• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

GeCube X1900XT to X1900XTX question

MrWise

New Member
Joined
Feb 25, 2006
Messages
4 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#1
Everything I've read about the X1900XT have always had another
brand... sapphire, asus, powercolor, e.t.c.

Are the BIOS'es specific to the cards make?
If so, whould I need a GeCube X1900XTX bios to flash it up?
and if so, anyone got a GeCube Radeon X1900XTX bios around? ^_^


And one more question... if/when I flash my XT to XTX, can I/should I/do I (have to) change
the clock frequencies to match (manually)? And will the cooling that comes with it be able to
handle that change or do I need to poke another fan in there?

thx in advance.
 

MrWise

New Member
Joined
Feb 25, 2006
Messages
4 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#2
Well, I got some answers... on IRC and stuff...

Still looking for an X1900XTX bios from the make GeCube (unless what they said was BS and I dont have to find/use the bios from the specific make :)
 
D

Dynamic

Guest
#3
Have you considered taking the HS off the card to see how fast is your memory? I have already pulled mine off which indicates the 1.1ns memory rated at 900MHz (1.8GHz). I've been meaning to flash my Sapphire X1900XT to the XTX as well. Just to be on the safe side i'm going to use the Sapphire X1900XTX bios for flashing. Good Luck!
 

MrWise

New Member
Joined
Feb 25, 2006
Messages
4 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#4
Dynamic said:
Have you considered taking the HS off the card to see how fast is your memory? I have already pulled mine off which indicates the 1.1ns memory rated at 900MHz (1.8GHz). I've been meaning to flash my Sapphire X1900XT to the XTX as well. Just to be on the safe side i'm going to use the Sapphire X1900XTX bios for flashing. Good Luck!
The card is on its way atm... although I could quote a website saying "1,45 GHz (1450 Mhz)" and I've heard all x1900xt's out atm has 1.1ns

--------------------------------------

Come on, someone out there has to have a GeCube X1900XTX and wants to share his bios :p
 
Last edited:

zOaib

New Member
Joined
Sep 23, 2005
Messages
977 (0.22/day)
Likes
32
Location
FL
System Name BabaJinn's U.F.O
Processor Intel Core i7 975 Extreme @ 3.8 ghz (for now)
Motherboard Asus Rampage Xtreme II X58
Cooling ZALMAN 9900 CPU COOLER Led
Memory 12GB Crucial Ballistix Tracers (Blue Led) 1600 DDR3
Video Card(s) MSI NVIDIA GTX 480 1.5 GB DDR5 384-BIT
Storage 2 x WD Velociraptor 10k rpm 300GB sata + 2x 500GB WD Caviar Sata + 320 GB Seagate Barracuda Sata
Display(s) DELL U2711 27inch Goodness @ 2560 x 1440
Case Mountain-Mods U2-UFO Custom Case (Made in USA)
Audio Device(s) Supreme FX X-Fi MB (Creative)
Power Supply ZALMAN 1000W PSU MODULAR
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit (Retail Version)
#5
MrWise said:
The card is on its way atm... although I could quote a website saying "1,45 GHz (1450 Mhz)" and I've heard all x1900xt's out atm has 1.1ns

--------------------------------------

Come on, someone out there has to have a GeCube X1900XTX and wants to share his bios :p
i jsut cant understand why would u wanna flash a xtx bios to it , if it has the 1.1ns mem u can easily overclock the sucker pretty good , i got a sapphire x1900xt and to be honest i really dont need an xtx biso to run it at thsoe speeds , i can understand the joy of doing it , but really games out right now are easily handled by these cards very well on stock speeds , JMO ! ;)
 

infrared

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
May 28, 2005
Messages
4,291 (0.93/day)
Likes
1,926
Location
Southampton, UK
System Name Raisin
Processor Ryzen 7 1800X 4.1GHz @ 1.425V
Motherboard Asus Crosshair VI Hero
Cooling 2x240mm rads, EKWB pump/res and GPU block. XSPC Raystorm pro CPU block (lapped)
Memory G.Skill TridentZ DDR4-4266 16GB @ 3466MHz CL14 1T
Video Card(s) EVGA 1080Ti FE. Hard modded to increase tdp limit.
Storage Samsung 960 Evo 500GB + Corsair 120GB ssd (linux)
Display(s) Asus ROG Swift PG278QR 165hz 1440P
Case Phanteks Enthoo Pro
Power Supply EVGA Supernova 750W G3
Mouse Logitech G602
Keyboard Cherry MX Board 6.0
Software Win 10 & Linux Mint 18.3
#6
I suppose it's mostly for bragging rights, since the card will then be an 'xtx', since the physical components of the card are identicle. YOur right though, there would be no performance increase, since memory timings and drivers used would all be the same.

If it can be done easily without side effects, i think it's a good idea! :D
 

MrWise

New Member
Joined
Feb 25, 2006
Messages
4 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#7
infrared said:
I suppose it's mostly for bragging rights, since the card will then be an 'xtx', since the physical components of the card are identicle. YOur right though, there would be no performance increase, since memory timings and drivers used would all be the same.

