• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

gateway laptop left click issue

Joined
Dec 2, 2005
Messages
704 (0.16/day)
Likes
30
Location
Chicago
System Name Woot
Processor AMD FX-9590
Motherboard ASUSTeK m5a99fxpro r2.0
Cooling Corsair H100i gtx
Memory 24GB G.SKILL PC3-12800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 970GTX
Storage 2X 256GB SANDISK SSD 3X1TB MIXED HD
Display(s) 2x 32" Sony LCD
Case CoolerMaster Storm Trooper
Audio Device(s) 5.1 Surround Onboard
Power Supply Corsair 750W
Mouse Junk
Keyboard Junk
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
Benchmark Scores Anti-Gigabyte rig!
#1
not sure on the model number but the problem is the left click. first i suspected it was the track pad issue. after plugging in external mouse, the issue persists though less often. could it be that the track pad is shorting it out or something?
 
Joined
Oct 12, 2008
Messages
5,656 (1.69/day)
Likes
2,606
Location
στο άλφα έως ωμέγα
System Name Ha/AhHa/Dell
Processor QX9650 SLAWN C1/i7-980x/i7-6700K
Motherboard GA-X48_DS4 (F3B bios)/Gigabyte x58A-UDR3 v 2.0(modded FH bios)/Dell Foxconn 0XJ8C4 Z170
Cooling CNPS9900 LED/H60/ 3 pipe-center fan-air
Memory 8 Gig of G.Skill F2-8800CL5D/24 Gb Corsair Vengence/ 24Gb Samsung DDR4 2133
Video Card(s) Galaxy NVIDIA GeForce GTX 960/PowerColor R9 280/ASUS R9 380X Strix G1
Storage All have SSDs with HDDs for extra storage and backup/Dell-M.2 Samsung 850 EVO PCIe
Display(s) Asus 266H/Viewsonic 1080p/HP ZR24W
Case CM-690/CM-690 II adv/Dell 8900 series
Audio Device(s) All use on board (Realtek) w/2.1 speakers
Power Supply PC P&C 750/PC P&C Silencer 950/CM 700 Extreme
Mouse Logitech
Keyboard Logitech
Software Windows 10 Pro - 64 bit/Windows 10 Pro - 64bit/Windows 10 Pro - 64bit
#2
Have you try disabling the trackpad using the Fn+F key and testing with the mouse?
And/or disabling the trackpad in the device manager and testing?

try reinstalling the trackpad software?

If it is a physical problem with the touchpad... you may need to disassemble it to clean it.
It could have gotten gunked up.
 
Joined
Dec 2, 2005
Messages
704 (0.16/day)
Likes
30
Location
Chicago
System Name Woot
Processor AMD FX-9590
Motherboard ASUSTeK m5a99fxpro r2.0
Cooling Corsair H100i gtx
Memory 24GB G.SKILL PC3-12800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 970GTX
Storage 2X 256GB SANDISK SSD 3X1TB MIXED HD
Display(s) 2x 32" Sony LCD
Case CoolerMaster Storm Trooper
Audio Device(s) 5.1 Surround Onboard
Power Supply Corsair 750W
Mouse Junk
Keyboard Junk
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
Benchmark Scores Anti-Gigabyte rig!
#3
its my friends laptop. she told me she had issues withe the thing locking up. but her version of a lock up was she couldnt click. i didnt try disabling the trackpad but ill try that tomorrow. by disabling it, does it actually hardware-wise disconnect it or just software-wise... my next step after that is to actually take it apart and make sure the ribbon is properly connected as she told me someone actually took it apart a few months back.. (noob) ;)
 

