• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

FX 8320 overclock report

Joined
Oct 30, 2008
Messages
1,526
Likes
375
System Name Lailalo / Edelweiss
Processor FX 8320 @ 4.5Ghz / i7 3610QM @2.3-3.2Ghz
Motherboard ASrock 990FX Extreme 4 / Lenovo Y580
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212 Plus / Big hunk of copper
Memory 16GB Samsung 30nm DDR3 1600+ / 8GB Hyundai DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) XFX R9 390 / GTX 660M 2GB
Storage Seagate 3TB/1TB + OCZ Synapse 64GB SSD Cache / Western Digital 1TB 7200RPM
Display(s) LG Ultrawide 29in @ 2560x1080 / Lenovo 15.6 @ 1920x1080
Case Coolermaster Storm Sniper / Lenovo Y580
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar DG / Whatever Lenovo used
Power Supply Antec Truepower Blue 750W + Thermaltake 5.25in 250W / Big Power Brick
Software Windows 10 Pro / Windows 10 Home
#26
Well I got a chance to do a Handbrake encode. 24 min 720 MKV to MP4. Hit 179.2fps avg. Took 3:11 to complete. Like to say my PII was around 100 or less. My i7 Laptop...wish I wrote it down. I know it was pretty good too but I don't think it was close to this. Have to check later.

Finished up Alan Wake tonight on it. Thing plays like a new machine. I did most of the game on the PII. Didn't really seem choppy but in a couple sections it was visibly slowing down. Apartment scene the fps were sub 20. But with this. Didn't have a single hiccup at all. Noticed the moment I loaded into game and moved the camera around.

Hard Reset 1680x1050 max everything. More GPU bound I know but I have it so I'll do it.

Min: 27.6
Max: 106.7
Avg: 58.5
 
Last edited:
Joined
Dec 3, 2009
Messages
1,205
Likes
364
Location
The Netherlands
System Name PC || Laptop
Processor AMD FX-8350 @ 4,8GHz || i7 6700HQ
Motherboard Asus Sabertooth 990FX || default
Cooling Corsair H100i Push-Pull|| Stock
Memory Samsung 30nm 4x4GB @ 1930MHz|| 2x8GB LVDDR3 @ 1600MHz
Video Card(s) AMD R9 290 @ 1060MHz / 1600MHz || Nvidia Geforce 960M
Display(s) Samsung S23A750D 120Hz + others|| 15,6" 1080P
Case Corsair 500R Fans Galore ||
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar DX/XD ||
Power Supply Corsair AX860i || 120Watt 19V OEM adaptor
Software Win 10 64bit || Win 10 64bit
#27
Turns out, my 8320(which I got today) wasnt nearly clocking as well as I expected it to, so I'm planning on returning it.
I just wasnt able to get it stable at 4,6GHz, no matter what voltage, let alone higher frequencies, so I decided it wasn't worth it.
The stock non-turbo voltage is at 1,37V , so I guess I just got a really bad chip.
 
Joined
Oct 30, 2008
Messages
1,526
Likes
375
System Name Lailalo / Edelweiss
Processor FX 8320 @ 4.5Ghz / i7 3610QM @2.3-3.2Ghz
Motherboard ASrock 990FX Extreme 4 / Lenovo Y580
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212 Plus / Big hunk of copper
Memory 16GB Samsung 30nm DDR3 1600+ / 8GB Hyundai DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) XFX R9 390 / GTX 660M 2GB
Storage Seagate 3TB/1TB + OCZ Synapse 64GB SSD Cache / Western Digital 1TB 7200RPM
Display(s) LG Ultrawide 29in @ 2560x1080 / Lenovo 15.6 @ 1920x1080
Case Coolermaster Storm Sniper / Lenovo Y580
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar DG / Whatever Lenovo used
Power Supply Antec Truepower Blue 750W + Thermaltake 5.25in 250W / Big Power Brick
Software Windows 10 Pro / Windows 10 Home
#28
You turn off all power saving options and such?

Yeah 1.375v should be good for 4.6Ghz. Guess indeed a bad chip.
 
