• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Gears of War for PC Goes Gold

malware

New Member
Joined
Nov 7, 2004
Messages
5,422 (1.13/day)
Likes
954
Location
Bulgaria
Processor Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 G0 VID: 1.2125
Motherboard GIGABYTE GA-P35-DS3P rev.2.0
Cooling Thermalright Ultra-120 eXtreme + Noctua NF-S12 Fan
Memory 4x1 GB PQI DDR2 PC2-6400
Video Card(s) Colorful iGame Radeon HD 4890 1 GB GDDR5
Storage 2x 500 GB Seagate Barracuda 7200.11 32 MB RAID0
Display(s) BenQ G2400W 24-inch WideScreen LCD
Case Cooler Master COSMOS RC-1000 (sold), Cooler Master HAF-932 (delivered)
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi XtremeMusic + Logitech Z-5500 Digital THX
Power Supply Chieftec CFT-1000G-DF 1kW
Software Laptop: Lenovo 3000 N200 C2DT2310/3GB/120GB/GF7300/15.4"/Razer
#1
The PC edition of Epic's third person shooter Gears of War has gone gold, Microsoft announced today. The title will hit retail stores on November 6th. Gears of War for PC will feature the amazing tactical action and multiplayer excitement found in the Xbox 360 version, but it will also add a variety of all-new content, including three new multiplayer maps, a new multiplayer mode, game editor, five new game chapters and DirectX10 support. The package will retail for $49.99.



Source: Shacknews
 

tvdang7

New Member
Joined
Jan 6, 2006
Messages
318 (0.07/day)
Likes
1
Processor AMD 3200+ venice @2.65
Motherboard Abot AX8
Cooling XP-90 with highspeed zalman
Memory 2 x 1gb ocz gold DDR500
Video Card(s) x1800xl 600/625 1.15/1.856/1.856
Storage 160 gig hitachi SATA
Display(s) viewsonic E90
Case thermaltake tsunami dream
Audio Device(s) sound blaster audigy 2 zs
Power Supply ultra X-finity 600W
Software xp-pro
#2
what does it mean when they say gone gold? sold 500k copies?
if it has dx10 does the xbox support that too?
can the pc play against xbox?
 

DaMulta

My stars went supernova
Joined
Aug 3, 2006
Messages
16,162 (3.86/day)
Likes
1,419
Location
Oklahoma T-Town
System Name Work in progress
Processor AMD 955---4Ghz
Motherboard MSi GD70
Cooling OcZ Phase/water
Memory Crucial2GB kit (1GBx2), Ballistix 240-pin DIMM, DDR3 PC3-16000
Video Card(s) CrossfireX 2 X HD 4890 1GB OCed to 1000Mhz
Storage SSD 64GB
Display(s) Envision 24'' 1920x1200
Case Using the desk ATM
Audio Device(s) Sucky onboard for now :(
Power Supply 1000W TruePower Quattro
#3
Sorry MS but I will be playing COD 4 on that day:)

Been looking forward to Gears of War for a while now tho.


No the Xbox has no DX10 in it, and you might be able to play PC vs 360.
 
Joined
Sep 22, 2007
Messages
3,490 (0.93/day)
Likes
571
Location
UK
System Name Dream Weaver
Processor 3770K @ 4.3GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte Z77 UD5H
Cooling NH-D14
Memory 8GB DDR3 @ 2000MHz 10-10-10-28 1T
Video Card(s) MSI RX 480 8GB Gaming
Storage Crucial M4 128 Gb + 4TB
Display(s) ASUS 27" 1440p 144hz FreeSync
Case Fractal Design Define R3
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar DS
Power Supply Corsair HX 620W
Software Windows 10 x64
#5
Any1 know the minimum requirements for this? You reckon an X850XT will cut the mustard?
 

