• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Gainward hd4850 Golden sample fixed by bios update?

katsuru

New Member
Joined
Oct 25, 2008
Messages
53 (0.02/day)
Likes
1
#1
Hello guys,

I changed my mobo and cpu, and my GPU started acting weird, with blackscreens, and strips/crashes while benching/gaming, i was reading around and i found out someone had similiar problem as me and with bios update, he solved it.


my bios version is 11.007, on Techpowerup bios collection, there is a 11.008 for Gainward Golden Sample HD 4850.


Do you think my Gfx would be back to normal, if i flash the bios?


Thanks
 

Solaris17

Creator Solaris Utility DVD
Joined
Aug 16, 2005
Messages
19,262 (4.28/day)
Likes
6,067
Location
Florida
System Name Not named yet
Processor I5 7640x 5Ghz 24/7
Motherboard MSI x299 Tomahawk Arctic
Cooling Corsair H55
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4 3000mhz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte 1080TI
Storage 2x Seagate 3TB Drives (RAID 0) 1x Seagate 256GB SSD 1x Adata 120GB SSD
Display(s) 3x AOC Q2577PWQ
Case Inwin 303 White (Thermaltake Ring 120mm Purple accent)
Audio Device(s) Onboard on Audio-Technica ATH-AG1
Power Supply Seasonic 1050W Snow
Mouse Roccat Tyon White
Keyboard Ducky Shine 6
Software Windows 10 x64 Pro
#3
It might but you need to make sure that your psu can handle all the new equip and if you went from AMD> intel or vs a vs than you will need to reformat windows that or say if you went from a really old intel/AMD platform and upgraded to a new one you would need to reformat...other than that double check connections maybe clean up the system defrag reg clean new drivers etc.
 

erocker

Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 19, 2006
Messages
42,375 (10.17/day)
Likes
18,019
Processor Intel i7 8700k
Motherboard Gigabyte z370 AORUS Gaming 7
Cooling Water
Memory 16gb G.Skill 4000 MHz DDR4
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 1080
Storage 3 x Samsung Evo 850 500GB, 1 x 250GB, 2 x 2TB HDD
Display(s) Nixeus EDG27
Case Thermaltake X5
Power Supply Corsair HX1000i
Mouse Zowie EC1-B
Software Windows 10
#4
I would say contact the retailer or Gainward before modifying your bios. You really shouldn't have to with a new card.
 

katsuru

New Member
Joined
Oct 25, 2008
Messages
53 (0.02/day)
Likes
1
#5
my power supply is a LC power 550, my HD4850 was benching yesterday on my other sistem ( Amd 4600+ , msi k9n neo, 2x1G Mushkin ( same mems from this sys now ) the PSU is also the same, and my hd4850 benched for quite long time without problems, i even reduced the fan speed to let her heat a lil bit more to make sure temps were not causing this crashs, she was benching at 75º for some time, no crash at all, in this new sistem she hits 65º and puff... crash.


=/ i cant understand that
 

erocker

Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 19, 2006
Messages
42,375 (10.17/day)
Likes
18,019
Processor Intel i7 8700k
Motherboard Gigabyte z370 AORUS Gaming 7
Cooling Water
Memory 16gb G.Skill 4000 MHz DDR4
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 1080
Storage 3 x Samsung Evo 850 500GB, 1 x 250GB, 2 x 2TB HDD
Display(s) Nixeus EDG27
Case Thermaltake X5
Power Supply Corsair HX1000i
Mouse Zowie EC1-B
Software Windows 10
#6
Bad card. Thing is, what if you try flashing the bios and it's still messed up? You may then have warranty issues.
 

katsuru

New Member
Joined
Oct 25, 2008
Messages
53 (0.02/day)
Likes
1
#7
why do you say bad card if she benchs OK on my other sistem? there must be a logical reason to explain why she crashs on this sistem at 65º ( everytime she hits that temp she crashs ) and yesterday when i tested her on the other sys, she hit 75º with no problems =/
 