Joined
Dec 3, 2009
Messages
1,205
Likes
364
Location
The Netherlands
System Name PC || Laptop
Processor AMD FX-8350 @ 4,8GHz || i7 6700HQ
Motherboard Asus Sabertooth 990FX || default
Cooling Corsair H100i Push-Pull|| Stock
Memory Samsung 30nm 4x4GB @ 1930MHz|| 2x8GB LVDDR3 @ 1600MHz
Video Card(s) AMD R9 290 @ 1060MHz / 1600MHz || Nvidia Geforce 960M
Display(s) Samsung S23A750D 120Hz + others|| 15,6" 1080P
Case Corsair 500R Fans Galore ||
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar DX/XD ||
Power Supply Corsair AX860i || 120Watt 19V OEM adaptor
Software Win 10 64bit || Win 10 64bit
#29
Yeah, got everything off. Its just that it already needed over 1,4v just to reach over 4,0GHz. The last two cores would always fail in prime95 if it was unstable.
 
Joined
May 14, 2009
Messages
2,132
Likes
477
Location
Chicago burbs
System Name Halloween Boo!
Processor Intel Core i7 3770K
Motherboard Gigabyte Z77-Up7
Cooling Custom Water/ Thermalchill TA 120.3/ Swiftech Apogeee XT/ MCP655/ Swiftech M icrores/ XSPC RX 240
Memory 16G G.Skill trident 2400MHz
Video Card(s) 3 x Radeon 7970
Storage OCZ Revo Drive 240G
Display(s) 24 inch Viewsonic
Case Phobia WayCoolIt Test Bench
Power Supply Nexus 1100 watt
#30
If your losing a core with prime95 it is pretty straight foward. You need more Vcore and better cooling(usually).
 
Joined
Dec 3, 2009
Messages
1,205
Likes
364
Location
The Netherlands
System Name PC || Laptop
Processor AMD FX-8350 @ 4,8GHz || i7 6700HQ
Motherboard Asus Sabertooth 990FX || default
Cooling Corsair H100i Push-Pull|| Stock
Memory Samsung 30nm 4x4GB @ 1930MHz|| 2x8GB LVDDR3 @ 1600MHz
Video Card(s) AMD R9 290 @ 1060MHz / 1600MHz || Nvidia Geforce 960M
Display(s) Samsung S23A750D 120Hz + others|| 15,6" 1080P
Case Corsair 500R Fans Galore ||
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar DX/XD ||
Power Supply Corsair AX860i || 120Watt 19V OEM adaptor
Software Win 10 64bit || Win 10 64bit
#31
Yes exactly, only in this case, the voltage needed was absurd, and the temperatures were higher then my 8120 would produce
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
19,188
Likes
4,794
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
#32
AMDs have been able to handle high volts for sometime
 
Joined
Sep 25, 2012
Messages
397
Likes
83
Location
Brooklyn, New York
Processor AMD FX-9790 at 4.65 GHZ
Motherboard Asus Crosshairs V rev 1.0
Cooling Swiftech H320 cpu liquid cooling
Memory G. Skill Trident X 8GBx2 (16 GB) 2400 mhz dimms
Video Card(s) Sapphire Radeon R9 290
Storage 1 TB Samsung 840 EVO SSD, 500 GB Samsung 840 Sata III SSD, Samsung 840 PRO 240 GB Sata III SSD,
Display(s) Samsung 23 inch LDEC monitor
Case Rosewill BlackHawk Ultra Full Tower Gaming Case
Power Supply Seasonic 860 watt Platinum Plus 80 psu
Software Windows 8.1 Pro
Benchmark Scores Cinebench 11.5 64 bit Open GL 81.46 FPS Cinebench 11.5 CPU 7.93
#33
Something is wrong with your Bios setting, because I am running my FX 8120 @ 4.40GHz with all 8-Cores @ 1.375v CPU Voltage. My HTT is @ 2,600 MHz and my NB @ 2,200 MHz. But I also set several bios setting strategically to achieve this stable OC.

When I get the FX 8320 or 8350, I expect either equal OC with same Voltage or higher OC with same Voltage. But I am also using the H100, so my temps are super low.

Here's a glimpse of some settings.