DaMulta

My stars went supernova
Joined
Aug 3, 2006
Messages
16,162 (3.86/day)
Likes
1,419
Location
Oklahoma T-Town
System Name Work in progress
Processor AMD 955---4Ghz
Motherboard MSi GD70
Cooling OcZ Phase/water
Memory Crucial2GB kit (1GBx2), Ballistix 240-pin DIMM, DDR3 PC3-16000
Video Card(s) CrossfireX 2 X HD 4890 1GB OCed to 1000Mhz
Storage SSD 64GB
Display(s) Envision 24'' 1920x1200
Case Using the desk ATM
Audio Device(s) Sucky onboard for now :(
Power Supply 1000W TruePower Quattro
#7
Any1 know the minimum requirements for this? You reckon an X850XT will cut the mustard?
That all depends on the optimization they did.

I'm wondering if this is going to be another Vista only game.
 
Joined
Aug 7, 2007
Messages
2,657 (0.70/day)
Likes
779
Processor Intel i5-2500k @ 3.8GHz
Motherboard ASRock Z68 Extreme4 Gen3
Cooling CM Hyper 212 EVO w/ AC MX-2
Memory 8GB DDR3 1866 Gskill Snipers 9-10-9-28
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1060 Gaming X
Storage 240GB Corsair Force GT
Display(s) 23' Dell AW2310
Case Corsair 550D
Audio Device(s) Creative SB X-Fi Fatality Professional
Power Supply Seasonic SS-760XP2 Platinum
Software Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
#8
That all depends on the optimization they did.

I'm wondering if this is going to be another Vista only game.
It better not be. I've been waiting for this game for the longest time. It should just be like Bioshock, run in both DX9 and 10 modes, but I think there's going to be a big difference in visuals.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Oct 19, 2007
Messages
6,335 (1.69/day)
Likes
1,098
System Name The Green Knight
Processor Intel i5 8600k @4.9GHz w/ Corsair H100i CPU AiO w/Corsair HD120 RBG fan
Motherboard Asus Z370-E Gaming
Cooling 6x120mm Corsair HD120 RBG fans
Memory Corsair Vengeance RBG 2x8GB 3600MHz
Video Card(s) Asus DirectCUII GTX 980 STRIX
Storage Samsung 960 EVO m.2, Samsung 850 EVO 1TB SSD, 2TB backup, 16TB Synology DS1515+ RAID-5
Display(s) Acer Predator 34" 3440x1440 OC'd to 100MHz
Case Corsair 570x RBG Tempered Glass
Audio Device(s) Onboard / Corsair Void Wireless RGB
Power Supply Corsair HX750w Professional Series
Mouse Logitech G602s
Keyboard Corsair K70 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 x64 Professional
Benchmark Scores Firestrike - 11471 @4.9GHz 980 stock @1178 core 1753 memory 1279 boost Unigine Heaven - 1824
#9
I personally would like to see full DX10 support and not just some half baked crap like in Lost Planet and BioShock. Drop the DX9 and DX10 mix. Im not just saying this because I have Vista and DX10. DX10 has been around for close to a year now and they are still making it a mix of both. I would be saying the same thing even if I didnt have the hardware to play it.

http://www.xbox360achievements.org/achievements.php?gameID=482

There are the achievements.
 

Helvetica

New Member
Joined
Sep 13, 2007
Messages
159 (0.04/day)
Likes
2
Processor Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 Kentsfield 2.4GHz
Motherboard ASUS P5K-E/WIFI-AP
Memory 2GB DDR2 800mhz
Video Card(s) HD2900XT
Storage WD 10,000RPM
Display(s) 1920x1200
Audio Device(s) Creative
Power Supply 700w
#10
Gears of War FTL!! Any game that makes 'Stick to the Wall', 'Run', and 'Jump' all the same button will suck. Don't believe me?/? bUy this game....

Besides, CoD4 coming out, and it's going to smoke gears of war.
 