Solaris17

Creator Solaris Utility DVD
Joined
Aug 16, 2005
Messages
19,262 (4.28/day)
Likes
6,067
Location
Florida
System Name Not named yet
Processor I5 7640x 5Ghz 24/7
Motherboard MSI x299 Tomahawk Arctic
Cooling Corsair H55
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4 3000mhz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte 1080TI
Storage 2x Seagate 3TB Drives (RAID 0) 1x Seagate 256GB SSD 1x Adata 120GB SSD
Display(s) 3x AOC Q2577PWQ
Case Inwin 303 White (Thermaltake Ring 120mm Purple accent)
Audio Device(s) Onboard on Audio-Technica ATH-AG1
Power Supply Seasonic 1050W Snow
Mouse Roccat Tyon White
Keyboard Ducky Shine 6
Software Windows 10 x64 Pro
#8
why do you say bad card if she benchs OK on my other sistem? there must be a logical reason to explain why she crashs on this sistem at 65º ( everytime she hits that temp she crashs ) and yesterday when i tested her on the other sys, she hit 75º with no problems =/
banking on the new mobo and proc w/o a format.
 

katsuru

New Member
Joined
Oct 25, 2008
Messages
53 (0.02/day)
Likes
1
#9
Windows was fresh instaled 2 times, one time Sp3, the other time sp2 to make sure this crashes werent sp3 fault.
 

Solaris17

Creator Solaris Utility DVD
Joined
Aug 16, 2005
Messages
19,262 (4.28/day)
Likes
6,067
Location
Florida
System Name Not named yet
Processor I5 7640x 5Ghz 24/7
Motherboard MSI x299 Tomahawk Arctic
Cooling Corsair H55
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4 3000mhz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte 1080TI
Storage 2x Seagate 3TB Drives (RAID 0) 1x Seagate 256GB SSD 1x Adata 120GB SSD
Display(s) 3x AOC Q2577PWQ
Case Inwin 303 White (Thermaltake Ring 120mm Purple accent)
Audio Device(s) Onboard on Audio-Technica ATH-AG1
Power Supply Seasonic 1050W Snow
Mouse Roccat Tyon White
Keyboard Ducky Shine 6
Software Windows 10 x64 Pro
#10
Windows was fresh instaled 2 times, one time Sp3, the other time sp2 to make sure this crashes werent sp3 fault.
maybe drivers then? make sure that if your mobo has a pci-e 4pin aux that you plug it in..it will look like a molex connector soldered on the mobo..double check pci-e bus and lane options in the bios do a fresh bios flash if their is an update for your board....uninstall and reinstall cats try diff versions 8.7-8.10 make sure if your oc'd you run it at stock and do the tests.
 

katsuru

New Member
Joined
Oct 25, 2008
Messages
53 (0.02/day)
Likes
1
#11
maybe drivers then? make sure that if your mobo has a pci-e 4pin aux that you plug it in..it will look like a molex connector soldered on the mobo..double check pci-e bus and lane options in the bios do a fresh bios flash if their is an update for your board....uninstall and reinstall cats try diff versions 8.7-8.10 make sure if your oc'd you run it at stock and do the tests.
Drivers i tried both, 8.9 and 8.10. I dont see no pci-e 4pin aux, the mobo is a Asus p5q-e, bios was fresh flashed to the latest version, PCI-E freq is set to 100mhz, i have no OC on my PC =/

yesterday i tried to play farcry2, i was browsing the menu and the crash happened there :shadedshu


i am getting really worried, because if the GPU is damaged i will be without it 4-6 weeks, =/
 

katsuru

New Member
Joined
Oct 25, 2008
Messages
53 (0.02/day)
Likes
1
#12
i was just benching in another sistem and this was the result:



Now someone explain me, why my GPU dont crash in my AMD sis, and it crashes on my C2D at 80 seconds with 65º, and why it doesnt crash when i set the fan speed to 100% on my C2D?

The power supply used on my AMD bench test, is the same that i use on my C2D.
 

