• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Friend's computer power on issue

MxPhenom 216

Corsair Fanboy
Joined
Aug 31, 2010
Messages
12,129 (4.55/day)
Likes
3,697
Location
Seattle, WA
System Name The Battlestation
Processor Intel Core i7 4770k @ 4.2GHZ 1.275v
Motherboard MSi Z97 Gaming 5
Cooling EK Supremacy w/ EK Coolstream PE360
Memory G. Skill Trident X 16Gb (4x4GB) 2400mhz @ 1.65v
Video Card(s) MSi GTX1070 Gaming X 8GB @ 2GHz
Storage Samsung 830 128GB SSD, Crucial MX200 500GB, Seagate Barracuda 2TB (2x 1TB Partitions)
Display(s) Qnix QX2710 27" 2560 x 1440 PLS @ 100hz
Case Phantek Enthoo Evolv ATX TG
Audio Device(s) MSi Gaming AudioBoost ALC1150 w/ Sennheiser Game Ones
Power Supply Seasonic Flagship Prime Platinum 850
Mouse Steelseries Rival 310 w/ QCK Mass mat
Keyboard Corsair K70 w/ MX Browns and Red Backlit
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-Bit
Benchmark Scores Firestrike: 15439
#1
I went over to my neighbors to work on his moms comptuer because Norton was messing up something or other. So i also looked at his old one that he claims Staples blew his motherboard up. he says it powers on then instantly powers off i guess. Im thinking its more towards a PSU issue. Since its a LGA775 system with a micro atx board i think it would be easier to just replace the PSU if at all possible, since LGA775 boards are hard to find now for a decent price. Does this sound like a PSU issue. it has a generic Cooler Master PSU.
 
Joined
Sep 15, 2004
Messages
1,561 (0.32/day)
Likes
207
Location
Poland,Slask
System Name HAL
Processor Core i5 2500K
Motherboard Asus P8P67 Pro Rev3.1
Cooling stock
Memory 2x4GB Kingston 1600Mhz Blu
Video Card(s) Asus 560Ti DirectCuII TOP
Storage Kingston 120 3K SSD,WD Black WD1502FAEX
Display(s) LG 1440x900
Case Chieftec Mesh Midi
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply Corsair TX750V2
Software w8
#2
Yes it PSU related 99%. I had a p35/s775 board that looped in that powerup/poweroff and it was a faulty PSU. It was strange as it sometimes worked flawlessly.
 

sneekypeet

Unpaid Babysitter
Staff member
Joined
Apr 12, 2006
Messages
24,633 (5.77/day)
Likes
9,357
System Name His
Processor Intel i7 5930K
Motherboard Asus Maximus V Extreme
Cooling Thermalright True Spirit 140 BW Rev.A
Memory Corsair Dominator Platinum ROG
Video Card(s) nVidia GTX 1080 SLI with EVGA Hybrid coolers.
Storage Samsung 960 Pro / Crucial MX300 750GB / Seagate 1TB Spinner
Display(s) Sony 43" 4K 60hz
Case SilverStone Temjin TJ11
Audio Device(s) Realtek on board > Sony receiver > Cerwin Vega's
Power Supply Thermaltake TPSG 1050W
Mouse Always Changing
Keyboard Always Changing
Software Windows 10 Pro 64
#3
either PSU or a short. I would pull it and look it over well. If the board looks good, go ahead and try it out on the table to eliminate any possible case shorting issues. I mean in the most simple answer, maybe the power switch is broken;)
 

de.das.dude

Pro Indian Modder
Joined
Jun 13, 2010
Messages
8,202 (2.99/day)
Likes
2,390
Location
Pune
System Name la de da... | Samsung NP355V5C-S05IN
Processor FX 8320 | AMD A8-4500
Motherboard ASRock 990FX Extreme 4 | Samsung something something
Cooling CM Hyper 212 EVO push:pull+ 1 panaflow 113CFM + 2 x 120mm NZXTs | Coolermaster Notepal
Memory 2x4GB DDR3 Corsair Vengeance 1600MHz CL9 | Samsunng 4GB + 2GB DDR3 1600MHz
Video Card(s) AMD 7790 GHZ edition! | 7670M + 7640G
Storage 1TB WD10EZEX | W.D 500GB Green AADS | Samsung 1TB
Display(s) dell S2240l 1080p IPS 21.5" | Samsung antiglare 15.6"
Case NZXT Guardian 921RB(@home) and Antec ASK4000B U3(Current)
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC892 with THX True Studio | Realtek something
Power Supply Corsair GS600 | 90W Brick, 6 cell 48000mAh battery
Mouse Logitech G400, GOD TIER MOUSE!! LOGitech F310 gamepad!
Keyboard Logitech K200
Software Windows 8.1 x64 | Windows 8.1 x64
Benchmark Scores real men do bench presses not bench marks.
#4
take the psu out

from the 24pin jack of the PSU, short the green wire and any black wire with a paper clip.

connect PSU to the mains. it should power up and stay powered on as long as the green and black are shorted. no there isnt any risk of getting electricuted if you touch the green wire.

if it doesnt stay powered on, there is probably some short in your SYSTEM. i would check the fans first, or the lights, if there are any.
 
