• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Fried some chips on my mobo w/ gfx card, will it happen again?

Joined
Mar 12, 2009
Messages
1,042 (0.33/day)
Likes
153
Location
SCOTLAND!
System Name Machine XII
Processor Phenom II 1155T
Motherboard Asus M4A88TD-M EVO/USB3
Cooling Custom Water Cooling
Memory 8Gb ddr3 1600mhz XMS 3
Video Card(s) HD5970 2Gb
Storage 128Gb Sandisk SATAIII 6G/s
Display(s) 19" + 23" + 17"
Case micro atx case
Audio Device(s) XFi xtreme OEM
Power Supply 750W
Software Windows 7 x64 Ultimate
#26
I think everyone is jumping to the wrong conclusion. the chip that has burnt out is a pcie multiplexer no significant current runs through it as its tied to the data pins.

What I would try is taping the pcie slot on the graphics card so only the first pcie lane is connecting so it runs like a x1 slot. you might be able to bypass the damaged lanes but you are going to have to replace your motherboard if that doesn't work.

http://www.asmedia.com.tw/eng/e_show_products.php?item=82&cate_index=67

 
Last edited:

ominub

New Member
Joined
Jun 28, 2013
Messages
20 (0.01/day)
Likes
6
System Name GAIA
Processor Intel Core i5-750 Lynnfield @ 3.2GHz
Motherboard ASUS P7P55D-E LX LGA 1156
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212
Memory 16GB G.SKILL Ripjaws 4 x 4GB
Video Card(s) EVGA GeForce 9500 GT 1GB 128-bit / EVGA GeForce 8800 GTS 512MB
Storage 2 x 250GB Seagate Barracudas - 1 x 1TB WD Black
Display(s) Dual ASUS 24" VW246H
Case Zalman Fatal1ty FC-ZE1
Power Supply OCZ Fatal1ty 550W
Software Windows 7 Pro x64
#27
I think everyone is jumping to the wrong conclusion. the chip that has burnt out is a pcie multiplexer no significant current runs through it as its tied to the data pins.

What I would try is taping the pcie slot on the graphics card so only the first pcie lane is connecting so it runs like a x1 slot. you might be able to bypass the damaged lanes but you are going to have to replace your motherboard if that doesn't work.

http://www.asmedia.com.tw/eng/e_show_products.php?item=82&cate_index=67

http://physxinfo.com/news/wp-content/uploads/2009/11/pci-e_adj.png
Interesting! Okay I'll try that when I get home from work. If it wasn't the power supply, what could have caused the chip to burn?

Is there a specific number of pins I need to cover? If I am running in x1, any idea how much of a performance hit will I see?
 
Joined
Jan 12, 2010
Messages
1,471 (0.51/day)
Likes
290
Location
Spain
System Name Custom Built | Netbook Samsung N145P
Processor Intel Core i3 6100 | Intel Atom N455 1.6 GHz
Motherboard Asus H110M-K-D3
Cooling Stock heatsink/fan
Memory 12GB RAM
Video Card(s) MSI GT 1050 Ti 4GB| Intel GMA 3150
Storage Samsung EVO 750 120GB + Kingston HyperX Fury 120 GB + 2TB WD Hard disk | Kingston V300 120GB
Display(s) HP Pavilion 22cw
Case A old one
Audio Device(s) Realtek
Power Supply Generic 500W
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit 1| Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit
#28
Interesting! Okay I'll try that when I get home from work. If it wasn't the power supply, what could have caused the chip to burn?

Is there a specific number of pins I need to cover? If I am running in x1, any idea how much of a performance hit will I see?
Maybe some temporal shorting on the slot or on the card caused by moisture, dust, a bent pin or some metal bit, check them even when the photo is fine.

Check this picture of a x1 video card


So you should cover until the 6th pin of the long part after the notch
 

ominub

New Member
Joined
Jun 28, 2013
Messages
20 (0.01/day)
Likes
6
System Name GAIA
Processor Intel Core i5-750 Lynnfield @ 3.2GHz
Motherboard ASUS P7P55D-E LX LGA 1156
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212
Memory 16GB G.SKILL Ripjaws 4 x 4GB
Video Card(s) EVGA GeForce 9500 GT 1GB 128-bit / EVGA GeForce 8800 GTS 512MB
Storage 2 x 250GB Seagate Barracudas - 1 x 1TB WD Black
Display(s) Dual ASUS 24" VW246H
Case Zalman Fatal1ty FC-ZE1
Power Supply OCZ Fatal1ty 550W
Software Windows 7 Pro x64
#29
Maybe some temporal shorting on the slot or on the card caused by moisture, dust, a bent pin or some metal bit, check them even when the photo is fine.

