1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

G SKILL 8 GB 1600MHz - Advice needed

Discussion in 'Motherboards & Memory' started by Hellfire, May 19, 2010.

  1. Hellfire

    Joined:
    May 3, 2010
    Messages:
    566 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    122
    Location:
    Essex, England
    Okay, The PC in my spec's is a custom PC i'm getting built, it originally had Ram I knew above and trusted, good old Corsair, however I just got an Email telling me they've had to upgrade it to this due to low stock,

    "G SKILL 8 GB 1600MHZ" now I don't know the specification or anything about this ram but they've called it a "upgrade" can anyone confirm whether this ram is indeed better (I know I don't have model numbers/type, eg is it the rijaws ram etc (I am trying to find out as we type) but if anyone has any idea/comparison to the ram on my left please let me know.

    But in general is Gskill any good? better or worse or not much difference?
     
  2. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    15,771 (4.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,581
    Location:
    Beaumont, Alberta
    for the computer maker, the GSkill is probably a little bit cheaper, but in the end, it will more than likely perform just as well, if not better. There are only so many chips on teh market ATM.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  3. Hellfire

    Joined:
    May 3, 2010
    Messages:
    566 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    122
    Location:
    Essex, England
    yeah, I'm trying to find out if they're trying to shaft me off, aka was my 8gig of corsair ram more expensive that the Gskill. I think because they've told me no details it is harder to find the exact model/stick.

    From what I can work out it could be any of these, or even some EoL stuff.
    http://www.gskill.com/products.php?c1=1&c2=3&c3=10
     
  4. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    15,771 (4.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,581
    Location:
    Beaumont, Alberta
    Dominators are some of the most expensive ram on the market right now(due to them using thier custom PCB), but it depends...CAS8 isn't that expensive, and the same from GSKilll will more than likely be the exact same thing under the heatspreaders, and might cost $5-$10 less...minor, IMHO.

    Just as long as they don't try putting value rma in, you are all good, IMHO.

    If you are really concerned with the price difference, call 'em up.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  5. Hellfire

    Joined:
    May 3, 2010
    Messages:
    566 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    122
    Location:
    Essex, England
    I have, they don't take phone calls its a case of when I phone they create a support ticket and someone will "call" you back.
     
  6. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    15,771 (4.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,581
    Location:
    Beaumont, Alberta
    Sounds like a joke, to me. Can't talk to someone on the phone? Are they only staffed by three people, or what?


    Anyway, for $5-$10, is it really worth worrying about?
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  7. TIGR

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2008
    Messages:
    2,184 (0.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,030
    Location:
    Minnesota, USA
    G.Skill is fine memory (always test it though, regardless of brand and model), but the Corsair would probably be worth more.

    What company is building this computer?
     
  8. Hellfire

    Joined:
    May 3, 2010
    Messages:
    566 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    122
    Location:
    Essex, England
    Uk based, computerplanet.com,
     
  9. DonInKansas

    DonInKansas

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    Messages:
    5,112 (1.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,294
    Location:
    Kansas
    *Insert required "why not build it yourself and save lots of loot" post here*

    I don't think I'd deal with a company I couldn't get on the phone.
     
    TIGR says thanks.
  10. Hellfire

    Joined:
    May 3, 2010
    Messages:
    566 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    122
    Location:
    Essex, England
    Due to having a 30week pregnant wife, a 3 year old son and working 6 or even 7 days a week, tell me you'd find the time to build a computer in between that

    Also, the costs of the components came to £56.00 less if I bought it myself, but with that They build it for me and I get tech support (not that I'll need it)
     
  11. DonInKansas

    DonInKansas

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    Messages:
    5,112 (1.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,294
    Location:
    Kansas
    I've got 2 kids and 2 jobs and manage just fine. :) But whatever floats your boat. For that kind of money I'd take the hour or two and build it myself, but that's a lot of scratch in my world.
     
  12. TIGR

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2008
    Messages:
    2,184 (0.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,030
    Location:
    Minnesota, USA
    With the time it's taking to post and research on this memory issue, you might come out even on time just building your own—and then you'd have original component warranties and know your system thoroughly. Plus, time is money, and you indicated you don't need the tech support. Might be worth reconsidering, especially given the yellow flags that seem to be popping up about this company (memory switch, difficulty in communications).
     
