• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Gaming on two monitors GTX 260 How to?

Joined
Oct 6, 2009
Messages
2,793 (0.93/day)
Likes
835
Location
Midwest USA
System Name My Gaming System
Processor Intel i7 4770k @ 4.4 Ghz
Motherboard Asus Maximus VI Impact (ITX)
Cooling Custom Full System Water cooling Loop
Memory G.Skill 1866 Mhz Sniper 8 Gb
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 780 ti SC
Storage Samsung SSD EVO 120GB - Samsung SSD EVO 500GB
Display(s) ASUS W246H - 24" - widescreen TFT active matrix LCD
Case Bitfenix Prodigy
Power Supply Corsair AX760 Modular PSU
Software Windows 8.1 Home Primeum
#1
So my friend owns a GTX 260 by XFX. He also owns two 24 inch monitors of the exact same make and model.
My question is for you guys is..... how do you set up his configuration for gaming on two monitors. We have accomplished extending his desktop but we can not get it to translate to his games.

His card does support two DVI ports and his monitors support VGA/DVI/HDMI.

Is it possible can it be done?

Or can someone direct me to a good thread about setting this up?

Thanks
 
Last edited:
Joined
Oct 6, 2009
Messages
2,793 (0.93/day)
Likes
835
Location
Midwest USA
System Name My Gaming System
Processor Intel i7 4770k @ 4.4 Ghz
Motherboard Asus Maximus VI Impact (ITX)
Cooling Custom Full System Water cooling Loop
Memory G.Skill 1866 Mhz Sniper 8 Gb
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 780 ti SC
Storage Samsung SSD EVO 120GB - Samsung SSD EVO 500GB
Display(s) ASUS W246H - 24" - widescreen TFT active matrix LCD
Case Bitfenix Prodigy
Power Supply Corsair AX760 Modular PSU
Software Windows 8.1 Home Primeum
#2
Edit on something.....

The card he has is the GTX 260 he gave me miss information.... but the manufacturer is still XFX

this card actually....

XFX GTX260 Core edition
 
Last edited:
Joined
Aug 2, 2011
Messages
990 (0.43/day)
Likes
473
Processor Core i7 6800k @ 4.1GHz @ 1.325v
Motherboard MSI X99A Raider
Cooling LEPA AquaChanger 240
Memory 4x8GB Corsair Vengence LED @3000MHz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte Aorus GTX 1080 Ti @ +25core +400mem
Storage 960 EVO 1TB, OCZ Vector 512GB, 2x Samsung 830 128GB, 750GB Samsung, 1.5TB Caviar Green
Display(s) Acer XB270HU, Qnix QX2710
Case Corsair Carbide 500R White
Audio Device(s) ASUS Xonar DX
Power Supply EVGA P2 850W
Mouse RAT8
Keyboard Razer Black Widow Ultimate 2016 Edition
Software Win 10 x64
#3
nVidia surround supports 3 monitors or more if I recall correctly.

Besides, you wouldn't want to spread one game over two monitors, as the bezels would be directly in the center of the screen.
 

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
24,277 (5.51/day)
Likes
10,367
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 4790K@4.6GHz
Motherboard AsRock Z97 Extreme6
Cooling Corsair H100i
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR3-1866 9-10-9-27
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX960 STRIX @ 1500/1900
Storage 480GB Crucial MX200 + 2TB Seagate Solid State Hybrid Drive with 128GB OCZ Synapse SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Corsair 650D Black
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply Corsair HX850
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#4
What he wants is nVidia Surround, that is what makes the two monitors appear as one, which is what games need.

Unfortunately, I don't believe nVidia Surround works on anything below the 400 series, but I could be wrong.

Edit: I am wrong, apparently the GTX200 is supported for nVidia Surround. You'll want to enable it under the nVidia Control Panel.
 
Joined
Mar 4, 2005
Messages
3,100 (0.66/day)
Likes
813
System Name TheReactor
Processor i7 6700k @ 4.95ghz - delid
Motherboard ASUS Maximus VIII Genie z170
Cooling EK EVO NIckle/Pump, 2xBlackIce GTX 240's
Memory 32GB G.Skill 3200Mhz Cas 14
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 980ti Gaming 6G
Storage Samsung 960 EVO 500GB
Display(s) HP ZR30W - 2560X1600
Case Corsiar 550
Audio Device(s) on board
Power Supply Antec Quattro 1000W
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Corsair Gaming k70
Software Windows 10 Pro 64bit
#6
It's going to be a struggle to game with that card on that big of a resolution with modern games. Basically all the eye candy is going to have to be disabled. Things like AA, AF. High level details, view distances, basically most game going to run bare bones to get close to acceptable frame rates.

Maybe if you run some LN2 cooling on the card and OC the crud out of it.
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
19,208 (5.03/day)
Likes
4,800
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
Joined
Oct 6, 2009
Messages
2,793 (0.93/day)
Likes
835
Location
Midwest USA
System Name My Gaming System
Processor Intel i7 4770k @ 4.4 Ghz
Motherboard Asus Maximus VI Impact (ITX)
Cooling Custom Full System Water cooling Loop
Memory G.Skill 1866 Mhz Sniper 8 Gb
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 780 ti SC
Storage Samsung SSD EVO 120GB - Samsung SSD EVO 500GB
Display(s) ASUS W246H - 24" - widescreen TFT active matrix LCD
Case Bitfenix Prodigy
Power Supply Corsair AX760 Modular PSU
Software Windows 8.1 Home Primeum
#8
I have seen people using 1 video card to do gaming across two monitors. I have seen this on system before the GTX 400 series. The GTX 400 series introduced Nvidia Surround. But Video cards from before that allowed gaming on two monitors as one screen.So any other thoughts????
 
