• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

fx-8320, problem with prime95, vcore and overclock

myself

New Member
Joined
Jan 25, 2013
Messages
26 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
Processor FX-8320
Motherboard Sabertooth 990FX rev2.0
Cooling CM Hyper 212 EVO
Memory 2x4 Corsair XMS3
Video Card(s) Sapphire 7870 OC
Storage 500gb WD Caviar Black
Power Supply 600W OCZ Modxstream
#1
Hello, i've got a problem with my fx 8320!
i'm trying to overclock my processor to 4.2 rising my multiplier to 21.

I've tried to start 3dmark2011, aida64 stress test and much other, all ok, but when i run prime95 i receive a rounding error and hardware failure, but no bsod.

I'm listening a strange sound from the motherboard when cpu is in full load, sounds like a "zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz" :wtf: and i see strange zig zag vcore values.

I don't know how can i do to solve that problems, can you help me?




My pc specs are:
mb: m5a87
cpu cooler: cm hyper 212 evo
vc: sapphire 7870 oc
psu: 600w ocz modxstream
ram: 4x2 ddr3 corsair xms3
 
Joined
Mar 23, 2005
Messages
2,995 (0.64/day)
Likes
609
Location
Ancient Greece, Acropolis (Time Lord)
System Name My Red Dragon Gaming PC
Processor AMD FX-8350 @ 4.40GHz w/8-Cores - Bus 277 / 1.35v
Motherboard Asus Crosshair V Formula ROG - Bios v1801
Cooling Corsair H100 Water Cooling (120mm x4 Push/Pull)
Memory G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 16GB DDR3-2210 (8GBx2)
Video Card(s) SAPPHIRE (ATI) DUAL-X R9 280X 3GB GDDR5 OC + Sapphire Radeon RX 580 8GB Nitro+ LE
Storage Corsair Force 3 SSD 180GB + WD 32MB buffer 1TB HD
Display(s) Asus 24" (VG245H) FHD 75Hz 1ms FreeSyn - Gaming Monitor
Case CoolerMaster HAF 932 - My Custom Red Dragn MOD!
Audio Device(s) SteelSound 5Hv2 8CH HD + EAX® Advanced™ HD 5.0 -SupremeFX X-Fi 2
Power Supply Corsair 750W Gamers Power Supply
Mouse Razer DeathAdder PC Gaming Mouse - Ergonomic Left Hand Edition
Keyboard Logitech G15 Classic Gaming Keyboard
Software Windows 10 x64 Ultimate
Benchmark Scores I have the worlds Fastest PC ever Built - 1980
#2
prime95 is not currently compatible with FX CPU's. Once they update it, it should work.
It's been reported even stock speed prime95 gives errors.
 

myself

New Member
Joined
Jan 25, 2013
Messages
26 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
Processor FX-8320
Motherboard Sabertooth 990FX rev2.0
Cooling CM Hyper 212 EVO
Memory 2x4 Corsair XMS3
Video Card(s) Sapphire 7870 OC
Storage 500gb WD Caviar Black
Power Supply 600W OCZ Modxstream
#3
prime95 is not currently compatible with FX CPU's. Once they update it, it should work.
It's been reported even stock speed prime95 gives errors.
and what is the software can i use to say "okay! now all it's good!"??
 