So you should cover until the 6th pin of the long part after the notch

Okay, I'm going to try this when I get home. I looked in there but I couldn't see any bent pins. Here are a few more pictures of my motherboard. If you look at the full size image and zoom in you can see that the pins look fine. Anyway, the thing is burnt up good so cleaning the pins out now wont do me any good.

So, if the card works in x1 mode, does that rule out an issue with the power supply?
 
Joined
Jan 12, 2010
Messages
1,471 (0.51/day)
Likes
290
Location
Spain
System Name Custom Built | Netbook Samsung N145P
Processor Intel Core i3 6100 | Intel Atom N455 1.6 GHz
Motherboard Asus H110M-K-D3
Cooling Stock heatsink/fan
Memory 12GB RAM
Video Card(s) MSI GT 1050 Ti 4GB| Intel GMA 3150
Storage Samsung EVO 750 120GB + Kingston HyperX Fury 120 GB + 2TB WD Hard disk | Kingston V300 120GB
Display(s) HP Pavilion 22cw
Case A old one
Audio Device(s) Realtek
Power Supply Generic 500W
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit 1| Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit
#30
Okay, I'm going to try this when I get home. I looked in there but I couldn't see any bent pins. Here are a few more pictures of my motherboard. If you look at the full size image and zoom in you can see that the pins look fine. Anyway, the thing is burnt up good so cleaning the pins out now wont do me any good.

So, if the card works in x1 mode, does that rule out an issue with the power supply?
Bent pins is only one possibility there are more as I said maybe the pin was bent when inserting the card and came to shape after taking it out also take a look at the card even if it worked on another computer.

Geofrancis is right, that doesn't seem to be a PSU issue. a PSU would burn VRM chips at most and these aren't VRM chips.
 

ominub

New Member
Joined
Jun 28, 2013
Messages
20 (0.01/day)
Likes
6
System Name GAIA
Processor Intel Core i5-750 Lynnfield @ 3.2GHz
Motherboard ASUS P7P55D-E LX LGA 1156
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212
Memory 16GB G.SKILL Ripjaws 4 x 4GB
Video Card(s) EVGA GeForce 9500 GT 1GB 128-bit / EVGA GeForce 8800 GTS 512MB
Storage 2 x 250GB Seagate Barracudas - 1 x 1TB WD Black
Display(s) Dual ASUS 24" VW246H
Case Zalman Fatal1ty FC-ZE1
Power Supply OCZ Fatal1ty 550W
Software Windows 7 Pro x64
#31
Bent pins is only one possibility there are more as I said maybe the pin was bent when inserting the card and came to shape after taking it out also take a look at the card even if it worked on another computer.

Geofrancis is right, that doesn't seem to be a PSU issue. a PSU would burn VRM chips at most and these aren't VRM chips.
You know, that might be what happened. I just remembered there being a bit of resistance when trying to line up the card. It was about 1.5mm too far forward and I had to finagle it a bit. That was while it was outside of the slot though... :confused:

I'll update when I get home.
 

tigger

I'm the only one
Joined
Mar 20, 2006
Messages
10,476 (2.44/day)
Likes
1,673
System Name Black to the Core MKIV
Processor Intel I7 6700k
Motherboard Asus Z170 Pro Gaming socket 1151
Cooling NZXT Kraken X61 280mm radiator
Memory 2x8gb Corsair vengeance LPX 2400 DDR4
Video Card(s) XFX Radeon R9 290 4gb ddr5
Storage Patriot Blast 120gb ssd Boot and WD10EADX-22TDHB0 1TB Data
Display(s) Dell 2408WFP 24" 1920x1200
Case Nzxt IS 340
Audio Device(s) Asus xonar dsx pci-e
Power Supply Corsair CX750
Mouse Logitech G502
Software Win 10 Pro x64
#32
Is it just me, or it there something missing from here? it has solder but no component

