• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Game feels like 20 FPS at 150+ FPS but looks like 150 fps in recordings

Joined
Jun 30, 2020
Messages
38 (1.00/day)
Everytime I play it feels like 20 fps but when I'm recording it still feels like 20 fps except the recording looks like it was recorded in 4k. I really need help it's getting really annoying. It can't be screen tearing because no matter what I do with V-Sync it still lags and I don't see screen tearing and on valorant it tears when I have my fps capped. Anything would help. Running a 1650, i5-9300H 8GB it's the acer nitro 5 15.6". I have used DDU to reinstall drivers and that hasn't worked but the only thing I can possibly assume is happening is when I go to the drop down in Storage controller in Device Manager my chipset there is from 2018 even when I download the new driver it still remains like that while my cousin who has the same exact laptop has the 2019 version.
 

Regeneration

NGOHQ.COM
Joined
Oct 26, 2005
Messages
2,436 (0.45/day)
Try another game recording software like OBS.

Make sure you're saving to a fast storage device.

Your hardware is in the mid-low range. You need a proper setup for game recording.
 
Joined
Jun 30, 2020
Messages
38 (1.00/day)
Try another game recording software like OBS.

Make sure you're saving to a fast storage device.

Your hardware is in the mid-low range. You need a proper setup for game recording.
What I mean is, my game is LAGGY with 150 FPS but whilst recording it's still laggy and after I'm done I look at the recording it's smooth. It looks nothing like my gameplay. MY game is lagging it's not that I need something to record smooth gameplay it is smooth just I can't see it. Idk if you get what I mean but anything would help at this point. My game is lagging at high fps recording comes out smooth somehow.
 

Regeneration

NGOHQ.COM
Joined
Oct 26, 2005
Messages
2,436 (0.45/day)
Nothing is broken. Game recording is a demanding task. Use Geforce Experience to record, try limit FPS in both in-game and video, if its still slow, use lower resolution.
 
Joined
Dec 17, 2005
Messages
402 (0.08/day)
System Name Dekstop | Eluktronics Max 17
Processor X5675@4.8Ghz|Intel Core i7 9750H -140mW undervolt
Motherboard ASUS P6T Deluxe LGA 1366 Intel X58
Cooling Thermalright True Black Ultra-120 Extreme | pk-3 | conductonaut
Memory 16Gb Trident DDR3 2400Mhz@2095Mhz | 10-9-10-20
Video Card(s) BFG GTX 280 | RTX 2070 Max P
Storage Vertex 4 Raid 0 | 2 x 2Tb Inland Premium nvme
Display(s) Dell fpw 2005 20.1" 16:10 1680x1050
Case Tt Black Armor
Audio Device(s) Creative X-FI Fatality platinum | Extrememusic x-fi
Power Supply Evga P2 1000 | Corsair H1000i
Mouse Razer Viper ulti
Keyboard Saitek
Benchmark Scores (9750H Cne15 2100pts Cne20-3007pts) (as-SSD-6600pts with 1x2 Tb Nvme) (x5675 Cne11.5 -1102Pts)
maybe try running running everything on RAM, primocahce/ramdisk/ect, or maybe look into creating VHD, virtual hard drive, under windows 10 management
 

Regeneration

NGOHQ.COM
Joined
Oct 26, 2005
Messages
2,436 (0.45/day)
It's a laptop, good chances its already throttling without the game capture.
 
Joined
Nov 7, 2017
Messages
473 (0.47/day)
Location
Ft. Washington, MD
System Name Main
Processor R7 3700x
Motherboard Gigabyte Aorus Ultra
Cooling Eisbaer 280 with 2 Arctic F14 (top/exhaust), two F14/two F12 for intake, F14 (rear/exaust)
Memory 16 GB 3600/16/19/19/36-1T@1.33v Corsair Veng Pro (Micron die)
Video Card(s) GB 2080S WaterForce WB
Storage 970 evo pro/Inland pro/Adata NVME's
Display(s) Vizio 43 UHD
Case Thermaltake S300 TG
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar DX, modded Sennheiser HD 558, Klipsch 2.1 THX
Power Supply EVGA G+ 650w
Mouse Logitech G903
Keyboard GSKILL Ripjaws
Software win 10 x64
Benchmark Scores 3DMark11 xtrm 15K Unigine SuperPosition 1080p xtrm 7499 TimeSpy perf 12130
@Regeneration
funny how ppl always says slow storage:
even if i record at full quality at UHD res, its only 150Mbit/s, so thats not even more than 20MB/s, which i can get using a usb stick.

