1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

FX Turbo Core Technology Bumps Frequency by 1.00 GHz

Discussion in 'News' started by btarunr, Jun 14, 2011.

  1. Bo$$

    Bo$$ Lab Extraordinaire

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Messages:
    5,608 (1.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    959
    Location:
    London, UK
    well the definition of overclocking came about before this turbo boost, so it is opinion whether it is or not, i agree with GUMPTY, freq bump = overclocking

    for instance if i set all the cores at the 'turbo boost' frequency 24/7 does that still count as overclocking, yes! because the stock speed is not what the manufacturer intended even though it does this speed by itself!
     
  2. inferKNOX

    inferKNOX

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2009
    Messages:
    921 (0.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    123
    Location:
    SouthERN Africa
    I also noticed that there are 16 bars and wonder what it means, whether is brings the credibility into question or otherwise.
    [​IMG]
    It goes over the default clock, over-clock... seems pretty straight forward to me.
    I would think that if the term overclocking was directed at the voltage/power it would be over-volt or over-power/watt, so your argument is trying to cling onto a fringe element of the definition of overclocking and put an excessive spotlight on it, IMHO.:ohwell:
     
  3. pr0n Inspector

    pr0n Inspector

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2008
    Messages:
    1,334 (0.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    164
    If the only constraint is thermal output and power supply line, it would be nerfing a high power unit to fit a pre-determined power envelop instead of boosting a lower power unit. I agree it's not overclock if it's designed to run that way.
     
  4. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    33,112 (9.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    16,858
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    It is within its specifications for some FX processor models to bump clock speeds of some cores by up to 5.0x BClk.

    Breaking news: the processor can overclock certain cores at the expense of other cores being sent into low-power state, and stay within the thermal envelope.

    Wait...it's been that way since Core i7 920...since 2008.

    It need not specify the manufacturer's TDP headroom, because it remains constant between all states. Max turbo doesn't violate it, either. It just runs some of the cores at higher clock speeds at the expense of other cores being almost gated.

    No.
     
    ArchStupid, b82rez, wolf and 1 other person say thanks.
  5. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    22,028 (6.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8,742
    btarunr....I wouldn't bother....

    [​IMG]
     
    Damn_Smooth and AsRock say thanks.
  6. bucketface

    bucketface New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    142 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    19
    Location:
    Perth, Australia
    @btarunr
    redzo is debating the use of the word overclock which he/she insists is only when you exceed the tdp of the processor, im not sure what you'd use instead to decribe whats happening, clock boosts, turbo clocks... :laugh:
    personally does it really matter. the cpu now dynamically clocks up as well as down. it overclocks and downclocks.. sounds right to me.
     
  7. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    33,112 (9.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    16,858
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    Overclocking of any form doesn't necessarily violate the manufacturer's prescribed TDP. In this context, the processor is setting speeds higher than its default (advertised, nominal) clock speeds, and it's kosher to use the word 'overclock' to describe what's going on.
     
    ArchStupid and bucketface say thanks.
  8. wolf

    wolf Performance Enthusiast

    Joined:
    May 7, 2007
    Messages:
    5,573 (1.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    864
    this is a formidable mhz increase for sure, great to see AMD with the headroom to bump up the speed in such increments.

    Intel will be very quick to follow suit IMO. remember SB chips are at a TDP of only 95w, they could have some insanely agressive turbo boost speeds if they released 125w chips. and I beleive still a fair amount more headroom even at 95w.

    the war is on and this round is gunna be awesome people... benches already!!!
     
  9. HTC

    HTC

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2008
    Messages:
    2,532 (0.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    442
    I have a few questions:

    1 - If the CPU OCs itself within the TDP, how does one manually OC: raise the TDP in BIOS or something?

    2 - Can the reverse of 1 happen too (reduce the TDP, instead of increasing it)?

    3 - If one OCs the CPU, can the turbo still work (yes but with smaller boost / not @ all)?


    That all, for now.
     
  10. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    33,112 (9.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    16,858
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Thermal_design_power
     
  11. kirtar New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2010
    Messages:
    42 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
  12. Thatguy New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2010
    Messages:
    666 (0.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    69
    AMD is really getting alot of interest with these little snipet releases of info. I must say, the intel trolls are strong lately.lets just hope that amd isn't a cock tease.
     
