is turn off a flag that says ryzen is not supported by windows 7, and thus lets you download all the windows 7 updates. I didn't ust it in the current install however, as it shouldn't be essential. I really would rather not use windows 10 but I'll use it as my next troubleshooting step unless someone has a better idea.
Posted here before but can't remember login details. Lost that paper somewhere. Ah well.

To OP..
If you've the time can you check your bios and list:
Vcore at idle
Vcore at load
PCH voltage
VCCIO and especially System agent voltages.
Memory timings and mem voltage.

I'm asking as this sounds familiar.
How do I see bios settings if I'm supposed to put system on load? Going to grab the others now and edit this post

I'm not sure what's what so I'll just list everything I can see in the PC Health Tab

CPU Vcore: 1.248-1.272V
CPU VDDP 0.900-0.936V
DRAM Channel A/B Voltage 1.212V
+3.3V 3.304V
+5V 5.040V
+12V 12.168V
VCORE SOC 0.852V

Memory Timing Mode is set to Auto, in speccy it shows as: 15-15-15-36 , which is different from what the ram mentions, but I didn't know if turning on XMP was going to improve it, as I heard that the default values are the "guaranteed boot" values, so I assumed they were the safest while setting things up. Was going to start messing with getting RAM to work at expected speeds after things started crashing.
 
Last edited:

TSR3

New Member
Joined
Nov 6, 2017
Messages
26 (0.64/day)
Likes
2
#6
HWmonitor? (from here) post a couple of screenys. Run x264 or stress cpu in cpuz for load. Sorry I didn't mean actual bios setup (although you can read the numbers there as well just to see the auto settings)
 

OneMoar

There is Always Moar
Joined
Apr 9, 2010
Messages
7,346 (2.61/day)
Likes
3,964
Location
Rochester area
System Name Kreij Lives On
Processor Intel Core i5 4670K @ 4.4Ghz 1.32V
Motherboard ASUS Maximus VI Gene Z87
Cooling Reeven Okeanos Single 140MM Fan +2 SP120 White's
Memory 16GB kingston hyper x @ 2133 @ 11 11 11 32
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1060 ACX Copper Single fan
Storage 240gb Cruical MX200SSD/WD Blue 1TB
Display(s) Samsung S24D300/HP2071D
Case Custom Full Aluminum By ST.o.CH <3
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply HX 750i
Mouse Roccat KONE
Keyboard Rocatt ISKU with ISKUFX keycaps
Software Windows 10 +startisback
#7
its unsupported for a reason don't complain when unsupported chipset on 5 year old os doesn't work
upgrade to 10
 

sneekypeet

Unpaid Babysitter
Staff member
Joined
Apr 12, 2006
Messages
24,633 (5.77/day)
Likes
9,357
System Name His
Processor Intel i7 5930K
Motherboard Asus Maximus V Extreme
Cooling Thermalright True Spirit 140 BW Rev.A
Memory Corsair Dominator Platinum ROG
Video Card(s) nVidia GTX 1080 SLI with EVGA Hybrid coolers.
Storage Samsung 960 Pro / Crucial MX300 750GB / Seagate 1TB Spinner
Display(s) Sony 43" 4K 60hz
Case SilverStone Temjin TJ11
Audio Device(s) Realtek on board > Sony receiver > Cerwin Vega's
Power Supply Thermaltake TPSG 1050W
Mouse Always Changing
Keyboard Always Changing
Software Windows 10 Pro 64
#9
Yeah, but that board's new surely. So the chipset will be up-to-date?
Reread his comment, he is saying old OS new chipset. Unsupported OS with said chipset. ;)
 

OneMoar

There is Always Moar
Joined
Apr 9, 2010
Messages
7,346 (2.61/day)
Likes
3,964
Location
Rochester area
System Name Kreij Lives On
Processor Intel Core i5 4670K @ 4.4Ghz 1.32V
Motherboard ASUS Maximus VI Gene Z87
Cooling Reeven Okeanos Single 140MM Fan +2 SP120 White's
Memory 16GB kingston hyper x @ 2133 @ 11 11 11 32
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1060 ACX Copper Single fan
Storage 240gb Cruical MX200SSD/WD Blue 1TB
Display(s) Samsung S24D300/HP2071D
Case Custom Full Aluminum By ST.o.CH <3
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply HX 750i
Mouse Roccat KONE
Keyboard Rocatt ISKU with ISKUFX keycaps
Software Windows 10 +startisback
#10
the install flag is there to prevent exactly THIS kind of issue
a quick glance at the behavior of the problem tells me its not hardware
 
Joined
Oct 28, 2017
Messages
30 (0.60/day)
Likes
1
#11
Yeah, but that board's new surely. So the chipset will be up-to-date?
The gigabyte AB350 Gaming 3 was purchased like three weeks ago, yes

