• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Gaming computer network setup help!!!!!

Status
Not open for further replies.

Chaney579

New Member
Joined
Feb 13, 2011
Messages
20 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
#1
Well here is the deal i am building a very high end enthusiast/gaming computer. And i need to know how im going to get internet from my u-verse modem/router all in one to my rig ACCROSSED the huge ass house, and through 4/5 walls... Its about 100-150 feet away im not sure we have a pretty big house. And my room is kind of a dead spot in some places.. Like it has moderate internet in there and works good but its not what you get when you are right next to it of course. I wanted to know if i could figure something out how to solve this. The modem/router all in one has to stay in its spot, and i dont know if running a 100-150 foot cat 6 cable would be very good from input output lag?. Or if there is a pci card that i could use? It has to be a good one that will have very good latency etc..

G1- Sniper (Maybe Assassin)
Asus GTX-590
Asus GTS-450 (PhysX)
2x 64gb realssd c300 sata 6/gbs
2tb WD caviar Black edition sata 3/gbs (Storage drive)
intel core i7-970
H70 all in one watercooling solution.
Corsair vengeance 12gb 1600mhz (3x4gb) 8-9-8 stock
1200 watt ultra x4 modular PSU
Windows 7 professional.

As you can see i with my pci slots i will be placing my gtx 590 in the first x16 slot and then my gts 450 in the last which will be an x8 speed. Leaving me one x16 slot open and then a x1. So i could have room all though i will find it a bit ugly -.-... Still i dont really have much on the budget to spend but i would like any feedback or ideas and items i can use. Please give me links and prices for everything. Thank you

Jesse
 

Chaney579

New Member
Joined
Feb 13, 2011
Messages
20 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
#3
Please dont be a dick, it is perfectly fine to do that. It allows me to run the 590 at full 2x gtx 580 specs with no dedication of either of the gpu's to Physx. All i would like is a strait forward answer on how i should get internet to my computer. THANK YOU
 
Joined
Feb 21, 2008
Messages
6,263 (1.75/day)
Likes
3,364
Location
S.E. Virginia
System Name Barb's Domain/Barb's Cruncher#2/Barb's Laptop
Processor i7 3930k@4.37ghz/i7 860 @ 3.3ghz/AMD E300
Motherboard ASUS Rampage IV Black Edition/Gigabyte P55-UD3R/Proprietary
Cooling Deep Cool Assassin/Corsair A50/stock
Memory 16gig DDR3 1600/4gig DDR3 1600/3gig DDR3 1333
Video Card(s) GTX 1070 OC'ed 2GHz core/mem/MSI HD7770/HD6310
Storage Seagate 2tb Hybrid SSHD/Caviar Blue 160gb/Toshiba 500gb
Display(s) HP ZR30W 30" 2560*1600/SOYO Topaz S 24" 1920*1200
Case SilverStone Fortress FT04/NZXT Source 210 Black
Audio Device(s) Realtek High Definition Audio
Power Supply XFX 750W XXX edition/PC Power Cooling Turbo Cool 860
Software Windows 10 Pro 64 bit /Windows 7 Ult 64 bit/Windows 8.1 Pro
#4
I'm on a wireless G band network connected to a 3000/768 DSL connection, approximately 75' from our DSL gateway with 7 walls between my computer and the gateway and this is what I get-



set up a N band network and you should be just fine
 
Joined
Feb 21, 2008
Messages
6,263 (1.75/day)
Likes
3,364
Location
S.E. Virginia
System Name Barb's Domain/Barb's Cruncher#2/Barb's Laptop
Processor i7 3930k@4.37ghz/i7 860 @ 3.3ghz/AMD E300
Motherboard ASUS Rampage IV Black Edition/Gigabyte P55-UD3R/Proprietary
Cooling Deep Cool Assassin/Corsair A50/stock
Memory 16gig DDR3 1600/4gig DDR3 1600/3gig DDR3 1333
Video Card(s) GTX 1070 OC'ed 2GHz core/mem/MSI HD7770/HD6310
Storage Seagate 2tb Hybrid SSHD/Caviar Blue 160gb/Toshiba 500gb
Display(s) HP ZR30W 30" 2560*1600/SOYO Topaz S 24" 1920*1200
Case SilverStone Fortress FT04/NZXT Source 210 Black
Audio Device(s) Realtek High Definition Audio
Power Supply XFX 750W XXX edition/PC Power Cooling Turbo Cool 860
Software Windows 10 Pro 64 bit /Windows 7 Ult 64 bit/Windows 8.1 Pro
#5
Oh, btw, I have no problems with lag playing COD Black Op's on my connection.
 