Extreme Overclocking Settings:
AI Overclock Tuner = Manual
CPU Level Up = Cancel
CPU Ratio = 22.0
AMD Turbo Core Tech. = Auto
CPU Bus/Peg Freq. = 200
PCIE Freq. = 110
Memory Freq. = DDR3-1866
CPU/NB Freq. = 2200 MHz
HT Link Freq. = 2600 MHz
Xtreme Tweaking = Enabled
Extreme OC = Enabled
CPU & CPU/NB Volt Mode = Manual Mode
CPU Volts = 1.375v
CPU/NB Volts = 1.45v
CPU VDDA Volts = Auto
NB Volts = 1.15v
HT Volts = 1.25v

Advanced Settings:
ASUS Core Unlocker = Enabled
CPU Core Activation = Auto
I think you are playin with fire with your cpu-nb voltage. They do not recommend anything higher than 1.30 volts . 1.45 v is quite a bit higher and may damage your cpu.
 
Joined
Sep 25, 2012
Messages
397
Likes
83
Location
Brooklyn, New York
Processor AMD FX-9790 at 4.65 GHZ
Motherboard Asus Crosshairs V rev 1.0
Cooling Swiftech H320 cpu liquid cooling
Memory G. Skill Trident X 8GBx2 (16 GB) 2400 mhz dimms
Video Card(s) Sapphire Radeon R9 290
Storage 1 TB Samsung 840 EVO SSD, 500 GB Samsung 840 Sata III SSD, Samsung 840 PRO 240 GB Sata III SSD,
Display(s) Samsung 23 inch LDEC monitor
Case Rosewill BlackHawk Ultra Full Tower Gaming Case
Power Supply Seasonic 860 watt Platinum Plus 80 psu
Software Windows 8.1 Pro
Benchmark Scores Cinebench 11.5 64 bit Open GL 81.46 FPS Cinebench 11.5 CPU 7.93
#34
Ignore my post .I didn't see all those other replies with the same concerns. Apparently with Vishera it is even moe sensitive than Bulldozer on CPU-NB voltage .Cadaveca recommends 1.225 volts nothing more.THERE are additional settings forVishera . I don't remember all. So far I am at 4.6 Ghz stable. I still have some tweaking to do, so I'll let you know how it goes. I haven,t seen you on other threads recently and missed your presence.
Take care brother.
 
Joined
Oct 30, 2008
Messages
1,526
Likes
375
System Name Lailalo / Edelweiss
Processor FX 8320 @ 4.5Ghz / i7 3610QM @2.3-3.2Ghz
Motherboard ASrock 990FX Extreme 4 / Lenovo Y580
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212 Plus / Big hunk of copper
Memory 16GB Samsung 30nm DDR3 1600+ / 8GB Hyundai DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) XFX R9 390 / GTX 660M 2GB
Storage Seagate 3TB/1TB + OCZ Synapse 64GB SSD Cache / Western Digital 1TB 7200RPM
Display(s) LG Ultrawide 29in @ 2560x1080 / Lenovo 15.6 @ 1920x1080
Case Coolermaster Storm Sniper / Lenovo Y580
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar DG / Whatever Lenovo used
Power Supply Antec Truepower Blue 750W + Thermaltake 5.25in 250W / Big Power Brick
Software Windows 10 Pro / Windows 10 Home
#35
Well any sign of slowdown in BF3 is certainly gone. Haven't had any even in the most heavy of battles. Was able to turn back on a few more pretties again. Does make me wish I had a newer GPU to go with it.
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
19,188
Likes
4,794
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
#36
the one thing i noticed on desktops is the dumb power properties, its not needed if youre gaming
 

JDB4LFE

New Member
Joined
Nov 3, 2012
Messages
9
Likes
0
Location
Crestview, FL
Processor AMD FX-8320 (1.4v @ 4.5ghz)
Motherboard MSI 890GXM-G65 (CPU-NB @ 2.4ghz/HT LINK @ 2.6ghz)
Cooling EverCool Z-Axis Titan Fenrir 120mm Air Cooler
Memory 8gb G.Skill DDR3-1600mhz (9-9-9-24-2T @1.6v)
Video Card(s) Sapphire Radeon 6950 (800 core/1250 memory)
Storage Western Digital Green 2TB 7200rpm
Display(s) BenQ G2420HDBL
Case Sunbeamtech Freezing Storm
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply ThermalTake TR2 850w 80 plus Bronze
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64 Bit
Benchmark Scores Cinebench 11.5 - 7.73 3dMark Vantage (performance preset) - P19,200
#37
ok minor bug that's annoying me. when i try to overclock disabling turbo core when my system (windows 7 ultimate 64 bit) starts up the aero is turning off (or so i think my custom colors and overal shiny effect is gone just plain blue basic) but when i restart and enable the turbo core everything is working again. any ideas?
 
