• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

FX Turbo Core Technology Bumps Frequency by 1.00 GHz

Bo$$

Lab Extraordinaire
Joined
May 7, 2009
Messages
5,626 (1.79/day)
Likes
971
Location
London, UK
System Name Desktop | Server
Processor Intel i7 2700k @ 4.4GHZ | AMD 5350 @ 2500MHZ
Motherboard Asus P7Z77-V Pro | Asus AM1I-A
Cooling GeLID Tranquilo | Stock Air
Memory Crucial Ballistix 2x8GB CL8 1600MHZ | Corsair Vengence 2x4GB CL9 1600MHZ
Video Card(s) Gainward GTX 780 Phantom GLH | PNY GTX 750Ti
Storage Samsung 840 EVO 250GB + 4TB WD Red | 2x Seagate Barracuda 2TB
Display(s) Samsung S27D390H + Asus VE276Q | Headless
Case Fractal Design R5 | CM Elite 110
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar D1 w/Otone Stilo 5.1 and Creative Fatal1ty headset
Power Supply EVGA Supernova 850 G2| Corsair CX430M
Mouse Razer Imperator 2012
Keyboard Corsair K90
Software Windows 7 SP1 X64 | Ubuntu 16.04LTS
#26
well the definition of overclocking came about before this turbo boost, so it is opinion whether it is or not, i agree with GUMPTY, freq bump = overclocking

for instance if i set all the cores at the 'turbo boost' frequency 24/7 does that still count as overclocking, yes! because the stock speed is not what the manufacturer intended even though it does this speed by itself!
 
Joined
Jul 17, 2009
Messages
921 (0.30/day)
Likes
123
Location
SouthERN Africa
System Name inferKNIGHT
Processor Intel Core i5-4590
Motherboard MSI Z97i Gaming AC
Cooling Corsair H100i
Memory 2 x 4GB DDR3-1866 Crucial Ballistix Tactical Tracer (R/G)
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX 970 STRIX 3.5GB (+0.5GB? o.O)
Storage 1 x 256GB Cricial M550, 1 x 2TB Samsung 7200.12
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster T260
Case Corsair Obsidian 250D
Power Supply Corsair RM750
Software Windows 8.1.1 pro x64
#27
it is displaying 16 cores hint hint :p
I also noticed that there are 16 bars and wonder what it means, whether is brings the credibility into question or otherwise.
I'm guessing these turbo speeds will only be possible with a default CPU speed.

Thats fine by me. Running your CPU at 100% all the time with high voltage is dead......energy efficiency and dynamic overclocking is the future!!

@btarunr, this article is misleading and wrong!
No manufacturer is ever going to sell a product guaranteed to function properly beyond its specifications! That's because reliable operation cannot be accomplished under this scenario.

You've started with:
"a processor overclocks itself in short bursts to handle increased CPU loads". That's true. It means overclocking.

Then you've contradicted yourself with:
"the technology is designed to bump clock speeds by as much as 1.00 GHz over the processor's advertised clock speed, within the processor's TDP headroom".
"within the processor's TDP headroom", this IS NOT overclocking.

The slide is also misleading because it fails to specify the manufacturer's TDP headroom for the "MAX turbo" state, as it doesn't specify that also for the other two states. I believe that's from where you've got the entire article wrong. The slide(proof) is just unprofessional.

You should edit this article.
It goes over the default clock, over-clock... seems pretty straight forward to me.
I would think that if the term overclocking was directed at the voltage/power it would be over-volt or over-power/watt, so your argument is trying to cling onto a fringe element of the definition of overclocking and put an excessive spotlight on it, IMHO.:ohwell:
 
Joined
Dec 8, 2008
Messages
1,334 (0.41/day)
Likes
163
#28
If the only constraint is thermal output and power supply line, it would be nerfing a high power unit to fit a pre-determined power envelop instead of boosting a lower power unit. I agree it's not overclock if it's designed to run that way.
 