 
Joined
Jan 12, 2010
Messages
1,471 (0.51/day)
Likes
290
Location
Spain
System Name Custom Built | Netbook Samsung N145P
Processor Intel Core i3 6100 | Intel Atom N455 1.6 GHz
Motherboard Asus H110M-K-D3
Cooling Stock heatsink/fan
Memory 12GB RAM
Video Card(s) MSI GT 1050 Ti 4GB| Intel GMA 3150
Storage Samsung EVO 750 120GB + Kingston HyperX Fury 120 GB + 2TB WD Hard disk | Kingston V300 120GB
Display(s) HP Pavilion 22cw
Case A old one
Audio Device(s) Realtek
Power Supply Generic 500W
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit 1| Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit
#33

ominub

New Member
Joined
Jun 28, 2013
Messages
20 (0.01/day)
Likes
6
System Name GAIA
Processor Intel Core i5-750 Lynnfield @ 3.2GHz
Motherboard ASUS P7P55D-E LX LGA 1156
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212
Memory 16GB G.SKILL Ripjaws 4 x 4GB
Video Card(s) EVGA GeForce 9500 GT 1GB 128-bit / EVGA GeForce 8800 GTS 512MB
Storage 2 x 250GB Seagate Barracudas - 1 x 1TB WD Black
Display(s) Dual ASUS 24" VW246H
Case Zalman Fatal1ty FC-ZE1
Power Supply OCZ Fatal1ty 550W
Software Windows 7 Pro x64
#34
Okay, so it works in x1 mode with the rest of the pins taped off! I am using the old graphics card that doesn't require additional power. I guess I'll try it with the other card now.
 

erocker

Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 19, 2006
Messages
42,381 (10.17/day)
Likes
18,023
Processor Intel i7 8700k
Motherboard Gigabyte z370 AORUS Gaming 7
Cooling Water
Memory 16gb G.Skill 4000 MHz DDR4
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 1080
Storage 3 x Samsung Evo 850 500GB, 1 x 250GB, 2 x 2TB HDD
Display(s) Nixeus EDG27
Case Thermaltake X5
Power Supply Corsair HX1000i
Mouse Zowie EC1-B
Software Windows 10
#35
The burnt chip is a PCI-E channel switch chip. It (the mobo) is defective. Return for RMA if possible.
 

ominub

New Member
Joined
Jun 28, 2013
Messages
20 (0.01/day)
Likes
6
System Name GAIA
Processor Intel Core i5-750 Lynnfield @ 3.2GHz
Motherboard ASUS P7P55D-E LX LGA 1156
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212
Memory 16GB G.SKILL Ripjaws 4 x 4GB
Video Card(s) EVGA GeForce 9500 GT 1GB 128-bit / EVGA GeForce 8800 GTS 512MB
Storage 2 x 250GB Seagate Barracudas - 1 x 1TB WD Black
Display(s) Dual ASUS 24" VW246H
Case Zalman Fatal1ty FC-ZE1
Power Supply OCZ Fatal1ty 550W
Software Windows 7 Pro x64
#36
The burnt chip is a PCI-E channel switch chip. It (the mobo) is defective. Return for RMA if possible.
ASUS is going to repair/replace it. It'll be in the mail tomorrow.

The second card did not work. The power LED flashes, and the fans do about 1 full turn and then it dies. Pressing the power button again does nothing. I also tried unplugging everything from the PSU but the motherboard and the GPU, same result. It has to have something to do with the GPU/cable/PSU in addition to the PCI-E channel switch chips.
 
Joined
Mar 12, 2009
Messages
1,042 (0.33/day)
Likes
153
Location
SCOTLAND!
System Name Machine XII
Processor Phenom II 1155T
Motherboard Asus M4A88TD-M EVO/USB3
Cooling Custom Water Cooling
Memory 8Gb ddr3 1600mhz XMS 3
Video Card(s) HD5970 2Gb
Storage 128Gb Sandisk SATAIII 6G/s
Display(s) 19" + 23" + 17"
Case micro atx case
Audio Device(s) XFi xtreme OEM
Power Supply 750W
Software Windows 7 x64 Ultimate
#37
good stuff. you will get about 75% of your graphics cards performance while running in a x1 slot so its not ideal but it will keep you going till your new board arrives.

ah that card might be damaged from the initial run with the board.
 

ominub

New Member
Joined
Jun 28, 2013
Messages
20 (0.01/day)
Likes
6
System Name GAIA
Processor Intel Core i5-750 Lynnfield @ 3.2GHz
Motherboard ASUS P7P55D-E LX LGA 1156
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212
Memory 16GB G.SKILL Ripjaws 4 x 4GB
Video Card(s) EVGA GeForce 9500 GT 1GB 128-bit / EVGA GeForce 8800 GTS 512MB
Storage 2 x 250GB Seagate Barracudas - 1 x 1TB WD Black
Display(s) Dual ASUS 24" VW246H
Case Zalman Fatal1ty FC-ZE1
Power Supply OCZ Fatal1ty 550W
Software Windows 7 Pro x64
#38
ah that card might be damaged from the initial run with the board.
I'd agree, but it is currently running in my old PC in SLI right now. There doesn't seem to be any issue with it.

