• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

GA-X99-UD3 Intel 5820k Overclock hard times

mapata

New Member
Joined
Mar 23, 2019
Messages
5 (0.15/day)
Likes
0
Processor Intel core i7 5820k
Motherboard GIGABYTE GA-X99-UD3
Cooling Cooler Master Seidon 120v
Memory 4x4 Gskill Ripjaws 2166 MHZ
Video Card(s) EVGA 1070 FTW
Storage 1x 240 GB SSD SANDISK , 2 x 2TB WD for storage
Display(s) Samsung BX2431 , Dell S2415H 24-Inch
Case Cooler Master N300
Audio Device(s) Integrated in motherboard
Power Supply Corsair AX 760i
Mouse Logitech G900
Keyboard Logitech MK 700
Software Windows 10
#1
Dear friends,

I would like to ask for your help . I have Gigabyte UD 3 ,5820k , 4x4 GSKILL 2133 mhz and I try to clock it to 4 ghz at least . PC starts to freeze at 3.9ghz .. I try it with 1.2 to 1.25 CPu Voltage but i dont have any luck . PC continues to freeze on games like Witcher 3 and Metro Exodus , Sekiro etc .. I know that this configuration should overclock very easy to 4 GHZ only with multiplier to 40 but it seems that its a problem in my case .Temps are OK i am on water . I am not pro at Advanced tunning and i think the problem is there , I just change multiplier and voltage . I hope there is someone here who could help me .


THANK you in advance !
 
Joined
Oct 22, 2014
Messages
6,974 (4.24/day)
Likes
4,141
Location
Sunshine Coast
System Name Black Box
Processor Intel Xeon E5-2680 10c/20t 2.8GHz @ 3.0GHz
Motherboard Asrock X79 Extreme 11
Cooling Coolermaster 240 RGB A.I.O.
Memory G. Skill 16Gb (4x4Gb) 2133Mhz
Video Card(s) Nvidia GTX 710
Storage Sandisk X 400 256Gb
Display(s) AOC 22" Freesync 1m.s. 75Hz
Case Corsair 450D High Air Flow.
Audio Device(s) No need.
Power Supply FSP Aurum 650W
Mouse Yes
Keyboard Of course
Software W10 Home Premium 64 bit
#2
Try it with 2 sticks of Ram only, it may be an IMC issue.
 

mapata

New Member
Joined
Mar 23, 2019
Messages
5 (0.15/day)
Likes
0
Processor Intel core i7 5820k
Motherboard GIGABYTE GA-X99-UD3
Cooling Cooler Master Seidon 120v
Memory 4x4 Gskill Ripjaws 2166 MHZ
Video Card(s) EVGA 1070 FTW
Storage 1x 240 GB SSD SANDISK , 2 x 2TB WD for storage
Display(s) Samsung BX2431 , Dell S2415H 24-Inch
Case Cooler Master N300
Audio Device(s) Integrated in motherboard
Power Supply Corsair AX 760i
Mouse Logitech G900
Keyboard Logitech MK 700
Software Windows 10
#3
Hello,

I have tried it without success. Forgot to mention that in Intel Extreme Utility Cpu test for 10 min run without a problem .In those games i mention pc freeze usually at the first 1 or 2 min . I have reached 4.3 ghz without a problem in windows chrome youtube etc. But in games freeze after freeze .I am sure that i need to touch something in the advanced tunning but i dont know what :(

Hope to find the answer and again thanks in advance
 
Joined
Oct 22, 2014
Messages
6,974 (4.24/day)
Likes
4,141
Location
Sunshine Coast
System Name Black Box
Processor Intel Xeon E5-2680 10c/20t 2.8GHz @ 3.0GHz
Motherboard Asrock X79 Extreme 11
Cooling Coolermaster 240 RGB A.I.O.
Memory G. Skill 16Gb (4x4Gb) 2133Mhz
Video Card(s) Nvidia GTX 710
Storage Sandisk X 400 256Gb
Display(s) AOC 22" Freesync 1m.s. 75Hz
Case Corsair 450D High Air Flow.
Audio Device(s) No need.
Power Supply FSP Aurum 650W
Mouse Yes
Keyboard Of course
Software W10 Home Premium 64 bit
#4
Firstly fill out your system specs in your profile, this will allow others to help you better instead of constant questioning.
If this occurs under loads such as gaming it can also be a PSU issue, but without knowing what you have we are only guessing.
 
