• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Gaming Pc build... is it good?

Joined
Sep 27, 2012
Messages
140 (0.07/day)
Likes
6
#1
Cpu: Intel Core i5 4570 Haswell 3.2Ghz 6MB L3 Cache s1150 - Box
Mother Board: Gigabyte GA-H87M-D3H LGA1150, Intel H87, DDR3 1600, 2xPCI-E, VGA, DVI, HDMI
Ram:G.Skill 2x4GB DDR3 1600Mhz SNIPER Edition Dual Channel CL9-9-9-24 (Low Voltage)
Gpu: Asus GTX760 2GB GDDR5 DX11 2xDVI HDMI DP PCI-E (Seems awesome)
Hdd: Western Digital Caviar Black 1TB SATA III WD1002FAEX
Optical Drive:LG DVD±RW GH24NS x24 Black SATA OEM (X2)
PSU: (I need Help Choosing)
Case: NZXT Phantom 410
Monitor: Dell E2213H 21.5'' Monitor With LED
OS: Microsoft Windows 7 Professional Multilanguage OEM

So tell me what you think. how will it handle games such as Battlefield 3,4 a Crysis 1,2,3 Etc..

Also again about the Power supply i need help choosing
Thanks in advance
 
Joined
Feb 21, 2008
Messages
6,261 (1.75/day)
Likes
3,363
Location
S.E. Virginia
System Name Barb's Domain/Barb's Cruncher#2/Barb's Laptop
Processor i7 3930k@4.37ghz/i7 860 @ 3.3ghz/AMD E300
Motherboard ASUS Rampage IV Black Edition/Gigabyte P55-UD3R/Proprietary
Cooling Deep Cool Assassin/Corsair A50/stock
Memory 16gig DDR3 1600/4gig DDR3 1600/3gig DDR3 1333
Video Card(s) GTX 1070 OC'ed 2GHz core/mem/MSI HD7770/HD6310
Storage Seagate 2tb Hybrid SSHD/Caviar Blue 160gb/Toshiba 500gb
Display(s) HP ZR30W 30" 2560*1600/SOYO Topaz S 24" 1920*1200
Case SilverStone Fortress FT04/NZXT Source 210 Black
Audio Device(s) Realtek High Definition Audio
Power Supply XFX 750W XXX edition/PC Power Cooling Turbo Cool 860
Software Windows 10 Pro 64 bit /Windows 7 Ult 64 bit/Windows 8.1 Pro
#2
Joined
Sep 27, 2012
Messages
140 (0.07/day)
Likes
6
#3
well i think ill change GPU for the MSI 760 twin frozr. ive always loved MSI as for Psu thanks though i dont mind prices
 
Joined
Dec 31, 2009
Messages
11,492 (3.96/day)
Likes
6,257
Location
Ohio
System Name Daily Driver
Processor 7900X 4.5GHz 10c/10t 1.15V.
Motherboard ASUS Prime X299 Deluxe
Cooling MCR320 + Kuplos Kryos NEXT CPU block
Memory GSkill Trident Z 4x8 GB DDR4 3600 MHz CL16
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1080 FTW3
Storage 512GB Patriot Hellfire, 512GB OCZ RD400, 640GB Caviar Black, 2TB Caviar Green
Display(s) Yamakasi 27" 2560x1440 IPS
Case Thermaltake P5
Power Supply EVGA 750W Supernova G2
Benchmark Scores Faster than most of you! Bet on it! :)
#4
For no overclocking, looks fine to me too (you do not have a K CPU, and eventually that platform will not be able to overclock non K CPUs).

Can you afford an SSD? Get one. Seriously.

I would also up your GPU to a 770. 760 is a solid card, however you are looking to play future games well... the 770 would be my choice there.

650W is a bit much for his system even if he could overclock the CPU to the moon (same with GPU), but the deal on it is the same as the one I would suggest anyway... (a quality 500W PSU would EASILY do the job on that sytem, even overclocked).
 