Joined
Oct 19, 2007
Messages
6,335 (1.69/day)
Likes
1,098
System Name The Green Knight
Processor Intel i5 8600k @4.9GHz w/ Corsair H100i CPU AiO w/Corsair HD120 RBG fan
Motherboard Asus Z370-E Gaming
Cooling 6x120mm Corsair HD120 RBG fans
Memory Corsair Vengeance RBG 2x8GB 3600MHz
Video Card(s) Asus DirectCUII GTX 980 STRIX
Storage Samsung 960 EVO m.2, Samsung 850 EVO 1TB SSD, 2TB backup, 16TB Synology DS1515+ RAID-5
Display(s) Acer Predator 34" 3440x1440 OC'd to 100MHz
Case Corsair 570x RBG Tempered Glass
Audio Device(s) Onboard / Corsair Void Wireless RGB
Power Supply Corsair HX750w Professional Series
Mouse Logitech G602s
Keyboard Corsair K70 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 x64 Professional
Benchmark Scores Firestrike - 11471 @4.9GHz 980 stock @1178 core 1753 memory 1279 boost Unigine Heaven - 1824
#11
Gears of War FTL!! Any game that makes 'Stick to the Wall', 'Run', and 'Jump' all the same button will suck. Don't believe me?/? bUy this game....

Besides, CoD4 coming out, and it's going to smoke gears of war.
Not to start anything, but I highly doubt it. I have played both which I am sure you have to (CoD4 demo), but that is just a fanboy comment right there. It is your personal opinion so please dont try and bring on a flamewar.

If you are concerned with the button layout, use the 360 controller. Thats one of the benefits of Games for Windows.
 
Joined
Aug 7, 2007
Messages
2,657 (0.70/day)
Likes
779
Processor Intel i5-2500k @ 3.8GHz
Motherboard ASRock Z68 Extreme4 Gen3
Cooling CM Hyper 212 EVO w/ AC MX-2
Memory 8GB DDR3 1866 Gskill Snipers 9-10-9-28
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1060 Gaming X
Storage 240GB Corsair Force GT
Display(s) 23' Dell AW2310
Case Corsair 550D
Audio Device(s) Creative SB X-Fi Fatality Professional
Power Supply Seasonic SS-760XP2 Platinum
Software Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
#12
Gears of War FTL!! Any game that makes 'Stick to the Wall', 'Run', and 'Jump' all the same button will suck. Don't believe me?/? bUy this game....

Besides, CoD4 coming out, and it's going to smoke gears of war.
If I'm not mistaken, the reason they had 3 functions on 1 command was because of the lack of buttons on the 360 controller. I think the PC will be different I hope.
 
B

bassmasta

Guest
#13
I didn't like GOW. then again, I didn't like halo 1,2, or 3 for that matter. I'm fairly interested to see if this can play somewhat like doom or STALKER on the keyboard
 
Joined
Jul 20, 2007
Messages
640 (0.17/day)
Likes
286
Processor Intel i5 3550
Motherboard ASRock Z77 Pro4-M
Cooling Thermaltake Performer 2.0 AIO Liquid Cooler
Memory 32GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 1600mhz
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 960
Storage Corsair Neutron 256gb Boot drive, ~7tb storage combined on other drives
Display(s) AOC 27" 1920x1080 IPS and Wacom Cintiq 13" HD
Case Fractal Design Node 804
Audio Device(s) Realtek HD audio, Pyle Pro PTA2 Amp, Sony SS-B3000 Speakers, Sennheiser HD595 headphones
Power Supply Antec 750W "High Current Gamer"
Mouse SteelSeries Diablo 3
Keyboard Rosewill Mechanical with cherry black keys
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64
#14
i am looking forward to this more than cod4, but not nearly as much as crysis. from my experiences the cod games have been too easy (the cod4 demo especially, i mean, i can basically let the ai teamates do 90% of the work on any difficulty). i also have heard the woes about having the one button for 3 things on the xbox, but i hope they didnt just straight port the thing control wise like just about every other 360-to-pc port....
 