Joined
Sep 15, 2004
Messages
1,561 (0.32/day)
Likes
207
Location
Poland,Slask
System Name HAL
Processor Core i5 2500K
Motherboard Asus P8P67 Pro Rev3.1
Cooling stock
Memory 2x4GB Kingston 1600Mhz Blu
Video Card(s) Asus 560Ti DirectCuII TOP
Storage Kingston 120 3K SSD,WD Black WD1502FAEX
Display(s) LG 1440x900
Case Chieftec Mesh Midi
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply Corsair TX750V2
Software w8
#5
connect PSU to the mains. it should power up and stay powered on as long as the green and black are shorted. no there isnt any risk of getting electricuted if you touch the green wire.
It won't stay powered up it needs PWROK/5v signal to stay UP.
 
Joined
Dec 7, 2009
Messages
1,793 (0.61/day)
Likes
276
System Name Old Skool
Processor E6750 @ 3.6 ghz
Motherboard GA P35 DS3L
Cooling Xigmatek Dark Knight S1283v
Memory 4gb Kingston DDR2 @ 900mhz
Video Card(s) XFX 9800GT 512MB
Storage SAMSUNG 320gb
Display(s) VIEWSONIC vx2260wm
Case HAF 922
Audio Device(s) Realtek (on board) + Logitech x540
Power Supply CM 550w
Software W7 Ultimate 64
#6
It won't stay powered up it needs PWROK/5v signal to stay UP.
Not playing the devil's advocate here, but if he shorts the green and the black wires (left in the pic), the PSU should stay on if its in good health. I use that trick myself to power 12v chargers and tons of other stuff.
 

Attachments

Joined
Sep 15, 2004
Messages
1,561 (0.32/day)
Likes
207
Location
Poland,Slask
System Name HAL
Processor Core i5 2500K
Motherboard Asus P8P67 Pro Rev3.1
Cooling stock
Memory 2x4GB Kingston 1600Mhz Blu
Video Card(s) Asus 560Ti DirectCuII TOP
Storage Kingston 120 3K SSD,WD Black WD1502FAEX
Display(s) LG 1440x900
Case Chieftec Mesh Midi
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply Corsair TX750V2
Software w8
#7
http://www.techpowerup.com/forums/showthread.php?t=25

Perhaps behavior varies between PSU's.
EDIT: Hmm would be good if somebody clarifies this as I'm not 100%. But regarding the original problem when I tried to start the PSU without MB it turned itself off after a moment.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Dec 7, 2009
Messages
1,793 (0.61/day)
Likes
276
System Name Old Skool
Processor E6750 @ 3.6 ghz
Motherboard GA P35 DS3L
Cooling Xigmatek Dark Knight S1283v
Memory 4gb Kingston DDR2 @ 900mhz
Video Card(s) XFX 9800GT 512MB
Storage SAMSUNG 320gb
Display(s) VIEWSONIC vx2260wm
Case HAF 922
Audio Device(s) Realtek (on board) + Logitech x540
Power Supply CM 550w
Software W7 Ultimate 64
#8
EDIT: Hmm would be good if somebody clarifies this as I'm not 100%. But regarding the original problem when I tried to start the PSU without MB it turned itself off after a moment.
Well in my experience, it should work and stay on as long as you've shorted the green and black wires. Chances are that the psu you stated was faulty indeed. Faulty psu's I've encountered usually just power up then die in a fraction of a second. (assuming its from a cold start) But regarding your question, the trick to power it on/off without the mobo works. (judging by all that I've used till now)
 