Joined
Sep 10, 2018
Messages
91 (0.40/day)
Likes
73
Location
California
Processor i9 9900k @5ghz
Motherboard Asus Maximus XI Code
Cooling Corsair h150i Pro Push/Pull. 5x Corsair ML120 + 4x Corsair LL120
Memory 32 GB 4x8GB 3466mhz Corsair RGB Pro
Video Card(s) TItan Xp
Storage Samsung 960 evo/Samsung 850 evo
Display(s) Asus ROG PG278QR
Case Corsair 500D SE RGB
Audio Device(s) Arctis Pro + gaming Dac/Corsair sp 2500
Power Supply Seasonic Ultra Prime Titanium 850w
Mouse Logitech G903 Lightspeed
Keyboard Corsair K95 RGB Platinum
Benchmark Scores http://www.3dmark.com/spy/5263931
#5
Hello,

I have tried it without success. Forgot to mention that in Intel Extreme Utility Cpu test for 10 min run without a problem .In those games i mention pc freeze usually at the first 1 or 2 min . I have reached 4.3 ghz without a problem in windows chrome youtube etc. But in games freeze after freeze .I am sure that i need to touch something in the advanced tunning but i dont know what :(

Hope to find the answer and again thanks in advance
10 minutes isn't enough to gauge if something is or isn't stable at least an hour should be ran, or try intel burn test maybe 30 loops. Your motherboard doesn't really look like much of an overclocker and Haswell E uses a ton of power easily 200 watts at higher voltages. Some things you may want to try is raising the LLC level if your motherboards supports that. Also make sure you're using a program to verify the Vcore either hwinfo64 or cpuz. I'm much more familiar with Msi and Asus's x99 bios so hopefully someone else here that has familiarity with gigabytes x99 bios can chime in.
 

mapata

New Member
Joined
Mar 23, 2019
Messages
5 (0.15/day)
Likes
0
Processor Intel core i7 5820k
Motherboard GIGABYTE GA-X99-UD3
Cooling Cooler Master Seidon 120v
Memory 4x4 Gskill Ripjaws 2166 MHZ
Video Card(s) EVGA 1070 FTW
Storage 1x 240 GB SSD SANDISK , 2 x 2TB WD for storage
Display(s) Samsung BX2431 , Dell S2415H 24-Inch
Case Cooler Master N300
Audio Device(s) Integrated in motherboard
Power Supply Corsair AX 760i
Mouse Logitech G900
Keyboard Logitech MK 700
Software Windows 10
#6
Dear forum friends ,

I will give all my pc specs tomorrow . Wanted to mention that clock in games as i said some gaime is not stable in 3.8ghz too . I am going crazy :)) I am thinking that the problem is in that motherboard but who knows . If there is some one specialist in x99 i am sure he can gove me some advice . Thankyou all

See you tomorrow
 
Joined
Feb 6, 2010
Messages
1,278 (0.38/day)
Likes
754
Location
Steel City, UK
System Name Little tiny thin
Processor Xeon e5-1680 v2
Motherboard Asus P9X79 PRO ATX io shield missing motherboard
Cooling AIO
Memory 4x4gb corsair dominator platinum 1866mhz
Video Card(s) 1060 6gb
Storage 1x480ssd 2x2tb
Display(s) 29'' IPS MONITOR
Case open air salvage from bifenix unknown model
Audio Device(s) built in
Power Supply too many.....
Mouse with ball underneath-USB Now with loads of buttons.
Keyboard ps2-USB now with RGB Light
Software WINDOWS 10.1 pro
#7
I'm using 5820k at 4.5ghz with 1.3v on Asus x99 deluxe Motherboard. i can push 5ghz with 1.4v without having probs
15534713541002135690699545265172.jpg
 

mapata

New Member
Joined
Mar 23, 2019
Messages
5 (0.15/day)
Likes
0
Processor Intel core i7 5820k
Motherboard GIGABYTE GA-X99-UD3
Cooling Cooler Master Seidon 120v
Memory 4x4 Gskill Ripjaws 2166 MHZ
Video Card(s) EVGA 1070 FTW
Storage 1x 240 GB SSD SANDISK , 2 x 2TB WD for storage
Display(s) Samsung BX2431 , Dell S2415H 24-Inch
Case Cooler Master N300
Audio Device(s) Integrated in motherboard
Power Supply Corsair AX 760i
Mouse Logitech G900
Keyboard Logitech MK 700
Software Windows 10
#8
Hello ,