Joined
Nov 18, 2006
Messages
2,964 (0.73/day)
Likes
397
Location
your local vending machine
System Name HTPC||Lenovo IBM ThinkPad
Processor AMD Phenom II x4 965 stock 3.4GHz||Intel C2D T9300 @ 2.5GHz
Motherboard Zotac 890GX-ITX WiFi||Lenovo 8918CTO
Cooling Stock 3x 120's||Stock stuff
Memory 8GB (2x4GB) DDR3 6-6-6-15||3GB DDR2
Video Card(s) Asus 3870x2||nVidia Quadro NVS 140M
Storage 1TB Seagate Barracuda, 1x 2TB WD EARX ||Hitachi 160GB 7200RPM
Display(s) Samsung T260HD||
Case SilverStone Grandia GD05||
Audio Device(s) on-board||on-board
Power Supply Cooler Master 450W||6-cell
Software Windows 7 Pro x64||Windows 7 Pro x64/Linux Mint x64
#15
CoD 4 will own this game. Plus you have to pay to play it online. Which I find to be rather dumb IMO.
 
Joined
Aug 7, 2007
Messages
2,657 (0.70/day)
Likes
779
Processor Intel i5-2500k @ 3.8GHz
Motherboard ASRock Z68 Extreme4 Gen3
Cooling CM Hyper 212 EVO w/ AC MX-2
Memory 8GB DDR3 1866 Gskill Snipers 9-10-9-28
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1060 Gaming X
Storage 240GB Corsair Force GT
Display(s) 23' Dell AW2310
Case Corsair 550D
Audio Device(s) Creative SB X-Fi Fatality Professional
Power Supply Seasonic SS-760XP2 Platinum
Software Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
#16
CoD 4 will own this game. Plus you have to pay to play it online. Which I find to be rather dumb IMO.
You talking about GOW or CoD 4? Either way, thats weak
 

Shizelbs

New Member
Joined
Oct 11, 2007
Messages
130 (0.03/day)
Likes
5
Location
Duvall, WA
Processor Q6600
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-P35-DS3L LGA 775 Intel P35 ATX
Cooling Intel
Memory 4 gigs of DDR800 - OCZ Reaper
Video Card(s) BFG 8800GTS OC
Display(s) 245BW 24" Samsung
Case Antec 900
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster Audigy
Power Supply Rosewill RP600V2-S-SL 600W SLI Ready Power Supply
Software Vista 64 bit
#17
Loved it on the 360, probably will buy it for PC just so I can play the extra chapters.
 

Weer

New Member
Joined
Aug 15, 2007
Messages
1,417 (0.37/day)
Likes
93
Location
New York / Israel
System Name //////////////////////////////////////Crunching/Folding Builds\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\
Processor Q8400@ 4.0Ghz | Q6600 @ 3.6Ghz | E7300 @ 3.8Ghz | E5300 @ 4.3Ghz | E5300 @ 3.9Ghz | E2180 @ 2.0Ghz |
Motherboard ASUS P5Q-E | Asus P5Q Pro | Gigabyte EG45-DS2H | Gigabyte EP35-DS3H | Gigabyte NV73 | E-Sonic P35-G
Cooling TRUE [Lapped] | TRUE | Thermalright SI-128 | Stock | Stock | Stock
Memory G.Skill 8192MB @ 1066Mhz | G.Skill 4096MB | OCZ 2048MB | G.Skill 2048MB | PNY 2048MB | OCZ 1024MB
Video Card(s) GTX 280 + 8800 GTS 512 | 9800 GX2 + 8800 GTS 512 | 6600 GT | 8800 GS | 9600 GSO 512
Storage G.Skill 64GB SSD (OS) | Segate 750GB [Downloads] | 5TB JBOD [Movies] | 3TB JBOD [Else] | 1.5TB [Ex]
Display(s) QUAD Monitors: Dell 2007FP [20"] + Dell 3007WFP-HC [30"] + Dell 2007FP [20"] | Dell 2407WFP-HC [24"]
Case Antec P190 | Antec Three-Hundred | Antec NSK2400 | Thermaltake Strike MX | HEC 6T10 | HEC 8K01
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi XtremeGamer PCI + [Audiophile HD600] + [Creative G500 + Logitech X-530 = 10 speakers]
Power Supply OCZ 750w [62A] | OCZ 750w [62A] | Antec 380w [31A] | Antec 650w [54A] | OCZ 400w [33A] | GeN [20A]
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit + Windows XP 64-bit | Windows Vista SP2 64-bit | Windows 7 RTM 64-bit
Benchmark Scores ////////////////////////////////66,666 [Crunching] + 45,455 [Folding]\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\
#18
Why does everything go "GOLD" all the time?
 