btarunr

Editor & Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 9, 2007
Messages
34,332 (9.23/day)
Likes
17,427
Location
Hyderabad, India
System Name Long shelf-life potato
Processor Intel Core i7-4770K
Motherboard ASUS Z97-A
Cooling Xigmatek Aegir CPU Cooler
Memory 16GB Kingston HyperX Beast DDR3-1866
Video Card(s) 2x GeForce GTX 970 SLI
Storage ADATA SU800 512GB
Display(s) Samsung U28D590D 28-inch 4K
Case Cooler Master CM690 Window
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster Recon3D PCIe
Power Supply Corsair HX850W
Mouse Razer Abyssus 2014
Keyboard Microsoft Sidewinder X4
Software Windows 10 Pro Creators Update
#29
@btarunr, this article is misleading and wrong!
No manufacturer is ever going to sell a product guaranteed to function properly beyond its specifications! That's because reliable operation cannot be accomplished under this scenario.
It is within its specifications for some FX processor models to bump clock speeds of some cores by up to 5.0x BClk.

You've started with:
"a processor overclocks itself in short bursts to handle increased CPU loads". That's true. It means overclocking.

Then you've contradicted yourself with:
"the technology is designed to bump clock speeds by as much as 1.00 GHz over the processor's advertised clock speed, within the processor's TDP headroom".
"within the processor's TDP headroom", this IS NOT overclocking.
Breaking news: the processor can overclock certain cores at the expense of other cores being sent into low-power state, and stay within the thermal envelope.

Wait...it's been that way since Core i7 920...since 2008.

The slide is also misleading because it fails to specify the manufacturer's TDP headroom for the "MAX turbo" state, as it doesn't specify that also for the other two states.
It need not specify the manufacturer's TDP headroom, because it remains constant between all states. Max turbo doesn't violate it, either. It just runs some of the cores at higher clock speeds at the expense of other cores being almost gated.

@btarunr, this article is misleading and wrong!

I believe that's from where you've got the entire article wrong. The slide(proof) is just unprofessional.

You should edit this article.
No.
 
Joined
Jun 3, 2007
Messages
22,400 (5.82/day)
Likes
8,922
Location
'Merica. The Great SOUTH!
System Name The Mailbox 4.5
Processor Intel i7 2600k @ 4.2GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte Z77X-UP5 TH Intel LGA 1155
Cooling Scythe Katana 4
Memory G.SKILL Sniper Series 16GB DDR3 1866: 9-9-9-24
Video Card(s) MSI 1080 "Duke" with 8Gb of RAM. Boost Clock 1847 MHz
Storage 256Gb M4 SSD, 500Gb WD (7200) 128Gb Agelity 4 SSD
Display(s) LG 29" Class 21:9 UltraWide® IPS LED Monitor 2560 x 1080
Case Cooler Master 922 HAF
Audio Device(s) SupremeFX X-Fi with Bose Companion 2 speakers.
Power Supply SeaSonic X Series X650 Gold
Mouse SteelSeries Sensei (RAW) and a Wacom Intuos 4 tablet.
Keyboard Razer BlackWidow
Software Windows 10 Pro (64-bit)
Benchmark Scores Benching is for bitches.
#30
It is within its specifications for some FX processor models to bump clock speeds of some cores by up to 5.0x BClk.



Breaking news: the processor can overclock certain cores at the expense of other cores being sent into low-power state, and stay within the thermal envelope.

Wait...it's been that way since Core i7 920...since 2008.



It need not specify the manufacturer's TDP headroom, because it remains constant between all states. Max turbo doesn't violate it, either. It just runs some of the cores at higher clock speeds at the expense of other cores being almost gated.



No.
btarunr....I wouldn't bother....

 
Joined
Apr 21, 2010
Messages
142 (0.05/day)
Likes
19
Location
Perth, Australia
Processor Phenom II X6 1055 @3290/3760Mhz 1.375 HT@2115 NB@2350
Motherboard GA-880GM-usb3 (seems to dislike bclk of over 235)
Cooling Scythe Big Shiruken + TR 1300rpm 140mm
Memory G.Skill Ripjaw 4GB 8-9-8-24-32 1T @1566mhz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte 6850 @875mhz gpu 1150mhz memory
Storage G.Skill Evo 115GB, Seagate 7200.11 1TB, WD Green 5400 1TB
Display(s) LG Flatron E2240V
Case Lian Li V352
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC 892
Power Supply Seasonic X-650
Software Win 7 Ult 64bit
#31
@btarunr
redzo is debating the use of the word overclock which he/she insists is only when you exceed the tdp of the processor, im not sure what you'd use instead to decribe whats happening, clock boosts, turbo clocks... :laugh:
personally does it really matter. the cpu now dynamically clocks up as well as down. it overclocks and downclocks.. sounds right to me.
 

