• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

FX Turbo Core Technology Bumps Frequency by 1.00 GHz

btarunr

Editor & Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 9, 2007
Messages
34,335 (9.22/day)
Likes
17,427
Location
Hyderabad, India
System Name Long shelf-life potato
Processor Intel Core i7-4770K
Motherboard ASUS Z97-A
Cooling Xigmatek Aegir CPU Cooler
Memory 16GB Kingston HyperX Beast DDR3-1866
Video Card(s) 2x GeForce GTX 970 SLI
Storage ADATA SU800 512GB
Display(s) Samsung U28D590D 28-inch 4K
Case Cooler Master CM690 Window
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster Recon3D PCIe
Power Supply Corsair HX850W
Mouse Razer Abyssus 2014
Keyboard Microsoft Sidewinder X4
Software Windows 10 Pro Creators Update
#1
With Intel's introduction of Turbo Boost technology, a new feature was introduced to the industry, where a processor overclocks itself in short bursts to handle increased CPU loads. AMD quickly followed with its own similar feature, called Turbo Core, with Phenom II X6. With the company's upcoming high-end client FX-series processors, that technology is being given an update. On the FX-series processors, the technology is designed to bump clock speeds by as much as 1.00 GHz over the processor's advertised clock speed, within the processor's TDP headroom.

Show full news post
 
Joined
Oct 1, 2006
Messages
4,015 (0.98/day)
Likes
477
Location
Hong Kong
Processor AMD FX-8350 @4.8Ghz
Motherboard Asrock 990FX Extreme9
Cooling CoolerMaster Seidon 120XL
Memory A-RAM DDR3 2000
Video Card(s) PowerColor HD7970 3GB V3
Storage OCZ Vertex 3 120G + Max IOPS 120G + Seagate 7200.12 250GB *2 Raid 0 + Samsung HD103UJ 1TB *2 RAID 0
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster S24B370
Case SilverStone Raven RV01
Power Supply Corsair TX850W
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit
#2
Where are my chips AMD?
 
Joined
Jun 17, 2007
Messages
7,325 (1.91/day)
Likes
995
Location
C:\Program Files (x86)\Aphexdreamer\
System Name Unknown
Processor AMD Bulldozer FX8320 @ 4.4Ghz
Motherboard Asus Crosshair V
Cooling XSPC Raystorm 750 EX240 for CPU
Memory 8 GB CORSAIR Vengeance Red DDR3 RAM 1922mhz (10-11-9-27)
Video Card(s) XFX R9 290
Storage Samsung SSD 254GB and Western Digital Caviar Black 1TB 64MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s
Display(s) AOC 23" @ 1920x1080 + Asus 27" 1440p
Case HAF X
Audio Device(s) X Fi Titanium 5.1 Surround Sound
Power Supply 750 Watt PP&C Silencer Black
Software Windows 8.1 Pro 64-bit
#3
This seems like something they could have done a while back?

I suppose now that its automated that's a bit nice.
 
Joined
Oct 1, 2006
Messages
4,015 (0.98/day)
Likes
477
Location
Hong Kong
Processor AMD FX-8350 @4.8Ghz
Motherboard Asrock 990FX Extreme9
Cooling CoolerMaster Seidon 120XL
Memory A-RAM DDR3 2000
Video Card(s) PowerColor HD7970 3GB V3
Storage OCZ Vertex 3 120G + Max IOPS 120G + Seagate 7200.12 250GB *2 Raid 0 + Samsung HD103UJ 1TB *2 RAID 0
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster S24B370
Case SilverStone Raven RV01
Power Supply Corsair TX850W
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit
#4
This seems like something they could have done a while back?

I suppose now that its automated that's a bit nice.
What this is is that Turbo core now works exactly like Intel's Turbo Boost.
 
Joined
Oct 12, 2009
Messages
283 (0.09/day)
Likes
81
Location
Zagreb, Croatia
Processor Phenom II X3 720 BE @ 3.15 GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte MA790X-UD4
Cooling Zalman CNPS10X Optima
Memory Corsair XMS2, 2x2 GB DDR2, 800 MHz, CL5
Video Card(s) Asus R9 270X DirectCu II
Storage Caviar Black 500 GB & Caviar Green 1 TB
Display(s) Dell U2311H (23'' IPS)
Case Gigabyte GZ-X5
Power Supply Corsair VX550
Software Win 7 Pro 64-bit
#6
What this is is that Turbo core now works exactly like Intel's Turbo Boost.
No, not really.
Intel's Turbo Boost can't OC all the cores at the same time, this can.