Joined
Sep 27, 2012
Messages
140 (0.07/day)
Likes
6
#5
alright then. im aware that the CPU cant be overclocked besides the motherboard im choosing isnt exactly overclock material
 
Joined
Sep 27, 2012
Messages
140 (0.07/day)
Likes
6
#6
is this SSD good? Crucial m4 CT064M4SSD2 64GB SSD MLC SATA III not for all stuff just OS and MABYE another thing
 
Joined
Dec 31, 2009
Messages
11,492 (3.96/day)
Likes
6,257
Location
Ohio
System Name Daily Driver
Processor 7900X 4.5GHz 10c/10t 1.15V.
Motherboard ASUS Prime X299 Deluxe
Cooling MCR320 + Kuplos Kryos NEXT CPU block
Memory GSkill Trident Z 4x8 GB DDR4 3600 MHz CL16
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1080 FTW3
Storage 512GB Patriot Hellfire, 512GB OCZ RD400, 640GB Caviar Black, 2TB Caviar Green
Display(s) Yamakasi 27" 2560x1440 IPS
Case Thermaltake P5
Power Supply EVGA 750W Supernova G2
Benchmark Scores Faster than most of you! Bet on it! :)
#7
WE know that... but you asked the question so we answered it in case you did not know.
 

Fourstaff

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Nov 29, 2009
Messages
9,376 (3.19/day)
Likes
2,100
Location
Home
System Name Asus K50-X5DAB \\ Orange!
Processor Athlon QL-65 2.2Ghz \\ 3570K
Motherboard Laptop \\ ASRock z77 Extreme4
Cooling Laptop \\ H100i
Memory 1x1GB + 1X2GB \\ 2x4Gb 1600Mhz CL9 Corsair XMS3
Video Card(s) Mobility Radeon HD4570 512mb \\ Zotac 660Ti OC 2Gb
Storage 250Gb \\ Samsung 840 250Gb + Toshiba DT01ACA300 3Tb
Display(s) 15.6" 1366x768 \\ LG 22EA53VQ
Case Laptop Chassis \\ NZXT Phantom 410 Black/Orange
Power Supply Power Brick \\ Corsair CXM500w
#9
yeah lol. one last thing, you mentiond 500W is enough so how about Antec Earth watts 550W Platinum? it seems good to me..
As long as it has the required plugs sure
 
Joined
Feb 21, 2008
Messages
6,261 (1.75/day)
Likes
3,363
Location
S.E. Virginia
System Name Barb's Domain/Barb's Cruncher#2/Barb's Laptop
Processor i7 3930k@4.37ghz/i7 860 @ 3.3ghz/AMD E300
Motherboard ASUS Rampage IV Black Edition/Gigabyte P55-UD3R/Proprietary
Cooling Deep Cool Assassin/Corsair A50/stock
Memory 16gig DDR3 1600/4gig DDR3 1600/3gig DDR3 1333
Video Card(s) GTX 1070 OC'ed 2GHz core/mem/MSI HD7770/HD6310
Storage Seagate 2tb Hybrid SSHD/Caviar Blue 160gb/Toshiba 500gb
Display(s) HP ZR30W 30" 2560*1600/SOYO Topaz S 24" 1920*1200
Case SilverStone Fortress FT04/NZXT Source 210 Black
Audio Device(s) Realtek High Definition Audio
Power Supply XFX 750W XXX edition/PC Power Cooling Turbo Cool 860
Software Windows 10 Pro 64 bit /Windows 7 Ult 64 bit/Windows 8.1 Pro
#10
as for Psu thanks though i dont mind prices
Well that doesn't mean you need to spend more than you actually have too. Like Earthdog said, 500 watts would be plenty for that build, but that PSU at $50 is a awesome deal that will give you years of reliable use.
 
Joined
Feb 21, 2008
Messages
6,261 (1.75/day)
Likes
3,363
Location
S.E. Virginia
System Name Barb's Domain/Barb's Cruncher#2/Barb's Laptop
Processor i7 3930k@4.37ghz/i7 860 @ 3.3ghz/AMD E300
Motherboard ASUS Rampage IV Black Edition/Gigabyte P55-UD3R/Proprietary
Cooling Deep Cool Assassin/Corsair A50/stock
Memory 16gig DDR3 1600/4gig DDR3 1600/3gig DDR3 1333
Video Card(s) GTX 1070 OC'ed 2GHz core/mem/MSI HD7770/HD6310
Storage Seagate 2tb Hybrid SSHD/Caviar Blue 160gb/Toshiba 500gb
Display(s) HP ZR30W 30" 2560*1600/SOYO Topaz S 24" 1920*1200
Case SilverStone Fortress FT04/NZXT Source 210 Black
Audio Device(s) Realtek High Definition Audio
Power Supply XFX 750W XXX edition/PC Power Cooling Turbo Cool 860
Software Windows 10 Pro 64 bit /Windows 7 Ult 64 bit/Windows 8.1 Pro
#12
personally, I'd take the XFX I suggested purely because of it's single 12v rail compared to the Antec's four 12v rails.
 
