• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Friends new pc that i helped him build is not working

Marcusthepcguy

New Member
Joined
Dec 5, 2021
Messages
11 (0.06/day)
Okay so, about three days ago, me and my friend built a pc. He doesn't know much about pc's and was on a very low budget so i helped him choose parts and we decided to keep some old stuff.

It was kind of a pain in the ass but we eventually did it. We built the pc, got into bios, and everything was working fine. However we started getting problems when we were trying to play games. We tried playing gta san andreas and gta 5 but everytime we would load in, the pc would immediately crash after a minute or so

Often - Screen goes dark, sound continues until cutscene in game ends
Rarely - Screen goes dark, fans turn on 100% OR gray stripes appear on screen

So we tried to move the games to his SSD, and it was better, games would load and we could have a playing experience for five minutes this time before the game just crashed with the same symptoms that I've listed above.

We tried to reset the pc, since we did not have a fresh install of windows. This did not fix the issue, we checked all connections and everything seems to be connected properly, we tried checking temps before we got crashed, it looked fine.

Here are the old and new specs:
Previous: CPU - A8-7600 Motherboard - Gigabyte GA-F2A68HM-HD2 GPU - R7 370 Ram - Patriot PSD38G16002 1x8 1600MHz SSD Disc - Samsung 870 Evo 250gb Power Supply - Corsair CX750M

New: CPU - i3-10100F Motherboard - ASRock H510M-HDV GPU - R7 370 Ram - Kingston Fury 2x8 2666MHz SSD Disc - Samsung 870 Evo 250gb Power Supply - Corsair CX750M


As you can see, we kept the power supply, the drives and gpu.
 

Mussels

Freshwater Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
53,529 (8.31/day)
Location
Oystralia
System Name Rainbow Sparkles
Processor Ryzen R7 5800X (PBO tweaked, 4.4-5.05GHz)
Motherboard Asus x570 Gaming-F
Cooling EK Quantum Velocity AM4 + EK Quantum ARGB 3090 w/ active backplate. Dual rad.
Memory 2x32GB DDR4 3600 Corsair Vengeance RGB @3800 C18-22-22-22-42 TRFC704 (1.4V, SoC 1.15V Hynix MJR)
Video Card(s) Galax RTX 3090 SG 24GB: Often underclocked to 1500Mhz 0.737v
Storage 2TB WD SN850 NVME + 1TB Sasmsung 970 Pro NVME + WD AN1500 1TB + 1TB Intel 6000P NVME USB 3.2
Display(s) Gigabyte G32QC (4k80Hz, 1440p 165Hz) + Phillips 328m6fjrmb (4K 60Hz, 1440p 144Hz)
Case Fractal Design R6
Audio Device(s) Logitech G560 |Razer Leviathan | Corsair Void pro RGB |Blue Yeti mic
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G Pro wireless + Steelseries Prisma XL
Keyboard Razer Huntsman TE (custom white and steel keycaps)
VR HMD Oculus Rift S
Software Windows 11 pro x64 (Yes, it's genuinely a good OS)
Benchmark Scores I don't quite know how i managed to get such a top tier PC, I am not rich.
Sounds like the GPU is failing, to be honest

You arent running high end hardware, so theres no real worries about high power consumption or crazy heat output to worry about

What's the CPU and GPU temperatures like at idle and in game, use HWinfo64 in sensors only mode and run games in a window to get the measurements
 

Marcusthepcguy

New Member
Joined
Dec 5, 2021
Messages
11 (0.06/day)
Sounds like the GPU is failing, to be honest

You arent running high end hardware, so theres no real worries about high power consumption or crazy heat output to worry about

What's the CPU and GPU temperatures like at idle and in game, use HWinfo64 in sensors only mode and run games in a window to get the measurements
Hello, thank you for your reply! The temps during Idle sits around 40 degrees celsius (CPU) and about 60-65 in game. The gpu is around 60-70 in game. Are you sure it's the gpu that is failing?
 