It's got to be the motherboard having an issue with the extra power coming from the GPU. It works with the old, cheap card in 1x and both cards work flawlessly in different PCs. If I had a motherboard I was willing to roll the dice on, I'd move the power supply to test that... maybe I'll swap the PSU from my old PC. Yeah, I'll try that after my workout.

I've got to say, this is the best experience I've ever had in a forum. Usually questions are greeted with hostility by elitists not willing to offer assistance, just looking to belittle new-comers. Thanks again for the help everyone. :lovetpu:
 

FreedomEclipse

~Technological Technocrat~
Joined
Apr 20, 2007
Messages
17,147 (4.40/day)
Likes
5,299
Location
London,UK
System Name Codename: Rapture X Mk.VI {Still....MoonPig Edition}
Processor Intel 3930k@4.5Ghz
Motherboard Asus P9X79 PRO
Cooling Corsair H105 {2x Corsair ML 120 Pro}|VRM: Antec Spotcool 100
Memory 32GB DDR3 Kingston HyperX Beast 2400Mhz {8x4GB}
Video Card(s) MSI 1070 Gaming X (Samsung)
Storage 512GB Samsung 850 Pro (Boot)|1x 512GB Crucial MX100|2x 3TB Toshiba DT01ACA300
Display(s) Asus PB278Q 27"
Case Corsair 760T (White) {1x140mm NB PK-3, 2x Corsair AF140}
Audio Device(s) Creative SB Z {Speakers: Logitech Z-5500 }
Power Supply Corsair AX760
Mouse Logitech G900 Chaos Spectrum
Keyboard Duckyshine Dead LED(s) III
Software Windows 7 7600 x64
Benchmark Scores ( ͡°( ͡° ͜ʖ( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°)ʖ ͡°) ͡°)
#39
I've got to say, this is the best experience I've ever had in a forum. Usually questions are greeted with hostility by elitists not willing to offer assistance, just looking to belittle new-comers. Thanks again for the help everyone. :lovetpu:
We had a few of them kind of people around here, It took a while but they have just recently been banned.
 
Joined
Mar 12, 2009
Messages
1,042 (0.33/day)
Likes
153
Location
SCOTLAND!
System Name Machine XII
Processor Phenom II 1155T
Motherboard Asus M4A88TD-M EVO/USB3
Cooling Custom Water Cooling
Memory 8Gb ddr3 1600mhz XMS 3
Video Card(s) HD5970 2Gb
Storage 128Gb Sandisk SATAIII 6G/s
Display(s) 19" + 23" + 17"
Case micro atx case
Audio Device(s) XFi xtreme OEM
Power Supply 750W
Software Windows 7 x64 Ultimate
#40
I'd agree, but it is currently running in my old PC in SLI right now. There doesn't seem to be any issue with it.

It's got to be the motherboard having an issue with the extra power coming from the GPU. It works with the old, cheap card in 1x and both cards work flawlessly in different PCs. If I had a motherboard I was willing to roll the dice on, I'd move the power supply to test that... maybe I'll swap the PSU from my old PC. Yeah, I'll try that after my workout.

I've got to say, this is the best experience I've ever had in a forum. Usually questions are greeted with hostility by elitists not willing to offer assistance, just looking to belittle new-comers. Thanks again for the help everyone. :lovetpu:
It must just have been a pin getting bent when you inserted the card or something just make sure its flat and level when you insert it into the slot next time.

And be glad the card is working. :toast:
 

FreedomEclipse

~Technological Technocrat~
Joined
Apr 20, 2007
Messages
17,147 (4.40/day)
Likes
5,299
Location
London,UK
System Name Codename: Rapture X Mk.VI {Still....MoonPig Edition}
Processor Intel 3930k@4.5Ghz
Motherboard Asus P9X79 PRO
Cooling Corsair H105 {2x Corsair ML 120 Pro}|VRM: Antec Spotcool 100
Memory 32GB DDR3 Kingston HyperX Beast 2400Mhz {8x4GB}
Video Card(s) MSI 1070 Gaming X (Samsung)
Storage 512GB Samsung 850 Pro (Boot)|1x 512GB Crucial MX100|2x 3TB Toshiba DT01ACA300
Display(s) Asus PB278Q 27"
Case Corsair 760T (White) {1x140mm NB PK-3, 2x Corsair AF140}
Audio Device(s) Creative SB Z {Speakers: Logitech Z-5500 }
Power Supply Corsair AX760
Mouse Logitech G900 Chaos Spectrum
Keyboard Duckyshine Dead LED(s) III
Software Windows 7 7600 x64
Benchmark Scores ( ͡°( ͡° ͜ʖ( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°)ʖ ͡°) ͡°)
#41
IMO, If Asus have offered to RMA it. I would take the opportunity.