Joined
Mar 23, 2005
Messages
2,995 (0.64/day)
Likes
609
Location
Ancient Greece, Acropolis (Time Lord)
System Name My Red Dragon Gaming PC
Processor AMD FX-8350 @ 4.40GHz w/8-Cores - Bus 277 / 1.35v
Motherboard Asus Crosshair V Formula ROG - Bios v1801
Cooling Corsair H100 Water Cooling (120mm x4 Push/Pull)
Memory G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 16GB DDR3-2210 (8GBx2)
Video Card(s) SAPPHIRE (ATI) DUAL-X R9 280X 3GB GDDR5 OC + Sapphire Radeon RX 580 8GB Nitro+ LE
Storage Corsair Force 3 SSD 180GB + WD 32MB buffer 1TB HD
Display(s) Asus 24" (VG245H) FHD 75Hz 1ms FreeSyn - Gaming Monitor
Case CoolerMaster HAF 932 - My Custom Red Dragn MOD!
Audio Device(s) SteelSound 5Hv2 8CH HD + EAX® Advanced™ HD 5.0 -SupremeFX X-Fi 2
Power Supply Corsair 750W Gamers Power Supply
Mouse Razer DeathAdder PC Gaming Mouse - Ergonomic Left Hand Edition
Keyboard Logitech G15 Classic Gaming Keyboard
Software Windows 10 x64 Ultimate
Benchmark Scores I have the worlds Fastest PC ever Built - 1980
#4
Joined
May 14, 2009
Messages
2,132 (0.68/day)
Likes
477
Location
Chicago burbs
System Name Halloween Boo!
Processor Intel Core i7 3770K
Motherboard Gigabyte Z77-Up7
Cooling Custom Water/ Thermalchill TA 120.3/ Swiftech Apogeee XT/ MCP655/ Swiftech M icrores/ XSPC RX 240
Memory 16G G.Skill trident 2400MHz
Video Card(s) 3 x Radeon 7970
Storage OCZ Revo Drive 240G
Display(s) 24 inch Viewsonic
Case Phobia WayCoolIt Test Bench
Power Supply Nexus 1100 watt
#5
Rounding error = more vcore
 

myself

New Member
Joined
Jan 25, 2013
Messages
26 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
Processor FX-8320
Motherboard Sabertooth 990FX rev2.0
Cooling CM Hyper 212 EVO
Memory 2x4 Corsair XMS3
Video Card(s) Sapphire 7870 OC
Storage 500gb WD Caviar Black
Power Supply 600W OCZ Modxstream
#6
thank you!! i'll try for 2-3 hrs occt and intel burn test!
 

myself

New Member
Joined
Jan 25, 2013
Messages
26 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
Processor FX-8320
Motherboard Sabertooth 990FX rev2.0
Cooling CM Hyper 212 EVO
Memory 2x4 Corsair XMS3
Video Card(s) Sapphire 7870 OC
Storage 500gb WD Caviar Black
Power Supply 600W OCZ Modxstream
#7
Rounding error = more vcore
thanks for the reply but, do you think it could depends to the strange course of my vcore? 1.3-09 ?!?! i think it's strange! If i disable turbo core and LLC it's the same thing
 
Joined
May 14, 2009
Messages
2,132 (0.68/day)
Likes
477
Location
Chicago burbs
System Name Halloween Boo!
Processor Intel Core i7 3770K
Motherboard Gigabyte Z77-Up7
Cooling Custom Water/ Thermalchill TA 120.3/ Swiftech Apogeee XT/ MCP655/ Swiftech M icrores/ XSPC RX 240
Memory 16G G.Skill trident 2400MHz
Video Card(s) 3 x Radeon 7970
Storage OCZ Revo Drive 240G
Display(s) 24 inch Viewsonic
Case Phobia WayCoolIt Test Bench
Power Supply Nexus 1100 watt
#8
thanks for the reply but, do you think it could depends to the strange course of my vcore? 1.3-09 ?!?! i think it's strange! If i disable turbo core and LLC it's the same thing
I do not understand this?
 

cadaveca

My name is Dave
Joined
Apr 10, 2006
Messages
16,546 (3.88/day)
Likes
10,908
Location
Parkland County, Alberta
System Name Gamer
Processor Intel i7-6700K (ES)
Motherboard MSI Aegis TI
Cooling Custom Dragon Cooler
Memory 16 GB Kingston HyperX 2133 MHz C13
Video Card(s) 2x MSI GAMING GTX 980
Storage 2x Intel 600P
Display(s) Dell 3008WFP
Case MSI Aegis Ti
Mouse MSI Interceptor DS B1
Keyboard MSI DS4200 GAMING Keyboard
Software Windows 10 Home
#9
prime95 is not currently compatible with FX CPU's. Once they update it, it should work.
It's been reported even stock speed prime95 gives errors.
BS, works fine for me. :p Try v27.7 or newer.
 