Joined
Aug 26, 2019
Messages
305 (0.30/day)
Often - Screen goes dark, sound continues until cutscene in game ends
Rarely - Screen goes dark, fans turn on 100% OR gray stripes appear on screen

Except for the stripes aspect, I’ve actually seen that issue induced by an ancient, failing LCD rather than it being the also old GPU itself. Due to the stripes though, I’d make the same guess as Mussels, albeit if you’re using an older display, you may want to test with a different display, presuming that’s readily possible, before trying a different GPU.
 
Joined
Jan 27, 2015
Messages
939 (0.35/day)
System Name loon v4.0
Processor i7-11700K
Motherboard asus Z590TUF+wifi
Cooling Custom Loop
Memory ballistix 3600 cl16
Video Card(s) eVga 3060 xc
Storage WD sn570 1tb(nvme) SanDisk ultra 2tb(sata)
Display(s) cheap 1080&4K 60hz screens
Case Roswell Stryker
Power Supply eVGA supernova 750 G6
Mouse eats cheese
Keyboard warrior!
Benchmark Scores https://www.3dmark.com/spy/21765182 https://www.3dmark.com/pr/1114767
idk, something about changing hardware and keeping the OS install, something is bound to get broken (but not always).
i'd take a shot and run DDU and re-install the (last supported) drivers.

hopefully that 370 isn't giving up the ghost yet but, "grandma what long teeth you have"
 

Marcusthepcguy

New Member
Joined
Dec 5, 2021
Messages
11 (0.06/day)
Except for the stripes aspect, I’ve actually seen that issue induced by an ancient, failing LCD rather than it being the also old GPU itself. Due to the stripes though, I’d make the same guess as Mussels, albeit if you’re using an older display, you may want to test with a different display, presuming that’s readily possible, before trying a different GPU
Alright got it

idk, something about changing hardware and keeping the OS install, something is bound to get broken (but not always).
i'd take a shot and run DDU and re-install the (last supported) drivers.

hopefully that 370 isn't giving up the ghost yet but, "grandma what long teeth you have"
Alright, thanks for the help! But unfortunately, it did not fix the problem, we are still being crashed

Everything before the pc upgrade was working perfectly, just trash fps because of weak parts. Just that cpu usuage was always 100% and was overheating, any other ideas might help? Maybe using older drivers?
 
Last edited:
Joined
Oct 22, 2014
Messages
13,209 (4.76/day)
Location
Sunshine Coast
System Name Black Box
Processor Intel Xeon E3-1260L v5
Motherboard MSI E3 KRAIT Gaming v5
Cooling Tt tower + 120mm Tt fan
Memory G.Skill 16GB 3600 C18
Video Card(s) Asus GTX 970 Mini
Storage Kingston A2000 512Gb NVME
Display(s) AOC 24" Freesync 1m.s. 75Hz
Case Corsair 450D High Air Flow.
Audio Device(s) No need.
Power Supply FSP Aurum 650W
Mouse Yes
Keyboard Of course
Software W10 Pro 64 bit
Did you install all the necessary drivers from the Asrock website for the new Motherboard?
When changing from an AMD system to an Intel system it's preferable to do a clean install of Windows too.
 
Joined
Sep 21, 2020
Messages
656 (1.07/day)
Processor AMD FX 8300 @ 4.5
Motherboard Asus Sabertooth 990FX R2.0
Cooling Thermalright Macho Rev.B
Memory 16GB Corsair Dominator Platinum 2400MHz CL10
Video Card(s) Asus HD7970 @ 1135/1750 + Prolimatech MK-26 + 2x 140mm
Storage 256GB Toshiba Q Pro MLC + 500GB WD VelociRaptor
Display(s) Dell U2412M
Case Cooler Master CM690 II Advanced USB 3.0 + Lamptron FC6
Audio Device(s) Audiotrak Prodigy Cube Black (JRC MUSES 8820D) + CAL (recabled)
Power Supply 750W Enermax Platimax
Mouse Logitech Cordless Desktop Wave
Keyboard Logitech Cordless Desktop Wave
Software Windows 7 Ultimate
Sounds like a graphics related problem to me.
What model is the card? Are you running a UEFI installation? Do you have the latest BIOS installed? I see they updated the GOP with 1.4.
 