  13. aameghoo

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2011
    Messages:
    41 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8
    upclock and overclock as I see it are two words with the same meaning, just like how cool n quiet downclocks to save energy and lower temps by lowering the clock speed, it's considered downclocking although it's specified by what ever manufacturer, so why would the same not apply to overclocking? If the manufacturer is stating a clock speed of x and there's a turbo function that allows you to go >x isnt that going over such clock speed thus an over-clock :ohwell: just my $0.02
     
  14. meran

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2010
    Messages:
    473 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    28
    Location:
    baghdad/iraq
    be prepared for 4ghz + wars
     
  15. Thatguy New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2010
    Messages:
    666 (0.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    69
    I think AMD though behind on process likely has just the right acrhitecture to fight that fight. Clock speed is process and design, not just process. I do like the fact the AMD went and designed a entirely new architecture while intel just rehashed the p3 into the new cores.
     
    Heavy_MG says thanks.
  16. suraswami

    suraswami

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2005
    Messages:
    6,535 (1.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,093
    Location:
    Republic of Asia (a.k.a Irvine), CA
    They are still baking and frying in the Lays factory :laugh: :roll:

    Must have one of these, but wait where is the damn money!
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  17. Hayder_Master

    Hayder_Master

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,228 (1.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    668
    Location:
    IRAQ-Baghdad
    WTF, is this intel black addition cpu?
     
  18. HTC

    HTC

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2008
    Messages:
    2,532 (0.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    442
  19. Damn_Smooth

    Damn_Smooth

    Joined:
    May 16, 2011
    Messages:
    1,436 (0.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    478
    Location:
    A frozen turdberg.
    Would that be something like this?

    [​IMG]
     
  20. xBruce88x

    xBruce88x

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    2,516 (0.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    757
    @redzo

    i would say TDP has nothing to do with overclocking... but that'd be wrong so i'll say that not going over the TDP doesn't mean you're not going over the default clock speed of a cpu core/s. Yes is a lot of cases when you overclock all the cores of a cpu at the same time you're probably going to go past the TDP. all that really means though is that you need a bigger cooling system for the cpu and double check that your PSU can handle it. TDP isn't something set in stone either, since even at stock speeds the cpu could use more but often doesn't. I guess you could say its more or less a guideline for the cpu's power usage and cooling requirements when running at stock speeds. with this tech from AMD it temporarily boosts clock speeds by *up to* 1Ghz depending on the work load. It shuts off half the cores when the first half are clocked at 1ghz over their stock speed. in this case the first set of cores are overclocked by 1ghz while the others are turned off since they're probably not being used by the app that's putting the heavy load on the first set anyway (otherwise that app would have distributed its load evenly to the other cores and there would be no need to overclock). since you're only powering, lets say 2 of 4 cores, at 4ghz vs 4 at 3ghz, your actually going to be below TDP while still overclocking 2 cores. think about it. which would use more power? 4 cores at 3ghz, or 2 cores at 4ghz?

    or lets simplify that to something easier to understand. you have a large room with a light fixture that has 4 sockets and a 4way switch per socket (high, med, low, off), 2 on each side, and can handle 425watts. you put 4 3-way bulbs in there to light the whole room. well you decide to run them at 100watt(lets call this default clock) for every-day use giving sufficient lighting and yet use not as much power if they were at 150watt b/c the fixture is wired to handle no more than 425w(lets call this TDP). well you decide to do some work that requires a lot of light but you're only going to be in one-half of the room. so you decide to unscrew 2 of the 4 3-way bulbs (lets say they're in C6) and set the other 2 at 150watts(overclock). you have brigher light for the project you're working on in that half of the room (or more processing power for a task that can only use 2 cores) and you are only using 300w of the 425w TDP.

    hope this helps... i'm sure there's a better way to explain it... but that's the best analogy i could think of (was going to use car engines but i figured bulbs would be easier to understand)
     
    Last edited: Jun 15, 2011
  21. Thatguy New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2010
    Messages:
    666 (0.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    69
  22. Heavy_MG New Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2011
    Messages:
    48 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10
    Huh?
    QFT.
     
  23. NdMk2o1o

    NdMk2o1o

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    4,357 (1.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,752
    Location:
    Redditch, Worcestershire, England
    Took me 4 times of reading it to figure it out lmao, keep looking :toast:
     
  24. Heavy_MG New Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2011
    Messages:
    48 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10
    Hahahahaha,found it. :laugh:

    I'm gonna assume that spec sheet is from Bestbuy.
     
    Last edited: Jun 15, 2011
    damric says thanks.
  25. pr0n Inspector

    pr0n Inspector

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2008
    Messages:
    1,334 (0.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    164
    So is Netburst.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)