HWmonitor? (from here) post a couple of screenys. Run x264 or stress cpu in cpuz for load. Sorry I didn't mean actual bios setup (although you can read the numbers there as well just to see the auto settings)
are these ranges normal because they look extremely worrying
Idle
https://i.imgur.com/HYdUrle.png
https://i.imgur.com/p744iAD.png
~5 min of CPU Stress in CPU-Z
https://i.imgur.com/1RyZlJi.png
https://i.imgur.com/sQPZw6j.png
 

OneMoar

There is Always Moar
Joined
Apr 9, 2010
Messages
7,346 (2.61/day)
Likes
3,964
Location
Rochester area
System Name Kreij Lives On
Processor Intel Core i5 4670K @ 4.4Ghz 1.32V
Motherboard ASUS Maximus VI Gene Z87
Cooling Reeven Okeanos Single 140MM Fan +2 SP120 White's
Memory 16GB kingston hyper x @ 2133 @ 11 11 11 32
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1060 ACX Copper Single fan
Storage 240gb Cruical MX200SSD/WD Blue 1TB
Display(s) Samsung S24D300/HP2071D
Case Custom Full Aluminum By ST.o.CH <3
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply HX 750i
Mouse Roccat KONE
Keyboard Rocatt ISKU with ISKUFX keycaps
Software Windows 10 +startisback
#12
don't bother with any further fiddling about with monitoring software
upgrade to 10 while its still free (google it)
 
Joined
Nov 4, 2005
Messages
9,950 (2.25/day)
Likes
2,309
System Name MoFo 2
Processor AMD PhenomII 1100T @ 4.2Ghz
Motherboard Asus Crosshair IV
Cooling Swiftec 655 pump, Apogee GT,, MCR360mm Rad, 1/2 loop.
Memory 8GB DDR3-2133 @ 1900 8.9.9.24 1T
Video Card(s) HD7970 1250/1750
Storage Agility 3 SSD 6TB RAID 0 on RAID Card
Display(s) 46" 1080P Toshiba LCD
Case Rosewill R6A34-BK modded (thanks to MKmods)
Audio Device(s) ATI HDMI
Power Supply 750W PC Power & Cooling modded (thanks to MKmods)
Software A lot.
Benchmark Scores Its fast. Enough.
#13
The gigabyte AB350 Gaming 3 was purchased like three weeks ago, yes


are these ranges normal because they look extremely worrying
Idle
https://i.imgur.com/HYdUrle.png
https://i.imgur.com/p744iAD.png
~5 min of CPU Stress in CPU-Z
https://i.imgur.com/1RyZlJi.png
https://i.imgur.com/sQPZw6j.png

The hardware is up to date, but the software running in it is NOT.

Windows 7 handles power management differently, and if core components of Windows 7 are not in place the driver may put some part of the CPU to sleep or cache to sleep and 7 then displays an error due to not understanding the architecture of the CPU and it's power management.
 

TSR3

New Member
Joined
Nov 6, 2017
Messages
26 (0.64/day)
Likes
2
#14
Sounds like not enough juice to the pcie(edit I meant ring and DRAM if OP's OCing). Does an x86/amd64 chipset care about the high level OS going on above it? I've run XP and 7 on a z170, for example.
 
Last edited:

OneMoar

There is Always Moar
Joined
Apr 9, 2010
Messages
7,346 (2.61/day)
Likes
3,964
Location
Rochester area
System Name Kreij Lives On
Processor Intel Core i5 4670K @ 4.4Ghz 1.32V
Motherboard ASUS Maximus VI Gene Z87
Cooling Reeven Okeanos Single 140MM Fan +2 SP120 White's
Memory 16GB kingston hyper x @ 2133 @ 11 11 11 32
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1060 ACX Copper Single fan
Storage 240gb Cruical MX200SSD/WD Blue 1TB
Display(s) Samsung S24D300/HP2071D
Case Custom Full Aluminum By ST.o.CH <3
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply HX 750i
Mouse Roccat KONE
Keyboard Rocatt ISKU with ISKUFX keycaps
Software Windows 10 +startisback

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
19,242 (5.04/day)
Likes
4,819
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
#16
its unsupported for a reason don't complain when unsupported chipset on 5 year old os doesn't work
upgrade to 10
Its 8 years old, came out in 2009
 

TSR3

New Member
Joined
Nov 6, 2017
Messages
26 (0.64/day)
Likes
2
#18
Just reinstalled windows, installed things off the included CD from my motherboard (chipset driver, internet driver, net framework, etc.) installed recommended GPU driver, installed firefox, started installing windows updates and installed the game and it still crashes practically instantly. I tried this to see if it would still happen with as few possible variables as possible.