Solaris17

Creator Solaris Utility DVD
Joined
Aug 16, 2005
Messages
19,262 (4.28/day)
Likes
6,067
Location
Florida
System Name Not named yet
Processor I5 7640x 5Ghz 24/7
Motherboard MSI x299 Tomahawk Arctic
Cooling Corsair H55
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4 3000mhz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte 1080TI
Storage 2x Seagate 3TB Drives (RAID 0) 1x Seagate 256GB SSD 1x Adata 120GB SSD
Display(s) 3x AOC Q2577PWQ
Case Inwin 303 White (Thermaltake Ring 120mm Purple accent)
Audio Device(s) Onboard on Audio-Technica ATH-AG1
Power Supply Seasonic 1050W Snow
Mouse Roccat Tyon White
Keyboard Ducky Shine 6
Software Windows 10 x64 Pro
#14
maybe the power suply is getting weak id rebuild everything...pull out everything in your system and rebuild it mean mobo and all yank it all out and rebuild sometimes it will just be that simple...if that still doesnt do it id look to RMA'ing the card.
 

katsuru

New Member
Joined
Oct 25, 2008
Messages
53 (0.02/day)
Likes
1
#15
why should i RMA a GPU that works perfectly under another sistem and only on C2D sistem is having problems? GPU is not the problem here, i am pretty sure of it, my guess goes to Mobo or PSU =/ but the psu works on the other sistem just fine...
 

Solaris17

Creator Solaris Utility DVD
Joined
Aug 16, 2005
Messages
19,262 (4.28/day)
Likes
6,067
Location
Florida
System Name Not named yet
Processor I5 7640x 5Ghz 24/7
Motherboard MSI x299 Tomahawk Arctic
Cooling Corsair H55
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4 3000mhz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte 1080TI
Storage 2x Seagate 3TB Drives (RAID 0) 1x Seagate 256GB SSD 1x Adata 120GB SSD
Display(s) 3x AOC Q2577PWQ
Case Inwin 303 White (Thermaltake Ring 120mm Purple accent)
Audio Device(s) Onboard on Audio-Technica ATH-AG1
Power Supply Seasonic 1050W Snow
Mouse Roccat Tyon White
Keyboard Ducky Shine 6
Software Windows 10 x64 Pro
#16
why should i RMA a GPU that works perfectly under another sistem and only on C2D sistem is having problems? GPU is not the problem here, i am pretty sure of it, my guess goes to Mobo or PSU =/ but the psu works on the other sistem just fine...
rebuild and check options in the bios after
 

katsuru

New Member
Joined
Oct 25, 2008
Messages
53 (0.02/day)
Likes
1
#18
i was just playin farcry2 now with the fan set to 55%, she had temps rounding 50º , no crashes at all, yesterday when i tried farcry 2 i had the fan lil bit less active, and she crashed right away in the menu

Why does she crash with 60+º in my c2d sistem and she doesnt crash with 75º in my amd sistem?

You guys think this could be a power supply problem? or is my p5q-e damaged?
 

Solaris17

Creator Solaris Utility DVD
Joined
Aug 16, 2005
Messages
19,262 (4.28/day)
Likes
6,067
Location
Florida
System Name Not named yet
Processor I5 7640x 5Ghz 24/7
Motherboard MSI x299 Tomahawk Arctic
Cooling Corsair H55
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4 3000mhz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte 1080TI
Storage 2x Seagate 3TB Drives (RAID 0) 1x Seagate 256GB SSD 1x Adata 120GB SSD
Display(s) 3x AOC Q2577PWQ
Case Inwin 303 White (Thermaltake Ring 120mm Purple accent)
Audio Device(s) Onboard on Audio-Technica ATH-AG1
Power Supply Seasonic 1050W Snow
Mouse Roccat Tyon White
Keyboard Ducky Shine 6
Software Windows 10 x64 Pro
#19
i was just playin farcry2 now with the fan set to 55%, she had temps rounding 50º , no crashes at all, yesterday when i tried farcry 2 i had the fan lil bit less active, and she crashed right away in the menu

Why does she crash with 60+º in my c2d sistem and she doesnt crash with 75º in my amd sistem?

