1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Geforce 6600gt

Discussion in 'Graphics Cards' started by stupidbiznitch9, Dec 24, 2006.

  1. stupidbiznitch9 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2006
    Messages:
    245 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Is this a decent card????
    it has 256mb of mem and is in PCI-e
     
  2. Athlon2K15

    Athlon2K15 HyperVtX™

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2006
    Messages:
    7,761 (2.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,289
    Location:
    O-H-I-O
    depends what you compare it to? and what games you want to play
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  3. stupidbiznitch9 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2006
    Messages:
    245 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    if i were to buy a new one, should i go with a x1600pro or a 7600?
     
  4. Athlon2K15

    Athlon2K15 HyperVtX™

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2006
    Messages:
    7,761 (2.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,289
    Location:
    O-H-I-O
    GS or GT? either way the 7600 pwns
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  5. stupidbiznitch9 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2006
    Messages:
    245 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    the GS is in the same price range......
     
  6. stupidbiznitch9 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2006
    Messages:
    245 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    or would a x850pro be the best....
     
  7. Athlon2K15

    Athlon2K15 HyperVtX™

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2006
    Messages:
    7,761 (2.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,289
    Location:
    O-H-I-O
    for the x850 it depends on the games you play....if you play games that require PS3 and VS3 then dont get it
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  8. AshenSugar

    AshenSugar New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2006
    Messages:
    1,998 (0.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    ashentech.com
    i havent seen any games that requier ps3 yet, and HDR on the 6600/6800 cards sucks, kills performance.

    but honestly if its pci-e and u need ps3 support x1300xt is a good choice its a renamed x1650pro(12 pipes and such) and runs like 80bucks
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  9. Athlon2K15

    Athlon2K15 HyperVtX™

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2006
    Messages:
    7,761 (2.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,289
    Location:
    O-H-I-O
    Splinter Cell requires PS3
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  10. stevorob

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2006
    Messages:
    985 (0.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    274
    Location:
    Charlotte NC
    The x1300 is not a good card...

    And 1300's are getting renamed to 1550, not 1650
     
    10 Year Member at TPU Crunching for Team TPU
  11. DOM

    DOM

    Joined:
    May 30, 2006
    Messages:
    7,562 (1.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    829
    Location:
    TX, USA
    i think he's saying there like the 1650

    cuz when are they going to start with DX10 games ?
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  12. stevorob

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2006
    Messages:
    985 (0.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    274
    Location:
    Charlotte NC
    Well, I don't think we'll be seeing dx10 games for a while.

    And I still don't think the x1300 comes anywhere close to the 1650 in performance. Even as bad as the 1650 is, 1300 is still way worse.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU Crunching for Team TPU
  13. AshenSugar

    AshenSugar New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2006
    Messages:
    1,998 (0.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    ashentech.com
    check the tpu review of the 1300xt, its a renamed 1600pro u noob!!!!

    and funny, i played splinter cell on my x800xt pe the other day.....very strange.

    the x1300xt is just a renamed x1600pro, the x1300/pro are 4 pipe cards and very slow, but the XT is not
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  14. DOM

    DOM

    Joined:
    May 30, 2006
    Messages:
    7,562 (1.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    829
    Location:
    TX, USA
  15. DOM

    DOM

    Joined:
    May 30, 2006
    Messages:
    7,562 (1.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    829
    Location:
    TX, USA
    so if i get a 1950pro 512 well that last me how long ? or are there other one that well do good for less ?
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  16. AshenSugar

    AshenSugar New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2006
    Messages:
    1,998 (0.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    ashentech.com
    that enought to prove to you that your wrong?
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  17. AshenSugar

    AshenSugar New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2006
    Messages:
    1,998 (0.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    ashentech.com
    512 on a card in this class is pointless they cant take proper advantage of it, its like a 256mb 9600 card, the card just cant take advantage of the extra ram.

    the x1300xt is basickly the same card, your better off gettin that for 80bukcs then the x1650pro!!
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  18. stevorob

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2006
    Messages:
    985 (0.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    274
    Location:
    Charlotte NC
    You could have posted just the link...

    Anyways, it was a reading mistake. I thought you meant the crappy x1300 that has like 4 pixel pipes and slow clock speeds, not the 1300XT.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU Crunching for Team TPU
  19. DOM

    DOM

    Joined:
    May 30, 2006
    Messages:
    7,562 (1.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    829
    Location:
    TX, USA
    :laugh: im not the one that was asking about thoses cards

    cuz the card in my Dell x300 se it not working and i was thinking of getting a new card for my rig in my specs so i can leave this one in the comp for my girl but thats why i rather have a 512 cuz i dont want to have to get another one any time soon
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  20. AshenSugar

    AshenSugar New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2006
    Messages:
    1,998 (0.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    ashentech.com
    like i said, 512 is pointless on a card thats in this class, the chip cant take full advantage of more then 256mb, 128bit dosnt give it the bandwith to do so.
    my advice if you want something thats gonna last a long time, get an x1900gt for 150bucks!!!

    and yes i could have used links BUT nobody ever bothers to click them then they do what you did, they assume, dispite the fact that i said "x1300xt".

    this way they dont gotta go and do the very difficult tast of clicking a link they can just read the quotes from wiz here
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  21. stevorob

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2006
    Messages:
    985 (0.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    274
    Location:
    Charlotte NC
    Dude, i missed the "XT" part on your post. I said that in my last post. You act like I ignored the fact that you said "XT".

    Either way, I am agreeing with the fact that you said the x1300xt IS the x1650 pro or whatever. It was a mistake on my end.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU Crunching for Team TPU
  22. AshenSugar

    AshenSugar New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2006
    Messages:
    1,998 (0.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    ashentech.com
    well people who cant read just get on my nerves specly when they correct me with FUD that came from their lack of proper reading of what i said.

    your forgiven :p

    and the cards are basickly the same exect thing, diffrance is clocks and hell throw on a vf700 cooler and u should beable to overclock the piss out of the dam thing no problem(the vf900 allows huge overclocks on my x1900xt)
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  23. Athlon2K15

    Athlon2K15 HyperVtX™

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2006
    Messages:
    7,761 (2.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,289
    Location:
    O-H-I-O
    i dont understand what this is all about...both of those cards are doorstops so quit fighting like little kids:slap:
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  24. stevorob

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2006
    Messages:
    985 (0.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    274
    Location:
    Charlotte NC
    I'm not fighting. :)
     
    10 Year Member at TPU Crunching for Team TPU
  25. AshenSugar

    AshenSugar New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2006
    Messages:
    1,998 (0.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    ashentech.com
    Athlonx2, in the 80$ price range the x1300xt isnt a bad deal, to somebody like me with a 1600x1200 res screen they would be a doorstop but for an avrage low res gamer they would be fine!!!
     
    10 Year Member at TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)