• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

GeForce 8800GTS terrible performance?

Joined
Oct 30, 2006
Messages
2,596 (0.64/day)
Likes
106
Location
Republic Of Ireland
Processor Intel i5 4670k 4.0Ghz
Motherboard MSI Z97 PC MATE
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance Pro DDR3 2400mhz
Video Card(s) XFX R9 Nano @1050Mhz
Storage Samsung Evo 840 250GB SSD + Seagate 500GB\8Gb 5400rpm SSHD\64Gb Lexar P20 USB 3.0 Drive
Display(s) Samsung 27" s27d390h + 15.6" 1080p Matte 95% Color Gamut
Case Aerocool GT-A
Audio Device(s) Beyerdynamic DT990-Pro 250 ohms Headphones\Edifier R1600TIII 2.0 Speakers\Creative Sound Blaster ZXR
Power Supply Antec High Current Gamer 620m
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD 8200Dpi
Keyboard Redragon Karura
Software Windows 10 64-bit
#1
Hey guys.

Ok um..I have bought the 8800GTS..with new PSU, OCZ 600WATT Game X Stream edition, and well..I tryed it out playing Medieval 2 Total war..I did not change any settings so I could see the performance increase.....and iam very dissappointed.
Before I got this card..I was using the X800GT 256mb, and was getting 22-25FPS average...with the GTS...iam only reaching 32-40FPS..not even double FPS increase??
Also..tryed oblivion...was getting average of 24-28FPS...now iam getting 33-40FPS...thats a terrible increase...fecking lag still!!!!

I have an AMD Athlon 64 3200+ 2.0GHz...I think thats the problem..but is it? ive the latest drivers also for the card..97.92 I beleave.
anyone have any ideas?? I downloaded the latest DirectX drivers also..made no difference.
 
Joined
May 30, 2006
Messages
7,626 (1.81/day)
Likes
855
Location
TX, USA
Processor Intel i7 4770K
Motherboard Asrock
Cooling Water
Memory Team Xtreem LV 16GB (2x8GB)
Video Card(s) EK Full WB HD7970
Display(s) CROSSOVER 27Q LED-P 27"
Case Danger Den Torture Rack
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply CORSAIR Professional Series Gold AX1200
Software W 10 Pro
#2
its your CPU

like with my 800XL OC with my P4 OC i only got like 5800-5900 in 3dmark05 and with C2D oc i got 7127

can you OC it ?
 

xman2007

New Member
Joined
Jan 25, 2006
Messages
633 (0.15/day)
Likes
4
Processor E4300@ 3.0ghz
Motherboard Asus P5B
Cooling Arctic freezer
Memory 2gb supertalent ddrII 1000 5.5.5.15
Video Card(s) Inno 3d 8800gts 320mb
Storage Seagate 320gb
Display(s) 19" widescreen tft 5ms
Case Antec 900
Audio Device(s) X-fi Xtreme Audio
Power Supply Hiper 430w 30a dual rails
Software Vista Ultimate
#3
i wouldnt say thats terrible but you probably are being held back by that 3200, tbh i would of upgraded my cpu/mobo + maybe ram before i got a high end card like that, you cant expect miracles with a 2ghz a64 especially not in a demanding game like oblivion:ohwell:

with a decent cpu that card should eat up oblivion :rockout:
 
Joined
Oct 30, 2006
Messages
2,596 (0.64/day)
Likes
106
Location
Republic Of Ireland
Processor Intel i5 4670k 4.0Ghz
Motherboard MSI Z97 PC MATE
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance Pro DDR3 2400mhz
Video Card(s) XFX R9 Nano @1050Mhz
Storage Samsung Evo 840 250GB SSD + Seagate 500GB\8Gb 5400rpm SSHD\64Gb Lexar P20 USB 3.0 Drive
Display(s) Samsung 27" s27d390h + 15.6" 1080p Matte 95% Color Gamut
Case Aerocool GT-A
Audio Device(s) Beyerdynamic DT990-Pro 250 ohms Headphones\Edifier R1600TIII 2.0 Speakers\Creative Sound Blaster ZXR
Power Supply Antec High Current Gamer 620m
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD 8200Dpi
Keyboard Redragon Karura
Software Windows 10 64-bit
#4
yep I can overclock it..but got no fancy cooling system or better fan for the CPU..only with the one it came with..dout its safe enough to do it :mad:
 

xman2007

New Member
Joined
Jan 25, 2006
Messages
633 (0.15/day)
Likes
4
Processor E4300@ 3.0ghz
Motherboard Asus P5B
Cooling Arctic freezer
Memory 2gb supertalent ddrII 1000 5.5.5.15
Video Card(s) Inno 3d 8800gts 320mb
Storage Seagate 320gb
Display(s) 19" widescreen tft 5ms
Case Antec 900
Audio Device(s) X-fi Xtreme Audio
Power Supply Hiper 430w 30a dual rails
Software Vista Ultimate
#5
maybe take it up a little bit to 2.1/2.2 and see what the load temps are like and go from there. :toast:

edit: you have a mediocre system with a high end graphics card in it, even with an oc, you will need to upgrade your cpu/ram at the very least to be able to take advantage of it unless you can get some insane oc's out of that cpu and ram
 

pt

not a suicide-bomber
Joined
Mar 11, 2006
Messages
8,956 (2.09/day)
Likes
167
Location
Portugal
Processor AMD Turion 64 X2 Mobile TL-60 (Trinidad)
Motherboard ASUS F3Ka (ATI RS690M)
Cooling stock
Memory Nanya 2x1GB ddr2 667@5-5-5-15-2T
Video Card(s) ATI Mobility Radeon HD2600 512MB DDR2@ 580mhz/486mhz
Storage 160GB on laptop+250GB external
Display(s) ASUS 15.4
Case Asus Laptop F3Ka chassis
Audio Device(s) on-board
Power Supply 1:30minutes battery
Software "genui xp", 'cause i hated vista
#6
get a better mem and cooler and overclock it to 2.8/2.9 and see your fps go up :D
 

HookeyStreet

Eat, sleep, game!
Joined
Aug 29, 2004
Messages
7,123 (1.47/day)
Likes
515
Location
Great Yarmouth, England
#7
Hey guys.

Ok um..I have bought the 8800GTS..with new PSU, OCZ 600WATT Game X Stream edition, and well..I tryed it out playing Medieval 2 Total war..I did not change any settings so I could see the performance increase.....and iam very dissappointed.
Before I got this card..I was using the X800GT 256mb, and was getting 22-25FPS average...with the GTS...iam only reaching 32-40FPS..not even double FPS increase??
Also..tryed oblivion...was getting average of 24-28FPS...now iam getting 33-40FPS...thats a terrible increase...fecking lag still!!!!

I have an AMD Athlon 64 3200+ 2.0GHz...I think thats the problem..but is it? ive the latest drivers also for the card..97.92 I beleave.
anyone have any ideas?? I downloaded the latest DirectX drivers also..made no difference.
LMFAO your trying to use that GFX card with that CPU!!!! Thats your problem :roll: Even a c2d E6300 bottlenecks a beastly card like that!!

Thats the trouble with PC's, once you upgrade one part you will probably have to upgrade the rest to keep your entire system at the same level ;)

ATM that card is a bit of a waste in your current rig m8 as the 8800GTS/GTX is very CPU dependent anyway :(
 
Joined
Oct 30, 2006
Messages
2,596 (0.64/day)
Likes
106
Location
Republic Of Ireland
Processor Intel i5 4670k 4.0Ghz
Motherboard MSI Z97 PC MATE
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance Pro DDR3 2400mhz
Video Card(s) XFX R9 Nano @1050Mhz
Storage Samsung Evo 840 250GB SSD + Seagate 500GB\8Gb 5400rpm SSHD\64Gb Lexar P20 USB 3.0 Drive
Display(s) Samsung 27" s27d390h + 15.6" 1080p Matte 95% Color Gamut
Case Aerocool GT-A
Audio Device(s) Beyerdynamic DT990-Pro 250 ohms Headphones\Edifier R1600TIII 2.0 Speakers\Creative Sound Blaster ZXR
Power Supply Antec High Current Gamer 620m
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD 8200Dpi
Keyboard Redragon Karura
Software Windows 10 64-bit
#8
darn it....ive had a guy look at a few things for meh...he beleaves its the actualy RAM thats the problem...its only DDR1 and its rather rubbish!
I will aim for a new mobo and CPU and DDR2 ram :)

oh yes..the future is bright:rockout:
 
Joined
Jan 19, 2007
Messages
3,376 (0.85/day)
Likes
161
Location
Athens , GREECE
System Name SECONDARY RIG / PRIMARY RIG / THIRD RIG
Processor i920@3.6GHz / i920@4GHz / AMD Phenom II 955
Motherboard Gigabyte EX58-UD4P / Gigabyte EX58-UD7 / ASRock 890GX3
Cooling CoolIT Domino ALC / Thermalright Silver Arrow / Thermalright VenomousX
Memory 12GB DDR3 @ 1800MHZ / 6GB DDR3 @ 2250MHZ / 4GB DDR3 @ 1600MHZ
Video Card(s) XFX ATI RADEON 5970 / GAINWARD NVIDIA GTX 580 / 2xGEFORCE GTX295
Storage 1550GB / 6TB SAS - SSD / 160GB SSD
Display(s) NEC 26WUXi2 / NEC 3090WQXi / SONY 55A2000 (1080P 55inch)
Case COOLER MASTER HAF 932 / COOLER MASTER ATCS 840 / ANTEC DARKFLEET DF85
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster X-Fi Xtreme Music / SoundBlaster X-Fi Fatal1ty Pro / Realtek Onboard
Power Supply CWT 1200W / Enermax Revolution 85+ 1250W / Ikonik Vulcan 1200W
Software Windows 7 x64 / Windows 7 x64 / Windows 7 x64
#9
First change the CPU and then get a card that wont be bottlenecked by that CPU...
 