Joined
May 14, 2009
Messages
2,132 (0.68/day)
Likes
477
Location
Chicago burbs
System Name Halloween Boo!
Processor Intel Core i7 3770K
Motherboard Gigabyte Z77-Up7
Cooling Custom Water/ Thermalchill TA 120.3/ Swiftech Apogeee XT/ MCP655/ Swiftech M icrores/ XSPC RX 240
Memory 16G G.Skill trident 2400MHz
Video Card(s) 3 x Radeon 7970
Storage OCZ Revo Drive 240G
Display(s) 24 inch Viewsonic
Case Phobia WayCoolIt Test Bench
Power Supply Nexus 1100 watt
#10

myself

New Member
Joined
Jan 25, 2013
Messages
26 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
Processor FX-8320
Motherboard Sabertooth 990FX rev2.0
Cooling CM Hyper 212 EVO
Memory 2x4 Corsair XMS3
Video Card(s) Sapphire 7870 OC
Storage 500gb WD Caviar Black
Power Supply 600W OCZ Modxstream
#11
I do not understand this?
vcore fluctuate between 1.3 and 0.92! it's a huge fluctuation! :wtf: i think it's strange! what does it means???


update 1:
after setting auto to northbridge clock, i can see vcore more stable, between 1.368-1.352... strange?
 
Last edited:
Joined
May 14, 2009
Messages
2,132 (0.68/day)
Likes
477
Location
Chicago burbs
System Name Halloween Boo!
Processor Intel Core i7 3770K
Motherboard Gigabyte Z77-Up7
Cooling Custom Water/ Thermalchill TA 120.3/ Swiftech Apogeee XT/ MCP655/ Swiftech M icrores/ XSPC RX 240
Memory 16G G.Skill trident 2400MHz
Video Card(s) 3 x Radeon 7970
Storage OCZ Revo Drive 240G
Display(s) 24 inch Viewsonic
Case Phobia WayCoolIt Test Bench
Power Supply Nexus 1100 watt
#12
.92 is power saving.
 
Joined
Apr 21, 2009
Messages
89 (0.03/day)
Likes
27
System Name littlek
Processor Ryzen 1600X
Motherboard Asrock B350M Pro 4
Cooling NH-U12S
Memory G.Skill Trident Z 2X8GB 3200MHz
Video Card(s) GTX 1070 FE
Storage Samsung 960 PRO 512GB
Display(s) Dell U2913WM
Case Jonsbo VR2
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar Essence STX
Power Supply Corsair AX 850
Software Windows
#13
vcore fluctuate between 1.3 and 0.92! it's a huge fluctuation! :wtf: i think it's strange! what does it means???[/QUOTE

you need to disable cool'n'quiet

1.3volts is not enuf for 4.2
try 1.35
 
Last edited:

myself

New Member
Joined
Jan 25, 2013
Messages
26 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
Processor FX-8320
Motherboard Sabertooth 990FX rev2.0
Cooling CM Hyper 212 EVO
Memory 2x4 Corsair XMS3
Video Card(s) Sapphire 7870 OC
Storage 500gb WD Caviar Black
Power Supply 600W OCZ Modxstream
#14
well, i don't understand. I've disabled cool n quiet and c states. Now i see this (1.320-0.92)

 
Joined
May 14, 2009
Messages
2,132 (0.68/day)
Likes
477
Location
Chicago burbs
System Name Halloween Boo!
Processor Intel Core i7 3770K
Motherboard Gigabyte Z77-Up7
Cooling Custom Water/ Thermalchill TA 120.3/ Swiftech Apogeee XT/ MCP655/ Swiftech M icrores/ XSPC RX 240
Memory 16G G.Skill trident 2400MHz
Video Card(s) 3 x Radeon 7970
Storage OCZ Revo Drive 240G
Display(s) 24 inch Viewsonic
Case Phobia WayCoolIt Test Bench
Power Supply Nexus 1100 watt
#15
Is turbo on?
 