Joined
Nov 6, 2005
Messages
480 (0.11/day)
Likes
38
Location
Silver Spring, MD
Processor Core i7 4770K
Motherboard Asrock Z87E-ITX
Cooling Stock
Memory 16GB Gskill 2133MHz DDR3
Video Card(s) PNY GeForce GTX 670 2GB
Storage 256GB Corsair M4, 240GB Samsung 840
Display(s) 27" 1440p Achevia Shimian
Case Fractal Node 304
Audio Device(s) Audioquest Dragonfly USB DAC
Power Supply Corsair Builder 600W
Software Windows 7 Pro x64
#19
Why does everything go "GOLD" all the time?

Cause silver and bronze don't sound as impressive.



Don't know why everyone things COD4 will own it..... it did incredibly well on 360 cause it looks good, plays well, and has a good story. Coming to the PC adds features, an editor, and better graphic settings.... plus a better (in my opinion) control set.


From what I can tell of COD4.... it will be very, very, very similar to the previous ones, but it will look nicer. Even COD2 looked good, that has never been their problem, the biggest complaint I hear about any of them is that you literally do the same thing over and over and over.
 
Joined
Feb 15, 2007
Messages
1,925 (0.48/day)
Likes
274
Processor Intel C2D E8500 @ 4.25GHz (1.36V)
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-X38-DQ6
Cooling (Temporary) Tuniq Tower 120
Memory 2GB Transcend aXeram 1200+
Video Card(s) HIS HD3870 CF Volt modded
Storage 3 Seagate 320Gb Barracuda in an Intel Matrix Raid array
Display(s) Sony GDM-FW900 24" Widescreen CRT (a.k.a "The Shiznotch")
Case Ultra Aluminus Full Tower
Audio Device(s) onboard Intel HD audio
Power Supply PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750
Software XP MCE + Vista (HP) dual-boot
#20
Why does everything go "GOLD" all the time?

It is an announcement that the game is finalized and the gold master disc (that all the duplicates are "printed" from) is going to the fabrication plant.

It is not an indicator of how many copies it has sold.

Cheers,

Bryan
 
Joined
Oct 2, 2005
Messages
2,913 (0.65/day)
Likes
659
Location
Baltimore MD
Processor FX-8320@ 4.2Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte 970A-UD3
Cooling Xigmatek S1283
Memory 2x4Gb Corsair 1600 9-9-9-24
Video Card(s) Sapphire RX-480 Nitro
Storage OCZ Vertex 3 120G, 1TB WD Black
Display(s) Dell S2330MX
Case Corsair Carbide Air 540
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Fatal1ty / 5.1 Logitech Z-5500
Power Supply Silverstone DA750
Software Win10 pro 64bit
#21
its gona be a straight port of the 360 version with all the glitches and exploits just like halo 2 was so imo its a waste the only way i would buy it is if they fixed the crabwalking and shotgun chainsaw glitches that ruined the game which they aint going to do so this game will be trash just like every other 360 fps

all HAIL CRYSIS
 

Helvetica

New Member
Joined
Sep 13, 2007
Messages
159 (0.04/day)
Likes
2
Processor Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 Kentsfield 2.4GHz
Motherboard ASUS P5K-E/WIFI-AP
Memory 2GB DDR2 800mhz
Video Card(s) HD2900XT
Storage WD 10,000RPM
Display(s) 1920x1200
Audio Device(s) Creative
Power Supply 700w
#22
Not to start anything, but I highly doubt it. I have played both which I am sure you have to (CoD4 demo), but that is just a fanboy comment right there. It is your personal opinion so please dont try and bring on a flamewar.