AsRock

TPU addict
Joined
Jun 23, 2007
Messages
15,317 (4.00/day)
Likes
4,724
Location
US
Processor 2500k \ 3770k
Motherboard ASRock Z68 \ Z77
Memory Samsung low profile 1600
Video Card(s) XFX 6770 \ XFX R9 290X
Storage Intel 80Gb (SATA2) WD 250Gb \ Team SSD+Samsung Evo 250Gb+500Gb+ 2xCorsair Force+WD250GbHDD
Display(s) Samsung 1080P \ Toshiba HDTV 1080P
Case HTPC400 \ Thermaltake Armor case ( original ), With Zalman fan controller ( wattage usage ).
Audio Device(s) Yamaha RX-V475 \ Marantz SR5008 Tannoy Mercury MKII Paradigm 5SE + Tannoy Mercury F4
Power Supply PC&Power 750w \ Seasonic 750w MKII
Mouse MS intelimouse \ Logitech G700s + Steelseries Sensei wireless
Keyboard Logitech K120 \ ROCCAT MK Pro ( modded amber leds )
Benchmark Scores Meh benchmarks.
#4
Maybe check the mouse settings to like speed and you should be able to set it up as you plug in a mouse the mouse pad gets disabled.
 
Joined
Oct 12, 2008
Messages
5,656 (1.69/day)
Likes
2,606
Location
στο άλφα έως ωμέγα
System Name Ha/AhHa/Dell
Processor QX9650 SLAWN C1/i7-980x/i7-6700K
Motherboard GA-X48_DS4 (F3B bios)/Gigabyte x58A-UDR3 v 2.0(modded FH bios)/Dell Foxconn 0XJ8C4 Z170
Cooling CNPS9900 LED/H60/ 3 pipe-center fan-air
Memory 8 Gig of G.Skill F2-8800CL5D/24 Gb Corsair Vengence/ 24Gb Samsung DDR4 2133
Video Card(s) Galaxy NVIDIA GeForce GTX 960/PowerColor R9 280/ASUS R9 380X Strix G1
Storage All have SSDs with HDDs for extra storage and backup/Dell-M.2 Samsung 850 EVO PCIe
Display(s) Asus 266H/Viewsonic 1080p/HP ZR24W
Case CM-690/CM-690 II adv/Dell 8900 series
Audio Device(s) All use on board (Realtek) w/2.1 speakers
Power Supply PC P&C 750/PC P&C Silencer 950/CM 700 Extreme
Mouse Logitech
Keyboard Logitech
Software Windows 10 Pro - 64 bit/Windows 10 Pro - 64bit/Windows 10 Pro - 64bit
#5
its my friends laptop. she told me she had issues withe the thing locking up. but her version of a lock up was she couldnt click. i didnt try disabling the trackpad but ill try that tomorrow. by disabling it, does it actually hardware-wise disconnect it or just software-wise... my next step after that is to actually take it apart and make sure the ribbon is properly connected as she told me someone actually took it apart a few months back.. (noob) ;)
No, you would have to remove the connector to disconnect it from a hardware point of view.
You are only electrically shutting it down the way I stated. Sorta like flipping a chip to an off state; it is still connected, but not functioning.

However, if your friend is having "I click it, but it don't do nuthin" syndrome... Have them run a good virus scanner.
Also, try turning off the A/V software or reinstall it. <--This is for testing purposes.
Check the task manager to see if there are any memory/cpu hogs.
Clean up with something like ccleaner and windows own disk cleanup.
Defrag the drives.
Use something like Autoruns or msconfig and disable unneeded startup items.
Have them uninstall any apps they don't want or use.
Turn off "call home and report" options for any apps that call home on a regular basis to better improve your experience.

Could be a system just being dragged down by junk.
Just a few recommendations to try, if it is not a hardware problem.
 
Joined
Nov 25, 2008
Messages
922 (0.28/day)
Likes
281
Location
Akron, OH
System Name Main Rig
Processor Athlon 5350
Motherboard AsRock mITX
Memory 4gb
Storage 120gb Kingston HyperX SSD
Display(s) Samsung Syncmaster 740N
Power Supply Corsair 430 watt
#6
Is it single clicks or double clicks that aren't registering?
 