I'm hoping these aggressive turbo speeds reflect additional overclocking headroom!

Please and thanks :)
From your mouth to the ears of gods of hardware :D
 
Joined
Oct 29, 2010
Messages
2,944 (1.13/day)
Likes
1,379
System Name The Sheriff / The Deputy
Processor 2500K / G4560
Motherboard ASRock P67Extreme4 / Gigabyte GA-Z170-HD3 DDR3
Cooling CM Hyper TX3 / Intel stock
Memory 16 GB Kingston HyperX / 8 GB Kingston HyperX
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 960 SSC / Gigabyte GTX 1050 Ti LP
Storage SSD, some WD and lots of Samsungs
Display(s) BenQ GW2470 / Samsung SyncMaster T220
Case Cooler Master CM690 II Advanced / Thermaltake Core v31
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar D1/Denon PMA500AE/Wharfedale D 10.1/Senn HD518
Power Supply Corsair TX650 / Corsair TX650M
Mouse Steelseries Rival 100/ Mionix Avior 7000
Keyboard Sidewinder
Software Windows 10 / Windows 10 Pro
#8
Intel's turbo on SB can overclock all cores albeit with only 100MHz.
 
Joined
Jul 19, 2008
Messages
1,160 (0.34/day)
Likes
236
Location
Australia
Processor Intel i7 4790K
Motherboard Asus Z97 Deluxe
Cooling Thermalright Ultra Extreme 120
Memory Corsair Dominator 1866Mhz 4X4GB
Video Card(s) Asus R290X
Storage Samsung 850 Pro SSD 256GB/Samsung 840 Evo SSD 1TB
Display(s) Samsung S23A950D
Case Corsair 850D
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek
Power Supply Corsair AX850
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Logitech G710+
Software Windows 10 x64
#9
I'm guessing these turbo speeds will only be possible with a default CPU speed.

Thats fine by me. Running your CPU at 100% all the time with high voltage is dead......energy efficiency and dynamic overclocking is the future!!
 

redzo

New Member
Joined
Nov 21, 2009
Messages
5 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#10
@btarunr, this article is misleading and wrong!
No manufacturer is ever going to sell a product guaranteed to function properly beyond its specifications! That's because reliable operation cannot be accomplished under this scenario.

You've started with:
"a processor overclocks itself in short bursts to handle increased CPU loads". That's true. It means overclocking.

Then you've contradicted yourself with:
"the technology is designed to bump clock speeds by as much as 1.00 GHz over the processor's advertised clock speed, within the processor's TDP headroom".
"within the processor's TDP headroom", this IS NOT overclocking.

The slide is also misleading because it fails to specify the manufacturer's TDP headroom for the "MAX turbo" state, as it doesn't specify that also for the other two states. I believe that's from where you've got the entire article wrong. The slide(proof) is just unprofessional.

You should edit this article.
 
Joined
Jan 21, 2009
Messages
734 (0.23/day)
Likes
121
Location
Golden, Colorado
System Name KAREN / EVA / GHOST
Processor Intel Core i7-950 / AMD Phenom II X4 940 BE / Core i5 3570k
Motherboard ASUS TUF Sabertooth X58 / DFI LP DK 790FXB-M2RSH / Asrock z77e-itx
Cooling Thermaltake Frio / Corsair Cooling™ Hydro Series H50 / Corsair Hydro Series H60
Memory Corsair Dominator 6GB DDR3 1600 / Corsair Dominator Quad2X4096-8500C5DF / G.SKILL Ripjaws Serie 1600
Video Card(s) XFX HD6950 CF unlocked /XFX HD5770 CF/ MSI R4890 Cyclone
Storage OCZ Vertex 2 60 WD Raptor X WD1500AHFD / Seagate Barracuda /Western Digital 80gb, Toshiba 1TB
Display(s) 2 Acer P215H 21.5 Widescreen / Acer S211HL 21.5 / HP 2009F 20inch
Case SILVERSTONE RAVEN RV02-BW / NZXT Phantom /Bitfenix Prodigy
Audio Device(s) On board / Philips MMS 321 - PC multimedia speakers
Power Supply Ultra X3 ULT40311 1000W / Cosair CMPSU-750TX 750W/ CORSAIR Gaming Series GS700 700W
Software Windows 7 64 bit / Windows 7 64 bit / Windows 7 64 bit
#11

