• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

gaming pc upgrade...

Joined
Sep 27, 2012
Messages
140 (0.07/day)
Likes
6
#1
This is my Last Thread for a long while so please answer it...



The specs are: (BTW im not buying anything but the Gpu the rest i have already)

Cpu: Q6600 2.4 GHZ (i know its old but it does all i need)
Motheboard: INTEL DP35DP
RAM: Not so sure but i think Kingston 6/8 GB DDR2 800 +/- Mhz
HDD: 2x 500GB western Digital Caviar Blue (its actually faster than i thought)
Gpu: current is Zotac Nvidia GTX 8600 (buying Gigabyte GTX 660 good enough for me)
as im playing at a seriously low resolution (1280x1024 something like that but is that 720p 480p or what)
PSU: (here is my real question) Antec earthwatts 450W (can it handle the upgrade from GT 8600 to GTX 660 or do i need a new PSU (ihope not)
OS: WINDOWS XP buying windows 7 professional 64 BIT
 
Joined
Sep 27, 2012
Messages
140 (0.07/day)
Likes
6
#5
now instead of buying a hole new rig ill just wait another year and afford the GTX 790 with the i9(4960X)(if there is gona be 1) lol i can save money for a beats of a rig
 
Joined
Dec 31, 2009
Messages
11,471 (3.95/day)
Likes
6,245
Location
Ohio
System Name Daily Driver
Processor 7900X 4.5GHz 10c/10t 1.15V.
Motherboard ASUS Prime X299 Deluxe
Cooling MCR320 + Kuplos Kryos NEXT CPU block
Memory GSkill Trident Z 4x8 GB DDR4 3600 MHz CL16
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1080 FTW3
Storage 512GB Patriot Hellfire, 512GB OCZ RD400, 640GB Caviar Black, 2TB Caviar Green
Display(s) Yamakasi 27" 2560x1440 IPS
Case Thermaltake P5
Power Supply EVGA 750W Supernova G2
Benchmark Scores Faster than most of you! Bet on it! :)
#6
Did you just start another thread? Good god son...

Anyway, the GTX 660 TDP is 140W with a power target of 115W (stock). The short answer is yes.
 
Joined
Sep 27, 2012
Messages
140 (0.07/day)
Likes
6
#7
Yaaaay Btw the rest of my posts will only be comments no threads no more

Edit: i just realized you a 690 -_- -_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_- *-*-*-*-*-*-*
and i was blabbing about a 790 which may never come out -_-_-_-
 
Joined
Sep 27, 2012
Messages
140 (0.07/day)
Likes
6
#8
mmm how will this Rig do on battlefield 3 ultra settings ??? im worried as shit... i have an Xbox 360 Slim with like 40 games (all free and working) but for the love of god a console is the lowest gaming league there is Pc is best now i need to know how many FPS i will get on this rig with a 1280x1024 Resolution :)
 
Joined
Jan 18, 2012
Messages
55 (0.03/day)
Likes
17
System Name Silenty
Processor AMD FX-8350@stock (turbo off) undervolted
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-990XA-UD3
Cooling Noctua NH-D14
Memory ADATA GS 2 x 4GB DDR3
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX 660 DirectCU II TOP
Storage WD Black 1TB + some others
Display(s) iiyama ProLite E2473HDS LED
Case Nanoxia Deep Silence 1
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply Seasonic X-750 KM3
Software 8.1 Pro
#9
Combined even with GTX 660 or above at resolution as low as 1280x1024, any quad-core will do just fine in BF3
 
Joined
Sep 27, 2012
Messages
140 (0.07/day)
Likes
6
#10
you know mabye it a low resolution but its still nice
in single player (i do not play multiplayer and if i do with 5-10 people i hate to play with people)
what will be minimum FPS ? (doesnt have to be exact)
Max fps
and average thank you for answering
 
Joined
Dec 31, 2009
Messages
11,471 (3.95/day)
Likes
6,245
Location
Ohio
System Name Daily Driver
Processor 7900X 4.5GHz 10c/10t 1.15V.
Motherboard ASUS Prime X299 Deluxe
Cooling MCR320 + Kuplos Kryos NEXT CPU block
Memory GSkill Trident Z 4x8 GB DDR4 3600 MHz CL16
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1080 FTW3
Storage 512GB Patriot Hellfire, 512GB OCZ RD400, 640GB Caviar Black, 2TB Caviar Green
Display(s) Yamakasi 27" 2560x1440 IPS
Case Thermaltake P5
Power Supply EVGA 750W Supernova G2
Benchmark Scores Faster than most of you! Bet on it! :)
#11
Why dont you take the time to look for those results. All we do in google is type "GTX 660 review techpowerup" and it will take you to that review with the answers in it.