Joined
Jul 16, 2014
Messages
6,697 (2.33/day)
Location
SE Michigan
System Name Dumbass
Processor AMD FX-9370
Motherboard ASUS SABERTOOTH 990FX R2.0 +SB950
Cooling Artic Liquid Freezer 2 - 420mm
Memory G.Skill Sniper 16gb DDR3 2400
Video Card(s) GreenTeam 1080 Gaming X 8GB
Storage Samsung EVO 500gb & 1Tb, 2tb HDD
Display(s) 1x Nixeus NX_EDG27, 2x Dell S2440L (16:9)
Case Phanteks Enthoo Primo w/8 140mm SP Fans
Audio Device(s) onboard (realtek?) - SPKRS:Logitech Z623 200w 2.1
Power Supply Corsair HX1000i
Mouse Logitech G604
Keyboard Logitech G910 Orion Spark
Software windows 10
Benchmark Scores https://i.imgur.com/aoz3vWY.jpg?2
Power Supply - Corsair CX750M
The CX series varied in quality depending on the year and label color (according to LTT list). Some of the builds similar to your new build use 550W+. Thats not saying its the wrong size but if you happen to have one of crappier PSU models, the GPU could be needing a bit moar-powah™ while gaming. Another factor that should be considered about when to replace the PSU is age.

In windows you can replace the hardware profile (to avoid reinstalling windows again and again), but in windows 10, I'm not sure how without using a 3rd party app.

PS: crash events are recorded, look for the red X in the Event Viewer, if it references power, like error 41 kernel, likely its the PSU. Some troubleshooting information that can be found here.

 
Last edited:

Marcusthepcguy

New Member
Joined
Dec 5, 2021
Messages
11 (0.06/day)
Did you install all the necessary drivers from the Asrock website for the new Motherboard?
When changing from an AMD system to an Intel system it's preferable to do a clean install of Windows too.
We did get a disc with the motherboard, will try to use it and download drivers, thank you!

Sounds like a graphics related problem to me.
What model is the card? Are you running a UEFI installation? Do you have the latest BIOS installed? I see they updated the GOP with 1.4.
I believe the latest bios are installed and the card is a sapphire version.

The CX series varied in quality depending on the year and label color (according to LTT list). Some of the builds similar to your new build use 350W+. Thats not saying its the wrong size but if you happen to have one of crappier PSU models, the GPU could be needing a bit moar-powah™ while gaming. Another factor that should be considered about when to replace the PSU is age.

In windows you can replace the hardware profile (to avoid reinstalling windows again and again), but in windows 10, I'm not sure how without using a 3rd party app.

PS: crash events are recorded, look for the red X in the Event Viewer, if it references power, like error 41 kernel, likely its the PSU. Some troubleshooting information that can be found here.

It is a 750W 80+ Bronze unit. The CX750M letters are in green.
 
Joined
Sep 18, 2014
Messages
356 (0.13/day)
Location
620004
System Name Blackbelt 2
Processor AMD FX 8350
Motherboard ASUS M5A99FX PRO R 2.0
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper TX3 evo
Memory 8GB Corsair Value Select DDR3
Video Card(s) ASUS R7260X DC2OC 2GB
Storage INTEL 530 series SSD 120 GB, Seagate Barracuda 1 TB 7200 RPM
Display(s) DELL ST 2240L
Case Cooler Master Elite 311
Power Supply CORSAIR VS Series 550W
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64 Bit
Benchmark Scores 3DMark 11 6532
i had a similar experience with an Asus R7 260X DC2OC-2GD5 graphics card...the problem was that the card did not reduce its clock rate in 2D mode and thus led to sustained high gpu core temperatures causing black screens and corrupted textures in games leading to game crashes.....The simple fix was to reapply the thermal paste of the card....now running smoothly for 2 years after the last re-paste in 2019..

