• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Gaming at 4K

Joined
Oct 26, 2011
Messages
3,121 (1.39/day)
Likes
892
Processor Ci7 5960X
Motherboard RVE
Cooling Triple Aquacomputer AMS 840 with D5
Memory Some random DDR4
Video Card(s) GTX 1080 Ti
Storage 960 EVO
Display(s) Dell U3011 2560x1600 + Dell 2408WFP 1200x1920 (Portrait)
Case Dimastech Bench EasyXL
Audio Device(s) Essence STX
Power Supply AX 1500i
Software Win10
#26
I dream on fixed 7990 crossfire :)
 
Joined
May 2, 2013
Messages
453 (0.27/day)
Likes
217
Location
St. Louis MO
System Name Devil Red
Processor Intel i7 3820 @ 4.7GHz
Motherboard ASUS Rampage IV Formula x79
Cooling Water cooling CPU, MOSFET,SLI GTX 690
Memory Corsair 32GB DDR3 1866 MHz
Video Card(s) (SLI) ASUS GTX 690
Storage 120GB Corsair SSD/WD 300GB VRaptor
Display(s) HP ZR30w Pro 30" LCD
Case Corsair 900d Modded
Audio Device(s) X-FI
Power Supply Corsair AX1200i
Software 3DsMax, Maya, ZBrush, Photoshop Master Collection, and some more software
#27
Funny how I do not see SLI GTX 690 on that list. That makes that test and list INVALID.....;)
 
Joined
Oct 26, 2011
Messages
3,121 (1.39/day)
Likes
892
Processor Ci7 5960X
Motherboard RVE
Cooling Triple Aquacomputer AMS 840 with D5
Memory Some random DDR4
Video Card(s) GTX 1080 Ti
Storage 960 EVO
Display(s) Dell U3011 2560x1600 + Dell 2408WFP 1200x1920 (Portrait)
Case Dimastech Bench EasyXL
Audio Device(s) Essence STX
Power Supply AX 1500i
Software Win10
#28
He probably didn't have two and they'd perform awfully due to hitting memory bandwidth and capacity limit.

Look at the Sleeping Dogs bench where it literally chokes.

2GB is clearly not enough for this resolution.
 
Joined
Aug 16, 2004
Messages
2,998 (0.62/day)
Likes
1,578
Location
Visalia, CA
System Name Crimson Titan 2.5
Processor Intel Core i7 5930K @ 4.5GHz 1.28V
Motherboard Asus ROG Rampage V Extreme
Cooling CPU: Swiftech H220-X, RAM: Geil Cyclone 2, VGA: Custom EK water loop
Memory 8x4GBs G.Skill Ripjaws DDR4 XMP2 3000MHz @ 1.35V
Video Card(s) 2x EVGA GTX Titan X SCs in SLI under full cover EK water blocks
Storage OS: 256GBs Samsung 850 Pro SSD/Games: 3TBs WD Black
Display(s) Acer XB280HK 28" 4K G-Sync - 2x27" Acer HN274s 1920x1080 120Hz
Case Corsair Graphite Black 760T - EK Pump/Reservoir, 360mm EK Radiator
Audio Device(s) SB X-Fi Fatal1ty Pro on Logitech THX Z-5500 5.1/Razer Tiamat 7.1 Headset
Power Supply Silvestone ST1500 1.5 kW
Mouse Cyborg R.A.T. 9
Keyboard Corsair K70 RGB Cherry MX Red
Software Windows 10 Pro 64bit
#29
Funny how I do not see SLI GTX 690 on that list. That makes that test and list INVALID.....;)
It seems like they didn't have many boards to test on such short notice, I expect they'll post more results when they do a full review of the new Asus monitor, it seems the price has already come down to $3,500.

The monitor they used only supports 30Hz (yikes!) But the Asus monitor will support 60Hz... Still a far cry from 120Hz and 144Hz available in lower resolutions.

I don't think these monitors will be marketed to gamers at such high prices and low refresh rates, chances are these monitors will be used by graphic designers, medical imaging and CAD applications.