Joined
Apr 5, 2005
Messages
6,571 (1.42/day)
Likes
1,164
Location
Republic of Asia (a.k.a Irvine), CA
System Name Red Spy
Processor FX 8350 @ 4.35 Ghz with 1.28v
Motherboard Gigabyte 990FX-UD3 v4.0
Cooling TT Water 3.0 Performer + 2 x Cougar 120mm fan, 1 x 120mm Blue LED, 1 x 200 mm Red LED fan
Memory Kingston HyperX DDR3 1333 16GB
Video Card(s) Asus R9 290 OC @ GPU - 1050, MEM - 1300
Storage ADATA 128GB Sata III SSD for OS, WDC Black - 1TB Storage, OCZ Vertex 3 120GB SSD - Games
Display(s) AOC 23" 1080P LCD
Case AeroCool XPredator X3
Audio Device(s) Built-in Realtek
Power Supply Corsair HX1000 Modular
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64 bit
Benchmark Scores BF4 with Mantle on Ultra settings gets around 60 FPS.
#16
change windows power settings to high performance.
 
Joined
Sep 16, 2011
Messages
283 (0.12/day)
Likes
64
Location
Portugal
System Name MSIGameRig
Processor Intel 4670k @ 4.2 [1.21v]
Motherboard MSI Z87-GD65 GAMING
Cooling EK XTX 360+240 Rad´s
Memory Corsair 16GB Dominator Plat.2800C11 DDR3 @ 2400Mhz CL11
Video Card(s) 2_WaySLI MSI Gaming_OC GTX770
Storage [RAID0] Corsair Neutron SSD 240GB / WD Black 1TB
Display(s) Dual Samsung HS24" 1920x1080 [2ms]
Case Corsair Obsidian 800D
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC1150 HD
Power Supply Corsair AX1200
Software Win7 x64 Ultimate
Benchmark Scores I dont care about bench, just want the max fps possible @ DX11 with extreme AA/AF

myself

New Member
Joined
Jan 25, 2013
Messages
26 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
Processor FX-8320
Motherboard Sabertooth 990FX rev2.0
Cooling CM Hyper 212 EVO
Memory 2x4 Corsair XMS3
Video Card(s) Sapphire 7870 OC
Storage 500gb WD Caviar Black
Power Supply 600W OCZ Modxstream
#18
well, after a few tests with:
1) in bios i set 1.36 in vcore
2) disabled turbo core, cool n quiet, c states, llc
3) windows 8 x64 in performance mode

i see:
0% load cpu ---> cpu-z(or aida) vcore 1.4 multiplier 21x
100 load cpu ---> cpu-z(or aida) vcore 1.288-1.304 (why????) multiplier 14.5x-21x (why???????????)
 
Last edited:

cadaveca

My name is Dave
Joined
Apr 10, 2006
Messages
16,546 (3.88/day)
Likes
10,908
Location
Parkland County, Alberta
System Name Gamer
Processor Intel i7-6700K (ES)
Motherboard MSI Aegis TI
Cooling Custom Dragon Cooler
Memory 16 GB Kingston HyperX 2133 MHz C13
Video Card(s) 2x MSI GAMING GTX 980
Storage 2x Intel 600P
Display(s) Dell 3008WFP
Case MSI Aegis Ti
Mouse MSI Interceptor DS B1
Keyboard MSI DS4200 GAMING Keyboard
Software Windows 10 Home
#19
llc. set to medium.

If that doesn't give you steady votalge, your issues are most likely down to board design. It is a bit outdated for Piledriver FX chips, and it's not a high-end board, either.