Joined
Sep 27, 2012
Messages
140 (0.07/day)
Likes
6
#13
i have no idea what you just said about the 12v rails but ok, sure.
I am not what they call a specialist at most of these things
 
Joined
Jan 21, 2013
Messages
3,800 (2.13/day)
Likes
1,320
System Name Out of the game..
Benchmark Scores d1nky@hwbot.org
#14
if you get an xfx PSU theres a diagram on the box explaining the single rail lol and theyre brilliant quality power supplies.

and i would recommend a 770 over the 760.

also an SSD paired with a decent cpu is pure speed magic!
 
Joined
Feb 21, 2008
Messages
6,261 (1.75/day)
Likes
3,363
Location
S.E. Virginia
System Name Barb's Domain/Barb's Cruncher#2/Barb's Laptop
Processor i7 3930k@4.37ghz/i7 860 @ 3.3ghz/AMD E300
Motherboard ASUS Rampage IV Black Edition/Gigabyte P55-UD3R/Proprietary
Cooling Deep Cool Assassin/Corsair A50/stock
Memory 16gig DDR3 1600/4gig DDR3 1600/3gig DDR3 1333
Video Card(s) GTX 1070 OC'ed 2GHz core/mem/MSI HD7770/HD6310
Storage Seagate 2tb Hybrid SSHD/Caviar Blue 160gb/Toshiba 500gb
Display(s) HP ZR30W 30" 2560*1600/SOYO Topaz S 24" 1920*1200
Case SilverStone Fortress FT04/NZXT Source 210 Black
Audio Device(s) Realtek High Definition Audio
Power Supply XFX 750W XXX edition/PC Power Cooling Turbo Cool 860
Software Windows 10 Pro 64 bit /Windows 7 Ult 64 bit/Windows 8.1 Pro
#15
a PSU's amperage is delivered by it's 12 volt rails. The more rails a PSU has, the more it's amperage is split between the rails. When you use a PSU with multiple rails, as your hooking up it's connections, which are split up between the different rails, you need to insure you you don't connect too much to one rail while not having enough connected to another rail. Especially with 4 rails in a 550 watt PSU and limited connections, it can be difficult to do. Honestly, I don't think I've ever heard of a "quality" 550 watt PSU having 4 rails before. But with a single 12 volt rail PSU, you don't have that issue.


Taken from TPU's PSU guide-

Rails: While many psu's are multi rail, it is better to get a single rail system because with a single rail, the psu can transfer 100% of the 12v output of the psu to the computer, whereas in a multi rail system, you can face up to 30% distribution loss due to underutilized rails. lets say for example lets say rail 12vr2 is assigned to work for the cpu, and lets say the rail carries 17Amps of power, but the cpu only uses 7A of power, that 10amps in lost, whereas in a single rail system, the system draws from only one rail so the power loss is not there. also, lets say you have a grafix card that required 20A, but the rail its using is 17A, you have instability and problems like that, thats why for a sli/crossfire system, you definently want a single rail psu, because everything draws from the single rail, which has all the power of the psu. whereas if you're trying to sli/crossfire on a quad rail system, which has like power of the psu split up, that 1/4 of the power of the psu might not be able to power the sli/crossfire grafix cards.
http://www.techpowerup.com/forums/showthread.php?t=39758
 
Joined
Sep 27, 2012
Messages
140 (0.07/day)
Likes
6
#16
awesome, if this were possible i would do this. (if 400W was enough)
Seasonic fanless Platinum X 400w lol
but im thinking of SLI in the future so this kinda changes things. if i want to add another 760 how many Watts do i need? im guessing over 650.

Edit___~~~
im also thinking of downgrading CPU for budget reasons ive noticed something fishy.
would 3570 be ok or 4430?
 

RCoon

Gaming Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Apr 19, 2012
Messages
11,365 (5.51/day)
Likes
9,492
Location
Gypsyland, UK
System Name HP Omen 17
Processor i7 7700HQ
Memory 16GB 2400Mhz DDR4
Video Card(s) GTX 1060
Storage Samsung SM961 256GB + HGST 1TB
Display(s) 1080p IPS G-SYNC 75Hz
Audio Device(s) Bang & Olufsen
Power Supply 230W
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD+
Software Win 10 Pro
#17
awesome, if this were possible i would do this. (if 400W was enough)
Seasonic fanless Platinum X 400w lol
but im thinking of SLI in the future so this kinda changes things. if i want to add another 760 how many Watts do i need? im guessing over 650.