Joined
Dec 3, 2009
Messages
1,205
Likes
364
Location
The Netherlands
System Name PC || Laptop
Processor AMD FX-8350 @ 4,8GHz || i7 6700HQ
Motherboard Asus Sabertooth 990FX || default
Cooling Corsair H100i Push-Pull|| Stock
Memory Samsung 30nm 4x4GB @ 1930MHz|| 2x8GB LVDDR3 @ 1600MHz
Video Card(s) AMD R9 290 @ 1060MHz / 1600MHz || Nvidia Geforce 960M
Display(s) Samsung S23A750D 120Hz + others|| 15,6" 1080P
Case Corsair 500R Fans Galore ||
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar DX/XD ||
Power Supply Corsair AX860i || 120Watt 19V OEM adaptor
Software Win 10 64bit || Win 10 64bit
#38
ok minor bug that's annoying me. when i try to overclock disabling turbo core when my system (windows 7 ultimate 64 bit) starts up the aero is turning off (or so i think my custom colors and overal shiny effect is gone just plain blue basic) but when i restart and enable the turbo core everything is working again. any ideas?
I've had that aswell, whenever my NB wasnt stable. Perhaps some instability caused by slightly different clocks/voltages? Or it could be a weird quirk of the mobo itself.
 

JDB4LFE

New Member
Joined
Nov 3, 2012
Messages
9
Likes
0
Location
Crestview, FL
Processor AMD FX-8320 (1.4v @ 4.5ghz)
Motherboard MSI 890GXM-G65 (CPU-NB @ 2.4ghz/HT LINK @ 2.6ghz)
Cooling EverCool Z-Axis Titan Fenrir 120mm Air Cooler
Memory 8gb G.Skill DDR3-1600mhz (9-9-9-24-2T @1.6v)
Video Card(s) Sapphire Radeon 6950 (800 core/1250 memory)
Storage Western Digital Green 2TB 7200rpm
Display(s) BenQ G2420HDBL
Case Sunbeamtech Freezing Storm
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply ThermalTake TR2 850w 80 plus Bronze
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64 Bit
Benchmark Scores Cinebench 11.5 - 7.73 3dMark Vantage (performance preset) - P19,200
#39
well see thats the funny thing just doing a minor OC to 4.0ghz and not touching any voltages, it still does it but not all of the time. sometimes it comes on proper sometimes not. im thinking it might be a motherboard issue seeing as how im using an MSI 890GXM-G65 and not a 990 series mobo. if it isn't that, then i don't know. On another note the highest stable i've been able to get for 24/7 on my 8320 is 4.4ghz without going over the temps with my air cooler on 1.425v. I can go to 4.6 stable but prime95 temps get too high over 60c.
 

JDB4LFE

New Member
Joined
Nov 3, 2012
Messages
9
Likes
0
Location
Crestview, FL
Processor AMD FX-8320 (1.4v @ 4.5ghz)
Motherboard MSI 890GXM-G65 (CPU-NB @ 2.4ghz/HT LINK @ 2.6ghz)
Cooling EverCool Z-Axis Titan Fenrir 120mm Air Cooler
Memory 8gb G.Skill DDR3-1600mhz (9-9-9-24-2T @1.6v)
Video Card(s) Sapphire Radeon 6950 (800 core/1250 memory)
Storage Western Digital Green 2TB 7200rpm
Display(s) BenQ G2420HDBL
Case Sunbeamtech Freezing Storm
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply ThermalTake TR2 850w 80 plus Bronze
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64 Bit
Benchmark Scores Cinebench 11.5 - 7.73 3dMark Vantage (performance preset) - P19,200
#40
well see thats the funny thing just doing a minor OC to 4.0ghz and not touching any voltages, it still does it but not all of the time. sometimes it comes on proper sometimes not. im thinking it might be a motherboard issue seeing as how im using an MSI 890GXM-G65 and not a 990 series mobo. if it isn't that, then i don't know. On another note the highest stable i've been able to get for 24/7 on my 8320 is 4.4ghz without going over the temps with my air cooler on 1.425v. I can go to 4.6 stable but prime95 temps get too high over 60c.
Ok so update. I have gotten my 8320 stable at 1.4v on 4.5ghz. I just upped the multiplier and forgot about the base clock. CPU-NB is at 2400mhz, HT Link is at 2600mhz, ram is running 9-9-9-24-2T @ 1600mhz and all are set to auto in the bios (runs stable through stress-testing for 12 hours so i figure why change what works). Max temps aren't going above 58.9c with this setup on Prime95, rarely over 50c while gaming so i figure i found a sweetspot. 7.73 on Cinebench 11.5. 3dMark Vantage performance preset 24,312(cpu score). I've included a quick snapshot of my HWinfo64 readings.
 