btarunr

Editor & Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 9, 2007
Messages
34,332 (9.23/day)
Likes
17,427
Location
Hyderabad, India
System Name Long shelf-life potato
Processor Intel Core i7-4770K
Motherboard ASUS Z97-A
Cooling Xigmatek Aegir CPU Cooler
Memory 16GB Kingston HyperX Beast DDR3-1866
Video Card(s) 2x GeForce GTX 970 SLI
Storage ADATA SU800 512GB
Display(s) Samsung U28D590D 28-inch 4K
Case Cooler Master CM690 Window
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster Recon3D PCIe
Power Supply Corsair HX850W
Mouse Razer Abyssus 2014
Keyboard Microsoft Sidewinder X4
Software Windows 10 Pro Creators Update
#32
@btarunr
redzo is debating the use of the word overclock which he/she insists is only when you exceed the tdp of the processor, im not sure what you'd use instead to decribe whats happening, clock boosts, turbo clocks... :laugh:
personally does it really matter. the cpu now dynamically clocks up as well as down. it overclocks and downclocks.. sounds right to me.
Overclocking of any form doesn't necessarily violate the manufacturer's prescribed TDP. In this context, the processor is setting speeds higher than its default (advertised, nominal) clock speeds, and it's kosher to use the word 'overclock' to describe what's going on.
 

wolf

Performance Enthusiast
Joined
May 7, 2007
Messages
5,576 (1.44/day)
Likes
864
System Name MightyX (MITX)
Processor Core i7 4770K @ 4.2ghz
Motherboard Asus Z87i-Pro
Cooling Noctua NH-L12
Memory 16gb DDR3 1600 LP
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX1080 G1 OC
Storage Lots of SSD's
Display(s) AOC AGON AG352QCX
Case Raven RVZ-01
Power Supply SFX 450 G
Mouse Razer Mamba Tournament Chroma
Keyboard Razer Blackwidow X Chroma
#33
this is a formidable mhz increase for sure, great to see AMD with the headroom to bump up the speed in such increments.

Intel will be very quick to follow suit IMO. remember SB chips are at a TDP of only 95w, they could have some insanely agressive turbo boost speeds if they released 125w chips. and I beleive still a fair amount more headroom even at 95w.

the war is on and this round is gunna be awesome people... benches already!!!
 
Joined
Apr 1, 2008
Messages
2,817 (0.79/day)
Likes
604
System Name HTC's System
Processor Ryzen 5 1600
Motherboard Asrock Taichi
Cooling NH-C14
Memory G.Skill Kit 16GB DDR4 F4 - 3200 C16D - 16 GTZB
Video Card(s) Sapphire Nitro+ Radeon RX 480 OC 4 GB
Storage 2 * Samsung 1 TB HD103UJ
Display(s) LG 27UD58
Case Corsair Obsidian 650D
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair TX750
Mouse Logitech Performance MX
Software Ubuntu 16.04 LTS
#34
I have a few questions:

1 - If the CPU OCs itself within the TDP, how does one manually OC: raise the TDP in BIOS or something?

2 - Can the reverse of 1 happen too (reduce the TDP, instead of increasing it)?

3 - If one OCs the CPU, can the turbo still work (yes but with smaller boost / not @ all)?


That all, for now.
 

btarunr

Editor & Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 9, 2007
Messages
34,332 (9.23/day)
Likes
17,427
Location
Hyderabad, India
System Name Long shelf-life potato
Processor Intel Core i7-4770K
Motherboard ASUS Z97-A
Cooling Xigmatek Aegir CPU Cooler
Memory 16GB Kingston HyperX Beast DDR3-1866
Video Card(s) 2x GeForce GTX 970 SLI
Storage ADATA SU800 512GB
Display(s) Samsung U28D590D 28-inch 4K
Case Cooler Master CM690 Window
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster Recon3D PCIe
Power Supply Corsair HX850W
Mouse Razer Abyssus 2014
Keyboard Microsoft Sidewinder X4
Software Windows 10 Pro Creators Update
#35
I have a few questions:

1 - If the CPU OCs itself within the TDP, how does one manually OC: raise the TDP in BIOS or something?

