1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Game freezes with light vertical lines on monitor

Discussion in 'AMD / ATI' started by Black Panther, Mar 30, 2011.

  1. Black Panther

    Black Panther Senior Moderatorâ„¢ Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2007
    Messages:
    8,933 (2.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,200
    Yesterday I was playing Amnesia and after 20 minutes the game froze, there were very light purple vertical lines on the monitor, and I had to press the reset button and reboot the pc.

    I'm running an old graphics driver (9.12) because with any newer driver The Sims 3 doesn't load at all.

    Also recently I flashed the bios of my 5970 to 900/1200.

    Before I doing all this I remember playing Amnesia with no problem at all.

    However, on the old driver and the overclocked bios I played several other games with no issue, and also ran Furmark and Unigine for 30 minutes with no problems.

    Do you think it's a hardware problem of my 5970? Or is it a game or driver problem?

    I hope it's the latter.... after all I don't think a dying card will run benchmarks flawlessly, or not :confused:
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  2. yogurt_21

    yogurt_21

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2006
    Messages:
    5,029 (1.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,072
    Location:
    AZ
    I'd guess the old driver and the new bios don't play well together when using the more modern aspects of the card (shaders and etc)

    my guess is that your bios date is far newer than december 2009 which is the root cause of the issue.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  3. trickson

    trickson OH, I have such a headache

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2004
    Messages:
    6,486 (1.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    955
    Location:
    Planet Earth.
    sounds like a driver issue to me . If you can benchmark it and it works fine that tells me you have some kind of issue with the game and the drivers or the BIOS flash you did to the card all 3 maybe having some conflict .

    I would re-flash you card back to stock , If it worked fine and all was well up to this point then one can conclude that it is the BIOS flash that is causing the problem .
     
    Last edited: Mar 30, 2011
    10 Year Member at TPU
  4. Black Panther

    Black Panther Senior Moderatorâ„¢ Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2007
    Messages:
    8,933 (2.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,200
    I just re-flashed back to the latest Sapphire bios @ 735/1010 and tried 11.4 driver. So far card functions great.... and for the first time in more than a year, the Sims 3 actually runs!

    I'll play Amnesia tomorrow and check, I'm pretty sure it'll run fine this time as it had done before.

    [​IMG]
     
    yogurt_21 says thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU
  5. trickson

    trickson OH, I have such a headache

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2004
    Messages:
    6,486 (1.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    955
    Location:
    Planet Earth.
    Nice ! good to hear .
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  6. Aceman.au

    Aceman.au

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2008
    Messages:
    1,531 (0.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    86
    5970s arent good with overclocking
     
  7. yogurt_21

    yogurt_21

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2006
    Messages:
    5,029 (1.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,072
    Location:
    AZ
    idk, I had one (albeit briefly) and it ran perfectly fine at 850 core.


    @bp

    glad you got it sorted those 11.4's really do seem to be a miracle driver.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  8. Aceman.au

    Aceman.au

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2008
    Messages:
    1,531 (0.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    86
    Did they revise the 5970s board at all?
     
  9. yogurt_21

    yogurt_21

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2006
    Messages:
    5,029 (1.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,072
    Location:
    AZ
    not sure, the one I had was reference tho.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  10. Aceman.au

    Aceman.au

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2008
    Messages:
    1,531 (0.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    86
    I had one of the first to be released in Australia 5970's (I like to think). Had to upgrade my system because it was bottlenecking. But I couldnt OC it without artifacts or crashing
     
    Last edited: Mar 31, 2011
  11. yogurt_21

    yogurt_21

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2006
    Messages:
    5,029 (1.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,072
    Location:
    AZ
    hmm i might have been lucky then, well rather the guy I sold it too was. The card seemed stable at those clocks but i only had it a week. I sold it and got 480 sli instead.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)