Chaney579

New Member
Joined
Feb 13, 2011
Messages
20 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
#7
Is it only 2.84 because you only pay for 3 or something xD? Because i would love to get a little bit higher then that. Link to the product please?
 
Joined
Feb 21, 2008
Messages
6,263 (1.75/day)
Likes
3,364
Location
S.E. Virginia
System Name Barb's Domain/Barb's Cruncher#2/Barb's Laptop
Processor i7 3930k@4.37ghz/i7 860 @ 3.3ghz/AMD E300
Motherboard ASUS Rampage IV Black Edition/Gigabyte P55-UD3R/Proprietary
Cooling Deep Cool Assassin/Corsair A50/stock
Memory 16gig DDR3 1600/4gig DDR3 1600/3gig DDR3 1333
Video Card(s) GTX 1070 OC'ed 2GHz core/mem/MSI HD7770/HD6310
Storage Seagate 2tb Hybrid SSHD/Caviar Blue 160gb/Toshiba 500gb
Display(s) HP ZR30W 30" 2560*1600/SOYO Topaz S 24" 1920*1200
Case SilverStone Fortress FT04/NZXT Source 210 Black
Audio Device(s) Realtek High Definition Audio
Power Supply XFX 750W XXX edition/PC Power Cooling Turbo Cool 860
Software Windows 10 Pro 64 bit /Windows 7 Ult 64 bit/Windows 8.1 Pro
#8
Is it only 2.84 because you only pay for 3 or something xD? Because i would love to get a little bit higher then that. Link to the product please?
Like I said, my connection's advertised speeds are 3000mb download and 768mb upload(can't complain for $30 a month), and this connection gave me the same speeds when I was on a wired connection 5' from the gateway. Going wireless, I didn't lose any connection speed, and that's on a G band wireless connection. The N band wireless connections have a stronger signal and longer range.
 
Joined
Feb 21, 2008
Messages
6,263 (1.75/day)
Likes
3,364
Location
S.E. Virginia
System Name Barb's Domain/Barb's Cruncher#2/Barb's Laptop
Processor i7 3930k@4.37ghz/i7 860 @ 3.3ghz/AMD E300
Motherboard ASUS Rampage IV Black Edition/Gigabyte P55-UD3R/Proprietary
Cooling Deep Cool Assassin/Corsair A50/stock
Memory 16gig DDR3 1600/4gig DDR3 1600/3gig DDR3 1333
Video Card(s) GTX 1070 OC'ed 2GHz core/mem/MSI HD7770/HD6310
Storage Seagate 2tb Hybrid SSHD/Caviar Blue 160gb/Toshiba 500gb
Display(s) HP ZR30W 30" 2560*1600/SOYO Topaz S 24" 1920*1200
Case SilverStone Fortress FT04/NZXT Source 210 Black
Audio Device(s) Realtek High Definition Audio
Power Supply XFX 750W XXX edition/PC Power Cooling Turbo Cool 860
Software Windows 10 Pro 64 bit /Windows 7 Ult 64 bit/Windows 8.1 Pro
#9
I do have to agree with 2DevidedbyZero, you don't need that GTS450 for PhysX in combination with that GTX590. The GTX has plenty of mussle to handle PhysX and graphics of todays games. Your money would be better spent on a high-end dual band wirelessN network
 