Like a week old

Yeah I applied the "fix" though all it does is turn off a flag that says ryzen is not supported by windows 7, and thus lets you download all the windows 7 updates. I didn't ust it in the current install however, as it shouldn't be essential. I really would rather not use windows 10 but I'll use it as my next troubleshooting step unless someone has a better idea.

How do I see bios settings if I'm supposed to put system on load? Going to grab the others now and edit this post

I'm not sure what's what so I'll just list everything I can see in the PC Health Tab

CPU Vcore: 1.248-1.272V
CPU VDDP 0.900-0.936V
DRAM Channel A/B Voltage 1.212V
+3.3V 3.304V
+5V 5.040V
+12V 12.168V
VCORE SOC 0.852V

Memory Timing Mode is set to Auto, in speccy it shows as: 15-15-15-36 , which is different from what the ram mentions, but I didn't know if turning on XMP was going to improve it, as I heard that the default values are the "guaranteed boot" values, so I assumed they were the safest while setting things up. Was going to start messing with getting RAM to work at expected speeds after things started crashing.
-------------------

CPU Vcore: 1.248-1.272V -up it to1.35v
CPU VDDP 0.900-0.936V up it to 1.25
DRAM Channel A/B Voltage 1.212V up it 1.3v
+3.3V 3.304V
+5V 5.040V
+12V 12.168V
VCORE SOC 0.852V that's idle. Fine.

XMP will auto-volt everything 'up'. I'd try i out, just to see the new auto power numbers. Is it 2133? at base? Are you OCing it to 2800?
 
Joined
Oct 28, 2017
Messages
30 (0.60/day)
Likes
1
#19
-------------------

CPU Vcore: 1.248-1.272V -up it to1.35v
CPU VDDP 0.900-0.936V up it to 1.25
DRAM Channel A/B Voltage 1.212V up it 1.3v
+3.3V 3.304V
+5V 5.040V
+12V 12.168V
VCORE SOC 0.852V that's idle. Fine.

XMP will auto-volt everything 'up'. I'd try i out, just to see the new auto power numbers. Is it 2133? at base? Are you OCing it to 2800?
If W10 doesn't end up working out I'll go back to 7 and try this.
"CPU VDDP 0.900-0.936V up it to 1.25"
isn't this a very drastic increase?
"Is it 2133? at base? Are you OCing it to 2800?"
it's 2133 by default yes, I was planning on using XMP or manually overclocking it to get 2800 or close to it once system was stable.
Again, because I heard the 2133 was the "safe mode" even though the manufacturer rates it at 2800, it's 2133 by default to make sure it boots.
 

TSR3

New Member
Joined
Nov 6, 2017
Messages
26 (0.64/day)
Likes
2
#20
None of these are drastic. Just a test. Set OC to xmp, don't touch anything else and look at the new numbers.They'l be higher. Usually more than needed. - But you'll have an idea whether your silicone is being starved of power.

Love the video :) You do that? I can't keep up with the postings :( so by the time I've considered a reply more info is up.
Disclaimer: I'm one of those geeks who enjoys working any problem out through bios settings and pwr management. So many issues are related. Especially fast dram. I nearly always get there in the end!

To OP, After xmp ryzen wants it own version 'DOCP' enabled and set to 'standard'.
 
Last edited by a moderator:

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
19,242 (5.04/day)
Likes
4,819
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
#21
Love the video :) You do that? I can't keep up with the postings :( so by the time I've considered a reply more info is up.
Disclaimer: I'm one of those geeks who enjoys working any problem out through bios settings and pwr management. So many issues are related. Especially fast dram. I nearly always get there in the end!

To OP, After xmp ryzen wants it own version 'DOCP' enabled and set to 'standard'.
DOCP is Asus by the way.
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
19,242 (5.04/day)
Likes
4,819
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
#24
Didn't know that. What's the name of ryzens prop memory oc thing?
Everyone calls it different, just go by XMP.
 

TSR3

New Member
Joined
Nov 6, 2017
Messages
26 (0.64/day)
Likes
2
#25
Well sorry to tell you but display driver still crashes when launching a game.
so uhh
./wernotdonehere
Laser... you can't have done W10 yet surely.

Everyone calls it different, just go by XMP.
Ahh. Right.

Eidar, you're a AMD man, I'm finding these 6 and 8 core cpus pretty interesting. Doing some costing recently. Really good value. But the bioses are a little different to Intel, so I think maybe I'll hold of on advice for now.

guessing this is it? just making sure, might do a few laps with this tomorrow as well
Yep. That's it. The cool thing is it doesn't test your GPU. If it completes successfully, it's your GPU causing issues.

Gotta go. Will check back tomorrow.
 
Last edited by a moderator: