• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Games Keep Freezing RX 5700 XT

Joined
Jul 10, 2012
Messages
5,274 (2.03/day)
Location
Memphis, TN
System Name Black Prometheus
Processor AMD Ryzen 9 3900X
Motherboard ASRock B350 Pro4
Cooling Corsair H70
Memory SK Hynix 32GB(8GBx4) DDR4 @2666MHz
Video Card(s) Sapphire Navi 5700 XT
Storage Sandisk X300 512GB + Seagate 2TB
Display(s) HP LA2405WG 24" Triple Monitor (5760x1200)
Case DeepCool Matrexx 55 w/ 3x120mm Intake + 4x120mm Exhaust
Audio Device(s) Samsung 5.1 Setup
Power Supply Corsair RM750X
Mouse Logitech Trackman
Keyboard Dell OEM
Software Windows 10 EDU x64
Alright guys i'm having a issue where games are freezing and i can't close them out without a forced shutdown using the power button. I just recently (Today) swapped from a RTX 2070 to a RX 5700 XT and updated windows to 1903. Before hand everything worked fine so i'm not sure whats the issue. Any suggestions
 
Joined
Mar 16, 2017
Messages
540 (0.61/day)
Location
Tanagra
System Name Mac Pro 4,1 > 5,1
Processor Intel Xeon W3690
Memory 16GB DDR3 ECC
Video Card(s) MSI Radeon RX 580 Armor 8GB OC
Storage Kinston 480GB SSD
Display(s) LG 27UL500-W
Case Cheese Grater
Audio Device(s) My ears
Software Mojave
Did you get rid of the old drivers entirely?
 
Joined
Jul 10, 2012
Messages
5,274 (2.03/day)
Location
Memphis, TN
System Name Black Prometheus
Processor AMD Ryzen 9 3900X
Motherboard ASRock B350 Pro4
Cooling Corsair H70
Memory SK Hynix 32GB(8GBx4) DDR4 @2666MHz
Video Card(s) Sapphire Navi 5700 XT
Storage Sandisk X300 512GB + Seagate 2TB
Display(s) HP LA2405WG 24" Triple Monitor (5760x1200)
Case DeepCool Matrexx 55 w/ 3x120mm Intake + 4x120mm Exhaust
Audio Device(s) Samsung 5.1 Setup
Power Supply Corsair RM750X
Mouse Logitech Trackman
Keyboard Dell OEM
Software Windows 10 EDU x64

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
26,747 (6.04/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
i uninstalled them than ran DDu
check for Motherboard BIOS updates

Run ddu twice in windows then once in safe mode. Get the latest chipset drivers for your motherboard install those first then install the graphics driver in between driver installs restart the system

I hope it is not your power supply

Check for CPU thermal throttling too
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jul 10, 2012
Messages
5,274 (2.03/day)
Location
Memphis, TN
System Name Black Prometheus
Processor AMD Ryzen 9 3900X
Motherboard ASRock B350 Pro4
Cooling Corsair H70
Memory SK Hynix 32GB(8GBx4) DDR4 @2666MHz
Video Card(s) Sapphire Navi 5700 XT
Storage Sandisk X300 512GB + Seagate 2TB
Display(s) HP LA2405WG 24" Triple Monitor (5760x1200)
Case DeepCool Matrexx 55 w/ 3x120mm Intake + 4x120mm Exhaust
Audio Device(s) Samsung 5.1 Setup
Power Supply Corsair RM750X
Mouse Logitech Trackman
Keyboard Dell OEM
Software Windows 10 EDU x64
check for Motherboard BIOS updates

Run ddu twice in windows then once in safe mode. Get the latest chipset drivers for your motherboard install those first then install the graphics driver in between driver installs restart the system

I hope it is not your power supply

Check for CPU thermal throttling too
Board on latest BIOs

Ran DDu Twice

Power Supply Was bought back in February

CPUs temps never exceed 68*C @3.9GHz

So i googled it and it seems to be a common issue so far with the 5700 series caused by the drivers
 