If it can be done easily without side effects, i think it's a good idea! :D
Whouldnt I be able to OC the card to the same clock frequencie as the XTX card with the same memory timings with atleast a chance that it will stay stable? Read something about it, that the only difference whould be that I own a slightly lower quality core but have all the benifits of the xtX
 

infrared

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
May 28, 2005
Messages
4,291 (0.93/day)
Likes
1,926
Location
Southampton, UK
System Name Raisin
Processor Ryzen 7 1800X 4.1GHz @ 1.425V
Motherboard Asus Crosshair VI Hero
Cooling 2x240mm rads, EKWB pump/res and GPU block. XSPC Raystorm pro CPU block (lapped)
Memory G.Skill TridentZ DDR4-4266 16GB @ 3466MHz CL14 1T
Video Card(s) EVGA 1080Ti FE. Hard modded to increase tdp limit.
Storage Samsung 960 Evo 500GB + Corsair 120GB ssd (linux)
Display(s) Asus ROG Swift PG278QR 165hz 1440P
Case Phanteks Enthoo Pro
Power Supply EVGA Supernova 750W G3
Mouse Logitech G602
Keyboard Cherry MX Board 6.0
Software Win 10 & Linux Mint 18.3
#8
the cores used in the xtx are litterally identicle to the xt, I'm pretty sure there's no difference in quality, so you should be able to reach the same clock speeds. I'm not too sure the memory timings on the two cards are different, but if they are, try changing them to those used by the xtx, and see how far it then overclocks on the memory. If it can handle the speeds though, it's a lot easier to modify the bios, or flash an xtx bios to make the changes permenant (you can still flash back to the original)
 

putergod

New Member
Joined
Nov 13, 2005
Messages
8 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
Location
Warner Robins, GA
Processor AMD Athlon 64 4400+ X2
Motherboard A8R32-MVP Deluxe
Cooling 5x 80mm Vantec Tornado, Scythe Infinity CPU Cooler, Generic 80mm fan
Memory 3GB Patriot 2-3-2-5 1T DDR400
Video Card(s) ATi X1900XTX, ATi X1900 Crossfire Edition
Storage 4x Seagate 80GB SATA II in RAID 0, 1x WD 200GB EIDE
Display(s) Acer 24" Widescreen 1000:1 Contrast Ratio, 500 CD/M^2 Brightness, 1920x1200 Resolution
Case Kingwin Aluminum with windows (Lian Li clone), 4x5.25, 3x3.5 ext, 6x3.5 int
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Enermax 1KW Galaxy
Software Windows XP Pro, Everquest 2
#9
You don't need a GeCube BIOS. Had I seen this earlier, I would have give you mine. I have a GeCube X1900XTX and have flashed it with Sapphire, Powercolor, and ATI (made by) and have all had the exact same results. The actual BIOS's seem to be the exact same.
 
Joined
Dec 18, 2005
Messages
6,100 (1.38/day)
Likes
881
System Name money pit..
Processor Intel 7700K at 4800 mhz.. vcore 1.280 volts..
Motherboard Asus rog Strix Z279F Gaming
Cooling Dark Rock TF air cooler.. Stock vga air coolers with case side fans to help cooling..
Memory 32 gb corsair vengeance 3200
Video Card(s) Palit Super Jetstream 1070 x 2..
Storage Three.. all solid state 128 Transend.. 1 T Sandisk.. 1 T Transend.. plus USB external..
Display(s) 27" Asus PG279Q ROG Swift 165Hrz Nvidia G-Sync, IPS.. 2560x1440..
Case Gigabyte mid-tower.. cheap and not really big enough for what is inside..
Audio Device(s) USB Sound blaster Roar 2 all in one unit with bluetooth
Power Supply EVGA 850 watt..
Mouse Logitech G700s
Keyboard Logitech K270
Software Win 10 pro..
Benchmark Scores 3Dmark Firestrike Ultra 8542.. Timespy 10508.. everyday settings..
#10
"the cores used in the xtx are litterally identicle to the xt, I'm pretty sure there's no difference in quality"

that is something u dont know for sure.. some speed binning (cherry picking) might/should be going on..

i decided with the x1900 card being near the edge so to speak there probably is.. which is why i broke my own rules and forked out the extra fifty quid for the "possibly" cherry picked xtx version..

when ati and nvidia are trying so hard to out do each other.. their flagship cards can (should) be cherry picked and it can make the difference tween winning the performance crown and losing it..

soooo i recon the xtx on average will clock higher than the xt.. it makes sense..

its a numbers thing.. far more xt cards are gonna get sold than xtx.. the best of the crop should be reserved for the flagship crown winning xtx card.. the rest they are okay for the xt card.. that aint the one that has to win the crown..

i recon real flagship over-priced small quantity products are cherry picked.. the rest is just sales bullshit and marketing stuff..

trog
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jan 14, 2006
Messages
84 (0.02/day)
Likes
0
Processor 3700+ sandiego
Motherboard asus A8N-E
Cooling Artic cooling - Freezer 64 pro
Memory ddr400 ocz 2x1gb at 2-3-2-5
Video Card(s) EVGA 8800GTS 640mb
Storage maxtor 250gb PATA drive with 16mb cache
Display(s) samsung 17inch crt monitor
Case aspire X-Superalien case with 6 blue led fans
Audio Device(s) soundblaster x-fi xtreme music
Power Supply antec Truepowa Trio 650W
Software win xp home sp2
#11
ya i figured the same that the xtx would use the best chips and thus probably be able to oc just a bit more thats why i got a saphire x1900xtx myself :toast: it does make sence when u think about it.