Joined
Oct 19, 2007
Messages
6,201 (1.67/day)
Likes
982
System Name Phantom Skylake
Processor Intel i5 6600k @ 4.5GHZ w/ Corsair H80i CPU AiO w/Corsair 120mm SP120 RBG fan
Motherboard Asus z170-A
Cooling 4x120mm Corsair SP120 RBG fans
Memory G.skill DDR4 3200MHz 2x4GB (Soon to be Corsair Vengeance RBG)
Video Card(s) Asus DirectCUII GTX 980 STRIX
Storage Samsung 960 EVO m.2, Samsung 850 EVO 1TB SSD, 2TB backup, 16TB Synology DS1515+ RAID-5
Display(s) Acer Predator 34" 3440x1440
Case Corsair 570x RBG Tempered Glass
Audio Device(s) Onboard / Corsair Void Wireless RGB
Power Supply Corsair HX750w Professional Series
Mouse Logitech G602s
Keyboard Corsair K70 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 x64 Professional
Benchmark Scores Coming Soon
#10
I believe it starts with the GTX 400 series of nvidia cards that they are powerful enough on their own to power the video settings + physx so you dont need a dedicated card.

To answer your internet questions, I personally would run an Ethernet cable just so I dont get lag/random dropouts especially if its for a high end gaming rig. And if youre really worried, get a Killer NIC. Might help some even if it is just for marketing.
 
Joined
Jan 16, 2008
Messages
887 (0.24/day)
Likes
137
Location
Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Processor Intel Xeon X5670 Hexa-core @ 4.6GHz @ 1.35v
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-X58A-UD7
Cooling Swiftech H20 (w/Custom External Rad Enclosure)
Memory 6GB (3x2GB) G.Skill Trident 2000Mhz + 6GB (3x2GB) Corsair 1600Mhz DDR3
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 980 SC
Storage 1TB Samsung 850 EVO
Display(s) Samsung BX2440 (24" LED Backlit)
Case Cooler Master 690 (w/Mods)
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi Titanium
Power Supply Corsair 750-TX
Software Windows 7 Ultimate (x64)
#11
and i dont know if running a 100-150 foot cat 6 cable would be very good from input output lag?
You should be fine if you decide to go that route. You won't notice any more lag than if you had 5 foot one.



When used for 10/100/1000BASE-T, the maximum allowed length of a Cat 6 cable is 100 meters (330 ft). This consists of 90 meters (300 ft) of solid "horizontal" cabling between the patch panel and the wall jack, plus 10 meters (33 ft) of stranded patch cable between each jack and the attached device. Since stranded cable has higher attenuation than solid cable, exceeding 10 metres of patch cabling will reduce the permissible length of horizontal cable.
When used for 10GBASE-T, Cat 6 cable's maximum length is 55 meters (180 ft) in a favourable alien crosstalk environment, but only 37 meters (121 ft) in a hostile alien crosstalk environment such as when many cables are bundled together. 10GBASE-T runs of up to 100 meters (330 ft) are permissible using Cat 6a.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Category_6_cable
 

Chaney579

New Member
Joined
Feb 13, 2011
Messages
20 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
#12
Again where i have my money is where it is going to stay, Its a future proofing rig, When one of the upcoming tittles that supports PhysX will push it to the limits i will have it.. Can anybody else answer the question at hand or just comment on the rig im building?...
 

Chaney579

New Member
Joined
Feb 13, 2011
Messages
20 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
#14
I believe it starts with the GTX 400 series of nvidia cards that they are powerful enough on their own to power the video settings + physx so you dont need a dedicated card.

To answer your internet questions, I personally would run an Ethernet cable just so I dont get lag/random dropouts especially if its for a high end gaming rig. And if youre really worried, get a Killer NIC. Might help some even if it is just for marketing.
Well the motherboard im am getting has killer e2100 from bigfoot built into the mobo. Research the g1 sniper and assassin. Thats pretty much their marketing stand point along with build in 7.1 channel Creative sound blaster xifi. Thats all i was wondering. I didnt know for sure if the cable at some point being so long would have problems talking back and forth but now i can just run the dang thing form the attic xD
 

Chaney579

New Member
Joined
Feb 13, 2011
Messages
20 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
#15
yeah since when was a 590 2 x GTX580 "SPEC"
I tried ignoring you... Everybody has to be so damn anal.. its two 580s slightly down clocked... Now do i have to tell you anything more? At this point the money im putting into the system is just bragging rights for 4 months... I dont need to justify me spending 4500 dollars on a computer.. that wasn't my question. Again you sit here and get butthurt because you want it done your way. Anything i put in the system pretty much now is just to look pretty i could just slap another card in and not hook it up for giggles.
 

