• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Frustrated...but trying again & need help please!

Joined
Aug 2, 2009
Messages
4,014 (1.30/day)
Likes
1,832
System Name Abacus
Processor i5 2500K
Motherboard ASRock p67 Extreme4 Gen3
Cooling Swiftech MCP35X, EK HF Copper, 2.120 rad, 3.120 rad
Memory 2x4GB G.Skill Sniper 1600
Video Card(s) 2 Zotac GTX 770 4GB w/ FC EK Blocks
Storage WD 640BG x2/WD 250GB/Samsung 2TB
Display(s) QNIX 27" PLS
Case Corsair 700D
Audio Device(s) X-Fi XtremeGamer
Power Supply EVGA G2 750W
Mouse Logitech G500
Keyboard Corsair K70 RGB MX Brown
Software Windows 10
#26
Bummer:(
I still have a feeling it's something minor. Hopefully.
 
Joined
Oct 24, 2010
Messages
72 (0.03/day)
Likes
10
#27
Thanks for all your help and tips. I'm tossing in the towel and going outside to enjoy a nice cigar. Thanks again....I would like to purchase a nice performance machine that has a low-end graphics card, low-end hard drive, and low end memory. Then I will take the nicer card, memory, and hard drive from my build failure and simply add them to this partial bare-bones system.

So plmk your suggestions of where I can buy a system that has a nice case, cpu, mobo, and psu, but is light on the rest...

Thanks
 
Last edited:

sneekypeet

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Apr 12, 2006
Messages
24,733 (5.75/day)
Likes
9,520
System Name His
Processor Intel i9 7920X
Motherboard Asus Prime X299 Deluxe
Cooling Corsair H150i PRO RGB
Memory G.Skill TridentZ RGB 32GB @ 3600MHz
Video Card(s) nVidia GTX 1080ti SLI with EVGA Hybrid coolers.
Storage Samsung 960 Pro / Crucial MX300 750GB / Seagate 1TB Spinner
Display(s) Sony 43" 4K 60hz
Case Cooler Master Cosmos C700P (Inverted Layout)
Audio Device(s) Realtek on board > Sony Receiver > Cerwin Vega's
Power Supply Thermaltake TPSG 1050W
Mouse Always Changing
Keyboard Always Changing
Software Windows 10 Pro 64
#28
I wouldn't give up so easy.

Start with the basics and work your way up.

I assume you have a mobo speaker? Just power the kit with the CPU installed, nothing else, no ram, no card, no drives. Does the speaker make any noise when you attempt to boot?

If it makes noise, what is the beep code?
 

qamulek

New Member
Joined
Feb 7, 2008
Messages
184 (0.05/day)
Likes
26
#29
Thx for the link. On page 33 of the manual(downloaded from link) are instructions to clear the cmos. Unplug the power supply from the wall. *try* turn on the computer to get any juice out of the power supply. Near the battery(which is near the middle of the motherboard) is a jumper that needs to be shorted for a few seconds to reset the cmos. Apparently they don't have a jumper cap thats always near it, so you probably have to short the jumper with a screwdriver. Special warnings from the manual are to never have the jumper shorted while the power supply is plugged in or bad things will happen...
 

qamulek

New Member
Joined
Feb 7, 2008
Messages
184 (0.05/day)
Likes
26
#30
Thanks for all your help and tips. I'm tossing in the towel and going outside to enjoy a nice cigar. Thanks again....I would like to purchase a nice performance machine that has a low-end graphics card, low-end hard drive, and low end memory. Then I will take the nicer card, memory, and hard drive from my build failure and simply add them to this partial bare-bones system.

So plmk your suggestions of where I can buy a system that has a nice case, cpu, mobo, and psu, but is light on the rest...

Thanks
If all else fails first take your gear to some computer shop and tell them to make it work. They'll figure out what is good and what needs replaced(possibly selling you the stuff right there) and charge you a relatively small fee* compared to buying a bare bones system then putting the gear you already bought into it.

*small fee depends on various factors that are out of my control, so I won't say with certainty that it will cost less.... Also you have to find a place that actually fixes pc's rather then just sell pc parts.
 
Joined
Oct 24, 2010
Messages
72 (0.03/day)
Likes
10
#31
I wouldn't give up so easy.