  13. Hellfire

    Joined:
    May 3, 2010
    Messages:
    566 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    122
    Location:
    Essex, England
    Yeah however I didn't take into consideration shipping as well "oops" so if I ordered the parts it'll cost a lot (I live on an island of the coast of the UK) but I agree, NOW it would've been easier to build but it arrives monday, if I order the parts now I'll be lucky to get them within 7days

    Next time I'll just build but as I've paid for the computer I can't cancel unless they break the terms of the contract, ie. they're late in delivery or faulty etc.

    Shame is, at present I am stuck with this company but they've just contacted me :) so woo.
     
  14. Hellfire

    Joined:
    May 3, 2010
    Messages:
    566 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    122
    Location:
    Essex, England
  15. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    15,771 (4.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,581
    Location:
    Beaumont, Alberta
    1.5v CAS9 1600mhz ain't too shabby...dominators were probably same CAS9, but 1.65v. I'd call that an upgrade too.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  16. Hellfire

    Joined:
    May 3, 2010
    Messages:
    566 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    122
    Location:
    Essex, England
    Last edited: May 19, 2010
  17. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    15,771 (4.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,581
    Location:
    Beaumont, Alberta
    Next time I get pc, I'm buying a Dell. Seriously..., i don't care about the extra cost..I want a full warranty. Nothing wrong with having someone build for ya...
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  18. Hellfire

    Joined:
    May 3, 2010
    Messages:
    566 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    122
    Location:
    Essex, England
    I have/just sold my bro a dell but the form factors they use limit upgrading, they use BTX (or did when I ordered) which means no new cases, etc, Overpriced and no decent Gfx cards for them :(
     
  19. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    15,771 (4.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,581
    Location:
    Beaumont, Alberta
    Dell offers accidental damage warranties...with 4 kids in my house, stuff happens, so I'm willing to pay extra for that bit of security.

    I'd buy nothing other than alienware, and not gonna worry about overclocking. As it is, my system cost me over $2700 anyway, and if something goes wrong, guess who's got to figure it out...with dell, I can have a brand new system @ my door within a couple of days, if there is a hardware failure.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  20. Hellfire

    Joined:
    May 3, 2010
    Messages:
    566 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    122
    Location:
    Essex, England
    ahhh your going for Alienware, sorry when you said Dell, I thought you ment either the XPS or Insperon desktops.
     
  21. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    15,771 (4.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,581
    Location:
    Beaumont, Alberta
    Nah, no office boxes for me...although I do have a cheap inspiron laptop...and having used Dell's warranty service, I cannot help but go that route.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  22. Hellfire

    Joined:
    May 3, 2010
    Messages:
    566 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    122
    Location:
    Essex, England
    Yeah, the only thing I got annoyed with (dunno if it is the same in the states) was the Indian Call centre with the lack of english spoken.
     
  23. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    15,771 (4.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,581
    Location:
    Beaumont, Alberta
    FYI, the call center wasn't in India, and when I worked @ Dell, the call center was in N/A, but had many mid-east nationals working there due to poor work ethic, and crapola for pay(although night-time calls were taken elsewhere than N/A).

    Same with Comcast in the US...

    I mean, things are different now, but don't assume just because the person that answers the phone obviously isn't a native english-speaker, that they are in thier home country...that's just tech support staff period. Only certain pople take that type of job, and hiring practices aren't exactly the best either.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  24. Hellfire

    Joined:
    May 3, 2010
    Messages:
    566 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    122
    Location:
    Essex, England
    Ahh google says Dell closed there indian call centres a few years back (we're talking 7 years ago when I got my first dell (and bought over the phone) since that time I avoided phoning dell and just ordered online.
     
  25. DonInKansas

    DonInKansas

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    Messages:
    5,112 (1.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,294
    Location:
    Kansas
    You sure do have a lot more faith in Dell than most. :laugh:

    Alienware? That's one step away from buying a Mac.
     
    TIGR and JATownes say thanks.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)