He probably didn't have two and they'd perform awfully due to hitting memory bandwidth and capacity limit.

Look at the Sleeping Dogs bench where it literally chokes.

2GB is clearly not enough for this resolution.
Edit: you beat me to the punch :p, yes, what he says :D
 
Joined
Oct 26, 2011
Messages
3,121 (1.39/day)
Likes
892
Processor Ci7 5960X
Motherboard RVE
Cooling Triple Aquacomputer AMS 840 with D5
Memory Some random DDR4
Video Card(s) GTX 1080 Ti
Storage 960 EVO
Display(s) Dell U3011 2560x1600 + Dell 2408WFP 1200x1920 (Portrait)
Case Dimastech Bench EasyXL
Audio Device(s) Essence STX
Power Supply AX 1500i
Software Win10
#30
To be honest the big hit for us will be their 39 Inch model which is based on the cheaper VA panel that is floating around on the Seiki and Skyworth.

Much more affordable price tags around 800-1000 USD.


For the record if it's something similar to my older Dell VA panel it's going to be awesome anyway. VA panels are miles ahead of TN in color reproduction... latency well let's not talk about that :p
 
Joined
May 2, 2013
Messages
453 (0.27/day)
Likes
217
Location
St. Louis MO
System Name Devil Red
Processor Intel i7 3820 @ 4.7GHz
Motherboard ASUS Rampage IV Formula x79
Cooling Water cooling CPU, MOSFET,SLI GTX 690
Memory Corsair 32GB DDR3 1866 MHz
Video Card(s) (SLI) ASUS GTX 690
Storage 120GB Corsair SSD/WD 300GB VRaptor
Display(s) HP ZR30w Pro 30" LCD
Case Corsair 900d Modded
Audio Device(s) X-FI
Power Supply Corsair AX1200i
Software 3DsMax, Maya, ZBrush, Photoshop Master Collection, and some more software
#31
He probably didn't have two and they'd perform awfully due to hitting memory bandwidth and capacity limit.

Look at the Sleeping Dogs bench where it literally chokes.

2GB is clearly not enough for this resolution.
So you saying I need to get TWO new Titans and sale my two GTX 690....hmmmmm ? :)
 
Joined
Oct 26, 2011
Messages
3,121 (1.39/day)
Likes
892
Processor Ci7 5960X
Motherboard RVE
Cooling Triple Aquacomputer AMS 840 with D5
Memory Some random DDR4
Video Card(s) GTX 1080 Ti
Storage 960 EVO
Display(s) Dell U3011 2560x1600 + Dell 2408WFP 1200x1920 (Portrait)
Case Dimastech Bench EasyXL
Audio Device(s) Essence STX
Power Supply AX 1500i
Software Win10
#32
Well if you plan to purchase a 4K panel alongside, yes.

You currently play at 2560x1600, 2GB is still fine unless you crank tons of AA.
 
Joined
May 2, 2013
Messages
453 (0.27/day)
Likes
217
Location
St. Louis MO
System Name Devil Red
Processor Intel i7 3820 @ 4.7GHz
Motherboard ASUS Rampage IV Formula x79
Cooling Water cooling CPU, MOSFET,SLI GTX 690
Memory Corsair 32GB DDR3 1866 MHz
Video Card(s) (SLI) ASUS GTX 690
Storage 120GB Corsair SSD/WD 300GB VRaptor
Display(s) HP ZR30w Pro 30" LCD
Case Corsair 900d Modded
Audio Device(s) X-FI
Power Supply Corsair AX1200i
Software 3DsMax, Maya, ZBrush, Photoshop Master Collection, and some more software
#33
Well if you plan to purchase a 4K panel alongside, yes.

You currently play at 2560x1600, 2GB is still fine unless you crank tons of AA.
Well..maybe. I guess for now I will stick with my SLI GTX 690s.

Well if you plan to purchase a 4K panel alongside, yes.

You currently play at 2560x1600, 2GB is still fine unless you crank tons of AA.
We just got a computer in for rendering and doing 3D and it has a ton of Titans in it and the other rack have tones of them as well.
 
Last edited:

RCoon

Gaming Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Apr 19, 2012
Messages
11,371 (5.50/day)
Likes
9,512
Location
Gypsyland, UK
System Name HP Omen 17
Processor i7 7700HQ
Memory 16GB 2400Mhz DDR4
Video Card(s) GTX 1060
Storage Samsung SM961 256GB + HGST 1TB
Display(s) 1080p IPS G-SYNC 75Hz
Audio Device(s) Bang & Olufsen
Power Supply 230W
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD+
Software Win 10 Pro
#34
4K is going to require minimum of 2 Titans worth of power, and somewhere along the lines of 8GB VRAM on a video card, not to mention the full bandwidth of PCI-E 3.0. Until those specifications, along with the monitor of 4K @ 60hz becomes available at a reasonable price similar to 1440 or 1600 monitors, I can almost guarantee 4K monitors will fall flat on their face when it comes to gamers.
Only Photo editors and people in similar jobs will buy these monitors for the time being.
 
Joined
Dec 31, 2009
Messages
11,522 (3.96/day)
Likes
6,278
Location
Ohio
System Name Daily Driver
Processor 7900X 4.5GHz 10c/10t 1.15V.
Motherboard ASUS Prime X299 Deluxe
Cooling MCR320 + Kuplos Kryos NEXT CPU block
Memory GSkill Trident Z 4x8 GB DDR4 3600 MHz CL16
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1080 FTW3
Storage 512GB Patriot Hellfire, 512GB OCZ RD400, 640GB Caviar Black, 2TB Caviar Green
Display(s) Yamakasi 27" 2560x1440 IPS
Case Thermaltake P5
Power Supply EVGA 750W Supernova G2
Benchmark Scores Faster than most of you! Bet on it! :)
#35
Well if you plan to purchase a 4K panel alongside, yes.

You currently play at 2560x1600, 2GB is still fine unless you crank tons of AA.
Depends on the title. Some, BF3 and Skyrim with mods at 1080p, are eclipsing/close 2GB vram use...jack that up to 1440/1600 res and 2GB isn't enough on many titles, especially with AA (which most would still use... I can still see jaggies and run 2x on BF3).

http://www.overclockers.com/forums/showthread.php?t=718118

1080 = 2GB
1440/1600 = 3GB for best results IMO...especially for future titles. You see the 7970 pulling away/getting closer to a 680 at that res... bandwidth/quantity of ram are the key factors there.
 
Joined
Oct 26, 2011
Messages
3,121 (1.39/day)
Likes
892
Processor Ci7 5960X
Motherboard RVE
Cooling Triple Aquacomputer AMS 840 with D5
Memory Some random DDR4
Video Card(s) GTX 1080 Ti
Storage 960 EVO
Display(s) Dell U3011 2560x1600 + Dell 2408WFP 1200x1920 (Portrait)
Case Dimastech Bench EasyXL
Audio Device(s) Essence STX
Power Supply AX 1500i
Software Win10
#36
4K is going to require minimum of 2 Titans worth of power, and somewhere along the lines of 8GB VRAM on a video card, not to mention the full bandwidth of PCI-E 3.0. Until those specifications, along with the monitor of 4K @ 60hz becomes available at a reasonable price similar to 1440 or 1600 monitors, I can almost guarantee 4K monitors will fall flat on their face when it comes to gamers.
Only Photo editors and people in similar jobs will buy these monitors for the time being.
VRAM usage doesn't scale that linearly with resolution.

I foresee that 4GB is enough for the time being.

Also two Titans at 1202 MHz like I run them yield way more horsepower than you see on that review.

Depends on the title. Some, BF3 and Skyrim with mods at 1080p are eclipsing/close 2GB vram use...jack that up to 1440/1600 res and 2GB isnt enough on many titles, especially with AA (which most would still use... I can still see jaggies and run 2x on BF3).

http://www.overclockers.com/forums/showthread.php?t=718118
I know about it because I go way overboard on AA, even on a 2560x1600 panel.

My Skyrim has seen as much as 4GB of VRAM being used.


Here is a a Precision screenshot some time ago when trying some Skyrim 4K textures and 8X AA.



For the record here is single card enabled, tried to see if the 6GB I was seeing was result of the sum of two cards.

So no to who is saying this is the sum of two cards.

Second card was disabled with RIVE PCIe dip switch.
 
Last edited:
Joined
May 2, 2013
Messages
453 (0.27/day)
Likes
217
Location
St. Louis MO
System Name Devil Red
Processor Intel i7 3820 @ 4.7GHz
Motherboard ASUS Rampage IV Formula x79
Cooling Water cooling CPU, MOSFET,SLI GTX 690
Memory Corsair 32GB DDR3 1866 MHz
Video Card(s) (SLI) ASUS GTX 690
Storage 120GB Corsair SSD/WD 300GB VRaptor
Display(s) HP ZR30w Pro 30" LCD
Case Corsair 900d Modded
Audio Device(s) X-FI
Power Supply Corsair AX1200i
Software 3DsMax, Maya, ZBrush, Photoshop Master Collection, and some more software
#37
Well if you plan to purchase a 4K panel alongside, yes.

You currently play at 2560x1600, 2GB is still fine unless you crank tons of AA.
O dear GOD they are spending crazy money upgrading the render farms and work computer here at work. They spent 1.5 MILLION on the new severs and they have around 30-40 Titans sitting out in the tec room.... I wonder if they would notice if they lost 4...ROFL
 

RCoon

Gaming Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Apr 19, 2012
Messages
11,371 (5.50/day)
Likes
9,512
Location
Gypsyland, UK
System Name HP Omen 17
Processor i7 7700HQ
Memory 16GB 2400Mhz DDR4
Video Card(s) GTX 1060
Storage Samsung SM961 256GB + HGST 1TB
Display(s) 1080p IPS G-SYNC 75Hz
Audio Device(s) Bang & Olufsen
Power Supply 230W
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD+
Software Win 10 Pro
#38
O dear GOD they are spending crazy money upgrading the render farms and work computer here at work. They spent 1.5 MILLION on the new severs and they have around 30-40 Titans sitting out in the tec room.... I wonder if they would notice if they lost 4...ROFL
I assume by titans you actually mean their server and workstation counterparts, the Quadros?
 
Joined
May 2, 2013
Messages
453 (0.27/day)
Likes
217
Location
St. Louis MO
System Name Devil Red
Processor Intel i7 3820 @ 4.7GHz
Motherboard ASUS Rampage IV Formula x79
Cooling Water cooling CPU, MOSFET,SLI GTX 690
Memory Corsair 32GB DDR3 1866 MHz
Video Card(s) (SLI) ASUS GTX 690
Storage 120GB Corsair SSD/WD 300GB VRaptor
Display(s) HP ZR30w Pro 30" LCD
Case Corsair 900d Modded
Audio Device(s) X-FI
Power Supply Corsair AX1200i
Software 3DsMax, Maya, ZBrush, Photoshop Master Collection, and some more software
#39
I assume by titans you actually mean their server and workstation counterparts, the Quadros?
No I mean gaming versions. They also have the Quadros as well. I asked how they use so many in a workstation and they said they do not SLI the game Titans they have code on the severs that handles the cards.
 

Easy Rhino

Linux Advocate
Joined
Nov 13, 2006
Messages
14,405 (3.55/day)
Likes
4,257
System Name VHOST01 | Desktop
Processor i7 980x | i5 7500 Kaby Lake
Motherboard Gigabyte x58 Extreme | AsRock MicroATX Z170M Exteme4
Cooling Prolimatech Megahelams | Stock
Memory 6x4 GB @ 1333 | 2x 8G Gskill Aegis DDR4 2400
Video Card(s) Nvidia GT 210 | Nvidia GTX 970 FTW+
Storage 4x2 TB Enterprise RAID5 |Corsair mForce nvme 250G
Display(s) N/A | Dell 27" 1440p 8bit GSYNC
Case Lian Li ATX Mid Tower | Corsair Carbide 400C
Audio Device(s) NA | On Board
Power Supply SeaSonic 500W Gold | Seasonic SSR-650GD Flagship Prime Series 650W Gold
Mouse N/A | Logitech G900 Chaos Spectrum
Keyboard N/A | Posiden Z RGB Cherry MX Brown
Software Centos 7 | Windows 10
#40
i wonder how minecraft looks/plays at 4k.
 
Joined
May 2, 2013
Messages
453 (0.27/day)
Likes
217
Location
St. Louis MO
System Name Devil Red
Processor Intel i7 3820 @ 4.7GHz
Motherboard ASUS Rampage IV Formula x79
Cooling Water cooling CPU, MOSFET,SLI GTX 690
Memory Corsair 32GB DDR3 1866 MHz
Video Card(s) (SLI) ASUS GTX 690
Storage 120GB Corsair SSD/WD 300GB VRaptor
Display(s) HP ZR30w Pro 30" LCD
Case Corsair 900d Modded
Audio Device(s) X-FI
Power Supply Corsair AX1200i
Software 3DsMax, Maya, ZBrush, Photoshop Master Collection, and some more software
#41
Joined
Oct 26, 2011
Messages
3,121 (1.39/day)
Likes
892
Processor Ci7 5960X
Motherboard RVE
Cooling Triple Aquacomputer AMS 840 with D5
Memory Some random DDR4
Video Card(s) GTX 1080 Ti
Storage 960 EVO
Display(s) Dell U3011 2560x1600 + Dell 2408WFP 1200x1920 (Portrait)
Case Dimastech Bench EasyXL
Audio Device(s) Essence STX
Power Supply AX 1500i
Software Win10
#42
I assume by titans you actually mean their server and workstation counterparts, the Quadros?
If the workload is executed with CUDA the GTX Titan is totally uncrippled.

This is why I bought Titan in the first place, not for gaming only that'd be a waste lol.
 

RCoon

Gaming Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Apr 19, 2012
Messages
11,371 (5.50/day)
Likes
9,512
Location
Gypsyland, UK
System Name HP Omen 17
Processor i7 7700HQ
Memory 16GB 2400Mhz DDR4
Video Card(s) GTX 1060
Storage Samsung SM961 256GB + HGST 1TB
Display(s) 1080p IPS G-SYNC 75Hz
Audio Device(s) Bang & Olufsen
Power Supply 230W
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD+
Software Win 10 Pro
#43
Well, I wont be touching 4K for another 3 - 5 years I think. I'll be glad when 1440 or 1600 monitors become as common and as cheap as 1080 panels at this point, which will hopefully eventually happen. I have a feeling any early adopters of these new 4K panels will end up with a bitter taste in their mouth in a year or two.
 
Joined
May 2, 2013
Messages
453 (0.27/day)
Likes
217
Location
St. Louis MO
System Name Devil Red
Processor Intel i7 3820 @ 4.7GHz
Motherboard ASUS Rampage IV Formula x79
Cooling Water cooling CPU, MOSFET,SLI GTX 690
Memory Corsair 32GB DDR3 1866 MHz
Video Card(s) (SLI) ASUS GTX 690
Storage 120GB Corsair SSD/WD 300GB VRaptor
Display(s) HP ZR30w Pro 30" LCD
Case Corsair 900d Modded
Audio Device(s) X-FI
Power Supply Corsair AX1200i
Software 3DsMax, Maya, ZBrush, Photoshop Master Collection, and some more software
#44
If the workload is executed with CUDA the GTX Titan is totally uncrippled.

This is why I bought Titan in the first place, not for gaming only that'd be a waste lol.
They have each card do a part of the rendering then a computer putting all the frames back in order then making a movie. We also just got 12 90" LCD at a crazy $15,000 USD each for the US ARMY to use their tec on for the Apache flight sims.
 

RCoon

Gaming Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Apr 19, 2012
Messages
11,371 (5.50/day)
Likes
9,512
Location
Gypsyland, UK
System Name HP Omen 17
Processor i7 7700HQ
Memory 16GB 2400Mhz DDR4
Video Card(s) GTX 1060
Storage Samsung SM961 256GB + HGST 1TB
Display(s) 1080p IPS G-SYNC 75Hz
Audio Device(s) Bang & Olufsen
Power Supply 230W
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD+
Software Win 10 Pro
#45
They have each card do a part of the rendering then a computer putting all the frames back in order then making a movie. We also just got 12 90" LCD at a crazy $15,000 USD each for LCD panels for the US ARMY to use their tec on for the Apache flight sims.
All that taxpayers money going on the american army's dreams of playing Longbow at 144hz on 4k :roll:
 
Joined
Oct 26, 2011
Messages
3,121 (1.39/day)
Likes
892
Processor Ci7 5960X
Motherboard RVE
Cooling Triple Aquacomputer AMS 840 with D5
Memory Some random DDR4
Video Card(s) GTX 1080 Ti
Storage 960 EVO
Display(s) Dell U3011 2560x1600 + Dell 2408WFP 1200x1920 (Portrait)
Case Dimastech Bench EasyXL
Audio Device(s) Essence STX
Power Supply AX 1500i
Software Win10
#46
Well, I wont be touching 4K for another 3 - 5 years I think. I'll be glad when 1440 or 1600 monitors become as common and as cheap as 1080 panels at this point, which will hopefully eventually happen. I have a feeling any early adopters of these new 4K panels will end up with a bitter taste in their mouth in a year or two.
I have set a limit to myself, if a panel costs more than 1,5k then I won't be buying it.
 
Joined
May 2, 2013
Messages
453 (0.27/day)
Likes
217
Location
St. Louis MO
System Name Devil Red
Processor Intel i7 3820 @ 4.7GHz
Motherboard ASUS Rampage IV Formula x79
Cooling Water cooling CPU, MOSFET,SLI GTX 690
Memory Corsair 32GB DDR3 1866 MHz
Video Card(s) (SLI) ASUS GTX 690
Storage 120GB Corsair SSD/WD 300GB VRaptor
Display(s) HP ZR30w Pro 30" LCD
Case Corsair 900d Modded
Audio Device(s) X-FI
Power Supply Corsair AX1200i
Software 3DsMax, Maya, ZBrush, Photoshop Master Collection, and some more software
#47
All that taxpayers money going on the american army's dreams of playing Longbow at 144hz on 4k :roll:
O yes. They are building a wall out of the 90" LCDs for the sim. It will be 360 degrees around the cockpit. 12 LCDs was just part of the order. They are going to get more. The rig to hold all the LCDs is custom and being built in Germany and shipped over here. We got the Apache prototype block 3 in a few weeks ago and that was shipping from Washington state of FL and that cost the US taxes payers 80,000 USD then we had a crane on site and that was 8,000 a hr.... and you wonder why we have money problems in the US...o_O
 
Joined
Aug 16, 2004
Messages
2,998 (0.62/day)
Likes
1,578
Location
Visalia, CA
System Name Crimson Titan 2.5
Processor Intel Core i7 5930K @ 4.5GHz 1.28V
Motherboard Asus ROG Rampage V Extreme
Cooling CPU: Swiftech H220-X, RAM: Geil Cyclone 2, VGA: Custom EK water loop
Memory 8x4GBs G.Skill Ripjaws DDR4 XMP2 3000MHz @ 1.35V
Video Card(s) 2x EVGA GTX Titan X SCs in SLI under full cover EK water blocks
Storage OS: 256GBs Samsung 850 Pro SSD/Games: 3TBs WD Black
Display(s) Acer XB280HK 28" 4K G-Sync - 2x27" Acer HN274s 1920x1080 120Hz
Case Corsair Graphite Black 760T - EK Pump/Reservoir, 360mm EK Radiator
Audio Device(s) SB X-Fi Fatal1ty Pro on Logitech THX Z-5500 5.1/Razer Tiamat 7.1 Headset
Power Supply Silvestone ST1500 1.5 kW
Mouse Cyborg R.A.T. 9
Keyboard Corsair K70 RGB Cherry MX Red
Software Windows 10 Pro 64bit
#48
VRAM usage doesn't scale that linearly with resolution.

I foresee that 4GB is enough for the time being.

Also two Titans at 1202 MHz like I run them yield way more horsepower than you see on that review.



I know about it because I go way overboard on AA, even on a 2560x1600 panel.

My Skyrim has seen as much as 4GB of VRAM being used.


Here is a a Precision screenshot some time ago when trying some Skyrim 4K textures and 8X AA.

http://img.techpowerup.org/130702/lololvram.jpg

For the record here is single card enabled, tried to see if the 6GB I was seeing was result of the sum of two cards.

So no to who is saying this is the sum of two cards.

Second card was disabled with RIVE PCIe dip switch.
Whoa! Almost 6GBs of memory use, what mods are you loading? I've never seen my Titans used almost their full VRAM, 8x FSAA has a lot to do with that as well, my driver limits the AA to 4x when gaming in 3D at 5760x1080 :(

O dear GOD they are spending crazy money upgrading the render farms and work computer here at work. They spent 1.5 MILLION on the new severs and they have around 30-40 Titans sitting out in the tec room.... I wonder if they would notice if they lost 4...ROFL
Switch a couple of them for your 690s, they almost look the same from the side :p


O yes. They are building a wall out of the 90" LCDs for the sim. It will be 360 degrees around the cockpit. 12 LCDs was just part of the order. They are going to get more. The rig to hold all the LCDs is custom and being built in Germany and shipped over here. We got the Apache prototype block 3 in a few weeks ago and that was shipping from Washington state of FL and that cost the US taxes payers 80,000 USD then we had a crane on site and that was 8,000 a hr.... and you wonder why we have money problems in the US...o_O
Fascinating, and our armed forces move one step closer to a fully functional holodeck, I love to see my tax dollars being well spent ;) :p
 
Joined
May 2, 2013
Messages
453 (0.27/day)
Likes
217
Location
St. Louis MO
System Name Devil Red
Processor Intel i7 3820 @ 4.7GHz
Motherboard ASUS Rampage IV Formula x79
Cooling Water cooling CPU, MOSFET,SLI GTX 690
Memory Corsair 32GB DDR3 1866 MHz
Video Card(s) (SLI) ASUS GTX 690
Storage 120GB Corsair SSD/WD 300GB VRaptor
Display(s) HP ZR30w Pro 30" LCD
Case Corsair 900d Modded
Audio Device(s) X-FI
Power Supply Corsair AX1200i
Software 3DsMax, Maya, ZBrush, Photoshop Master Collection, and some more software
#49
Whoa! Almost 6GBs of memory use, what mods are you loading? I've never seen my Titans used almost their full VRAM, 8x FSAA has a lot to do with that as well, my driver limits the AA to 4x when gaming in 3D at 5760x1080 :(



Switch a couple of them for your 690s, they almost look the same from the side :p
NOW their is an idea....hahaha
 
Joined
Oct 26, 2011
Messages
3,121 (1.39/day)
Likes
892
Processor Ci7 5960X
Motherboard RVE
Cooling Triple Aquacomputer AMS 840 with D5
Memory Some random DDR4
Video Card(s) GTX 1080 Ti
Storage 960 EVO
Display(s) Dell U3011 2560x1600 + Dell 2408WFP 1200x1920 (Portrait)
Case Dimastech Bench EasyXL
Audio Device(s) Essence STX
Power Supply AX 1500i
Software Win10
#50
Whoa! Almost 6GBs of memory use, what mods are you loading? I've never seen my Titans used almost their full VRAM, 8x FSAA has a lot to do with that as well, my driver limits the AA to 4x when gaming in 3D at 5760x1080
I use texture pack combiner with all their optional mods and 4K textures for everything available.

Some random 4K textures that do not appear on texture pack combiner too.

It could have possibly been a surround 30" run, I used to use that setup but it's pukeworthy with bezels.