You guys think this could be a power supply problem? or is my p5q-e damaged?


its hard to tell in the bios under hardware monitor what does it say you 12v rail is at?
 

erocker

Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 19, 2006
Messages
42,375 (10.17/day)
Likes
18,019
Processor Intel i7 8700k
Motherboard Gigabyte z370 AORUS Gaming 7
Cooling Water
Memory 16gb G.Skill 4000 MHz DDR4
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 1080
Storage 3 x Samsung Evo 850 500GB, 1 x 250GB, 2 x 2TB HDD
Display(s) Nixeus EDG27
Case Thermaltake X5
Power Supply Corsair HX1000i
Mouse Zowie EC1-B
Software Windows 10
#20
Have you downloaded and installed the latest chipset drivers from Intel? Dx9 all up to date?
 

Solaris17

Creator Solaris Utility DVD
Joined
Aug 16, 2005
Messages
19,262 (4.28/day)
Likes
6,067
Location
Florida
System Name Not named yet
Processor I5 7640x 5Ghz 24/7
Motherboard MSI x299 Tomahawk Arctic
Cooling Corsair H55
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4 3000mhz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte 1080TI
Storage 2x Seagate 3TB Drives (RAID 0) 1x Seagate 256GB SSD 1x Adata 120GB SSD
Display(s) 3x AOC Q2577PWQ
Case Inwin 303 White (Thermaltake Ring 120mm Purple accent)
Audio Device(s) Onboard on Audio-Technica ATH-AG1
Power Supply Seasonic 1050W Snow
Mouse Roccat Tyon White
Keyboard Ducky Shine 6
Software Windows 10 x64 Pro
#22
hmm this is incredably odd in all honesty iv pretty much run out of ideas...id say rma the card.
 

katsuru

New Member
Joined
Oct 25, 2008
Messages
53 (0.02/day)
Likes
1
#23
Again the question, why RMA a card that works just fine ? only this Setup - C2D E8400 E0 + P5Q-E + 2x1G Mushkin + HD 4850 Golden Sample is giving problems, because with this one - AMD 4600+ , K9n Neo, 2x1G Mushkin + HD 4850 Golden sample, there is no problem at all with crashes or anything like that... =/


I will try another PSU tomorrow, if it doesnt solve my problem,the board goes back ( it has 1 week ) if the new mobo still crashs with this GPU then i will send my GPU to Gainward .
 

Solaris17

Creator Solaris Utility DVD
Joined
Aug 16, 2005
Messages
19,262 (4.28/day)
Likes
6,067
Location
Florida
System Name Not named yet
Processor I5 7640x 5Ghz 24/7
Motherboard MSI x299 Tomahawk Arctic
Cooling Corsair H55
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4 3000mhz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte 1080TI
Storage 2x Seagate 3TB Drives (RAID 0) 1x Seagate 256GB SSD 1x Adata 120GB SSD
Display(s) 3x AOC Q2577PWQ
Case Inwin 303 White (Thermaltake Ring 120mm Purple accent)
Audio Device(s) Onboard on Audio-Technica ATH-AG1
Power Supply Seasonic 1050W Snow
Mouse Roccat Tyon White
Keyboard Ducky Shine 6
Software Windows 10 x64 Pro
#24
Again the question, why RMA a card that works just fine ? only this Setup - C2D E8400 E0 + P5Q-E + 2x1G Mushkin + HD 4850 Golden Sample is giving problems, because with this one - AMD 4600+ , K9n Neo, 2x1G Mushkin + HD 4850 Golden sample, there is no problem at all with crashes or anything like that... =/


I will try another PSU tomorrow, if it doesnt solve my problem,the board goes back ( it has 1 week ) if the new mobo still crashs with this GPU then i will send my GPU to Gainward .
that makes sense go for it.