Nesters

New Member
Joined
Nov 21, 2010
Messages
121 (0.05/day)
Likes
26
#12
I think it's pretty good if you can get 8-core FX @ 3.2ghz stock and use all 8 cores if you need them or use 4 cores @ 4.2ghz for games and stuff like that without manual OC.
Should raise the performance bar for 'normal' PC users who don't OC. Intel already does that but it's good to see it from AMD too, and don't forget about extra 4 cores.
 
Joined
Apr 21, 2010
Messages
142 (0.05/day)
Likes
19
Location
Perth, Australia
Processor Phenom II X6 1055 @3290/3760Mhz 1.375 HT@2115 NB@2350
Motherboard GA-880GM-usb3 (seems to dislike bclk of over 235)
Cooling Scythe Big Shiruken + TR 1300rpm 140mm
Memory G.Skill Ripjaw 4GB 8-9-8-24-32 1T @1566mhz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte 6850 @875mhz gpu 1150mhz memory
Storage G.Skill Evo 115GB, Seagate 7200.11 1TB, WD Green 5400 1TB
Display(s) LG Flatron E2240V
Case Lian Li V352
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC 892
Power Supply Seasonic X-650
Software Win 7 Ult 64bit
#13
@btarunr, this article is misleading and wrong!
No manufacturer is ever going to sell a product guaranteed to function properly beyond its specifications! That's because reliable operation cannot be accomplished under this scenario.

You've started with:
"a processor overclocks itself in short bursts to handle increased CPU loads". That's true. It means overclocking.

Then you've contradicted yourself with:
"the technology is designed to bump clock speeds by as much as 1.00 GHz over the processor's advertised clock speed, within the processor's TDP headroom".
"within the processor's TDP headroom", this IS NOT overclocking.

The slide is also misleading because it fails to specify the manufacturer's TDP headroom for the "MAX turbo" state, as it doesn't specify that also for the other two states. I believe that's from where you've got the entire article wrong. The slide(proof) is just unprofessional.

You should edit this article.
overclocking is still technically withing tdp, suicide runs on the other hand go beyond.. at least thats how i understand it.
 

KRONOSFX

New Member
Joined
Jan 24, 2011
Messages
25 (0.01/day)
Likes
6
#14
Crap Daddy: 100Mhz compared to 1Ghz makes for a big difference. I am comparing SB 2600K and BD 4-modul(8 thread), both of them have the same number of threads so while SB2600K gets just a small 100Mhz jump the AMD model will get a boost of 1Ghz while still using the same number of threads, which is 4 in this case.

P.S. I am not sure if turbo in SB 2600K works if HT is in use? on the other hand AMD still gives +500Mhz boost when using all 8 threads.
 
Joined
Feb 19, 2009
Messages
662 (0.21/day)
Likes
84
Location
I live in Norway, in the province Buskerud.
System Name 2 sys spec seperated by "|"
Processor R7 1700 | Xeon 2680
Motherboard Asus | HP Z620
Cooling Water | Air
Memory 64gb | 128 gb
Video Card(s) EK-FC - RX Vega 64 | quadro K4000\GTX970
Storage Many SSD's
Display(s) AOC 28" 4K something
Case Corsair Carbide 88R
Power Supply Corsair HX750
Mouse G500
Keyboard TT Meka G1
Software Ubuntu 17.10 - 4.14 AMDGPU
#15
Crap Daddy: 100Mhz compared to 1Ghz makes for a big difference. I am comparing SB 2600K and BD 4-modul(8 thread), both of them have the same number of threads so while SB2600K gets just a small 100Mhz jump the AMD model will get a boost of 1Ghz while still using the same number of threads, which is 4 in this case.

P.S. I am not sure if turbo in SB 2600K works if HT is in use? on the other hand AMD still gives +500Mhz boost when using all 8 threads.
well its pretty much like this but amd have taken it one step further.
and C6 turning off cores alltogether is pretty impressive.
 