de.das.dude

Pro Indian Modder
Joined
Jun 13, 2010
Messages
8,202 (2.99/day)
Likes
2,390
Location
Pune
System Name la de da... | Samsung NP355V5C-S05IN
Processor FX 8320 | AMD A8-4500
Motherboard ASRock 990FX Extreme 4 | Samsung something something
Cooling CM Hyper 212 EVO push:pull+ 1 panaflow 113CFM + 2 x 120mm NZXTs | Coolermaster Notepal
Memory 2x4GB DDR3 Corsair Vengeance 1600MHz CL9 | Samsunng 4GB + 2GB DDR3 1600MHz
Video Card(s) AMD 7790 GHZ edition! | 7670M + 7640G
Storage 1TB WD10EZEX | W.D 500GB Green AADS | Samsung 1TB
Display(s) dell S2240l 1080p IPS 21.5" | Samsung antiglare 15.6"
Case NZXT Guardian 921RB(@home) and Antec ASK4000B U3(Current)
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC892 with THX True Studio | Realtek something
Power Supply Corsair GS600 | 90W Brick, 6 cell 48000mAh battery
Mouse Logitech G400, GOD TIER MOUSE!! LOGitech F310 gamepad!
Keyboard Logitech K200
Software Windows 8.1 x64 | Windows 8.1 x64
Benchmark Scores real men do bench presses not bench marks.
#9

sneekypeet

Unpaid Babysitter
Staff member
Joined
Apr 12, 2006
Messages
24,633 (5.77/day)
Likes
9,357
System Name His
Processor Intel i7 5930K
Motherboard Asus Maximus V Extreme
Cooling Thermalright True Spirit 140 BW Rev.A
Memory Corsair Dominator Platinum ROG
Video Card(s) nVidia GTX 1080 SLI with EVGA Hybrid coolers.
Storage Samsung 960 Pro / Crucial MX300 750GB / Seagate 1TB Spinner
Display(s) Sony 43" 4K 60hz
Case SilverStone Temjin TJ11
Audio Device(s) Realtek on board > Sony receiver > Cerwin Vega's
Power Supply Thermaltake TPSG 1050W
Mouse Always Changing
Keyboard Always Changing
Software Windows 10 Pro 64
#10
connect something to load it. like a fan etc.

This, there are some PSU's with load sensing, and if they dont "feel" a load, they will shut down.
 

_Zod_

New Member
Joined
Oct 7, 2009
Messages
172 (0.06/day)
Likes
37
System Name Zim
Processor AMD FX-6300
Motherboard GA-970A-UD3 (rev. 2.0)
Cooling AMD Stock with heat pipes
Memory Corsair CMV8GX3M2A1333C9 2x 8GB Kit DDR3 1333
Video Card(s) EVGA GeForce GTX 550 Ti FPB
Storage Western Digital WD RE4 1TB - Main
Display(s) HP LP2465 1920x1200
Case COOLMAX CS-480
Audio Device(s) Intergrated VIA VT2021
Power Supply hec X-Power Pro 600
Software Windows 7 Ultimate
#11
either PSU or a short. I would pull it and look it over well. If the board looks good, go ahead and try it out on the table to eliminate any possible case shorting issues. I mean in the most simple answer, maybe the power switch is broken;)
Bolded part. I had this problem and it is also the first thing to check because it is the easiest and cheapest. Just swap the reset switch for the power switch to test.
 

dajjhman

New Member
Joined
Sep 27, 2010
Messages
14 (0.01/day)
Likes
2
System Name The Beast Mononoke
Processor Intel 17-920, OC'd
Motherboard ASUS Sabertooth X58
Cooling XSPC RASA block, Koolance 5.25" pump/res, X-Ice single fan Rad.
Memory 20GB (24 when fixed) Patriot Viper II Sector 7 DDR3-1333
Video Card(s) 2x EVGA GTS 450s
Storage 60GB OCZ Agility II, 4x 1TB Hitachi Deskstars (RAID5), 2TB WD Caviar Green (backup and hot swap)
Display(s) ASUS 23" 1080p (VH242), HP 21.5" 1080p multitouch
Case Thermaltake A90
Power Supply Raidmax 630W
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit
#12
Well in my experience, it should work and stay on as long as you've shorted the green and black wires. Chances are that the psu you stated was faulty indeed. Faulty psu's I've encountered usually just power up then die in a fraction of a second. (assuming its from a cold start) But regarding your question, the trick to power it on/off without the mobo works. (judging by all that I've used till now)
This is what I would do, and it's is supposed to work on every modern PSU AFAIK (maybe not the specialty ones though like picoPSUs)

even some manufacturers supply little jumper wires for standard PSUs so you can test the hardware in the case with power without possibly damaging the system if it doesn't work right (ex watercooling systems can be powered this way without running the Motherboard, so if your cooling suddenly failed you won't damage whatever it was meant to cool).

however, it probably does need a load and I'm sure it wouldn't like floating without one if it has problems

-Jimmy