That the difference that high-endboard provide, is over-designed VRMs capable of dealing enough power for any OC.
 

myself

New Member
Joined
Jan 25, 2013
Messages
26 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
Processor FX-8320
Motherboard Sabertooth 990FX rev2.0
Cooling CM Hyper 212 EVO
Memory 2x4 Corsair XMS3
Video Card(s) Sapphire 7870 OC
Storage 500gb WD Caviar Black
Power Supply 600W OCZ Modxstream
#20

cadaveca

My name is Dave
Joined
Apr 10, 2006
Messages
16,546 (3.88/day)
Likes
10,908
Location
Parkland County, Alberta
System Name Gamer
Processor Intel i7-6700K (ES)
Motherboard MSI Aegis TI
Cooling Custom Dragon Cooler
Memory 16 GB Kingston HyperX 2133 MHz C13
Video Card(s) 2x MSI GAMING GTX 980
Storage 2x Intel 600P
Display(s) Dell 3008WFP
Case MSI Aegis Ti
Mouse MSI Interceptor DS B1
Keyboard MSI DS4200 GAMING Keyboard
Software Windows 10 Home
#21
unfortunately in my motherboard llc is ---> enable, disable, auto
try enable then. As I posted above, board VRM is a bit outdated at this point.
 

myself

New Member
Joined
Jan 25, 2013
Messages
26 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
Processor FX-8320
Motherboard Sabertooth 990FX rev2.0
Cooling CM Hyper 212 EVO
Memory 2x4 Corsair XMS3
Video Card(s) Sapphire 7870 OC
Storage 500gb WD Caviar Black
Power Supply 600W OCZ Modxstream
#22
if i enable llc i see vcore 0.9-~1.32 :cry:

seriously, i've never had this problems
 

cadaveca

My name is Dave
Joined
Apr 10, 2006
Messages
16,546 (3.88/day)
Likes
10,908
Location
Parkland County, Alberta
System Name Gamer
Processor Intel i7-6700K (ES)
Motherboard MSI Aegis TI
Cooling Custom Dragon Cooler
Memory 16 GB Kingston HyperX 2133 MHz C13
Video Card(s) 2x MSI GAMING GTX 980
Storage 2x Intel 600P
Display(s) Dell 3008WFP
Case MSI Aegis Ti
Mouse MSI Interceptor DS B1
Keyboard MSI DS4200 GAMING Keyboard
Software Windows 10 Home
#23
if i enable llc i see vcore 0.9-~1.32 :cry:

seriously, i've never had this problems
:laugh:


Well, I mean, there's only so many options in BIOS you can play with, so that's that.

Is there a "APM" setting in BIOS?
 
Joined
Apr 21, 2009
Messages
89 (0.03/day)
Likes
27
System Name littlek
Processor Ryzen 1600X
Motherboard Asrock B350M Pro 4
Cooling NH-U12S
Memory G.Skill Trident Z 2X8GB 3200MHz
Video Card(s) GTX 1070 FE
Storage Samsung 960 PRO 512GB
Display(s) Dell U2913WM
Case Jonsbo VR2
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar Essence STX
Power Supply Corsair AX 850
Software Windows
#24
well, after a few tests with:
1) in bios i set 1.36 in vcore
2) disabled turbo core, cool n quiet, c states, llc
3) windows 8 x64 in performance mode

i see:
0% load cpu ---> cpu-z(or aida) vcore 1.4
100 load cpu ---> cpu-z(or aida) vcore 1.288-1.304 (why???????????)
this is my bios seting its for the 8350 dont imagine 8320 to be that different

the other thing to consider is updating the bios unless its already updated
http://uk.asus.com/Motherboards/AMD_AM3Plus/M5A87/#download

2ndly reset bios to default
bios>f5>f10>y
 

Attachments

Joined
Apr 21, 2009
Messages
89 (0.03/day)
Likes
27
System Name littlek
Processor Ryzen 1600X
Motherboard Asrock B350M Pro 4
Cooling NH-U12S
Memory G.Skill Trident Z 2X8GB 3200MHz
Video Card(s) GTX 1070 FE
Storage Samsung 960 PRO 512GB
Display(s) Dell U2913WM
Case Jonsbo VR2
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar Essence STX
Power Supply Corsair AX 850
Software Windows
#25
if i enable llc i see vcore 0.9-~1.32 :cry:

seriously, i've never had this problems
llc probably helps if your having a mad oc session

i find it best to leave it on auto