Joined
Apr 16, 2010
Messages
2,884 (1.03/day)
Likes
881
Location
Portugal
System Name _JP_'s Daily Driver
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 1700
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming Plus
Cooling Noctua NH-C12P SE14 + NM-AM4 + NF-P14r
Memory 2x 8GB G.Skill Trident Z (F4-3200C16D-16GTZB)(Hynix)
Video Card(s) MSI AMD Radeon R9 280X Gaming
Storage HyperX Savage 240GB + KC300 240GB + 750EVO 500GB
Display(s) LG Flatron W2361V 23'' FHD
Case NOX Blaze
Audio Device(s) ASUS Xonar DX
Power Supply Corsair TX650M
Mouse Microsoft Comfort Mouse 4500
Keyboard Logitech Media Keyboard (PS/2)
Software Windows 10 x86-64 (1703)
#17

b82rez

New Member
Joined
Apr 17, 2010
Messages
132 (0.05/day)
Likes
18
Location
Hobart, Australia
System Name B82REZ-2010
Processor AMD 1090T at 4ghz - 1.425v
Motherboard ASrock 890GX Extreme 3
Cooling Corsair H50 - Push/Pull with Noctua NF-P12's Connected Via Zalman Fan Controller
Memory 8GB Corsair Dominator's 1600mhz (Dual Memory Config)
Video Card(s) Asus 5850
Storage 60GB Corsair SSD, 2x 1TB, 1x 750GB, 5x 2TB
Display(s) 23" Full HD LG LCD, 19" Acer LCD
Case Cooler Master HAF X
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair 850HX Modular PSU
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64-Bit
#18
@btarunr, this article is misleading and wrong!
No manufacturer is ever going to sell a product guaranteed to function properly beyond its specifications! That's because reliable operation cannot be accomplished under this scenario.

You've started with:
"a processor overclocks itself in short bursts to handle increased CPU loads". That's true. It means overclocking.

Then you've contradicted yourself with:
"the technology is designed to bump clock speeds by as much as 1.00 GHz over the processor's advertised clock speed, within the processor's TDP headroom".
"within the processor's TDP headroom", this IS NOT overclocking.

The slide is also misleading because it fails to specify the manufacturer's TDP headroom for the "MAX turbo" state, as it doesn't specify that also for the other two states. I believe that's from where you've got the entire article wrong. The slide(proof) is just unprofessional.

You should edit this article.
Subbing just to see Btarunr's ownage reply. :laugh:
 

Bo$$

Lab Extraordinaire
Joined
May 7, 2009
Messages
5,626 (1.79/day)
Likes
971
Location
London, UK
System Name Desktop | Server
Processor Intel i7 2700k @ 4.4GHZ | AMD 5350 @ 2500MHZ
Motherboard Asus P7Z77-V Pro | Asus AM1I-A
Cooling GeLID Tranquilo | Stock Air
Memory Crucial Ballistix 2x8GB CL8 1600MHZ | Corsair Vengence 2x4GB CL9 1600MHZ
Video Card(s) Gainward GTX 780 Phantom GLH | PNY GTX 750Ti
Storage Samsung 840 EVO 250GB + 4TB WD Red | 2x Seagate Barracuda 2TB
Display(s) Samsung S27D390H + Asus VE276Q | Headless
Case Fractal Design R5 | CM Elite 110
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar D1 w/Otone Stilo 5.1 and Creative Fatal1ty headset
Power Supply EVGA Supernova 850 G2| Corsair CX430M
Mouse Razer Imperator 2012
Keyboard Corsair K90
Software Windows 7 SP1 X64 | Ubuntu 16.04LTS
#19
it is displaying 16 cores hint hint :p
 
Joined
Oct 1, 2006
Messages
4,015 (0.98/day)
Likes
477
Location
Hong Kong
Processor AMD FX-8350 @4.8Ghz
Motherboard Asrock 990FX Extreme9
Cooling CoolerMaster Seidon 120XL
Memory A-RAM DDR3 2000
Video Card(s) PowerColor HD7970 3GB V3
Storage OCZ Vertex 3 120G + Max IOPS 120G + Seagate 7200.12 250GB *2 Raid 0 + Samsung HD103UJ 1TB *2 RAID 0
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster S24B370
Case SilverStone Raven RV01
Power Supply Corsair TX850W
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit
#20
Crap Daddy: 100Mhz compared to 1Ghz makes for a big difference. I am comparing SB 2600K and BD 4-modul(8 thread), both of them have the same number of threads so while SB2600K gets just a small 100Mhz jump the AMD model will get a boost of 1Ghz while still using the same number of threads, which is 4 in this case.

