1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

GECUBE Warranty

Discussion in 'AMD / ATI' started by Pinchy, Jul 13, 2009.

  1. Pinchy New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2006
    Messages:
    5,105 (1.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    284
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    I got a dead 4870 that I am trying to RMA with gecube. I got all the supporting docs with it.

    Now I have emailed them multiple times and had no response at all.

    Any suggestions? Anyone had to deal with them before?
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  2. cdawall

    cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    26,319 (6.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,325
    Location:
    Houston
    call them?
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  3. Pinchy New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2006
    Messages:
    5,105 (1.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    284
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    No number in my region :\

    I might have to call their US support or something
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  4. boomstik360

    boomstik360

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2009
    Messages:
    2,250 (0.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    438
    Try that
     
  5. HossHuge

    HossHuge

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2008
    Messages:
    2,300 (0.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    949
    Location:
    EDM, AB, CAN
    This is from their warranty statement.
     
  6. 1Kurgan1

    1Kurgan1 The Knife in your Back

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2008
    Messages:
    10,412 (3.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,410
    Location:
    Duluth, Minnesota
    I don't think he is looking for an extension of warranty, just looking to do something with his dead card that is still covered under warranty.
     
  7. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    46,037 (9.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,694
    Location:
    Australalalalalaia.
    i beleive his point was taht you cant go direct to them, like the assholes known as logitech here in australia. you HAVE to return it to where you bought it - if that store closed down, you're in the shit.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  8. HossHuge

    HossHuge

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2008
    Messages:
    2,300 (0.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    949
    Location:
    EDM, AB, CAN
    Oops, I was reading it in a different way. Brainfart by me.
     
  9. HossHuge

    HossHuge

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2008
    Messages:
    2,300 (0.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    949
    Location:
    EDM, AB, CAN
    I called their Taipei office # but nobody answered.
     
  10. Pinchy New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2006
    Messages:
    5,105 (1.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    284
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    I was gonna say...the store is no longer open. So I just can't go to them.

    I know Sapphire had the same kind of policy, but when I emailed them and spoke to their reps, they said it was fine as long as I had the receipt and all that and I was willing to send to HK. Did all of it and got a new card. **And I got the Sapphire card on ebay**
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  11. a_ump

    a_ump

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2007
    Messages:
    3,684 (1.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    402
    Location:
    Smithfield, WV
    so wait? this was with a previous card you owned by sapphire, or you did this with yoru gecube card??? lol that's crazy if they accepted the card.
     
  12. Pinchy New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2006
    Messages:
    5,105 (1.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    284
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    Na completely different cards, its just sapphire have the same policy as gecube (return only to the reseller and not straight to them). But they still accepted my card. (Was just making a comparison)
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  13. boomstik360

    boomstik360

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2009
    Messages:
    2,250 (0.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    438
    Wait sapphire doesn't do RMAs? I am confused?
     
  14. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    46,037 (9.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,694
    Location:
    Australalalalalaia.
    in many countries, many shit companies wont let you return direct to them. it HAS to be through the store you bought it from.

    I am raging on this, because i'm having this problem with logitech right now.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  15. Pinchy New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2006
    Messages:
    5,105 (1.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    284
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    Exactly...they don't do RMAs but I emailed them and told them that the ebay seller was out of business and I couldnt return to the ebay seller. They understood and after I filled out the RMA form they sent and attached my invoice, they RMAd it for me.

    It's just BS isnt it.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  16. Pinchy New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2006
    Messages:
    5,105 (1.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    284
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    Wow...tried emailing and calling them.........nothing. Emails wont respond or they bounce back (ALL of their email addresses) and phone lines say they have been disconnected....

    Is this legal?
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  17. Flyordie

    Flyordie New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2008
    Messages:
    1,870 (0.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    247
    I tried RMA'n my 2600XT... reported GeCube to the BBB about it.
     
  18. Pinchy New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2006
    Messages:
    5,105 (1.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    284
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    You end up getting into communication with them?
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  19. Flyordie

    Flyordie New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2008
    Messages:
    1,870 (0.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    247
    Nothing... no response.. Its been 9 days...
     
  20. Pinchy New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2006
    Messages:
    5,105 (1.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    284
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    Im going to AMD/ATI with this one. See what they say.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  21. overclocking101

    overclocking101

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2009
    Messages:
    2,998 (0.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    465
    Location:
    vermont
    Fuck yea! Down with gecube they are a joke even in the u.s.!
     
  22. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    46,037 (9.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,694
    Location:
    Australalalalalaia.
    watch the language, please.

    While many posts here are anti-gecube, at least many are related to the topic of the warranty. messages with no purpose are going offtopic.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  23. DanishDevil

    DanishDevil

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2005
    Messages:
    10,241 (2.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,166
    Location:
    Granite Bay, CA
    I think the US government is paying companies to not accept RMA's to force all outsiders into the US so we can make more tax monies :p

    BBB won't do anything to help you guys out? If it's totally wrong of an idea, excuse my ignorance.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  24. overclocking101

    overclocking101

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2009
    Messages:
    2,998 (0.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    465
    Location:
    vermont
    sorry This is just something I'm very passionate about as GEcube has messed me over when the HD3XXX series came out. but at least they had the decency to answer tho phone then. wont happen again
     
  25. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    46,037 (9.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,694
    Location:
    Australalalalalaia.
    try dealing with logitech australia. Answering the phone to be told "sorry, we dont deal with customer support, warranty claims, replacement parts, or just about anything except to tell you we cant help you"
     
    10 Year Member at TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)