Edit___~~~
im also thinking of downgrading CPU for budget reasons ive noticed something fishy.
would 3570 be ok or 4430?
3570
750W Bronze PSU minimum for SLI (check for 4 x 6pin PCI-E power), 850w recommended
Samsung 840 Basic or Crucial M4 SSD
760 owns price performance, though 770's are reasonably priced right now if you can afford it.
 
Joined
Feb 21, 2008
Messages
6,261 (1.75/day)
Likes
3,363
Location
S.E. Virginia
System Name Barb's Domain/Barb's Cruncher#2/Barb's Laptop
Processor i7 3930k@4.37ghz/i7 860 @ 3.3ghz/AMD E300
Motherboard ASUS Rampage IV Black Edition/Gigabyte P55-UD3R/Proprietary
Cooling Deep Cool Assassin/Corsair A50/stock
Memory 16gig DDR3 1600/4gig DDR3 1600/3gig DDR3 1333
Video Card(s) GTX 1070 OC'ed 2GHz core/mem/MSI HD7770/HD6310
Storage Seagate 2tb Hybrid SSHD/Caviar Blue 160gb/Toshiba 500gb
Display(s) HP ZR30W 30" 2560*1600/SOYO Topaz S 24" 1920*1200
Case SilverStone Fortress FT04/NZXT Source 210 Black
Audio Device(s) Realtek High Definition Audio
Power Supply XFX 750W XXX edition/PC Power Cooling Turbo Cool 860
Software Windows 10 Pro 64 bit /Windows 7 Ult 64 bit/Windows 8.1 Pro
#18
if you plan on doing SLI in the future, I'd suggest getting atleast a 750 watt model. Personally, I'd get the same PSU I currently have in my 2600k system for $78 after mail-in rebate- http://us.ncix.com/products/?usaffi...vpn=P1-750X-XXB9&manufacture=XFX&promoid=1275

The 3570 is about 10% slower than the 4670, and is still a very good and fast CPU. You'll need a socket 1155 motherboard for the 3570 though. I'd suggest the AsRock Z77 Extreme3 for $91 from newegg- ASRock Z77 Extreme3 ATX Intel Motherboard - Newegg...
 
Joined
Dec 31, 2009
Messages
11,492 (3.96/day)
Likes
6,257
Location
Ohio
System Name Daily Driver
Processor 7900X 4.5GHz 10c/10t 1.15V.
Motherboard ASUS Prime X299 Deluxe
Cooling MCR320 + Kuplos Kryos NEXT CPU block
Memory GSkill Trident Z 4x8 GB DDR4 3600 MHz CL16
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1080 FTW3
Storage 512GB Patriot Hellfire, 512GB OCZ RD400, 640GB Caviar Black, 2TB Caviar Green
Display(s) Yamakasi 27" 2560x1440 IPS
Case Thermaltake P5
Power Supply EVGA 750W Supernova G2
Benchmark Scores Faster than most of you! Bet on it! :)
#20
awesome, if this were possible i would do this. (if 400W was enough)
Seasonic fanless Platinum X 400w lol
but im thinking of SLI in the future so this kinda changes things. if i want to add another 760 how many Watts do i need? im guessing over 650.

Edit___~~~
im also thinking of downgrading CPU for budget reasons ive noticed something fishy.
would 3570 be ok or 4430?
A quality 650W PSU is plenty for a 2x 660ti's and your CPU overclocked.

THe 660ti is 170W, + 10% more for overclocking = 368W for the GPUs overclocked to the max. That leaves 200+ watts for the CPU/mobo/etc. PLENTY.

Let me put this in perspective... with a 4GHz 3770K and 2 7970's, I pulled 535W at the wall while running 3DMark 11 (peak value).

Z77 can overclock, yes.

If you are building new... go Haswell. no reason to build on a dead platform.
 