Start with the basics and work your way up.

I assume you have a mobo speaker? Just power the kit with the CPU installed, nothing else, no ram, no card, no drives. Does the speaker make any noise when you attempt to boot?

If it makes noise, what is the beep code?
Thanks for the tip. No noise at all - It just sits there and mocks me! :banghead:
 
Joined
Sep 25, 2006
Messages
2,312 (0.56/day)
Likes
670
Location
Norn Iron
Processor Q9550 @3.8
Motherboard Asus Maximus Extreme
Cooling Custom water cooling
Memory 4GB Patriot Viper DDR3 1600MHz
Video Card(s) 2x HD4870 512MB
Storage 2x 500GB
Display(s) 3x LG L226WTQ 22" Widescreen LCD
Case Modded TJ07
Audio Device(s) On board
Power Supply PC P&C Silencer 750
Software Windows 7 Ultimate
#32
Thanks for the tip. No noise at all - It just sits there and mocks me! :banghead:
If you dont get any beep codes, lights etc, then I would start with the PSU.Do you have any other PSU that you can try.

Not sure how the POST runs through, but I think the PSU is the first to pass the test.

Are both the 8 and 24 pin connections in.
 
Joined
Oct 24, 2010
Messages
72 (0.03/day)
Likes
10
#33
If you dont get any beep codes, lights etc, then I would start with the PSU.Do you have any other PSU that you can try.

Not sure how the POST runs through, but I think the PSU is the first to pass the test.

Are both the 8 and 24 pin connections in.
Thanks for your help on this. Yes, the 24 pin connector and two 4 pin connectors are in good.

Someone in another thread (or site) told me to use the two ends of a paperclip to test the PSU. I separated the PSU from everything. Then I took one end of the clip and inserted into one of the 24 holes in the PSU power plug and the other end to another one (I forget which colors - maybe green and black - but I was told which specific colors to use). After I did this I connected the case's large fan to a power connector coming from the psu and then turned it on. Both this large fan and the fan inside the PSU came on instantly and ran. So even though I have never done this type of test before, I felt that the PSU was cool (no pun intended). Was there another way to test this psu? OH, I also tested the only other PSU I have (a generic brand 300 watts unit) and it did not get the mobo and others running. When I put this generic psu back into the desktop I first had it in, it started up fine so I know it works.

:banghead:
 
Joined
Sep 25, 2006
Messages
2,312 (0.56/day)
Likes
670
Location
Norn Iron
Processor Q9550 @3.8
Motherboard Asus Maximus Extreme
Cooling Custom water cooling
Memory 4GB Patriot Viper DDR3 1600MHz
Video Card(s) 2x HD4870 512MB
Storage 2x 500GB
Display(s) 3x LG L226WTQ 22" Widescreen LCD
Case Modded TJ07
Audio Device(s) On board
Power Supply PC P&C Silencer 750
Software Windows 7 Ultimate
#34
Yes the paper clip will turn on the PSU, just doesn't test to see if the 12v line etc are up to scratch.

But as you tested another PSU, then we can generally rule out the PSU as the problem.

The next test I would do is swap out the CPU as I think it is the first main component on the board that POST will test.

Most failures I have seen are Memory or PSU....
 
Joined
Nov 1, 2010
Messages
112 (0.04/day)
Likes
31
Location
Shreddzville, AZ (USA)
System Name Speeds Build
Processor Core I7-940 @ 3.8 GHz HT/on
Motherboard ASUS P6T-SE
Cooling Corsair H50 Hydro Series
Memory 12gb Corsair Dominators (6x2Gb) Tri-Channel 1600MHz DHX
Video Card(s) XFX 6870 BE
Storage WD Velociraptor 10kRPM 300GB /2x Samsung Spinpoint F3 7200 RPM
Display(s) LG FLATRON E2350V 23" / 17" Compaq monitor
Case SILVERSTONE RV02B-EW
Audio Device(s) ASUS XONAR DG
Power Supply COOLERMASTER GX 650
Software Windows 7 Ultimate (Build 7600) 64-bit
#35
Yeah, im getting that feeling from whenever something is going wrong with one of my builds right now, you know, where you think your doomed but it turnes out to be something small.
I hope your CPU comes through, since you tested the PSU you should try the CPU in a currently working computer, i do this by asking my friends if i can run a CPU in their
computer just to see if its operational. If all else fails, you can turn to a life of crime :D
 