Joined
Dec 2, 2005
Messages
704 (0.16/day)
Likes
30
Location
Chicago
System Name Woot
Processor AMD FX-9590
Motherboard ASUSTeK m5a99fxpro r2.0
Cooling Corsair H100i gtx
Memory 24GB G.SKILL PC3-12800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 970GTX
Storage 2X 256GB SANDISK SSD 3X1TB MIXED HD
Display(s) 2x 32" Sony LCD
Case CoolerMaster Storm Trooper
Audio Device(s) 5.1 Surround Onboard
Power Supply Corsair 750W
Mouse Junk
Keyboard Junk
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
Benchmark Scores Anti-Gigabyte rig!
#7
No, you would have to remove the connector to disconnect it from a hardware point of view.
You are only electrically shutting it down the way I stated. Sorta like flipping a chip to an off state; it is still connected, but not functioning.

However, if your friend is having "I click it, but it don't do nuthin" syndrome... Have them run a good virus scanner.
Also, try turning off the A/V software or reinstall it. <--This is for testing purposes.
Check the task manager to see if there are any memory/cpu hogs.
Clean up with something like ccleaner and windows own disk cleanup.
Defrag the drives.
Use something like Autoruns or msconfig and disable unneeded startup items.
Have them uninstall any apps they don't want or use.
Turn off "call home and report" options for any apps that call home on a regular basis to better improve your experience.

Could be a system just being dragged down by junk.
Just a few recommendations to try, if it is not a hardware problem.
tried all that. no viruses, saved her 6.5gb in temp files, defraged, safe-mode does the same thing. it looks like a hardware issue...

Is it single clicks or double clicks that aren't registering?
both. its like as if it allows you to move the mouse but you cant click, double click, click and drag files..
 
Joined
Nov 25, 2008
Messages
922 (0.28/day)
Likes
281
Location
Akron, OH
System Name Main Rig
Processor Athlon 5350
Motherboard AsRock mITX
Memory 4gb
Storage 120gb Kingston HyperX SSD
Display(s) Samsung Syncmaster 740N
Power Supply Corsair 430 watt
#8
Gotta be software if an external mouse behaves in the same fashion like you said it did. Have you checked the mouse settings in the OS/driver to make sure that they aren't causing this behavior somehow?
 
Joined
Dec 2, 2005
Messages
704 (0.16/day)
Likes
30
Location
Chicago
System Name Woot
Processor AMD FX-9590
Motherboard ASUSTeK m5a99fxpro r2.0
Cooling Corsair H100i gtx
Memory 24GB G.SKILL PC3-12800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 970GTX
Storage 2X 256GB SANDISK SSD 3X1TB MIXED HD
Display(s) 2x 32" Sony LCD
Case CoolerMaster Storm Trooper
Audio Device(s) 5.1 Surround Onboard
Power Supply Corsair 750W
Mouse Junk
Keyboard Junk
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
Benchmark Scores Anti-Gigabyte rig!
#9
Gotta be software if an external mouse behaves in the same fashion like you said it did. Have you checked the mouse settings in the OS/driver to make sure that they aren't causing this behavior somehow?
yes, i tried reinstalling drivers/ removing drivers and still same issue. im still thinking it might be hardware related. im guessing its sticking maybe, thats why the external mouse has a similar issue just less often. thanks for all input!
 

Krazy Owl

New Member
Joined
Jan 12, 2012
Messages
897 (0.41/day)
Likes
76
Location
Montreal
System Name HTPC-Cube
Processor AMD Athlon 64 skt754 3200+ 1M cache
Motherboard Foxconn Winfast K8S760MG-6LRS
Cooling Stock
Memory 2 gigs DDR400
Video Card(s) HIS IceQ 4670 AGP 1gig DDR3
Storage White label 80gigs sata
Display(s) Polaroid 19 inches 1366X768 LED
Case Chenming cube
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Raidmax RX-500S
Software Seven Pro 64bits
#10
If track pad start getting defective it may sometimes detect movement when there is none. So the mouse will do the same even on external.

deactivate the internal trackpad and see if the external mouse have the same behavior.