RCoon

Gaming Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Apr 19, 2012
Messages
11,365 (5.51/day)
Likes
9,492
Location
Gypsyland, UK
System Name HP Omen 17
Processor i7 7700HQ
Memory 16GB 2400Mhz DDR4
Video Card(s) GTX 1060
Storage Samsung SM961 256GB + HGST 1TB
Display(s) 1080p IPS G-SYNC 75Hz
Audio Device(s) Bang & Olufsen
Power Supply 230W
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD+
Software Win 10 Pro
#22
If you are building new... go Haswell. no reason to build on a dead platform.
Z87 is also a dead platform. No more processors apart from the low end, so it is just as dead as Z77

Z77? isnt that for overclocking? or is that for the SLI setup? (guess so)
how about Windows 7 homepremium instead of pro? i dont think ill ever need more than 16GB ram. right?
Yes Z77 is for overclocking, but the VRM's and board quality is arguably better, and you're more likely to get sli/xfire support on a Z77 board.
650w would work for sli/xfire, but I dont recommend it. You might not draw the full PSU's load, but you should not aim to fully load a PSU, its just killing your power efficiency. 750w minimum.
Between a 4670 and a 3570, you will notice ZERO difference in games except in RTS like Total War Shogun. Even then, the difference is negligible.
The only difference people will inevitably argue with is with benchmarks. Yes the 4670 is better in benchmarks, but nothing more. OP isnt benchmarking.
 
Joined
Feb 21, 2008
Messages
6,261 (1.75/day)
Likes
3,363
Location
S.E. Virginia
System Name Barb's Domain/Barb's Cruncher#2/Barb's Laptop
Processor i7 3930k@4.37ghz/i7 860 @ 3.3ghz/AMD E300
Motherboard ASUS Rampage IV Black Edition/Gigabyte P55-UD3R/Proprietary
Cooling Deep Cool Assassin/Corsair A50/stock
Memory 16gig DDR3 1600/4gig DDR3 1600/3gig DDR3 1333
Video Card(s) GTX 1070 OC'ed 2GHz core/mem/MSI HD7770/HD6310
Storage Seagate 2tb Hybrid SSHD/Caviar Blue 160gb/Toshiba 500gb
Display(s) HP ZR30W 30" 2560*1600/SOYO Topaz S 24" 1920*1200
Case SilverStone Fortress FT04/NZXT Source 210 Black
Audio Device(s) Realtek High Definition Audio
Power Supply XFX 750W XXX edition/PC Power Cooling Turbo Cool 860
Software Windows 10 Pro 64 bit /Windows 7 Ult 64 bit/Windows 8.1 Pro
#23
go Haswell. no reason to build on a dead platform.
Unless it will allow the OP to have a faster computer for less money. Socket 1150 Z87 is just as dead as socket 1155 Z77. I have heard no plans of anything faster than the 4770 being planned for Z87. A 3570 is still considered a very fast CPU. If a 3570 can be had for $100 less than a haswell system, and is only 10% slower, why wouldn't the OP opt for Z77? I would.

The Asrock Z77 Extreme3 is just a good budget minded motherboard that is capable of OCíng. That doesn't mean you have to OC with it, but you would have the option in the future. The 3570 may not be a unlocked CPU meant for OCíng, but it can still be OCéd with BLK OCíng.
 
Joined
Dec 31, 2009
Messages
11,492 (3.96/day)
Likes
6,257
Location
Ohio
System Name Daily Driver
Processor 7900X 4.5GHz 10c/10t 1.15V.
Motherboard ASUS Prime X299 Deluxe
Cooling MCR320 + Kuplos Kryos NEXT CPU block
Memory GSkill Trident Z 4x8 GB DDR4 3600 MHz CL16
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1080 FTW3
Storage 512GB Patriot Hellfire, 512GB OCZ RD400, 640GB Caviar Black, 2TB Caviar Green
Display(s) Yamakasi 27" 2560x1440 IPS
Case Thermaltake P5
Power Supply EVGA 750W Supernova G2
Benchmark Scores Faster than most of you! Bet on it! :)
#24
Z87 is also a dead platform. No more processors apart from the low end, so it is just as dead as Z77
There will be a haswell refresh on s1150. ;)
 

RCoon

Gaming Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Apr 19, 2012
Messages
11,365 (5.51/day)
Likes
9,492
Location
Gypsyland, UK
System Name HP Omen 17
Processor i7 7700HQ
Memory 16GB 2400Mhz DDR4
Video Card(s) GTX 1060
Storage Samsung SM961 256GB + HGST 1TB
Display(s) 1080p IPS G-SYNC 75Hz
Audio Device(s) Bang & Olufsen
Power Supply 230W
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD+
Software Win 10 Pro
#25
There will be a haswell refresh on s1150. ;)
And what difference is that going to make to my manshoot games? Is it going to give me 20 extra FPS? No. A better GPU is.
Like i said, OP is gaming, not benchmarking. Haswell is only better in RTS and benchmarking.