"Give a man a fish, he eats for a day. Teach a man to fish, he eats for a lifetime".

Its time to start doing something, ANYTHING, on your own I think.
 
Joined
Sep 27, 2012
Messages
140 (0.07/day)
Likes
6
#12
but the question involves the q6600 whenever i see answers to it there all about upgrading the component (since its very old and is near crap next to a modern i5 even and i3 which means its a basic disgrace) but ill tell you if i find this time or not...
 
Joined
Dec 31, 2009
Messages
11,471 (3.95/day)
Likes
6,245
Location
Ohio
System Name Daily Driver
Processor 7900X 4.5GHz 10c/10t 1.15V.
Motherboard ASUS Prime X299 Deluxe
Cooling MCR320 + Kuplos Kryos NEXT CPU block
Memory GSkill Trident Z 4x8 GB DDR4 3600 MHz CL16
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1080 FTW3
Storage 512GB Patriot Hellfire, 512GB OCZ RD400, 640GB Caviar Black, 2TB Caviar Green
Display(s) Yamakasi 27" 2560x1440 IPS
Case Thermaltake P5
Power Supply EVGA 750W Supernova G2
Benchmark Scores Faster than most of you! Bet on it! :)
#13
Its hardly 'near crap'. Overclock it to get the best performance you can however.

The only way you are going to get that answer is to hope someone has that same exact setup and will bench for you... Good luck. But it will play just fine.
 
Joined
Jan 22, 2013
Messages
478 (0.27/day)
Likes
119
System Name Desktop
Processor i5 3570k
Motherboard Asrock Z77
Cooling Corsair H60
Memory G Skill 8gb 1600 mhz X 2
Video Card(s) Sapphire Radeon 7850 X 2
Storage 1 TB Velociraptor, 240GB 840 Samsung
Display(s) 27" Samsung LED X 2
Case Thermaltake V9
Power Supply Seasonic 620 W, CX600M on stand by
Software Win 8.1 64
Benchmark Scores Benches are silly
#14
Did you just start another thread? Good god son...

Anyway, the GTX 660 TDP is 140W with a power target of 115W (stock). The short answer is yes.
How does it release 140W of heat but only consume 115 watt of power?
 
Joined
Dec 31, 2009
Messages
11,471 (3.95/day)
Likes
6,245
Location
Ohio
System Name Daily Driver
Processor 7900X 4.5GHz 10c/10t 1.15V.
Motherboard ASUS Prime X299 Deluxe
Cooling MCR320 + Kuplos Kryos NEXT CPU block
Memory GSkill Trident Z 4x8 GB DDR4 3600 MHz CL16
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1080 FTW3
Storage 512GB Patriot Hellfire, 512GB OCZ RD400, 640GB Caviar Black, 2TB Caviar Green
Display(s) Yamakasi 27" 2560x1440 IPS
Case Thermaltake P5
Power Supply EVGA 750W Supernova G2
Benchmark Scores Faster than most of you! Bet on it! :)
#15
Ask Nvidia as they are the ones that state that as well as many reviews around quoting from them. 140W would be with apps like Furmark. Doing 'normal' things with the PSU it wont break 127W (10$ power limit).
 
Joined
Sep 27, 2012
Messages
140 (0.07/day)
Likes
6
#16
i do realize that but just so *you know* im wanting to play at ultra with that kind of resolution
again i do have an xbox with Bf3 and all those i just want a pc that can handle it at high/ultra
 
Joined
Dec 31, 2009
Messages
11,471 (3.95/day)
Likes
6,245
Location
Ohio
System Name Daily Driver
Processor 7900X 4.5GHz 10c/10t 1.15V.
Motherboard ASUS Prime X299 Deluxe
Cooling MCR320 + Kuplos Kryos NEXT CPU block
Memory GSkill Trident Z 4x8 GB DDR4 3600 MHz CL16
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1080 FTW3
Storage 512GB Patriot Hellfire, 512GB OCZ RD400, 640GB Caviar Black, 2TB Caviar Green
Display(s) Yamakasi 27" 2560x1440 IPS
Case Thermaltake P5
Power Supply EVGA 750W Supernova G2
Benchmark Scores Faster than most of you! Bet on it! :)
#17
It would be helpful, if you are not responding to the post above you, to quote the person you are responding to so its clear. I assume you are responding to me...