@oinkypig
how is a VHDD gonna help? its still running on the same physical drive or will eat ram, which isnt really available in abundance..

@ogname
what game? what driver? what software are you using to record?
cant expect ppl to help if we dont have any info past the hw.

turn on vsync, turn on low latency (not ultra), and turn up the graphics settings, and see if that helps.
 
Joined
Jun 30, 2020
Messages
38 (1.00/day)
@Regeneration
funny how ppl always says slow storage:
even if i record at full quality at UHD res, its only 150Mbit/s, so thats not even more than 20MB/s, which i can get using a usb stick.

@oinkypig
how is a VHDD gonna help? its still running on the same physical drive.

@ogname
what game? what driver? what software are you using to record?
cant expect ppl to help if we dont have any info past the hw.

turn on vsync, turn on low latency (not ultra), and turn up the graphics settings, and see if that helps.
I've tried everything, I'm running newest drivers and I use the windows recorder(xbox) but MY GAME IS LAGGING WITH OR WITHOUT RECORDING IT JUST LAGS the recording doesn
t need to be involved it lags at high fps when I'm just playing. I only mentioned the recording because it makes it seem like my game is smooth which it's not.

maybe try running running everything on RAM, primocahce/ramdisk/ect, or maybe look into creating VHD, virtual hard drive, under windows 10 management
How do i run everything on Ram?

It's a laptop, good chances its already throttling without the game capture.
My temps are good their 80-85 on lunar client (MC) but that's normal for Laptops and if I put it on max fan speed it's around 75. It can't be throttling.

Nothing is broken. Game recording is a demanding task. Use Geforce Experience to record, try limit FPS in both in-game and video, if its still slow, use lower resolution.
It's not that it's my game is lagging I have no recorder besides the xbox one I just said that because after I record and watch it my game is smooth without recording or anything my game is not smooth at ALL it's like 20 frames. DISREGARD the recording my game is lagging at 150 Fps

Whether this helps or not, when my lunar client(minecraft) is minimized, not windowed, it is SOO smooth like as if there is no issues but anything other than that lags this occurs in Valorant Csgo and Minecraft and FORTNITE THE WORST, I downloaded that game and I had 200 fps but it felt like 10 fps and after I played valorant a day later this issue occured in Minecraft and a week later CSGO.
 
Joined
Jan 25, 2006
Messages
998 (0.19/day)
Processor Ryzen 1600AF @4.2Ghz 1.35v
Motherboard MSI B450M PRO-A-MAX
Cooling Deepcool Gammaxx L120t
Memory 16GB Team Group Dark Pro Sammy-B-die 3400mhz 14.15.14.30-1.4v
Video Card(s) XFX RX 5600 XT THICC II PRO
Storage 240GB Brave eagle SSD/ 2TB Seagate Barracuda
Display(s) Dell SE2719HR
Power Supply EVGA 600W 80+
Software Windows 10 Pro
Why create a new thread about the same problem

 
Joined
Jun 30, 2020
Messages
38 (1.00/day)
Why create a new thread about the same problem

cuz I didn't get it solved, it was done.
 