Joined
Jan 11, 2009
Messages
9,027 (2.74/day)
Likes
1,446
Location
Montreal, Canada
System Name Fun waste of money
Processor i7 3930k @ 4 Ghz
Motherboard AsRock X79 Fatal1ty Professional
Cooling Dark Rock Pro 3 (removed 120mm fan)
Memory 32GB (4x8gb) 2133Mhz CL9 Mushkin RedLine
Video Card(s) EVGA ACX 3.0 GTX 1060 6GB
Storage 3.25TB separated in 5 SSDs (SanDisk Extreme Pro, Intel 730 & 520, 2*Crucial MX100)
Display(s) 27" 2560x1440 [Korean] PCBANK PB2700
Case BeQuiet! SilentBase 800
Audio Device(s) iBasso D10 + AKG KXXX
Power Supply EVGA P2 750W 80+ Platinum semi-fanless
Mouse Sensei RAW
Keyboard Black cherry MX Thermaltake ESports
Software Windows 10 Pro X64
#36
Where do you live? if you live somewhere near a TPU member, I'm sure he won't mind stopping by to check it out for you :p

maybe take pictures(or videos) so that we can see? we might pick up on something
 
Joined
Aug 23, 2009
Messages
2,454 (0.80/day)
Likes
593
Location
Rockvale TN (Not Australia)
System Name Current gamer
Processor Intel 980X
Motherboard Evga Classified
Cooling Phanteks
Memory 12 GB
Video Card(s) VisionTek 7970
Storage Samsung 256GB ssd - WD 1TB
Display(s) ASUS 144Hz
Case NZXT Phantom Enthusiast
Power Supply Antec 1200
Software Win 7 64
#37
Thanks for all your help and tips. I'm tossing in the towel and going outside to enjoy a nice cigar. Thanks again....I would like to purchase a nice performance machine that has a low-end graphics card, low-end hard drive, and low end memory. Then I will take the nicer card, memory, and hard drive from my build failure and simply add them to this partial bare-bones system.

So plmk your suggestions of where I can buy a system that has a nice case, cpu, mobo, and psu, but is light on the rest...

Thanks
I can hook you up with what you want in this case...COOLER MASTER Storm Scout SGC-2000-KKN1-GP Black S...

Perhaps a socket 1156 mb/cpu? The case has never been used and I have plenty of hardware sitting here. Let me know what you desire and your approx. location.
 
Joined
Jul 26, 2010
Messages
1,655 (0.60/day)
Likes
729
Location
Philly
System Name Primary Rig
Processor Phenom II X4 B50 @ 3.7GHz
Motherboard Biostar TA790GX 128M
Cooling Sunbeam CR-CCTF 120mm , 6x120mm, MOS-C1
Memory 2x2GB Kingston HyperX 1066 @ 800 4-4-4-12
Video Card(s) Sapphire HD 5830 800/1000 @ 885/1225
Storage 320GB, 400GB, 500GB, 1.5TB
Display(s) Hannspree HF259
Case CM 690
Power Supply OCZ 850W
Benchmark Scores 3Dmark06: 18545/5219 CPU Mark 7.0: 3911.2 Cinebench R10: 11826/3359 x264 HD 2.0: 75.6/23.9
#38
Thanks for all your help and tips. I'm tossing in the towel and going outside to enjoy a nice cigar. Thanks again....I would like to purchase a nice performance machine that has a low-end graphics card, low-end hard drive, and low end memory. Then I will take the nicer card, memory, and hard drive from my build failure and simply add them to this partial bare-bones system.

So plmk your suggestions of where I can buy a system that has a nice case, cpu, mobo, and psu, but is light on the rest...

Thanks
:laugh: (schadenfreud?)

We've all been there. Don't give up...
http://xkcd.com/349/

If the CPU is bad the computer will still turn on, it just won't post or do anything else useful (except maybe LED or beep code saying the CPU is bad). You should even be able to turn on the computer without any CPU socketed. Nothing will happen of course, but the mobo power LED should light up (and fans turn on, etc. etc.).