That said, I googled "BF3 CPU scaling" and came up with more than we have. I see there isnt a Q6600 in the list but we know the BF3 likes quads, and you have that. I expect it to be around the Athlon X4 listed in the link below. As I said.. overclock the Q6600 to get the most out of it. Where you will be, no clue as I dont have that setup. As stated earlier, you will have to wait and hope someone has your EXACT config and will see the thread.

http://static.techspot.com/articles-info/448/bench/CPU_02.png

EDIT: Or I googled "BF3 scaling Q6600" and came up with these: https://www.google.com/webhp?source....r_qf.&bvm=bv.44770516,d.dmg&biw=1333&bih=908
 
Joined
Sep 27, 2012
Messages
140 (0.07/day)
Likes
6
#18
It would be helpful, if you are not responding to the post above you, to quote the person you are responding to so its clear. I assume you are responding to me...

That said, I googled "BF3 CPU scaling" and came up with more than we have. I see there isnt a Q6600 in the list but we know the BF3 likes quads, and you have that. I expect it to be around the Athlon X4 listed in the link below. As I said.. overclock the Q6600 to get the most out of it. Where you will be, no clue as I dont have that setup. As stated earlier, you will have to wait and hope someone has your EXACT config and will see the thread.

http://static.techspot.com/articles-info/448/bench/CPU_02.png

EDIT: Or I googled "BF3 scaling Q6600" and came up with these: https://www.google.com/webhp?source....r_qf.&bvm=bv.44770516,d.dmg&biw=1333&bih=908
oh no i cant overclock on a dp35dp although i can buy an overclockable asrock 755 socket motherboard and i can also get a beast of a rig with a i5 3570k the GTX 660 that was said and all those things but im buying some other stuff
 
Joined
Dec 31, 2009
Messages
11,471 (3.95/day)
Likes
6,245
Location
Ohio
System Name Daily Driver
Processor 7900X 4.5GHz 10c/10t 1.15V.
Motherboard ASUS Prime X299 Deluxe
Cooling MCR320 + Kuplos Kryos NEXT CPU block
Memory GSkill Trident Z 4x8 GB DDR4 3600 MHz CL16
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1080 FTW3
Storage 512GB Patriot Hellfire, 512GB OCZ RD400, 640GB Caviar Black, 2TB Caviar Green
Display(s) Yamakasi 27" 2560x1440 IPS
Case Thermaltake P5
Power Supply EVGA 750W Supernova G2
Benchmark Scores Faster than most of you! Bet on it! :)
#19
Its tough to know what is what because of the many threads you have created...

Personally, I would see what its like as is, or just but the new system.
 
Joined
Sep 15, 2008
Messages
1,050 (0.31/day)
Likes
132
Location
Pikeville NC
System Name In the works
Processor 4670k
Motherboard ASUS Z87
Cooling 5x120mm
Memory 8GB Sniper Gskill 1833
Video Card(s) MSI 970 Gaming
Storage 2x 240gb SSD's + 1TB seagate
Display(s) 27" Acer 1920x1080
Case Corsair Carbide 200R
Power Supply OCZ Power 600W Modular
Keyboard Corsait K70 with red switches
Software Win10
#20
Asus7950DCII, Please quit multi posting. read the forum rules.
 
Joined
Mar 19, 2012
Messages
377 (0.18/day)
Likes
35
Location
Rizal, Philippines
System Name Poor Man's Build
Processor Intel i7 3960X 4.9Ghz Sandy Bridge E
Motherboard MSi X79A-GD65 8D
Cooling XSPC 240mm and 360MM (External) Rad
Memory 64Gb Corsair Dominator Platinum
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX770 SC ACX SLI (non water cooled yet)
Storage Intel 520 240GB SSD x2 /x2 WD Caviar Black 3TB 7200RPM 64MB Cache
Display(s) ASUS 27" 2560X1440 x3
Case Corsair 900D (upgraded from my lvl 10 gt and 600T)
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar Essence STX
Power Supply Corsair AX1200i 80PLUS Platinum
Software Windows 7 Ultimate (FPP)
#21
well If you can get the bread just get the best card you can buy and regret later ^_^ works most of the time for me then I'll have a reason to get a drink lol.