If you are concerned with the button layout, use the 360 controller. Thats one of the benefits of Games for Windows.
Excuse me?? I didn't personally attack anybody. Your post is the perfect example of a starting a flame war. The button layout is terrible on the 360. I get in first place almost every game, but that doesn't mean that I can't think the controls are trash.

Epic tried to make the game 'Sandbox friendly' by not using a lot of buttons. It turns out to be extremely frustrating, and I haven't read a review that didn't mention the terrible control scheme. I'm not a CoD fanboy - but I will say that Infinity Ward mastered FPS controls w/consoles on CoD2. Gears of War butchered.
 
Joined
Oct 19, 2007
Messages
6,335 (1.69/day)
Likes
1,098
System Name The Green Knight
Processor Intel i5 8600k @4.9GHz w/ Corsair H100i CPU AiO w/Corsair HD120 RBG fan
Motherboard Asus Z370-E Gaming
Cooling 6x120mm Corsair HD120 RBG fans
Memory Corsair Vengeance RBG 2x8GB 3600MHz
Video Card(s) Asus DirectCUII GTX 980 STRIX
Storage Samsung 960 EVO m.2, Samsung 850 EVO 1TB SSD, 2TB backup, 16TB Synology DS1515+ RAID-5
Display(s) Acer Predator 34" 3440x1440 OC'd to 100MHz
Case Corsair 570x RBG Tempered Glass
Audio Device(s) Onboard / Corsair Void Wireless RGB
Power Supply Corsair HX750w Professional Series
Mouse Logitech G602s
Keyboard Corsair K70 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 x64 Professional
Benchmark Scores Firestrike - 11471 @4.9GHz 980 stock @1178 core 1753 memory 1279 boost Unigine Heaven - 1824
#23

Wile E

Power User
Joined
Oct 1, 2006
Messages
24,318 (5.89/day)
Likes
3,682
System Name The ClusterF**k
Processor 980X @ 4Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD5 BIOS F12
Cooling MCR-320, DDC-1 pump w/Bitspower res top (1/2" fittings), Koolance CPU-360
Memory 3x2GB Mushkin Redlines 1600Mhz 6-8-6-24 1T
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 580
Storage Corsair Neutron GTX 240GB, 2xSeagate 320GB RAID0; 2xSeagate 3TB; 2xSamsung 2TB; Samsung 1.5TB
Display(s) HP LP2475w 24" 1920x1200 IPS
Case Technofront Bench Station
Audio Device(s) Auzentech X-Fi Forte into Onkyo SR606 and Polk TSi200's + RM6750
Power Supply ENERMAX Galaxy EVO EGX1250EWT 1250W
Software Win7 Ultimate N x64, OSX 10.8.4
#25
Excuse me?? I didn't personally attack anybody. Your post is the perfect example of a starting a flame war. The button layout is terrible on the 360. I get in first place almost every game, but that doesn't mean that I can't think the controls are trash.

Epic tried to make the game 'Sandbox friendly' by not using a lot of buttons. It turns out to be extremely frustrating, and I haven't read a review that didn't mention the terrible control scheme. I'm not a CoD fanboy - but I will say that Infinity Ward mastered FPS controls w/consoles on CoD2. Gears of War butchered.
I get along fine with the GoW controls. The only thing that bothers me in the slightest is run being grouped on the button. Run definitely should've been by itself, but once you get used to it, and plan for it's behavior, it doesn't really pose any problems. Thus, it's only a minor complaint for me. But still, hopefully you can assign run it's own button on the PC version.