P.S. I am not sure if turbo in SB 2600K works if HT is in use? on the other hand AMD still gives +500Mhz boost when using all 8 threads.
Bumping all the cores up 1Ghz will simply exceed the TDP of the chip, and so will 500Mhz.
With all 8-cores active it can bump up by maybe 1-multi which is 200Mhz at most.

Remember that this chip must be absolutely stable under AMD's stock cooling, and that is what the TDP is all about.
Many of these chips are going into factory pre-builds which runs on minimal cooling.
 
Last edited:

Play3r

New Member
Joined
Apr 7, 2009
Messages
241 (0.08/day)
Likes
18
Location
Perth, Australia
System Name SexMachine
Processor Intel i5 750 @ 4Ghz 1.29v
Motherboard Asus P7P55D Deluxe
Cooling Prolimatech Mega Shadow
Memory Corsair CM3X2G1600C9DHX 4GBs @ 800Mhz @ 9-9-9-24
Video Card(s) VTx3d 6950 Modded +200 900mhz/1375mhz
Storage 120GB Corsiar Force 3, 2 1TBs, 6 1.5TBs, 3 2TBs
Display(s) BenQ XL2410T & Samsung SyncMaster 2693HM + Dell U2410
Case Lian Li PC-A70FB Black
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar Essence ST
Power Supply CORSAIR 750W TX-750W POWER SUPPLY
Software Microsoft Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit
Benchmark Scores Benchmark ALL THE THINGS
#21
@btarunr, this article is misleading and wrong!
No manufacturer is ever going to sell a product guaranteed to function properly beyond its specifications! That's because reliable operation cannot be accomplished under this scenario.

You've started with:
"a processor overclocks itself in short bursts to handle increased CPU loads". That's true. It means overclocking.

Then you've contradicted yourself with:
"the technology is designed to bump clock speeds by as much as 1.00 GHz over the processor's advertised clock speed, within the processor's TDP headroom".
"within the processor's TDP headroom", this IS NOT overclocking.

The slide is also misleading because it fails to specify the manufacturer's TDP headroom for the "MAX turbo" state, as it doesn't specify that also for the other two states. I believe that's from where you've got the entire article wrong. The slide(proof) is just unprofessional.

You should edit this article.
It is overclocking by the fact that it shuts off half of the cores and boosts the other half so obviously its not going to be over the TDP of the whole processor. the cores by the selves are going over the individual spec of each core but not over the spec over the entire processor

"all cores at a bumped "Turbo" state, or with half the number of cores running at max turbo speeds with up to 1.00 GHz (5.0x BClk multiplier) increase in clock speeds, with the other half the number of cores in C6 state, completely shut off"
 

redzo

New Member
Joined
Nov 21, 2009
Messages
5 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#22
Subbing just to see Btarunr's ownage reply. :laugh:
No. The fist half of the article is completely unprofessional and wrong.

With Intel's introduction of Turbo Boost technology, a new feature was introduced to the industry, where a processor overclocks itself in short bursts to handle increased CPU loads.
http://www.techpowerup.com/img/11-06-14/74a_thm.jpg

Source: DonanimHaber
Intel Turbo Boost is not an overclocking feature. AMD Turbo Core is not an overclocking feature. Yet that's what this quote says. As long as you do not exceed the manufacturer's specified TDP, you do not overclock. A CPU does not overclock by itself and there is no feature like this and there will never be one. Is it that hard to understand?
I'm really not that type of an individual. I do not require a special type of attention. I hope that you've got the point of my first quote. :laugh: ^2
 
Joined
Apr 29, 2008
Messages
742 (0.21/day)
Likes
134
Location
Auckland
System Name PBD
Processor Core i5 760 @ 4.0GHz
Motherboard Asus Maximus III Gene
Cooling Corsair H-50-1
Memory 4 x 4096mb G.Skill Ripjaws 1600 Cas7
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX 670 DirectCU TOP
Storage Crucial 256GB SSD (system) + 2x Samsung F3 1TB (storage) + 2x 2TB Raid-1 NAS (backup)
Display(s) Dell SP2309w 23" 2048x1152
Case Antec Max Fusion Remote
Power Supply Corsair AX750W
Software Win 7 Pro x64
#23
@btarunr, this article is misleading and wrong!
No manufacturer is ever going to sell a product guaranteed to function properly beyond its specifications! That's because reliable operation cannot be accomplished under this scenario.