Are you sure all of the PSU connectors are securely connected to the mobo? Is the CPU fan plugged in? Did you say ten hail Marys?

I usually wouldn't suggest it but maybe a picture (or two or three) of your setup from a proper digital camera could help us diagnose the issue. (Cellphone pictures do not apply.)
 
Joined
Jul 5, 2009
Messages
276 (0.09/day)
Likes
13
Location
edmonton alberta canada
System Name pimped rig
Processor intel core i5 2500k
Motherboard EVGA Z68 SLi micro
Cooling corsair h60
Memory 4gb G-Skill ripjaw's 1333Mhz
Video Card(s) Nvidia Ge-force GTX 560 Ti
Storage seagate 500gb sata3
Case Coolermaster elite 430, 4 case fan's
Power Supply 600 watt coolermaster extreme power
Software window's 7 home 64bit
#39
Sound's like he maid a mess, with his build.
 
Joined
Nov 1, 2010
Messages
112 (0.04/day)
Likes
31
Location
Shreddzville, AZ (USA)
System Name Speeds Build
Processor Core I7-940 @ 3.8 GHz HT/on
Motherboard ASUS P6T-SE
Cooling Corsair H50 Hydro Series
Memory 12gb Corsair Dominators (6x2Gb) Tri-Channel 1600MHz DHX
Video Card(s) XFX 6870 BE
Storage WD Velociraptor 10kRPM 300GB /2x Samsung Spinpoint F3 7200 RPM
Display(s) LG FLATRON E2350V 23" / 17" Compaq monitor
Case SILVERSTONE RV02B-EW
Audio Device(s) ASUS XONAR DG
Power Supply COOLERMASTER GX 650
Software Windows 7 Ultimate (Build 7600) 64-bit
#40
I can hook you up with what you want in this case...COOLER MASTER Storm Scout SGC-2000-KKN1-GP Black S...

Perhaps a socket 1156 mb/cpu? The case has never been used and I have plenty of hardware sitting here. Let me know what you desire and your approx. location.
Very good case, i have one, i was skeptical on getting it, but it was worth it. :)
 

JrRacinFan

Served 5k and counting ...
Joined
Mar 17, 2007
Messages
19,666 (4.96/day)
Likes
4,754
Location
Youngstown, OH
System Name Gamer :Server and Android BuildBox
Processor i7 3930k: Xeon e5-2660
Motherboard MSI X79A-GD45 Plus : Generic
Cooling Liqid cooled: CM 212+
Memory Klevv Neo 2x4Gb 1866 @ 1600 CL9 : 2x8Gb Vengeance 1600 cl9
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 950 SC : XFX R5 220
Storage HGST 2TB + 480GB OCZ Trion 150 : Seagate 1TB SSHD + WD 3TB + 2x HGST 2TB
Display(s) ViewSonic VX2457-MHD 23.6" : headless
Case DIYPC D480-W White Window : Bitfenix Comrade
Audio Device(s) nVidia HDMI : Onboard
Power Supply EVGA 500b : Tt 775W Modular
Software Windows 7 Ultimate+Manjaro 16.06: Ubuntu Server 16.10
#42
@Thlorian,

When you are "attempting" to power on the machine, do you get psu fan spinning?
 
Joined
Feb 19, 2009
Messages
1,573 (0.48/day)
Likes
568
Location
Warwick
System Name PC-Chips
Processor Intel core I5 4690K
Motherboard Asrock z87 Extreme 3
Cooling Noctua NH-D14
Memory G-Skill Ripjaws 2133mhz 4x4gig
Video Card(s) Sapphire RX-480 Nitro+ 8gig
Storage Samsung 250gig 840 SSD / 1TB HDD
Display(s) Samsung C27F591 27 inch Curved LED
Case NZXT phantom 410
Audio Device(s) Realtek digital out - Yamaha A-S501 - Wharfedale pacific evo 20 speakers - Wharfedale SW150 sub
Power Supply Cooler Master G650M
Mouse logitech G402
Keyboard Logitech delux 250
Software Windows 10 pro 64bit
#43
Sorry if its been mentioned already but instead of trying to use the power cable from the case, use a jumper to short the pins on the mobo to power it up, The reason i say this is because about 4 monhts ago my bosses pc decided it wont power up anymore, We tryed all the usual stuff but we still had no power, We ended up spending £70+ on a new PSU and guess what? The pc never powered up lol, At this pont we were thinking the mobo had died but it turned out to be the power cable on the case, Bascily it decided it just don't want to work anymore even tho it still clicked fine and all that.
In the end i got the reset switch cable and pluged it into the power on the mobo and clicked it and the pc powered up.