Sure you wont have a PC for a month but better safe then sorry i say
 

ominub

New Member
Joined
Jun 28, 2013
Messages
20 (0.01/day)
Likes
6
System Name GAIA
Processor Intel Core i5-750 Lynnfield @ 3.2GHz
Motherboard ASUS P7P55D-E LX LGA 1156
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212
Memory 16GB G.SKILL Ripjaws 4 x 4GB
Video Card(s) EVGA GeForce 9500 GT 1GB 128-bit / EVGA GeForce 8800 GTS 512MB
Storage 2 x 250GB Seagate Barracudas - 1 x 1TB WD Black
Display(s) Dual ASUS 24" VW246H
Case Zalman Fatal1ty FC-ZE1
Power Supply OCZ Fatal1ty 550W
Software Windows 7 Pro x64
#42
It must just have been a pin getting bent when you inserted the card or something just make sure its flat and level when you insert it into the slot next time.

And be glad the card is working. :toast:
Yeah I'm definitely glad the card is still working.

We had a few of them kind of people around here, It took a while but they have just recently been banned.
Well that's good.

IMO, If Asus have offered to RMA it. I would take the opportunity.

Sure you wont have a PC for a month but better safe then sorry i say
I'm sending that thing back first thing in the morning! I wouldn't pass up that opportunity. :)
 

ominub

New Member
Joined
Jun 28, 2013
Messages
20 (0.01/day)
Likes
6
System Name GAIA
Processor Intel Core i5-750 Lynnfield @ 3.2GHz
Motherboard ASUS P7P55D-E LX LGA 1156
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212
Memory 16GB G.SKILL Ripjaws 4 x 4GB
Video Card(s) EVGA GeForce 9500 GT 1GB 128-bit / EVGA GeForce 8800 GTS 512MB
Storage 2 x 250GB Seagate Barracudas - 1 x 1TB WD Black
Display(s) Dual ASUS 24" VW246H
Case Zalman Fatal1ty FC-ZE1
Power Supply OCZ Fatal1ty 550W
Software Windows 7 Pro x64
#43
Wait a minute! I think i just figured out what was wrong. My power supply has two red 8-pin PCI-E modular outputs. See below:


** note: my PSU only has the two red 8-pin connectors and the four black 6-pin connectors ** This was the only large image I could find.

My PSU (Newegg)

I was using a 6-pin PCI-E cable and connecting it into the black outputs that I use to power the sata devices. I just found the cables that came with my PSU and they are 8-pin red connectors on one side and 6-pin on the other with "PCI-E" stickers on them.

Could that be it? The cable I was using is from an differnt power supply; a Corsair HX620W


Friends PSU (Newegg)

Also I googled and found an image of the actual cable I was using... not sure if it helps.



here is the cable that came with my PSU.
[/IMG]
[/IMG]
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jul 2, 2010
Messages
4,012 (1.47/day)
Likes
630
Location
UK
System Name PC
Processor AMD FX 8320E @4.3ghz
Motherboard Asrock 970 extreme3
Cooling Phanteks PH-TC12DX, 3 x NZXT FN 140mm, 1x NZXT FV V2 120mm
Memory 8GB Corsair Vengeance Blue 1600mhz
Video Card(s) ASUS R9 290 DCII-OC 4GB
Storage 128GB Kingston V200 SSD 1TB WD Blue, 750GB Maxtor
Display(s) LG 27MB85Z 27" 1440p
Case NZXT Source 340
Power Supply Thermaltake 675w
Mouse Logitech G500S
Keyboard Logitech G510S
Software Windows 8.1 64 bit
#44
The black ones have different voltages to the red ones, and different grounds.