You've started with:
"a processor overclocks itself in short bursts to handle increased CPU loads". That's true. It means overclocking.

Then you've contradicted yourself with:
"the technology is designed to bump clock speeds by as much as 1.00 GHz over the processor's advertised clock speed, within the processor's TDP headroom".
"within the processor's TDP headroom", this IS NOT overclocking.

The slide is also misleading because it fails to specify the manufacturer's TDP headroom for the "MAX turbo" state, as it doesn't specify that also for the other two states. I believe that's from where you've got the entire article wrong. The slide(proof) is just unprofessional.

You should edit this article.
No. The fist half of the article is completely unprofessional and wrong.

Intel Turbo Boost is not an overclocking feature. AMD Turbo Core is not an overclocking feature. Yet that's what this quote says. As long as you do not exceed the manufacturer's specified TDP, you do not overclock. A CPU does not overclock by itself and there is no feature like this and there will never be one. Is it that hard to understand?
I'm really not that type of an individual. I do not require a special type of attention. I hope that you've got the point of my first quote. :laugh: ^2

Frequency bump = overclock; regardless of whether it stays within the TDP or not. You don't get to define what an overclock is and isn't.

Apart from that. Can't wait till these hit the reviewer's desks. :toast:
 
Joined
Jul 2, 2010
Messages
4,012 (1.47/day)
Likes
630
Location
UK
System Name PC
Processor AMD FX 8320E @4.3ghz
Motherboard Asrock 970 extreme3
Cooling Phanteks PH-TC12DX, 3 x NZXT FN 140mm, 1x NZXT FV V2 120mm
Memory 8GB Corsair Vengeance Blue 1600mhz
Video Card(s) ASUS R9 290 DCII-OC 4GB
Storage 128GB Kingston V200 SSD 1TB WD Blue, 750GB Maxtor
Display(s) LG 27MB85Z 27" 1440p
Case NZXT Source 340
Power Supply Thermaltake 675w
Mouse Logitech G500S
Keyboard Logitech G510S
Software Windows 8.1 64 bit
#24
Frequency bump = overclock; regardless of whether it stays within the TDP or not. You don't get to define what an overclock is and isn't.
an overclock is operating a part outside the manufacturer rated frequency, if the manufacture is making it do these frequency its not an overclock, just an upclock

Overclocking is the process of running a computer component at a higher clock rate (more clock cycles per second) than it was designed for or was specified by the manufacturer
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Overclocking

its not running it at a higher clock speed then it was designed or specified for as the manufacture designed and specified these to go up to 1ghz higher on demand

its less of an overclock, more just 'speed-step' and 'cool and quiet' in reverse (clock speed and voltage increase instead of decrease)

AS you said GUMPTY, we don't get to define a word, but we don't need to, as its already been done
 
Joined
Apr 29, 2008
Messages
742 (0.21/day)
Likes
134
Location
Auckland
System Name PBD
Processor Core i5 760 @ 4.0GHz
Motherboard Asus Maximus III Gene
Cooling Corsair H-50-1
Memory 4 x 4096mb G.Skill Ripjaws 1600 Cas7
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX 670 DirectCU TOP
Storage Crucial 256GB SSD (system) + 2x Samsung F3 1TB (storage) + 2x 2TB Raid-1 NAS (backup)
Display(s) Dell SP2309w 23" 2048x1152
Case Antec Max Fusion Remote
Power Supply Corsair AX750W
Software Win 7 Pro x64
#25
an overclock is operating a part outside the manufacturer rated frequency, if the manufacture is making it do these frequency its not an overclock, just an upclock



http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Overclocking

its not running it at a higher clock speed then it was designed or specified for as the manufacture designed and specified these to go up to 1ghz higher on demand

its less of an overclock, more just 'speed-step' and 'cool and quiet' in reverse (clock speed and voltage increase instead of decrease)

AS you said GUMPTY, we don't get to define a word, but we don't need to, as its already been done
Yeah, quite right. But surely TDP is irrelevant to the bounds of a theoretical overclock, which I thought was what Redzo was insinuating.