I have added my system specs . I am just wondering if the problem is in my motherboard or just the chip cant be oveclocked . Pc freeze is only in gaming mode not random freezes or blue screens . Temps are absolutley normal . AT 4 GHZ overclock i have arround 65C and at Stress Test arround 78 max . I would like to ask if there is some software or anything which can give me answers why i am freezeing .?:)) Thanks in advance and i hope that with your help i will be able to fix that problem .Have a great day
 
Joined
Mar 18, 2008
Messages
4,155 (1.02/day)
Likes
3,260
System Name Virtual Reality / Bioinformatics
Processor Undead CPU
Motherboard Undead TUF X99
Cooling Noctua NH-D15
Memory GSkill 128GB DDR4-3000
Video Card(s) EVGA 2080Ti
Storage Samsung 960 Pro 1TB + 860 EVO 2TB + WD Black 5TB
Display(s) Acer K272HUL, HTC Vive
Case Fractal Design R5
Audio Device(s) BOSE 2.0
Power Supply Seasonic 850watt
Mouse Logitech Master MX
Keyboard Corsair K70 Cherry MX Blue
Software Windows 10 Professional/Linux Mint
#9
What is your load-line calibration settings at? I would do manual mode vcore at 1.2V with LLC at level 2 or level 3. Change CPU input to 1.85V. Meanwhile make sure your temps are OK.
 

mapata

New Member
Joined
Mar 23, 2019
Messages
5 (0.15/day)
Likes
0
Processor Intel core i7 5820k
Motherboard GIGABYTE GA-X99-UD3
Cooling Cooler Master Seidon 120v
Memory 4x4 Gskill Ripjaws 2166 MHZ
Video Card(s) EVGA 1070 FTW
Storage 1x 240 GB SSD SANDISK , 2 x 2TB WD for storage
Display(s) Samsung BX2431 , Dell S2415H 24-Inch
Case Cooler Master N300
Audio Device(s) Integrated in motherboard
Power Supply Corsair AX 760i
Mouse Logitech G900
Keyboard Logitech MK 700
Software Windows 10
#10
I switched Ram on different slots ... For now i have stable clock .. WTF .. Didnt work with only 2 but working with 4 rams mixed on slots...I cant believe ..
 
Joined
Feb 6, 2010
Messages
1,278 (0.38/day)
Likes
754
Location
Steel City, UK
System Name Little tiny thin
Processor Xeon e5-1680 v2
Motherboard Asus P9X79 PRO ATX io shield missing motherboard
Cooling AIO
Memory 4x4gb corsair dominator platinum 1866mhz
Video Card(s) 1060 6gb
Storage 1x480ssd 2x2tb
Display(s) 29'' IPS MONITOR
Case open air salvage from bifenix unknown model
Audio Device(s) built in
Power Supply too many.....
Mouse with ball underneath-USB Now with loads of buttons.
Keyboard ps2-USB now with RGB Light
Software WINDOWS 10.1 pro
Joined
Feb 22, 2019
Messages
169 (2.68/day)
Likes
170
System Name Goliath
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 2700X @ 4.1GHz (all cores)
Motherboard ASUS Crosshair VI Hero
Cooling Custom water
Memory G.SKILL Trident Z RGB 3200MHz C14 @ 3400 C14
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1080 Ti FTW3 under water
Storage Samsung SM951 256GB + 860 EVO 1TB
Display(s) ASUS ROG PG278Q
Case Fractal Design R6 Tempered Glass
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply EVGA SuperNOVA P2 1200w
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Cooler Master Master Keys Pro L
Software Win 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores I only game on this system... built for silence, not absolute max performance. ;)
#12
On mixed slots? That's not exactly optimal...

What IMC volts are you trying to use? 2133 isn't exactly hard to drive...
 
Top