Joined
Jul 21, 2008
Messages
4,434 (1.29/day)
Likes
1,050
Location
Clifton Park, NY
System Name [Uber Noober Setup]
Processor [i7 3770K]
Motherboard [MSI P67A-G45(B3)]
Memory [32GB Corsair Vengeance (8GBx4)]
Video Card(s) [EVGA GTX 1080]
Storage [128GB OCZ VTX4 SSD, 2TB Internal HDD]
Display(s) [2x 27" ASUS at 1920x1080p - 1x 34" Samsung at 1440p]
Case [Coolermaster CM 690]
Audio Device(s) [X-Fi XtremeGamer]
Power Supply [CORSAIR 850W]
Software [Windows 10 64-Bit]
#9
I have seen people using 1 video card to do gaming across two monitors. I have seen this on system before the GTX 400 series. The GTX 400 series introduced Nvidia Surround. But Video cards from before that allowed gaming on two monitors as one screen.So any other thoughts????
Ya the 4xx series is much much more powerful then a 260.

I'm not sure what else you need, use nvidia surround. It should work, although itll likely run and look like shit.
 
Joined
Oct 6, 2009
Messages
2,793 (0.93/day)
Likes
835
Location
Midwest USA
System Name My Gaming System
Processor Intel i7 4770k @ 4.4 Ghz
Motherboard Asus Maximus VI Impact (ITX)
Cooling Custom Full System Water cooling Loop
Memory G.Skill 1866 Mhz Sniper 8 Gb
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 780 ti SC
Storage Samsung SSD EVO 120GB - Samsung SSD EVO 500GB
Display(s) ASUS W246H - 24" - widescreen TFT active matrix LCD
Case Bitfenix Prodigy
Power Supply Corsair AX760 Modular PSU
Software Windows 8.1 Home Primeum
#10
Ya the 4xx series is much much more powerful then a 260.

I'm not sure what else you need, use nvidia surround. It should work, although itll likely run and look like shit.
No what I mean is that yeah... I know Nvidia Surround came out during the GTX 400 series era. But from my understanding....the GTX 200 series and below were still capable of using two monitors to game on. No more then two monitors. I am jsut looking for comfirmation that this was possible and if so how to set it up.
 

Bo$$

Lab Extraordinaire
Joined
May 7, 2009
Messages
5,626 (1.79/day)
Likes
971
Location
London, UK
System Name Desktop | Server
Processor Intel i7 2700k @ 4.4GHZ | AMD 5350 @ 2500MHZ
Motherboard Asus P7Z77-V Pro | Asus AM1I-A
Cooling GeLID Tranquilo | Stock Air
Memory Crucial Ballistix 2x8GB CL8 1600MHZ | Corsair Vengence 2x4GB CL9 1600MHZ
Video Card(s) Gainward GTX 780 Phantom GLH | PNY GTX 750Ti
Storage Samsung 840 EVO 250GB + 4TB WD Red | 2x Seagate Barracuda 2TB
Display(s) Samsung S27D390H + Asus VE276Q | Headless
Case Fractal Design R5 | CM Elite 110
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar D1 w/Otone Stilo 5.1 and Creative Fatal1ty headset
Power Supply EVGA Supernova 850 G2| Corsair CX430M
Mouse Razer Imperator 2012
Keyboard Corsair K90
Software Windows 7 SP1 X64 | Ubuntu 16.04LTS
#11
GeForce GTX 285 / 280
/ 275 / 260 2-way SLI Y Supports any three digital or analog connectors Y 3D Vision LCDs – requires three DVI connectors
3D Vision projectors2 - requires three matching connectors
3-way SLI Y Supports any three digital or analog connectors Y 3D Vision LCDs – requires three DVI connectors

3D Vision projectors2 - requires three matching connectors

It's possible, plug the DVI in and GAME
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,114 (9.57/day)
Likes
13,542
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + bob marley zion's
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
#12
the games need to support it. thats all.


you can run in windowed mode and stretch them, but if the game wont do it, the game wont do it. Nvidia surround and Eyefinity are vendor specific methods to force games to support it.
 

Black Mesa

New Member
Joined
Sep 3, 2012
Messages
135 (0.07/day)
Likes
10
Location
Canada
Processor Phenom II x4 B55 @ 3.6Ghz
Motherboard Msi 870 G45
Cooling Hyper 212+
Memory Corsair 4gb single stick 1333
Video Card(s) GTX560SE
Storage WD,Samsung,Segate 7200rpm Raid0
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster 226BW
Case Antec One Hundred
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster Audigy SE
Power Supply Cooler Master RS460
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit / Linux 64bit
Benchmark Scores Pwns them all to hot for them pff !
#13

Black Mesa

New Member
Joined
Sep 3, 2012
Messages
135 (0.07/day)
Likes
10
Location
Canada
Processor Phenom II x4 B55 @ 3.6Ghz
Motherboard Msi 870 G45
Cooling Hyper 212+
Memory Corsair 4gb single stick 1333
Video Card(s) GTX560SE
Storage WD,Samsung,Segate 7200rpm Raid0
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster 226BW
Case Antec One Hundred
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster Audigy SE
Power Supply Cooler Master RS460
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit / Linux 64bit
Benchmark Scores Pwns them all to hot for them pff !
#14
No what I mean is that yeah... I know Nvidia Surround came out during the GTX 400 series era. But from my understanding....the GTX 200 series and below were still capable of using two monitors to game on. No more then two monitors. I am jsut looking for comfirmation that this was possible and if so how to set it up.
I think all nvidia cards since the 8xxx series and maybe even earlier can run in dual monitor mode but as one other poster said there's really no point as the game will look and play like shit on a low performance GTX 260 even on a single monitor.