Joined
Mar 16, 2017
Messages
540 (0.61/day)
Location
Tanagra
System Name Mac Pro 4,1 > 5,1
Processor Intel Xeon W3690
Memory 16GB DDR3 ECC
Video Card(s) MSI Radeon RX 580 Armor 8GB OC
Storage Kinston 480GB SSD
Display(s) LG 27UL500-W
Case Cheese Grater
Audio Device(s) My ears
Software Mojave
Board on latest BIOs

Ran DDu Twice

Power Supply Was bought back in February

CPUs temps never exceed 68*C @3.9GHz

So i googled it and it seems to be a common issue so far with the 5700 series caused by the drivers
It is a new architecture, so I guess they have bugs to work out? Are there beta drivers you could maybe try?
 
Joined
Jul 10, 2012
Messages
5,274 (2.03/day)
Location
Memphis, TN
System Name Black Prometheus
Processor AMD Ryzen 9 3900X
Motherboard ASRock B350 Pro4
Cooling Corsair H70
Memory SK Hynix 32GB(8GBx4) DDR4 @2666MHz
Video Card(s) Sapphire Navi 5700 XT
Storage Sandisk X300 512GB + Seagate 2TB
Display(s) HP LA2405WG 24" Triple Monitor (5760x1200)
Case DeepCool Matrexx 55 w/ 3x120mm Intake + 4x120mm Exhaust
Audio Device(s) Samsung 5.1 Setup
Power Supply Corsair RM750X
Mouse Logitech Trackman
Keyboard Dell OEM
Software Windows 10 EDU x64
It is a new architecture, so I guess they have bugs to work out? Are there beta drivers you could maybe try?
Nope only 19.7.5

Also noticed a bug where if I enable vsync the FPS is capped at 30 when my monitors are 75Hz

So far the only games that work are non demanding games. Everything else either doesn’t load or crashes/freezes

@W1zzard have you experienced these issues with Navi
 
Joined
Mar 10, 2015
Messages
1,930 (1.19/day)
System Name Wut?
Processor 4770K @ 4.4
Motherboard MSI Z97 Gaming 7
Cooling Water
Memory 16GB DDR3 2400
Video Card(s) Vega 56
Storage 1TB SSD, forgot which one. Evo maybe?
Display(s) 3440 x 1440
Case Thermaltake T81
Power Supply Seasonic 750 Watt Gold

crgzero

New Member
Joined
Aug 12, 2019
Messages
1 (0.13/day)
I'm having the same issues, just built a pc, all AMD theme with the same card and about half my games crash, some have some weird artifacts on screen. Oddly, the list of games with common issues on Radeon's support site I'm having no problems with. As of typing this just got done uninstalling the current driver set and going to see if the one from June 3rd will work. Seems like when I very first got everything running most of my games were working ok. It was updating that did it. Oh well, nothin' to lose but time.
 
Joined
Jul 10, 2012
Messages
5,274 (2.03/day)
Location
Memphis, TN
System Name Black Prometheus
Processor AMD Ryzen 9 3900X
Motherboard ASRock B350 Pro4
Cooling Corsair H70
Memory SK Hynix 32GB(8GBx4) DDR4 @2666MHz
Video Card(s) Sapphire Navi 5700 XT
Storage Sandisk X300 512GB + Seagate 2TB
Display(s) HP LA2405WG 24" Triple Monitor (5760x1200)
Case DeepCool Matrexx 55 w/ 3x120mm Intake + 4x120mm Exhaust
Audio Device(s) Samsung 5.1 Setup
Power Supply Corsair RM750X
Mouse Logitech Trackman
Keyboard Dell OEM
Software Windows 10 EDU x64
Are you using Afterburner?
No

I'm having the same issues, just built a pc, all AMD theme with the same card and about half my games crash, some have some weird artifacts on screen. Oddly, the list of games with common issues on Radeon's support site I'm having no problems with. As of typing this just got done uninstalling the current driver set and going to see if the one from June 3rd will work. Seems like when I very first got everything running most of my games were working ok. It was updating that did it. Oh well, nothin' to lose but time.
Same

I get some weird artifacts in the top right corner which I think is the wattman overlay and it seems like if a touch wattman it really makes things get wonky and freeze.
 
Joined
Mar 10, 2015
Messages
1,930 (1.19/day)
System Name Wut?
Processor 4770K @ 4.4
Motherboard MSI Z97 Gaming 7
Cooling Water
Memory 16GB DDR3 2400
Video Card(s) Vega 56
Storage 1TB SSD, forgot which one. Evo maybe?
Display(s) 3440 x 1440
Case Thermaltake T81
Power Supply Seasonic 750 Watt Gold
Are you using anything other than Wattman? Have you changed any settings? Tried cranking power limit?

Any temp/voltage monitoring programs running?
 
Joined
Jul 10, 2012
Messages
5,274 (2.03/day)
Location
Memphis, TN
System Name Black Prometheus
Processor AMD Ryzen 9 3900X
Motherboard ASRock B350 Pro4
Cooling Corsair H70
Memory SK Hynix 32GB(8GBx4) DDR4 @2666MHz
Video Card(s) Sapphire Navi 5700 XT
Storage Sandisk X300 512GB + Seagate 2TB
Display(s) HP LA2405WG 24" Triple Monitor (5760x1200)
Case DeepCool Matrexx 55 w/ 3x120mm Intake + 4x120mm Exhaust
Audio Device(s) Samsung 5.1 Setup
Power Supply Corsair RM750X
Mouse Logitech Trackman
Keyboard Dell OEM
Software Windows 10 EDU x64
Are you using anything other than Wattman? Have you changed any settings? Tried cranking power limit?

Any temp/voltage monitoring programs running?
Nope just wattman

Yes I tried undervolting which caused system to crash

Only Radeon settings running

It seems like the driver is causing the issue. If I reset Radeon settings and don’t touch wattman I can get WW2 to run until eventually it freezes

If wattman tries to run the performance overlay it glitches and artifacts the area and freezes.

Seems like the drivers are super borked
 
Joined
Mar 10, 2015
Messages
1,930 (1.19/day)
System Name Wut?
Processor 4770K @ 4.4
Motherboard MSI Z97 Gaming 7
Cooling Water
Memory 16GB DDR3 2400
Video Card(s) Vega 56
Storage 1TB SSD, forgot which one. Evo maybe?
Display(s) 3440 x 1440
Case Thermaltake T81
Power Supply Seasonic 750 Watt Gold
Nope just wattman

Yes I tried undervolting which caused system to crash

Only Radeon settings running

It seems like the driver is causing the issue. If I reset Radeon settings and don’t touch wattman I can get WW2 to run until eventually it freezes

If wattman tries to run the performance overlay it glitches and artifacts the area and freezes.

Seems like the drivers are super borked
What about older drivers?

Edit:

I stopped using driver cleaners like ddu because one of the times I used it it cleaned out some drivers with it that I didn't want to go and had a bitch of a time getting it back right. Could I have done something wrong? Certainly. In any case, I haven't used them in at least a decade. I would try a normal uninstall and then load some older ones.

Edit 2:

Also, have you checked Event Viewer to see if you have any good info in there?
 
Joined
Jul 10, 2012
Messages
5,274 (2.03/day)
Location
Memphis, TN
System Name Black Prometheus
Processor AMD Ryzen 9 3900X
Motherboard ASRock B350 Pro4
Cooling Corsair H70
Memory SK Hynix 32GB(8GBx4) DDR4 @2666MHz
Video Card(s) Sapphire Navi 5700 XT
Storage Sandisk X300 512GB + Seagate 2TB
Display(s) HP LA2405WG 24" Triple Monitor (5760x1200)
Case DeepCool Matrexx 55 w/ 3x120mm Intake + 4x120mm Exhaust
Audio Device(s) Samsung 5.1 Setup
Power Supply Corsair RM750X
Mouse Logitech Trackman
Keyboard Dell OEM
Software Windows 10 EDU x64
What about older drivers?

Edit:

I stopped using driver cleaners like ddu because one of the times I used it it cleaned out some drivers with it that I didn't want to go and had a bitch of a time getting it back right. Could I have done something wrong? Certainly. In any case, I haven't used them in at least a decade. I would try a normal uninstall and then load some older ones.

Edit 2:

Also, have you checked Event Viewer to see if you have any good info in there?
Old drivers seem to be even worst

Googling it seems to be a issue going on with 5700(XT) and drivers
 
Joined
Mar 10, 2015
Messages
1,930 (1.19/day)
System Name Wut?
Processor 4770K @ 4.4
Motherboard MSI Z97 Gaming 7
Cooling Water
Memory 16GB DDR3 2400
Video Card(s) Vega 56
Storage 1TB SSD, forgot which one. Evo maybe?
Display(s) 3440 x 1440
Case Thermaltake T81
Power Supply Seasonic 750 Watt Gold
Old drivers seem to be even worst

Googling it seems to be a issue going on with 5700(XT) and drivers
Bummer, I am thinking about picking one up. Interesting to know what the trigger is as it certainly isn't happening to everyone.

Any similarities you can see with your setup/software with other people's complaints?
 
Joined
Jul 10, 2012
Messages
5,274 (2.03/day)
Location
Memphis, TN
System Name Black Prometheus
Processor AMD Ryzen 9 3900X
Motherboard ASRock B350 Pro4
Cooling Corsair H70
Memory SK Hynix 32GB(8GBx4) DDR4 @2666MHz
Video Card(s) Sapphire Navi 5700 XT
Storage Sandisk X300 512GB + Seagate 2TB
Display(s) HP LA2405WG 24" Triple Monitor (5760x1200)
Case DeepCool Matrexx 55 w/ 3x120mm Intake + 4x120mm Exhaust
Audio Device(s) Samsung 5.1 Setup
Power Supply Corsair RM750X
Mouse Logitech Trackman
Keyboard Dell OEM
Software Windows 10 EDU x64
Bummer, I am thinking about picking one up. Interesting to know what the trigger is as it certainly isn't happening to everyone.

Any similarities you can see with your setup/software with other people's complaints?
Seems wattman is the biggest trigger most have reported they haven’t found any fixes

Other state if they did a fresh install than drivers and don’t touch wattman it worked until it crashes again
 
Joined
Mar 10, 2015
Messages
1,930 (1.19/day)
System Name Wut?
Processor 4770K @ 4.4
Motherboard MSI Z97 Gaming 7
Cooling Water
Memory 16GB DDR3 2400
Video Card(s) Vega 56
Storage 1TB SSD, forgot which one. Evo maybe?
Display(s) 3440 x 1440
Case Thermaltake T81
Power Supply Seasonic 750 Watt Gold
Seems wattman is the biggest trigger most have reported they haven’t found any fixes

Other state if they did a fresh install than drivers and don’t touch wattman it worked until it crashes again
Bummer, these problems are tough to find. The only experience I had like this was a conflict between Afterburner and games. Which is interesting because you say the overlay with WattMan seems to really make it go nuts. Are they any other options in AMD Settings related to the overlay that you might be able to flip around?