Attachments

Joined
Nov 22, 2012
Messages
679
Likes
738
System Name Hard Times
Processor X3450@4Ghz
Motherboard Asus P7H55M
Cooling Hyper 212 Evo
Memory 12gb DDR3 1333Mhz CL 9@1600 CL7
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX 980 Xtreme@1500Mhz
Storage SanDisk Extreme 120Gb SSD (os) , WD Caviar Blue 2 TB (Games), WD Caviar Green 1TB (Storage)
Display(s) 32" Samsung HDTV 1080P
Case Fractal Design Focus G Mini
Audio Device(s) Onboard HDMI
Power Supply EVGA G2 550w
Software Windows 10 Pro CU
#41
Good job, can't wait till I get mine :)
 
Joined
Apr 21, 2009
Messages
88
Likes
27
System Name littlek
Processor Ryzen 1600X
Motherboard Asrock B350M Pro 4
Cooling NH-U12S
Memory G.Skill Trident Z 2X8GB 3200MHz
Video Card(s) GTX 1070 FE
Storage Samsung 960 PRO 512GB
Display(s) Dell U2913WM
Case Jonsbo VR2
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar Essence STX
Power Supply Corsair AX 850
Software Windows
#42
It will only kill it under very certain circumstances such as an immensely low CPU vcore ie 1.2-1.25v or so. As his system is setup now the CPU-NB at 1.45v is just fine. The voltage difference is what kills them. Just FYI on auto the sabertooth defaults to 1.45v obviously its not that unsafe.


Albeit on a Phenom II I have been running 1.4v through mine since I got the second kit of ram. No other way to keep 4 dimms stable at >1600mhz. Vcore however is cranked up to 1.525v so it is balanced fine.
that may be the case for you but its not a fact

my 1100t i ran at 2.0 underclocked with 1.0volts while the ram ran at 1800 4 sticks of dominator gts on a sabertooth mobo with the imc at 3.0 on 1.35volts
my system is mainly used for audio production and most games are gpu bound
24/7 stable that includes all my games and apps that i use on a daily basis

i dont care for benchmarks i know my system and i know where to look for faults
 

Papagimp

New Member
Joined
Feb 11, 2013
Messages
1
Likes
0
#43
Question

Ok i have a question i am new to OC and just built my first computer and want to play around with the settings and get some OC done and get my CPU to reach around 4.4-4.6 GHz safely.
My setup is:
ASUS sabertooth 990FX R2.0
AMD FX 8320 Black Edition
XFX R7770 HD Core edition
Kuhler H2o 620 CPU cooling system
16GB Kingston Hyper predator Ram
Corsair GS600w

If anyone could help me out because i am using the AI Suite II to try and do my overclocking and i can change all of the mutli and CPU bus Freq. But i am scared to touch any of the volt setting if someone could help me out i would be very thankful.
 