Joined
Jun 21, 2018
Messages
3 (0.00/day)
Location
Sweden
System Name Main PC
Processor Intel i7 8700K @ 4.7 GHz @ 1.248v
Motherboard Asus ROG STRIX Z370-E
Cooling Noctua NH-D15
Memory Corsair 32 GB 3000MHz 15-17-17-35 2T
Video Card(s) RTX 2080 Super (core ~2115 MHz/VRAM ~18 GHz)
Storage PNY XLR8 NVMe 2TB SSD, Samsung 860 EVO 500GB NVMe, Samsung 850 EVO 1TB, Seagate IronWolf 10TB
Display(s) ASUS ROG Swift PG279Q / 27" / IPS / 1440p / 165 Hz G-SYNC
Case Fractal Design R5 w/ 5x Noctua A15
Audio Device(s) Asus Essense STX
Power Supply Corsair RM750Wx
Mouse Logitech G Pro Wireless, Logitech G403 Wireless, Rival 650 Wireless, Rival 600, Rival 310
Keyboard Steelseries Apex Pro, Steelseries Apex 7 TKL, Corsair K70 Rapidfire (MX speed/silver)
Software Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores Time Spy: 11 777 (GPU: 12 691/CPU: 8 365) https://rebrand.ly/11k777 | https://valid.x86.fr/9d14wt
I think your problem is you are running "windows recorder(xbox)". You should disable that sh*t in regedit (google how to do that). It can give all sorts of performance issues, even if you don't record. If you want to record use Nvidia Experience which is really easy on your components and probably the best recording solution if it's only the game and audio you want to record.
 

Regeneration

NGOHQ.COM
Joined
Oct 26, 2005
Messages
2,436 (0.45/day)
You can't expect to race or climb mountains with a scooter.

Don't use Xbox game bar to record. Keep it disabled and use Nvidia Geforce Experience instead.
 
Joined
Dec 25, 2019
Messages
39 (0.17/day)
Processor AMD RYZEN 5 2600X
Motherboard ASUS ROG Crosshair VII Hero (Wi-Fi) AM4 AMD X470
Cooling ARCTIC Liquid Freezer 120, replaced push fan with Noctua NF-A12x25 FLX
Memory G.SKILL Flare X Series 16GB (2 x 8GB)
Video Card(s) GIGABYTE Radeon RX 570 DirectX 12 GV-RX570GAMING-4GD 4GB
Storage Crucial MX500 M.2 2280 500GB SATA III; WD Black 1TB Performance Desktop Hard Disk Drive
Display(s) Philips 246E9QDSB 24" Frameless Monitor, Full HD IPS, 129% sRGB, 75Hz, FreeSync
Case Corsair Graphite Series 780T
Mouse Logitech Wireless Performance Mouse MX
Keyboard Old Logitech keyboard
Software Windows 10 Pro 64Bit
Are you using up your 8GB of RAM? I have 16GB in my desktop and Assassins Creed Odyssey uses about 5 GB of system RAM. I even had browser open with a bajillion tabs open, plus AC Odyssey, plys Xbox game bar going at the same time. I'd check to see if you have enough free RAM available so your system isn't resorting to using storage drive for paging.
 
Joined
Jun 30, 2020
Messages
38 (1.00/day)
I think your problem is you are running "windows recorder(xbox)". You should disable that sh*t in regedit (google how to do that). It can give all sorts of performance issues, even if you don't record. If you want to record use Nvidia Experience which is really easy on your components and probably the best recording solution if it's only the game and audio you want to record.
I've done that.

Are you using up your 8GB of RAM? I have 16GB in my desktop and Assassins Creed Odyssey uses about 5 GB of system RAM. I even had browser open with a bajillion tabs open, plus AC Odyssey, plys Xbox game bar going at the same time. I'd check to see if you have enough free RAM available so your system isn't resorting to using storage drive for paging.
Yes, I have 8 gigs but it only uses about 50-65 no matter the game I'm playing.

You can't expect to race or climb mountains with a scooter.

Don't use Xbox game bar to record. Keep it disabled and use Nvidia Geforce Experience instead.
It's not that the recorders are making me lag, it's my game lags with all the recorders off at high fps. Forget about the recording softwares I just need help because my game is lagging at 150 fps.
 
D

Deleted member 197986

Guest
Latest GPU drivers installed? Check if correct GPU is selected and look at temperatures with NitroSense / throttlestop (temp). Many issues can be found on the internet about this. Maybe indeed plug some more RAM.
 
Last edited by a moderator:

Tetras

New Member
Joined
Dec 11, 2019
Messages
4 (0.02/day)
Tried putting Windows into max performance mode?