P_20180831_195852_vHDR_Auto.jpg



P_20180831_185405_vHDR_Auto.jpg
 

Marcusthepcguy

New Member
Joined
Dec 5, 2021
Messages
11 (0.06/day)
i had a similar experience with an Asus R7 260X DC2OC-2GD5 graphics card...the problem was that the card did not reduce its clock rate in 2D mode and thus led to sustained high gpu core temperatures causing black screens and corrupted textures in games leading to game crashes.....The simple fix was to reapply the thermal paste of the card....now running smoothly for 2 years after the last re-paste in 2019..

View attachment 227721


View attachment 227722
alright, will try it out! thanks for the suggestion
 
Joined
Aug 26, 2019
Messages
305 (0.30/day)
One additional thought:
Though it does sound like a hardware issue, to eliminate software questions and presuming you have enough disc space, you could install Ubuntu, Steam, and TF2 or some such to see how you then fare in that different OS environment.
 
Joined
Nov 11, 2010
Messages
28 (0.01/day)
Processor AMD Phenom 9850 @ 2.8Ghz
Motherboard Asus M3N HD/HDMI
Cooling Xigamatek Achilles S1284
Memory 4 x 1GB Kingston HyperX DDR2 800mhz
Video Card(s) Asus ENGTX460 768MB
Storage 1x320Gb SATA WD + 1x320Gb SATA ST + 2x1Tb SATA SAMSUNG + 1x2Tb SATA ST
Display(s) BenQ E2200HD & AiC L1911MN
Case Cooler Master Haf 922
Audio Device(s) Auzen X-FI Forte
Power Supply Corsair HX520W
Software Windows 7 Professional 64-Bit
When switching to another generation of the same brands platform, or switching to different brand's platform (Intel to AMD or vice versa), or even upgrading/downgrading the same platform (b550 to x570 for example), ALWAYS start with a fresh install.

When issues crop up from changing, the first reason is always that whatever is left from the hardware of the previous system inside that OS is breaking in your new system.
Please format the drive and install a fresh copy of Windows. After that, if you still experience issues, come back here and we will try to help you.
 
Joined
Oct 15, 2011
Messages
1,065 (0.27/day)
Location
Springfield, Vermont
System Name KHR-1
Processor Ryzen 5 5600X
Motherboard ASRock B550 PG Velocita
Memory 16 GB G.Skill Ripjaws F4-3200C14D-16GVR
Video Card(s) Sapphire Nitro+ Radeon RX 6600 XT
Storage Samsung 970 Pro 512 GB NVMe SSD
Display(s) Asus VG278QR
Case Corsair 275R
Audio Device(s) Technics SA-EX140 receiver with Polk VT60 speakers
Power Supply eVGA Supernova G3 750W
Mouse Logitech Pro (Hero)
Software Windows 11 Pro x64 21H2
Possibly bad caps in the PSU.
 
Joined
Jul 16, 2014
Messages
6,697 (2.33/day)
Location
SE Michigan
System Name Dumbass
Processor AMD FX-9370
Motherboard ASUS SABERTOOTH 990FX R2.0 +SB950
Cooling Artic Liquid Freezer 2 - 420mm
Memory G.Skill Sniper 16gb DDR3 2400
Video Card(s) GreenTeam 1080 Gaming X 8GB
Storage Samsung EVO 500gb & 1Tb, 2tb HDD
Display(s) 1x Nixeus NX_EDG27, 2x Dell S2440L (16:9)
Case Phanteks Enthoo Primo w/8 140mm SP Fans
Audio Device(s) onboard (realtek?) - SPKRS:Logitech Z623 200w 2.1
Power Supply Corsair HX1000i
Mouse Logitech G604
Keyboard Logitech G910 Orion Spark
Software windows 10
Benchmark Scores https://i.imgur.com/aoz3vWY.jpg?2
Joined
Dec 11, 2019
Messages
286 (0.32/day)
Processor Xeon E-2124
Motherboard Fujitsu D3644-B1
Cooling Akasa AK-959CU
Memory 32GB Kingston DDR4 (4x KSM26ES8/8ME)
Video Card(s) Sapphire Pulse 550 2G 64-bit
Storage Samsung 870 Evo, Samsung 980
Display(s) Fujitsu B22-8 TS Pro
Case Akasa Raptor
Power Supply Antec HCG-620
Mouse Logitech MX500
Is the graphics card using the same port as before? If not, did you clean the contacts? Old graphics cards can get a lot of dust and stuff in the connectors.