Joined
Dec 3, 2009
Messages
1,205
Likes
364
Location
The Netherlands
System Name PC || Laptop
Processor AMD FX-8350 @ 4,8GHz || i7 6700HQ
Motherboard Asus Sabertooth 990FX || default
Cooling Corsair H100i Push-Pull|| Stock
Memory Samsung 30nm 4x4GB @ 1930MHz|| 2x8GB LVDDR3 @ 1600MHz
Video Card(s) AMD R9 290 @ 1060MHz / 1600MHz || Nvidia Geforce 960M
Display(s) Samsung S23A750D 120Hz + others|| 15,6" 1080P
Case Corsair 500R Fans Galore ||
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar DX/XD ||
Power Supply Corsair AX860i || 120Watt 19V OEM adaptor
Software Win 10 64bit || Win 10 64bit
#44
Ok i have a question i am new to OC and just built my first computer and want to play around with the settings and get some OC done and get my CPU to reach around 4.4-4.6 GHz safely.
My setup is:
ASUS sabertooth 990FX R2.0
AMD FX 8320 Black Edition
XFX R7770 HD Core edition
Kuhler H2o 620 CPU cooling system
16GB Kingston Hyper predator Ram
Corsair GS600w

If anyone could help me out because i am using the AI Suite II to try and do my overclocking and i can change all of the mutli and CPU bus Freq. But i am scared to touch any of the volt setting if someone could help me out i would be very thankful.
The two most important things by far, are the temperatures of your hardware, and the voltages.

I'd say that if you keep closely watching the temperatures of the CPU SOCKET(71C max), CPU Cores(61C max) and the VRM's '(I'd say about 70C max, but they can probably take a lot more), you're OK for temperatures.

When it comes to voltage, make sure you do it in small steps at a time (0,05V for an instance), and dont go over 1,55V.

Furthermore some OC-ing tips with that board:
Disable Turbo in the BIOS before you start OC-ing,
Disable APM in the BIOS.
Set the CPU Load Line Calibration on ultra high,
CPU/NB Load Line Calibration on High,
CPU Current Capability on 130%,
CPU/NB current capability 120%,
CPU Power Phase Control on Extreme and
CPU Voltage Frequency on Auto with spread spectrum Off.

I'm sure others in this thread will also have some more tips, but this is what I directly thought of:)

Good luck!
 

JDB4LFE

New Member
Joined
Nov 3, 2012
Messages
9
Likes
0
Location
Crestview, FL
Processor AMD FX-8320 (1.4v @ 4.5ghz)
Motherboard MSI 890GXM-G65 (CPU-NB @ 2.4ghz/HT LINK @ 2.6ghz)
Cooling EverCool Z-Axis Titan Fenrir 120mm Air Cooler
Memory 8gb G.Skill DDR3-1600mhz (9-9-9-24-2T @1.6v)
Video Card(s) Sapphire Radeon 6950 (800 core/1250 memory)
Storage Western Digital Green 2TB 7200rpm
Display(s) BenQ G2420HDBL
Case Sunbeamtech Freezing Storm
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply ThermalTake TR2 850w 80 plus Bronze
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64 Bit
Benchmark Scores Cinebench 11.5 - 7.73 3dMark Vantage (performance preset) - P19,200
#45
ok so weird coincidence im running into. i've been running stable at 4.5ghz for sometime now, but for some reason HWinfo64 reports my cpu going upwards of 7ghz while gaming....i don't know if its the software acting up (i've reinstalled and it still does it) or if my motherboard is playing tricks on me. it shouldn't be activating the turbo function because its off in the bios. and it shows my vcore going up to 1.5v at times....i have it set manually in bios to 1.423v.

amd cool n quiet - off
c1e support - off
turbo core tech - off
 

Attachments

Joined
Dec 3, 2009
Messages
1,205
Likes
364
Location
The Netherlands
System Name PC || Laptop
Processor AMD FX-8350 @ 4,8GHz || i7 6700HQ
Motherboard Asus Sabertooth 990FX || default
Cooling Corsair H100i Push-Pull|| Stock
Memory Samsung 30nm 4x4GB @ 1930MHz|| 2x8GB LVDDR3 @ 1600MHz
Video Card(s) AMD R9 290 @ 1060MHz / 1600MHz || Nvidia Geforce 960M
Display(s) Samsung S23A750D 120Hz + others|| 15,6" 1080P
Case Corsair 500R Fans Galore ||
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar DX/XD ||
Power Supply Corsair AX860i || 120Watt 19V OEM adaptor
Software Win 10 64bit || Win 10 64bit
#46
ok so weird coincidence im running into. i've been running stable at 4.5ghz for sometime now, but for some reason HWinfo64 reports my cpu going upwards of 7ghz while gaming....i don't know if its the software acting up (i've reinstalled and it still does it) or if my motherboard is playing tricks on me. it shouldn't be activating the turbo function because its off in the bios. and it shows my vcore going up to 1.5v at times....i have it set manually in bios to 1.423v.

amd cool n quiet - off
c1e support - off
turbo core tech - off
Do you also have APM off in bios? It can do great things when running stock for power use and performance, but it'll generally mess up any overclock.
 