If you do try the jumper method make sure you only short the pins and dont leave the jumper on them or it will be like holding the power button down to make the pc turn of.
 
Last edited:

JrRacinFan

Served 5k and counting ...
Joined
Mar 17, 2007
Messages
19,666 (4.96/day)
Likes
4,754
Location
Youngstown, OH
System Name Gamer :Server and Android BuildBox
Processor i7 3930k: Xeon e5-2660
Motherboard MSI X79A-GD45 Plus : Generic
Cooling Liqid cooled: CM 212+
Memory Klevv Neo 2x4Gb 1866 @ 1600 CL9 : 2x8Gb Vengeance 1600 cl9
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 950 SC : XFX R5 220
Storage HGST 2TB + 480GB OCZ Trion 150 : Seagate 1TB SSHD + WD 3TB + 2x HGST 2TB
Display(s) ViewSonic VX2457-MHD 23.6" : headless
Case DIYPC D480-W White Window : Bitfenix Comrade
Audio Device(s) nVidia HDMI : Onboard
Power Supply EVGA 500b : Tt 775W Modular
Software Windows 7 Ultimate+Manjaro 16.06: Ubuntu Server 16.10
#44
Sorry if its been mentioned already but instead of trying to use the power cable from the case, use a jumper to short the pins on the mobo to power it up, The reason i say this is because about 4 monhts ago my bosses pc decided it wont power up anymore, We tryed the usualy stuff and still no power, We ended up spending £70+ on a new PSU and guess what? The pc never powered up lol, At this pont we were thinking the mobo had died but it turned out ot be the power cable on the case, Bascily it decided it just dont want to work anymore even tho it still clicked fine and all that.

In the end i got the reset switch cable and pluged it into the power on the mobo and clciked it and the pc powered up.

If you do try the jumper method make sure you only short the pins and dont leave the jumper on them or it will be like holding the power button down to make the pc turn of.
That's exactly my reasoning for asking!! :)
 
Joined
Oct 24, 2010
Messages
72 (0.03/day)
Likes
10
#45
Update on the Thlorian saga (less the weeping on the floor ;-) ):
Thanks again for all of your tips and help. I'm placing the CPU and mobo to the side for another day of detective work down the road. I did run out and purchase an HP 6610f (sort of a bare-bones with a decent cpu). I added the ram from my faulty build above and also installed the HD5570 card. Here is the only problem. The PSU that came with the HP does not have a 4 pin plug for the HD video card as well as it does not have extra sata plugs for an additional hard drive I wish to add. So what are your recommendations on a modular PSU that I can pick up at say Best Buy that will fit into this system (mid-size atx case) and still not clutter me with cables galore. Lastly I have a Creative Labs card (Audigy) but the remaining slots are "tiny" and don't look like they fit the card? I don't want to try shoving it in and thus ruining the card w/o your advice first. Once again although the build above just didn't work out, I had a tasty cigar last night and decided to move on and get back to this in a month via a fresh start. So I'm saying that although I am a beginner in this area, I was VERY impressed on the quickness, politeness, and professionalism on this site in regards to your answers! Thanks!!!
 
Joined
Aug 23, 2009
Messages
2,454 (0.80/day)
Likes
593
Location
Rockvale TN (Not Australia)
System Name Current gamer
Processor Intel 980X
Motherboard Evga Classified
Cooling Phanteks
Memory 12 GB
Video Card(s) VisionTek 7970
Storage Samsung 256GB ssd - WD 1TB
Display(s) ASUS 144Hz
Case NZXT Phantom Enthusiast
Power Supply Antec 1200
Software Win 7 64
#47
Last edited:

JrRacinFan

Served 5k and counting ...
Joined
Mar 17, 2007
Messages
19,666 (4.96/day)
Likes
4,754
Location
Youngstown, OH
System Name Gamer :Server and Android BuildBox
Processor i7 3930k: Xeon e5-2660
Motherboard MSI X79A-GD45 Plus : Generic
Cooling Liqid cooled: CM 212+
Memory Klevv Neo 2x4Gb 1866 @ 1600 CL9 : 2x8Gb Vengeance 1600 cl9
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 950 SC : XFX R5 220
Storage HGST 2TB + 480GB OCZ Trion 150 : Seagate 1TB SSHD + WD 3TB + 2x HGST 2TB
Display(s) ViewSonic VX2457-MHD 23.6" : headless
Case DIYPC D480-W White Window : Bitfenix Comrade
Audio Device(s) nVidia HDMI : Onboard
Power Supply EVGA 500b : Tt 775W Modular
Software Windows 7 Ultimate+Manjaro 16.06: Ubuntu Server 16.10
#48
Nope - nothing comes on...
Then attempt to jump the power on header with a screw driver. I am thinking the power switch on your case is bad or you have the clear cmos jumper stuck in the clear position.
 
Joined
Jul 26, 2010
Messages
1,655 (0.60/day)
Likes
729
Location
Philly
System Name Primary Rig
Processor Phenom II X4 B50 @ 3.7GHz
Motherboard Biostar TA790GX 128M
Cooling Sunbeam CR-CCTF 120mm , 6x120mm, MOS-C1
Memory 2x2GB Kingston HyperX 1066 @ 800 4-4-4-12
Video Card(s) Sapphire HD 5830 800/1000 @ 885/1225
Storage 320GB, 400GB, 500GB, 1.5TB
Display(s) Hannspree HF259
Case CM 690
Power Supply OCZ 850W
Benchmark Scores 3Dmark06: 18545/5219 CPU Mark 7.0: 3911.2 Cinebench R10: 11826/3359 x264 HD 2.0: 75.6/23.9
#49
The PSU that came with the HP does not have a 4 pin plug for the HD video card as well as it does not have extra sata plugs for an additional hard drive I wish to add. So what are your recommendations on a modular PSU that I can pick up at say Best Buy that will fit into this system (mid-size atx case) and still not clutter me with cables galore. Lastly I have a Creative Labs card (Audigy) but the remaining slots are "tiny" and don't look like they fit the card? I don't want to try shoving it in and thus ruining the card w/o your advice first.
I would highly discourage you from picking up a PSU at Best Buy. Their prices on some items are reasonable, but PSUs are not amongst the reasonably priced items. Expect to pay 2x what you'd pay at Newegg when shopping for a PSU at Best Buy.

In regards to your Audigy card it is probably a PCI card. There are several different types of card slots though there are really only (at most) two groups with a modern computer: PCI and PCIE. Your troublesome mobo, the GA-890GPA-UD3H, has three PCIE x1 slots (the small ones), two PCIE x16 slots (the big ones most commonly used for graphics cards) and two of the older style PCI slots (on the bottom of the mobo). Older motherboards didn't have PCIE slots but instead had an AGP slot with several PCI slots (example).

Where this may get confusing is that PCIE can also be x4 and x8 which makes the slot size somewhere in between that of PCIE x2 and x16. (The top slot in this picture is a PCIE x4). If this doesn't clear up your problem I'd suggest looking up the specific model of your Audigy card online to determine what slot it uses and then matching that to the figures in the motherboard manual.

Then attempt to jump the power on header with a screw driver. I am thinking the power switch on your case is bad or you have the clear cmos jumper stuck in the clear position.
Good idea though I wouldn't recommend using a screw driver as it's a little unnecessarily dangerous. Instead I'd suggest, assuming he has an old computer lying around, that he extract the power switch from an older computer and plug it into the new mobo.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Oct 24, 2010
Messages
72 (0.03/day)
Likes
10
#50
As luck would have it, I have a Master Cooler 520w psu from my "old" machine that is modular and I was able to use it successfully to replace the one in the HP I picked up. Not a killer monster rig but right now I need to make lemonade out of a frustrating situation. I put the mobo, cpu, and PSU away for now along with the case and will tinker with it over xmas break. I have a decent system up for now that I can work with via a quad core chip, 8gb ddr3 ram, and a decent video card (ATI HD5750) so I can't complain from where I was a week or two ago. My wallet is sore but I'm back up gaming! Thanks again all...