Edit:

Try turning off all the measurements and changing the interval higher.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jul 10, 2012
Messages
5,274 (2.03/day)
Location
Memphis, TN
System Name Black Prometheus
Processor AMD Ryzen 9 3900X
Motherboard ASRock B350 Pro4
Cooling Corsair H70
Memory SK Hynix 32GB(8GBx4) DDR4 @2666MHz
Video Card(s) Sapphire Navi 5700 XT
Storage Sandisk X300 512GB + Seagate 2TB
Display(s) HP LA2405WG 24" Triple Monitor (5760x1200)
Case DeepCool Matrexx 55 w/ 3x120mm Intake + 4x120mm Exhaust
Audio Device(s) Samsung 5.1 Setup
Power Supply Corsair RM750X
Mouse Logitech Trackman
Keyboard Dell OEM
Software Windows 10 EDU x64
I just found this on AMDs driver known issue list


  • Enabling Enhanced Sync may cause game, application or system crashes on Radeon RX 5700 series graphics products “
And I did have it enabled
 
Joined
Mar 23, 2016
Messages
2,498 (2.01/day)
Processor Ryzen 5 3600
Motherboard MSI B350M Gaming Pro
Cooling Scythe Kotetsu with AM4 bracket
Memory PNY Anarchy-X XLR8 Red DDR4 3200 MHz C15-17-17-17-35
Video Card(s) MSI GeForce RTX 2060 GAMING Z 6G
Storage Samsung 970 EVO NVMe M.2 500 GB, SanDisk Ultra II 480 GB
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster C27H711 OC refresh rate 110Hz
Case Phantek Eclipse P400S (PH-EC416PS)
Audio Device(s) On-board dead - Creative Labs Sound Blaster Audigy Rx
Power Supply EVGA 850 BQ
Mouse SteelSeries Rival 310
Keyboard Logitech G G413 Silver
Software Windows 10 Professional 64-bit v1903
I just found this on AMDs driver known issue list


  • Enabling Enhanced Sync may cause game, application or system crashes on Radeon RX 5700 series graphics products “
And I did have it enabled
Well there's problem. :laugh: At least you now know what was causing games to crash.
 
Joined
Mar 10, 2015
Messages
1,930 (1.19/day)
System Name Wut?
Processor 4770K @ 4.4
Motherboard MSI Z97 Gaming 7
Cooling Water
Memory 16GB DDR3 2400
Video Card(s) Vega 56
Storage 1TB SSD, forgot which one. Evo maybe?
Display(s) 3440 x 1440
Case Thermaltake T81
Power Supply Seasonic 750 Watt Gold
I just found this on AMDs driver known issue list


  • Enabling Enhanced Sync may cause game, application or system crashes on Radeon RX 5700 series graphics products “
And I did have it enabled
Did changing it fix the issue?
 
Joined
Mar 10, 2009
Messages
86 (0.02/day)
Location
Mexico
System Name HTPC
Processor Intel Core i7-4790
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-H87N-WiFi Rev. 2.0
Cooling CoolerMaster MasterLiquid Pro 240
Memory Corsair 16Gb (2x8Gb) DDR3
Video Card(s) Shappire RX 5700 XT
Storage TOSHIBA DT01ACA200 2Tb / ADATA SP550 240Gb
Display(s) Philips Momentum 326M6FJSB 32”
Case Corsair 250D
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC892
Power Supply EVGA SuperNOVA 850 P2
Mouse Logitech G900
Keyboard Corsair Gaming K95 RGB
Software Microsoft Windows 10 Pro
Dont know if related but if i put my Monitor refresh rate at 75HZ, GPU-Z and Wattman (GPU clock/power/fan speed/etc) fails to read anything at all, change it back to 60HZ all works ok, lots of silly bugs going on

This on a Sapphire RX5700XT, Monitor using Displayport.

Edit: I did a fresh install of Windows 10 1903, thinking it was that, but nope, was the refresh rate bug. I did a disk image before formatting to fresh install.
 