Did I read right in the other thread you're only running 1 stick? That's going to hammer your bandwidth, I don't know if that will be a problem for recording. It seems very strange that the recording is smooth though, do you have a spare monitor you could connect up?
 

Tatty_One

Super Moder@tor
Staff member
Joined
Jan 18, 2006
Messages
22,831 (4.30/day)
Location
Worcestershire, UK
System Name The Grey
Processor Intel Comet Lake Core i5 10600K 6c 12t
Motherboard MSI MAG Z490 TOMAHAWK
Cooling Cooler Master Seidon 240V AIO+4 x Viper140mm
Memory 16GB Patriot Viper Steel DDR4 4133Mhz @ 4000mhz 16-16-16-32 2T@1.4v
Video Card(s) Gigabyte RTX 2060 SUPER Windforce OC 8GB
Storage WD Blue SN550 1TB M.2 NVME//SkHynix 120GB SSD//CrucialM4 64GB SSD
Display(s) AOC Q2781PQ 27 inch Ultra Slim 2560 x 1440 IPS
Case Phanteks Enthoo Pro M Windowed - Gunmetal
Audio Device(s) OnBoard Realtek ALC1200-VD1 @ 5.1 surround
Power Supply XFX Pro Black Edition 750W Gold (Seasonic OEM)
Mouse Coolermaster Storm Octane wired
Keyboard Element Gaming Carbon Mk2 Tournament Mech
Software Win 10 Home x64
Ogname, they are not talking about throttling due to temps but throttling due to TDP limit.
 
Joined
Jun 30, 2020
Messages
38 (1.00/day)
Tried putting Windows into max performance mode?

Did I read right in the other thread you're only running 1 stick? That's going to hammer your bandwidth, I don't know if that will be a problem for recording. It seems very strange that the recording is smooth though, do you have a spare monitor you could connect up?
yes I have, I can try to get my cousins monitor I'll let you know afterwards.

Latest GPU drivers installed? Check if correct GPU is selected and look at temperatures with NitroSense / throttlestop (temp). Many issues can be found on the internet about this. Maybe indeed plug some more RAM.
But my recordings look smooth, should I still buy more ram?

Sorry for long responses, I was not home yesterday.

Ogname, they are not talking about throttling due to temps but throttling due to TDP limit.
I don't really know what TDP limit is, can you help me figure out if it is that?
 

Tatty_One

Super Moder@tor
Staff member
Joined
Jan 18, 2006
Messages
22,831 (4.30/day)
Location
Worcestershire, UK
System Name The Grey
Processor Intel Comet Lake Core i5 10600K 6c 12t
Motherboard MSI MAG Z490 TOMAHAWK
Cooling Cooler Master Seidon 240V AIO+4 x Viper140mm
Memory 16GB Patriot Viper Steel DDR4 4133Mhz @ 4000mhz 16-16-16-32 2T@1.4v
Video Card(s) Gigabyte RTX 2060 SUPER Windforce OC 8GB
Storage WD Blue SN550 1TB M.2 NVME//SkHynix 120GB SSD//CrucialM4 64GB SSD
Display(s) AOC Q2781PQ 27 inch Ultra Slim 2560 x 1440 IPS
Case Phanteks Enthoo Pro M Windowed - Gunmetal
Audio Device(s) OnBoard Realtek ALC1200-VD1 @ 5.1 surround
Power Supply XFX Pro Black Edition 750W Gold (Seasonic OEM)
Mouse Coolermaster Storm Octane wired
Keyboard Element Gaming Carbon Mk2 Tournament Mech
Software Win 10 Home x64
yes I have, I can try to get my cousins monitor I'll let you know afterwards.


But my recordings look smooth, should I still buy more ram?

Sorry for long responses, I was not home yesterday.


I don't really know what TDP limit is, can you help me figure out if it is that?
Manufacturers set a Thermal Design Power (TDP) limit for their laptops/notebooks to ensure a number of things like power consumption (Battery life), heat etc, I think for your laptop the CPU has a TDP limit of 45W which would suggest it has decent cooling so when you are pushing out all those frames and/or recording it's likely working that CPU hard, if the limit is reached the CPU will be throttled back to keep it below that 45W even without it's temps nearing the limit ..….. manufacturers don't want batteries to last for only a couple of hours when mobile.
 