Chaney579

New Member
Joined
Feb 13, 2011
Messages
20 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
#17
you state 590 is 2 x 580 spec and then try to dumb me down. LMFAO
Anybody else notice this guy being rude? Pick apart my build bro i will gladly find myself using another forum. I stated what i stated but it is correct you are just trying to find minute details to rag on because you feel jealous i will now go back to ignoring you and this forum
 
Joined
Dec 27, 2007
Messages
8,506 (2.34/day)
Likes
2,072
Location
Kansas City
System Name The Dove Box Rev 2.0
Processor I7 5930k
Motherboard Asus X99
Cooling Custom water loop
Memory 4 x 4GB 3000 MHz DDR4
Video Card(s) 2x MSI 780 Ti's in SLI
Storage 500GB Samsung 850 PCIe SSD, 2x1TB WD Blacks, 1.2TB NAS
Display(s) 27" Asus 144Hz
Case Enermax Fulmo GT
Audio Device(s) ON BOARD FTW
Power Supply Thermaltake Toughpower 850W
Keyboard Logitech G510
Software Win 10 64x
#18
Way to be off topic 2/0 :nutkick:

3 options for networking over a large distance

1. Re-wire the house.
Expensive, time consuming, but ultimately best results.

2. High end wifi
Semi-expensive, wifi question-ability, no modding.

3. Ethernet over power line.
Semi-expensive, takes up a wall outlet, provides reliable internet.
 

erocker

Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 19, 2006
Messages
42,381 (10.17/day)
Likes
18,023
Processor Intel i7 8700k
Motherboard Gigabyte z370 AORUS Gaming 7
Cooling Water
Memory 16gb G.Skill 4000 MHz DDR4
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 1080
Storage 3 x Samsung Evo 850 500GB, 1 x 250GB, 2 x 2TB HDD
Display(s) Nixeus EDG27
Case Thermaltake X5
Power Supply Corsair HX1000i
Mouse Zowie EC1-B
Software Windows 10
#20
Warning: Stay on topic.
 
Joined
Aug 2, 2008
Messages
776 (0.23/day)
Likes
193
Location
in retarded hell
#22
19 posts in and you are threatening to leave when someone points out the rig your building may not be ideal.

c ya
Dont worry about it bro, i will simply not be using your website anymore. Sorry for the bother you can now delete this thread and i thank the 3 people who actually helped.
sigh
 
Joined
Oct 19, 2008
Messages
3,046 (0.91/day)
Likes
684
System Name Has and is well
Processor i7 4770K
Motherboard ASUS B85
Cooling Corsair H100
Memory TEAM 1866mhz 8GBx2 16GB
Video Card(s) MSI 980ti Gold Edition
Storage Intel 520 120GB + Seagate 2TB 7200RPM
Display(s) DELL U2713HM 2560x1440 Monitor
Case Corsair 350D
Power Supply EVGA 850W Gold
Software Win 10
#23
You'll find it much more rewarding using a wired connection. So imo either get your line rewired somehow or buy an extremely long ethernet cable (which is what I'm doing atm) then route it straight from your gateway to your room. Wireless won't do your rig any justice, you may as well play on a laptop if you're going un-wired.
 

erocker

Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 19, 2006
Messages
42,381 (10.17/day)
Likes
18,023
Processor Intel i7 8700k
Motherboard Gigabyte z370 AORUS Gaming 7
Cooling Water
Memory 16gb G.Skill 4000 MHz DDR4
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 1080
Storage 3 x Samsung Evo 850 500GB, 1 x 250GB, 2 x 2TB HDD
Display(s) Nixeus EDG27
Case Thermaltake X5
Power Supply Corsair HX1000i
Mouse Zowie EC1-B
Software Windows 10
#24
Mmmkay.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.