Joined
Mar 18, 2008
Messages
4,346 (1.04/day)
System Name Virtual Reality / Bioinformatics
Processor Undead CPU
Motherboard Undead TUF X99
Cooling Noctua NH-D15
Memory GSkill 128GB DDR4-3000
Video Card(s) EVGA 2080Ti
Storage Samsung 960 Pro 1TB + 860 EVO 2TB + WD Black 5TB
Display(s) Acer K272HUL, HTC Vive
Case Fractal Design R5
Audio Device(s) BOSE 2.0
Power Supply Seasonic 850watt
Mouse Logitech Master MX
Keyboard Corsair K70 Cherry MX Blue
Software Windows 10 Professional/Linux Mint
Hopefully drivers will get sorted out soon. RDNA looks promising in the long run
 
Joined
Sep 17, 2014
Messages
9,710 (5.40/day)
Location
Too Long to fit in a single line here.
Processor i7 8700k 4.7Ghz @ 1.26v
Motherboard AsRock Fatal1ty K6 Z370
Cooling beQuiet! Dark Rock Pro 3
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX 3200/C16
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X @ 2100/5500
Storage Samsung 850 EVO 1TB + Samsung 830 256GB + Crucial BX100 250GB + Toshiba 1TB HDD
Display(s) Eizo Foris FG2421
Case Fractal Design Define C TG
Power Supply EVGA G2 750w
Mouse Logitech G502 Protheus Spectrum
Keyboard Sharkoon MK80 (Brown)
Software W10 x64
Am I the only one that doesn't use DDU and doesn't have problems?
No. :D But a green to red swap or vice versa does have a bit of a manual, let's be honest...
 
Joined
Nov 2, 2013
Messages
312 (0.15/day)
System Name Auriga
Processor Intel i9 7960X @ 4.5GHz w/ EK nickel-plexi Supremacy EVO
Motherboard ASRock Fatal1ty X299 Professional i9 XE
Cooling D5 PWM pump. 2x Black Ice Nemesis 360GTS rads.
Memory 4x 8GB G.SKILL TridentZ 3800MHz 16-16-16-36 RGB
Video Card(s) Gigabyte RTX 2080 Ti Windforce OC w/ Bykski nickel-plexi waterblock
Storage Samsung 1TB 960 EVO + 40TB NAS
Display(s) Alienware AW3418DW (3440x1440 @ 120Hz) and LG OLED65C8PUA (4k @120Hz)
Case Fractal Define R6 (it's not the size, it's how you use it!)
Power Supply Corsair AX1600i
Mouse Logitech G903 (play) + MX Master 2S (work)
Keyboard Corsair STRAFE RGB
Software W10 X64 Pro
Benchmark Scores Time Spy: 15,208 GPU score https://www.3dmark.com/spy/5738256
Am I the only one that doesn't use DDU and doesn't have problems?
No. :D But a green to red swap or vice versa does have a bit of a manual, let's be honest...
never used on either of my computers. on my main desktop, my current window install went through 4 GPUs and probably 20 nvidia drivers. haven't had a single issue.

on my VR rig, i had two vega 64s (first one died, second developed at horrible coil whine) and now an RTX 2080, on the same install. didn't use it either. in VR, GPUs problems are far more noticeable and i haven't had any problems.
 
Joined
Jul 10, 2012
Messages
5,274 (2.03/day)
Location
Memphis, TN
System Name Black Prometheus
Processor AMD Ryzen 9 3900X
Motherboard ASRock B350 Pro4
Cooling Corsair H70
Memory SK Hynix 32GB(8GBx4) DDR4 @2666MHz
Video Card(s) Sapphire Navi 5700 XT
Storage Sandisk X300 512GB + Seagate 2TB
Display(s) HP LA2405WG 24" Triple Monitor (5760x1200)
Case DeepCool Matrexx 55 w/ 3x120mm Intake + 4x120mm Exhaust
Audio Device(s) Samsung 5.1 Setup
Power Supply Corsair RM750X
Mouse Logitech Trackman
Keyboard Dell OEM
Software Windows 10 EDU x64
Ok so i disabled AMD Enhanced Sync and completely reset wattman and disabled the overlay,

i was than able to complete a full match in WW2 with no issues but weirdly the card doesn't ramp up at all.
 
Top