2 - Can the reverse of 1 happen too (reduce the TDP, instead of increasing it)?

3 - If one OCs the CPU, can the turbo still work (yes but with smaller boost / not @ all)?


That all, for now.
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Thermal_design_power
 

Thatguy

New Member
Joined
Nov 24, 2010
Messages
666 (0.26/day)
Likes
68
#37
AMD is really getting alot of interest with these little snipet releases of info. I must say, the intel trolls are strong lately.lets just hope that amd isn't a cock tease.
 
Joined
Feb 8, 2011
Messages
44 (0.02/day)
Likes
8
Processor 955 BE C2 currently @ 3.8GHz
Motherboard M4A785TD-V EVO AM3
Cooling XSPC Rasa 750
Memory A-DATA 4 x 2GB DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) x2 Crossfire SAPPHIRE 6950(Flashed to 6970)
Storage Western Digital Caviar Black 1TB 7200 RPM
Power Supply Corsair 850HX
Software Windows 7 x64
#38
an overclock is operating a part outside the manufacturer rated frequency, if the manufacture is making it do these frequency its not an overclock, just an upclock



http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Overclocking

its not running it at a higher clock speed then it was designed or specified for as the manufacture designed and specified these to go up to 1ghz higher on demand

its less of an overclock, more just 'speed-step' and 'cool and quiet' in reverse (clock speed and voltage increase instead of decrease)

AS you said GUMPTY, we don't get to define a word, but we don't need to, as its already been done
upclock and overclock as I see it are two words with the same meaning, just like how cool n quiet downclocks to save energy and lower temps by lowering the clock speed, it's considered downclocking although it's specified by what ever manufacturer, so why would the same not apply to overclocking? If the manufacturer is stating a clock speed of x and there's a turbo function that allows you to go >x isnt that going over such clock speed thus an over-clock :ohwell: just my $0.02
 
Joined
Sep 7, 2010
Messages
482 (0.18/day)
Likes
29
Location
baghdad/iraq
Processor intel i5 2500k,atom280@1930mhz
Motherboard msi h61
Cooling i have cooler master V8 but now im on stock :P
Memory team group elite 2x2 1600 @1333 7 7 7 20
Video Card(s) sapphere 5850 toxic@900/1250
Storage WD 1TB green 5400 32mb ,WD 250gb 7200/8mb
Display(s) HP 22" 1680x1050 hdmi
Case asus vento
Audio Device(s) creative XFi fatality+creative gigaworksG500 5.1
Power Supply cooler master gx 750
Software win7,64bit
#39
be prepared for 4ghz + wars
 

Thatguy

New Member
Joined
Nov 24, 2010
Messages
666 (0.26/day)
Likes
68
#40
be prepared for 4ghz + wars
I think AMD though behind on process likely has just the right acrhitecture to fight that fight. Clock speed is process and design, not just process. I do like the fact the AMD went and designed a entirely new architecture while intel just rehashed the p3 into the new cores.
 