Is it seated fine in the case/board (did you have any issues?)?

Did you use the same drivers as were working successfully before? My experience with rx 5x0 is that the newer (post 20.) drivers cause all kinds of issues (like black screens) that previous drivers don't (but my Navi cards are fine with them).
 

Marcusthepcguy

New Member
Joined
Dec 5, 2021
Messages
11 (0.06/day)
When switching to another generation of the same brands platform, or switching to different brand's platform (Intel to AMD or vice versa), or even upgrading/downgrading the same platform (b550 to x570 for example), ALWAYS start with a fresh install.

When issues crop up from changing, the first reason is always that whatever is left from the hardware of the previous system inside that OS is breaking in your new system.
Please format the drive and install a fresh copy of Windows. After that, if you still experience issues, come back here and we will try to help you.
We have already formatted the drive twice and reinstalled windows, is there a difference if we do a so called "clean install"

Is the graphics card using the same port as before? If not, did you clean the contacts? Old graphics cards can get a lot of dust and stuff in the connectors.

Is it seated fine in the case/board (did you have any issues?)?

Did you use the same drivers as were working successfully before? My experience with rx 5x0 is that the newer (post 20.) drivers cause all kinds of issues (like black screens) that previous drivers don't (but my Navi cards are fine with them).
Contacts are all clean, and the gpu is seated fine, have tried reseating it too. And as soon as we got the system up and running we updated drivers.
 
Joined
Dec 11, 2019
Messages
286 (0.32/day)
Processor Xeon E-2124
Motherboard Fujitsu D3644-B1
Cooling Akasa AK-959CU
Memory 32GB Kingston DDR4 (4x KSM26ES8/8ME)
Video Card(s) Sapphire Pulse 550 2G 64-bit
Storage Samsung 870 Evo, Samsung 980
Display(s) Fujitsu B22-8 TS Pro
Case Akasa Raptor
Power Supply Antec HCG-620
Mouse Logitech MX500
Contacts are all clean, and the gpu is seated fine, have tried reseating it too. And as soon as we got the system up and running we updated drivers.

In that case, I'd try rolling them back (if you don't have the original set, I use 19.11.3). It's probably not the issue, but it's free to try.
 
Joined
May 12, 2006
Messages
1,517 (0.26/day)
Location
The Gulag Casino
System Name ROG By purecain
Processor AMD Ryzen 9 5950X
Motherboard ASUS Crosshair VIII Hero
Cooling Noctua NH U12A
Memory 32Gb G.Skill Trident RGB 4150@3600mhz
Video Card(s) ASUS TUF 3090 / Titan V
Storage 1TbSamsung Evo M.2/ 2TbSamsung QVO/ 1TbSamsung Evo780/ 120gbKingston Now
Display(s) LG 65UN85006LA 65" Smart 4K Ultra HD HDR LED TV with Google Assistant & Amazon Alexa
Case Thermaltake CoreX71 Limited Edition Etched Tempered Glass Door
Audio Device(s) On board/NIcomplete audio 6
Power Supply Seasonic FOCUS 1000w 80+
Mouse M65 RGB Elite
Keyboard K95 RGB Platinum
Software Windows10pro
Benchmark Scores [url=https://valid.x86.fr/gtle1y][img]https://valid.x86.fr/cache/banner/gtle1y-6.png[/img][/url]
I think its the psu... Can you get another to try. Good luck! :toast:
 

Marcusthepcguy

New Member
Joined
Dec 5, 2021
Messages
11 (0.06/day)
i had a similar experience with an Asus R7 260X DC2OC-2GD5 graphics card...the problem was that the card did not reduce its clock rate in 2D mode and thus led to sustained high gpu core temperatures causing black screens and corrupted textures in games leading to game crashes.....The simple fix was to reapply the thermal paste of the card....now running smoothly for 2 years after the last re-paste in 2019..