Joined
Jun 30, 2020
Messages
38 (1.00/day)
Manufacturers set a Thermal Design Power (TDP) limit for their laptops/notebooks to ensure a number of things like power consumption (Battery life), heat etc, I think for your laptop the CPU has a TDP limit of 45W which would suggest it has decent cooling so when you are pushing out all those frames and/or recording it's likely working that CPU hard, if the limit is reached the CPU will be throttled back to keep it below that 45W even without it's temps nearing the limit ..….. manufacturers don't want batteries to last for only a couple of hours when mobile.
How can I ensure that it doesn't throttle, is there any way?
 
Joined
Oct 26, 2016
Messages
831 (0.60/day)
Location
BGD
System Name KING-XEON
Processor Xeon 2650 V2 (OC-3,4Ghz-ALL*CORES)
Motherboard Sabertooth X79
Cooling Xigmatek LOKI SD963 double-Fan
Memory 34Gb DDR3 Kingston Hyper Blue 1510Mhz Active clocks(9-9-9-30-160-2T)
Video Card(s) RX 480 8gb/Red-Devil/
Storage 2 x ssd-Kingston 240Gb A400 in RAID 0+ HDD 500Gb
Display(s) 1x Acer 1080P Ips 2x Eizo(Triple Monitor Setup)
Case Lian Lee
Audio Device(s) Realtek/Creative T20 Speakers
Power Supply F S P Hyper S 700W
Mouse Asus TUF-GAMING M3
Keyboard Func FUNC-KB-460/Mechanical Keyboard
Benchmark Scores Fire Strike=12501,Cinebench R15=1284,Cinebench R20=2538.Passmark=15670,Geekbench=23623 multi
Is it your problem just with online games or is it also with single player offline games?
 
Joined
Jun 30, 2020
Messages
38 (1.00/day)
Is it your problem just with online games or is it also with single player offline games?
Online, but if you're talking about offline mode as well on online games that is the case. It lags on both with high fps.
But listen here, I think I've done something, I made my performance max, turned off xbox game bar completely and I set acer trueharmony to movies and it's pretty smooth. But, whenever I made a sharp move it stutters sometimes it stutters for up to a second before it's back to normal. I think this is a case of settings but I don't know what the final thing causing this could be.
 
Joined
Oct 26, 2016
Messages
831 (0.60/day)
Location
BGD
System Name KING-XEON
Processor Xeon 2650 V2 (OC-3,4Ghz-ALL*CORES)
Motherboard Sabertooth X79
Cooling Xigmatek LOKI SD963 double-Fan
Memory 34Gb DDR3 Kingston Hyper Blue 1510Mhz Active clocks(9-9-9-30-160-2T)
Video Card(s) RX 480 8gb/Red-Devil/
Storage 2 x ssd-Kingston 240Gb A400 in RAID 0+ HDD 500Gb
Display(s) 1x Acer 1080P Ips 2x Eizo(Triple Monitor Setup)
Case Lian Lee
Audio Device(s) Realtek/Creative T20 Speakers
Power Supply F S P Hyper S 700W
Mouse Asus TUF-GAMING M3
Keyboard Func FUNC-KB-460/Mechanical Keyboard
Benchmark Scores Fire Strike=12501,Cinebench R15=1284,Cinebench R20=2538.Passmark=15670,Geekbench=23623 multi
Online, but if you're talking about offline mode as well on online games that is the case. It lags on both with high fps.
But listen here, I think I've done something, I made my performance max, turned off xbox game bar completely and I set acer trueharmony to movies and it's pretty smooth. But, whenever I made a sharp move it stutters sometimes it stutters for up to a second before it's back to normal. I think this is a case of settings but I don't know what the final thing causing this could be.
Well...I am asking because sometimes that laggy feeling can be caused by packet losses in online gaming but if you don't have that problem in other high demanding off-line games then seems like something else is an issue......
 
Top