Joined
Apr 5, 2005
Messages
6,571 (1.42/day)
Likes
1,164
Location
Republic of Asia (a.k.a Irvine), CA
System Name Red Spy
Processor FX 8350 @ 4.35 Ghz with 1.28v
Motherboard Gigabyte 990FX-UD3 v4.0
Cooling TT Water 3.0 Performer + 2 x Cougar 120mm fan, 1 x 120mm Blue LED, 1 x 200 mm Red LED fan
Memory Kingston HyperX DDR3 1333 16GB
Video Card(s) Asus R9 290 OC @ GPU - 1050, MEM - 1300
Storage ADATA 128GB Sata III SSD for OS, WDC Black - 1TB Storage, OCZ Vertex 3 120GB SSD - Games
Display(s) AOC 23" 1080P LCD
Case AeroCool XPredator X3
Audio Device(s) Built-in Realtek
Power Supply Corsair HX1000 Modular
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64 bit
Benchmark Scores BF4 with Mantle on Ultra settings gets around 60 FPS.
#41
Joined
Apr 21, 2008
Messages
5,230 (1.48/day)
Likes
661
Location
IRAQ-Baghdad
System Name MASTER
Processor Core i7 3930k run at 4.4ghz
Motherboard Asus Rampage IV extreme
Cooling Corsair H100i
Memory 4x4G kingston hyperx beast 2400mhz
Video Card(s) 2X EVGA GTX680
Storage 2X Crusial M4 256g raid0, 1TbWD g, 2x500 WD B
Display(s) Samsung 27' 1080P LED 3D monitior 2ms
Case CoolerMaster Chosmos II
Audio Device(s) Creative sound blaster X-FI Titanum champion,Creative speakers 7.1 T7900
Power Supply Corsair 1200i, Logitch G500 Mouse, headset Corsair vengeance 1500
Software Win7 64bit Ultimate
Benchmark Scores 3d mark 2011: testing
#42
WTF, is this intel black addition cpu?
 
Joined
Apr 1, 2008
Messages
2,817 (0.79/day)
Likes
604
System Name HTC's System
Processor Ryzen 5 1600
Motherboard Asrock Taichi
Cooling NH-C14
Memory G.Skill Kit 16GB DDR4 F4 - 3200 C16D - 16 GTZB
Video Card(s) Sapphire Nitro+ Radeon RX 480 OC 4 GB
Storage 2 * Samsung 1 TB HD103UJ
Display(s) LG 27UD58
Case Corsair Obsidian 650D
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair TX750
Mouse Logitech Performance MX
Software Ubuntu 16.04 LTS
Joined
May 16, 2011
Messages
1,430 (0.59/day)
Likes
460
Location
A frozen turdberg.
System Name Runs Smooth
Processor FX 8350
Motherboard Crosshair V Formula Z
Cooling Corsair H110 with AeroCool Shark 140mm fans
Memory 16GB G-skill Trident X 1866 Cl. 8
Video Card(s) HIS 7970 IceQ X² GHZ Edition
Storage OCZ Vector 256GB SSD & 1Tb piece of crap
Display(s) acer H243H
Case NZXT Phantom 820 matte black
Audio Device(s) Nada
Power Supply NZXT Hale90 V2 850 watt
Software Windows 7 Pro
Benchmark Scores Lesbians are hot!!!
#44
Joined
Oct 29, 2009
Messages
2,516 (0.85/day)
Likes
757
System Name Nightblade / Dell Latitude / Wife's Rig
Processor Core i5 4690K / i7 2720QM / FX-6100
Motherboard Nightblade ITX z97 / Dell 032T9K QM67 / Gigabyte GA-970A-DS3 Rev3
Cooling tower style cooler, plus one 120mm fan / stock blower / CNPS7000V
Memory Patriot Viper 2x8gb DDR3 2400 / Micron 2x4GB DDR3 / 2x4GB 2x2GB DDR3 1333
Video Card(s) MSI Gaming GTX 970 4GB / NVS 4200M 512MB / nVidia GTX 460 1GB
Storage 120GB ForceGT SSD (OS), 2TB WD Black, 250GB Seagate 2.5in / 320GB WD Blue /240GB SSD M500
Display(s) ASUS ROG SWIFT 1440P / Dell 14in @ 1600x900 / Vizio 1080p TV
Case MSI Nightblade Z97 / Dell Latitude / Corsair Full Tower
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC1150, Microsoft Lifechat 3000 / Intel / ALC887
Power Supply Gold rated 600W / Battery with 95w brick / Antec EA-650 Green
Mouse MadCatz RAT5
Keyboard G510
Software Windows 10 Pro x64 on all
#45
@redzo