JDB4LFE

New Member
Joined
Nov 3, 2012
Messages
9
Likes
0
Location
Crestview, FL
Processor AMD FX-8320 (1.4v @ 4.5ghz)
Motherboard MSI 890GXM-G65 (CPU-NB @ 2.4ghz/HT LINK @ 2.6ghz)
Cooling EverCool Z-Axis Titan Fenrir 120mm Air Cooler
Memory 8gb G.Skill DDR3-1600mhz (9-9-9-24-2T @1.6v)
Video Card(s) Sapphire Radeon 6950 (800 core/1250 memory)
Storage Western Digital Green 2TB 7200rpm
Display(s) BenQ G2420HDBL
Case Sunbeamtech Freezing Storm
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply ThermalTake TR2 850w 80 plus Bronze
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64 Bit
Benchmark Scores Cinebench 11.5 - 7.73 3dMark Vantage (performance preset) - P19,200
#47
to be honest i dont know what, or even if my my board has, that APM function. i've never saw it in the bios before.
 
Joined
Dec 3, 2009
Messages
1,205
Likes
364
Location
The Netherlands
System Name PC || Laptop
Processor AMD FX-8350 @ 4,8GHz || i7 6700HQ
Motherboard Asus Sabertooth 990FX || default
Cooling Corsair H100i Push-Pull|| Stock
Memory Samsung 30nm 4x4GB @ 1930MHz|| 2x8GB LVDDR3 @ 1600MHz
Video Card(s) AMD R9 290 @ 1060MHz / 1600MHz || Nvidia Geforce 960M
Display(s) Samsung S23A750D 120Hz + others|| 15,6" 1080P
Case Corsair 500R Fans Galore ||
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar DX/XD ||
Power Supply Corsair AX860i || 120Watt 19V OEM adaptor
Software Win 10 64bit || Win 10 64bit
#48
to be honest i dont know what, or even if my my board has, that APM function. i've never saw it in the bios before.
It is short for "Application Power Management", and should be listed together with Cool&quiet, C1E and the likes.
 

JDB4LFE

New Member
Joined
Nov 3, 2012
Messages
9
Likes
0
Location
Crestview, FL
Processor AMD FX-8320 (1.4v @ 4.5ghz)
Motherboard MSI 890GXM-G65 (CPU-NB @ 2.4ghz/HT LINK @ 2.6ghz)
Cooling EverCool Z-Axis Titan Fenrir 120mm Air Cooler
Memory 8gb G.Skill DDR3-1600mhz (9-9-9-24-2T @1.6v)
Video Card(s) Sapphire Radeon 6950 (800 core/1250 memory)
Storage Western Digital Green 2TB 7200rpm
Display(s) BenQ G2420HDBL
Case Sunbeamtech Freezing Storm
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply ThermalTake TR2 850w 80 plus Bronze
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64 Bit
Benchmark Scores Cinebench 11.5 - 7.73 3dMark Vantage (performance preset) - P19,200
#49
if that's the case, then it's not there for my bios =\
 
Joined
Dec 3, 2009
Messages
1,205
Likes
364
Location
The Netherlands
System Name PC || Laptop
Processor AMD FX-8350 @ 4,8GHz || i7 6700HQ
Motherboard Asus Sabertooth 990FX || default
Cooling Corsair H100i Push-Pull|| Stock
Memory Samsung 30nm 4x4GB @ 1930MHz|| 2x8GB LVDDR3 @ 1600MHz
Video Card(s) AMD R9 290 @ 1060MHz / 1600MHz || Nvidia Geforce 960M
Display(s) Samsung S23A750D 120Hz + others|| 15,6" 1080P
Case Corsair 500R Fans Galore ||
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar DX/XD ||
Power Supply Corsair AX860i || 120Watt 19V OEM adaptor
Software Win 10 64bit || Win 10 64bit
#50
if that's the case, then it's not there for my bios =\
Looking through the manual, I cannot find it for your mobo either. Might not be applicable to your case then.