You need to get the correct cable, if not for the card for safety reasons

You just put 2 different voltage outputs of the psu onto the same circuit, you're overloading the PSU and tripping the safety
 

ominub

New Member
Joined
Jun 28, 2013
Messages
20 (0.01/day)
Likes
6
System Name GAIA
Processor Intel Core i5-750 Lynnfield @ 3.2GHz
Motherboard ASUS P7P55D-E LX LGA 1156
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212
Memory 16GB G.SKILL Ripjaws 4 x 4GB
Video Card(s) EVGA GeForce 9500 GT 1GB 128-bit / EVGA GeForce 8800 GTS 512MB
Storage 2 x 250GB Seagate Barracudas - 1 x 1TB WD Black
Display(s) Dual ASUS 24" VW246H
Case Zalman Fatal1ty FC-ZE1
Power Supply OCZ Fatal1ty 550W
Software Windows 7 Pro x64
#45
The black ones have different voltages to the red ones, and different grounds.

You need to get the correct cable, if not for the card for safety reasons

You just put 2 different voltage outputs of the psu onto the same circuit, you're overloading the PSU and tripping the safety
Well I feel like a damned fool. All because I was too lazy to look for the cables that came with my PSU-- lesson learned the hard way. I guess we can mark this one [SOLVED]. Thanks again for the help.
 
Joined
Mar 12, 2009
Messages
1,042 (0.33/day)
Likes
153
Location
SCOTLAND!
System Name Machine XII
Processor Phenom II 1155T
Motherboard Asus M4A88TD-M EVO/USB3
Cooling Custom Water Cooling
Memory 8Gb ddr3 1600mhz XMS 3
Video Card(s) HD5970 2Gb
Storage 128Gb Sandisk SATAIII 6G/s
Display(s) 19" + 23" + 17"
Case micro atx case
Audio Device(s) XFi xtreme OEM
Power Supply 750W
Software Windows 7 x64 Ultimate
#46
I think if you put the graphics card in at 1x I think it would work now you have the correct cable. Because you put the pcie into the sata output It should have just gave the card insufficient power for it to boot. (3.3v/5v/12v instead of 12v/12v/12v)Luckily the way they have wired your power supply means that your graphics card just got too low a voltage rather than catching fire or something but its possible 12v fed back into the 3.3v frying the chips on the board. When you said you were using someone else's power supply adapter I thought you were meaning a molex to pcie adapter.
 
Joined
Jan 12, 2010
Messages
1,471 (0.51/day)
Likes
290
Location
Spain
System Name Custom Built | Netbook Samsung N145P
Processor Intel Core i3 6100 | Intel Atom N455 1.6 GHz
Motherboard Asus H110M-K-D3
Cooling Stock heatsink/fan
Memory 12GB RAM
Video Card(s) MSI GT 1050 Ti 4GB| Intel GMA 3150
Storage Samsung EVO 750 120GB + Kingston HyperX Fury 120 GB + 2TB WD Hard disk | Kingston V300 120GB
Display(s) HP Pavilion 22cw
Case A old one
Audio Device(s) Realtek
Power Supply Generic 500W
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit 1| Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit
#47
But did the card survive, right? because killing the motherboard PCIE chips and card surviving due to wrong output, strange!
 

ominub

New Member
Joined
Jun 28, 2013
Messages
20 (0.01/day)
Likes
6
System Name GAIA
Processor Intel Core i5-750 Lynnfield @ 3.2GHz
Motherboard ASUS P7P55D-E LX LGA 1156
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212
Memory 16GB G.SKILL Ripjaws 4 x 4GB
Video Card(s) EVGA GeForce 9500 GT 1GB 128-bit / EVGA GeForce 8800 GTS 512MB
Storage 2 x 250GB Seagate Barracudas - 1 x 1TB WD Black
Display(s) Dual ASUS 24" VW246H
Case Zalman Fatal1ty FC-ZE1
Power Supply OCZ Fatal1ty 550W
Software Windows 7 Pro x64
#48
I think if you put the graphics card in at 1x I think it would work now you have the correct cable. Because you put the pcie into the sata output It should have just gave the card insufficient power for it to boot. (3.3v/5v/12v instead of 12v/12v/12v)Luckily the way they have wired your power supply means that your graphics card just got too low a voltage rather than catching fire or something but its possible 12v fed back into the 3.3v frying the chips on the board. When you said you were using someone else's power supply adapter I thought you were meaning a molex to pcie adapter.
I was using someone elses 6-pin PCI-E cable when my PSU uses an 8-pin cable for PCI-E, but it wasn't a molex adapter. Yeah, I'm glad nothing burst into flames!

But did the card survive, right? because killing the motherboard PCIE chips and card surviving due to wrong output, strange!
Yeah the card is kicking in SLI right now on my old pc.