View attachment 227721


View attachment 227722
Update: Repasting did not help, but thanks for the suggestion

I think its the psu... Can you get another to try. Good luck! :toast:
getting a new one won't exactly be easy, but thank you for the reply!
 

stinger608

Dedicated TPU Cruncher & Folder
Joined
Nov 11, 2008
Messages
10,676 (2.16/day)
Location
Wyoming
System Name Dean Machine/2020 Ryzenfall
Processor Intel 4790K/AMD Ryzen 3700X
Motherboard MSI 1150 Gaming mATX/Gigabyte AORUS ELITE B550
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212 LED/SilverStone AH240 AIO
Memory 16 gigs Crucial Ballistix Tactical Tracer/16 gigs G.Skill TridentZ NEO DDR4
Video Card(s) Gigabyte 1660 Super/Gigabyte GTX 1660
Storage Crucial SSD 256 and 2TB spinner/Dual Samsung 980 Pro M2 NVME 4.0
Display(s) Overlord 27" 2560 x 1440
Case Corsair Air 540
Audio Device(s) On board
Power Supply Seasonic modular 850 watt Platinum/EVGA T2-850 Titanium
Software Windows 10 Pro/Windows 10 Pro
I think its the psu... Can you get another to try. Good luck! :toast:

This.
I would guess either PSU or GPU being the issue. However, as suggested, I'd give a different display a shot.
 

Marcusthepcguy

New Member
Joined
Dec 5, 2021
Messages
11 (0.06/day)
In that case, I'd try rolling them back (if you don't have the original set, I use 19.11.3). It's probably not the issue, but it's free to try.
It wasn't the issue

This.
I would guess either PSU or GPU being the issue. However, as suggested, I'd give a different display a shot.
A lot of people have been saying the problem is the PSU, could you perhaps explain why?
 
Joined
Jan 27, 2015
Messages
939 (0.35/day)
System Name loon v4.0
Processor i7-11700K
Motherboard asus Z590TUF+wifi
Cooling Custom Loop
Memory ballistix 3600 cl16
Video Card(s) eVga 3060 xc
Storage WD sn570 1tb(nvme) SanDisk ultra 2tb(sata)
Display(s) cheap 1080&4K 60hz screens
Case Roswell Stryker
Power Supply eVGA supernova 750 G6
Mouse eats cheese
Keyboard warrior!
Benchmark Scores https://www.3dmark.com/spy/21765182 https://www.3dmark.com/pr/1114767
A lot of people have been saying the problem is the PSU, could you perhaps explain why?
because the (older) green labeled CX series (relatively) blew chunks though i doubt you're drawing much more that 250 watts.
 

stinger608

Dedicated TPU Cruncher & Folder
Joined
Nov 11, 2008
Messages
10,676 (2.16/day)
Location
Wyoming
System Name Dean Machine/2020 Ryzenfall
Processor Intel 4790K/AMD Ryzen 3700X
Motherboard MSI 1150 Gaming mATX/Gigabyte AORUS ELITE B550
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212 LED/SilverStone AH240 AIO
Memory 16 gigs Crucial Ballistix Tactical Tracer/16 gigs G.Skill TridentZ NEO DDR4
Video Card(s) Gigabyte 1660 Super/Gigabyte GTX 1660
Storage Crucial SSD 256 and 2TB spinner/Dual Samsung 980 Pro M2 NVME 4.0
Display(s) Overlord 27" 2560 x 1440
Case Corsair Air 540
Audio Device(s) On board
Power Supply Seasonic modular 850 watt Platinum/EVGA T2-850 Titanium
Software Windows 10 Pro/Windows 10 Pro
A lot of people have been saying the problem is the PSU, could you perhaps explain why?

Couple of reasons to suspect the PSU are:
Mainly the age of the unit. Being as old is it is it may not be allowing the proper amount of power to the GPU and/or the motherboard.
Also, the unit is a bronze rated power supply. Couple that with the age of the power supply, it would make me worry about the unit.
 
Top