• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Front panel headphone audio stopped working

Ditto1958

New Member
Joined
Jul 28, 2009
Messages
8 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
Location
Southeastern Wisconsin
#1
For some reason my front panel audio jacks are not working today. I opened the case to make sure everything is plugged in the way it should be and there did not appear to be any problems there. When I plug the headphones in, normally a couple of Realtek screens pop up telling me that I have just plugged something into a jack. That not only is not happening, but I can't seem to find a Realtek icon anywhere. I opened the device manager, and it says Realtek is enabled and that the drivers are the most up to date ones.

When I plug in the phones, there is no sound coming from them and the speakers don't mute.

I'm running Windows 7 RC, and my two month old system has until now been very stable.

Any ideas?
 
Joined
Nov 18, 2006
Messages
2,964 (0.73/day)
Likes
397
Location
your local vending machine
System Name HTPC||Lenovo IBM ThinkPad
Processor AMD Phenom II x4 965 stock 3.4GHz||Intel C2D T9300 @ 2.5GHz
Motherboard Zotac 890GX-ITX WiFi||Lenovo 8918CTO
Cooling Stock 3x 120's||Stock stuff
Memory 8GB (2x4GB) DDR3 6-6-6-15||3GB DDR2
Video Card(s) Asus 3870x2||nVidia Quadro NVS 140M
Storage 1TB Seagate Barracuda, 1x 2TB WD EARX ||Hitachi 160GB 7200RPM
Display(s) Samsung T260HD||
Case SilverStone Grandia GD05||
Audio Device(s) on-board||on-board
Power Supply Cooler Master 450W||6-cell
Software Windows 7 Pro x64||Windows 7 Pro x64/Linux Mint x64
#2
Try the back audio port (if there is one) and see if you get the same result.
You may need to just reinstall the drivers. See if that helps.
 

Kursah

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 15, 2006
Messages
11,054 (2.68/day)
Likes
5,152
Location
Missoula, MT, USA
System Name Kursah's Gaming Rig - Haswell Edition | Spartan Home Server 2015
Processor i7 4790k 4.0/4.8 @ 1.26v | i7 4790k 4.0/4.4 @ 1.18v - Both delidded w/CLU
Motherboard Asus Z87-Pro - BIOS 2103 | Asus Z87-Pro - BIOS 2103
Cooling Noctua NH-U14S Push-Pull | Cooler Master 212 EVO Stock - Using NT-H1 and AC MX-4
Memory 16GB (2x8) Corsair Dominator DDR3 2400 CL11 | 32GB (4x8) G.Skill DDR3-1600 CL9
Video Card(s) MSI GTX980 Ti Gaming 6G LE @ Stock | Onboard Intel HD 4600
Storage 850EVO 250GB SSD, 960GB SSD, 1x2TB | 840 120GB SSD, RAID10 6x2TB (6TB) + 8TB Backup
Display(s) Samsung 32" TV IPS 1080p, Dell 23" U2312HM IPS 1080p | 19" 4:3 Dell LCD..mostly RDP.
Case Corsair 600C - Stock Fans on Low | Lian Li Lancool PC-K7 - Cougar fans
Audio Device(s) Aune T1 mk1 > AKG K553 Pro + HiFiMAN HE-350 (Equalizer APO + PeaceUI) | Realtek ALC1150
Power Supply EVGA 750G2 Modular + APC 1500VA UPS | EVGA KR500 80+ Bronze + CyberPowerPC 1000VA UPS
Mouse Logitech G502 | Dell USB Laser Mouse
Keyboard Logitech G15 rv2 | Dell USB Keyboard
Software Windows 10 Pro x64 | Windows Server 2012 R2 (GUI Core,Hyper-V + VMs)
#3
I would say, uninstall and re-install drivers to see if that helps alleviate the issue. What is your system specs? I have seen an onboard go south, that was on a DFI P35 though, it had an ALC888 chip that sounded pretty decent for onboard, but it would intermittently have issues. Verify the headphones are still ok by testing in the speakers headphone jack if available or by plugging them into the green port the speakers are currently using.

Maybe restart and run a scandisk to make sure something didn't get bugged for some odd reason, it can happen even in 7. Your issue is probably fairly minor and hopefully easy to fix, keep us posted on what you find!

:toast:
 

Ditto1958

New Member
Joined
Jul 28, 2009
Messages
8 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
Location
Southeastern Wisconsin
#4
Okay, drivers are uninstalled and re installed and now I do have Realtek back in my system tray.

Front jacks still do not work, though. Realtek does not detect when I plug the headphones in.

I wonder if something came loose or unplugged. My case is an Antec NSK6580B. It's really hard to get the front bezel off to see what's going on with the front panel stuff. USB ports work fine, though.
 

Kursah

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 15, 2006
Messages
11,054 (2.68/day)
Likes
5,152
Location
Missoula, MT, USA
System Name Kursah's Gaming Rig - Haswell Edition | Spartan Home Server 2015
Processor i7 4790k 4.0/4.8 @ 1.26v | i7 4790k 4.0/4.4 @ 1.18v - Both delidded w/CLU
Motherboard Asus Z87-Pro - BIOS 2103 | Asus Z87-Pro - BIOS 2103
Cooling Noctua NH-U14S Push-Pull | Cooler Master 212 EVO Stock - Using NT-H1 and AC MX-4
Memory 16GB (2x8) Corsair Dominator DDR3 2400 CL11 | 32GB (4x8) G.Skill DDR3-1600 CL9
Video Card(s) MSI GTX980 Ti Gaming 6G LE @ Stock | Onboard Intel HD 4600
Storage 850EVO 250GB SSD, 960GB SSD, 1x2TB | 840 120GB SSD, RAID10 6x2TB (6TB) + 8TB Backup
Display(s) Samsung 32" TV IPS 1080p, Dell 23" U2312HM IPS 1080p | 19" 4:3 Dell LCD..mostly RDP.
Case Corsair 600C - Stock Fans on Low | Lian Li Lancool PC-K7 - Cougar fans
Audio Device(s) Aune T1 mk1 > AKG K553 Pro + HiFiMAN HE-350 (Equalizer APO + PeaceUI) | Realtek ALC1150
Power Supply EVGA 750G2 Modular + APC 1500VA UPS | EVGA KR500 80+ Bronze + CyberPowerPC 1000VA UPS
Mouse Logitech G502 | Dell USB Laser Mouse
Keyboard Logitech G15 rv2 | Dell USB Keyboard
Software Windows 10 Pro x64 | Windows Server 2012 R2 (GUI Core,Hyper-V + VMs)
#5
What kind of system, i.e. motherboard do you have? Does that case have the AC97 and HD FP connectors on the same FP cable? If so you might try the HD FP if it's a newer MB, the AC97 can be finicky on newer realtek stuff I've found...recently had that issue with an Antec 900 and Gigabyte P35-DS3L FP connection, using the HD FP connector alleviated all issues I had and it uses Realtek.
 

Ditto1958

New Member
Joined
Jul 28, 2009
Messages
8 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
Location
Southeastern Wisconsin
#6
Problem solved

Well, somehow it's fixed, along with a problem I didn't even know I had. I went into the case and unplugged and re-plugged in almost everything, double checking to make sure everything looked right. In the process I found out that for some reason I had never plugged in the connector for the led light on the power button for my case. After I got everything put back together it worked. Maybe something had come loose.