i would say TDP has nothing to do with overclocking... but that'd be wrong so i'll say that not going over the TDP doesn't mean you're not going over the default clock speed of a cpu core/s. Yes is a lot of cases when you overclock all the cores of a cpu at the same time you're probably going to go past the TDP. all that really means though is that you need a bigger cooling system for the cpu and double check that your PSU can handle it. TDP isn't something set in stone either, since even at stock speeds the cpu could use more but often doesn't. I guess you could say its more or less a guideline for the cpu's power usage and cooling requirements when running at stock speeds. with this tech from AMD it temporarily boosts clock speeds by *up to* 1Ghz depending on the work load. It shuts off half the cores when the first half are clocked at 1ghz over their stock speed. in this case the first set of cores are overclocked by 1ghz while the others are turned off since they're probably not being used by the app that's putting the heavy load on the first set anyway (otherwise that app would have distributed its load evenly to the other cores and there would be no need to overclock). since you're only powering, lets say 2 of 4 cores, at 4ghz vs 4 at 3ghz, your actually going to be below TDP while still overclocking 2 cores. think about it. which would use more power? 4 cores at 3ghz, or 2 cores at 4ghz?

or lets simplify that to something easier to understand. you have a large room with a light fixture that has 4 sockets and a 4way switch per socket (high, med, low, off), 2 on each side, and can handle 425watts. you put 4 3-way bulbs in there to light the whole room. well you decide to run them at 100watt(lets call this default clock) for every-day use giving sufficient lighting and yet use not as much power if they were at 150watt b/c the fixture is wired to handle no more than 425w(lets call this TDP). well you decide to do some work that requires a lot of light but you're only going to be in one-half of the room. so you decide to unscrew 2 of the 4 3-way bulbs (lets say they're in C6) and set the other 2 at 150watts(overclock). you have brigher light for the project you're working on in that half of the room (or more processing power for a task that can only use 2 cores) and you are only using 300w of the 425w TDP.

hope this helps... i'm sure there's a better way to explain it... but that's the best analogy i could think of (was going to use car engines but i figured bulbs would be easier to understand)
 
Last edited:

Heavy_MG

New Member
Joined
May 18, 2011
Messages
48 (0.02/day)
Likes
9
System Name Insert cool name here
Processor AMD Phenom II X6 1090T 3.8Ghz,NB 3.0Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte 890GPA-UD3H REV 2.1
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212+
Memory G. Skill Ripjaws X DDR3 1600Mhz CL8
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX560Ti OC Windforce 2X
Storage Corsair F60 / WD Caviar Black 1TB
Display(s) HP S2031
Case Cooler Master HAF922
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek ALC899A
Power Supply Antec EA650
Software Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit
#47
Joined
Apr 21, 2010
Messages
4,621 (1.65/day)
Likes
1,992
Location
Redditch, Worcestershire, England
System Name RyZen Reynolds
Processor Ryzen 1600 6c/12t -3.8Ghz@1.26v
Motherboard Asrock AB350m
Cooling Wraith Spire
Memory 16GB DDR4 2800
Video Card(s) PNY GTX 780 Ti
Storage Seagate 1TB - 128GB SSD
Display(s) BenQ G2420HD
Case Corsair Carbide Series SPEC-01
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair VS 550w
Mouse Zalman ZM-M401R
Keyboard Razor Lycosa
Software Windows 10 Home x64
#48

Heavy_MG

New Member
Joined
May 18, 2011
Messages
48 (0.02/day)
Likes
9
System Name Insert cool name here
Processor AMD Phenom II X6 1090T 3.8Ghz,NB 3.0Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte 890GPA-UD3H REV 2.1
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212+
Memory G. Skill Ripjaws X DDR3 1600Mhz CL8
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX560Ti OC Windforce 2X
Storage Corsair F60 / WD Caviar Black 1TB
Display(s) HP S2031
Case Cooler Master HAF922
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek ALC899A
Power Supply Antec EA650
Software Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit
#49
Took me 4 times of reading it to figure it out lmao, keep looking :toast:
Hahahahaha,found it. :laugh:

I'm gonna assume that spec sheet is from Bestbuy.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Dec 8, 2008
Messages
1,334 (0.41/day)
Likes
163
#50
I think AMD though behind on process likely has just the right acrhitecture to fight that fight. Clock speed is process and design, not just process. I do like the fact the AMD went and designed a entirely new architecture while intel just rehashed the p3 into the new cores.
So is Netburst.