xman2007

New Member
Joined
Jan 25, 2006
Messages
633 (0.15/day)
Likes
4
Processor E4300@ 3.0ghz
Motherboard Asus P5B
Cooling Arctic freezer
Memory 2gb supertalent ddrII 1000 5.5.5.15
Video Card(s) Inno 3d 8800gts 320mb
Storage Seagate 320gb
Display(s) 19" widescreen tft 5ms
Case Antec 900
Audio Device(s) X-fi Xtreme Audio
Power Supply Hiper 430w 30a dual rails
Software Vista Ultimate
#10
darn it....ive had a guy look at a few things for meh...he beleaves its the actualy RAM thats the problem...its only DDR1 and its rather rubbish!
I will aim for a new mobo and CPU and DDR2 ram :)

oh yes..the future is bright:rockout:
if you can afford that go ahead, if not a decent cpu and mobo will suffice, its nothing to do with your mem as timings make up for fsb on memory unless you get some good ddrII with good timings and high fsb
 

xman2007

New Member
Joined
Jan 25, 2006
Messages
633 (0.15/day)
Likes
4
Processor E4300@ 3.0ghz
Motherboard Asus P5B
Cooling Arctic freezer
Memory 2gb supertalent ddrII 1000 5.5.5.15
Video Card(s) Inno 3d 8800gts 320mb
Storage Seagate 320gb
Display(s) 19" widescreen tft 5ms
Case Antec 900
Audio Device(s) X-fi Xtreme Audio
Power Supply Hiper 430w 30a dual rails
Software Vista Ultimate
#11
First change the CPU and then get a card that wont be bottlenecked by that CPU...
hmmm contradict yourself there mate, change the cpu and then get a card that wont be bottlenecked by it?? why get a slower card first off, and how will it be bottlenecked by that cpu if he changes it ?

a good 939 4000+ or x2 4600+ will do
 

HookeyStreet

Eat, sleep, game!
Joined
Aug 29, 2004
Messages
7,123 (1.47/day)
Likes
515
Location
Great Yarmouth, England
#12
hmmm contradict yourself there mate, change the cpu and then get a card that wont be bottlenecked by it?? why get a slower card first off, and how will it be bottlenecked by that cpu if he changes it ?

a good 939 4000+ or x2 4600+ will do
I agree, that wouldhelp and he can keep his mobo & ram etc ;)
 
Joined
Oct 1, 2006
Messages
4,015 (0.98/day)
Likes
477
Location
Hong Kong
Processor AMD FX-8350 @4.8Ghz
Motherboard Asrock 990FX Extreme9
Cooling CoolerMaster Seidon 120XL
Memory A-RAM DDR3 2000
Video Card(s) PowerColor HD7970 3GB V3
Storage OCZ Vertex 3 120G + Max IOPS 120G + Seagate 7200.12 250GB *2 Raid 0 + Samsung HD103UJ 1TB *2 RAID 0
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster S24B370
Case SilverStone Raven RV01
Power Supply Corsair TX850W
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit
#14
Well hes obviously a n00b as its your CPU thats bottlenecking that video card!
Agree~:rockout:
The difference between DD1 and DDR2 is not that much, since DDR2 have higher latencies. :respect:

I guess I did the right choice to use a X1950Pro on my setup instead of bottlenecking some higher end cards.
 
Joined
Aug 19, 2006
Messages
124 (0.03/day)
Likes
12
Processor AMD Athlon 64 X2 Windsor @ 2.81 (Artic Cooling Freezer 64)
Motherboard ECS Black 780G
Cooling 4 case fans, AC 64 Pro on Proc.
Memory 2 GB Kingston Ram
Video Card(s) Diamond Radeon 3850 stock (OC 740/930)
Storage 250 GB Segate SATA 2, 160 Samsung
Display(s) BenQ T705 17", SynchMaster 19"
Case generic
Audio Device(s) Something that makes sounds...by IDT
Power Supply 550W Corsair
Software XP Pro
Benchmark Scores 13000 3DM05
#15
If you have decent air cooling, you can take that 3200+ up to 2.6 ghz no prob. That will help quite a bit. I'd imagine seeing your FPS go up noticably (5-15 ish? big range i know). Those 3200+'s are great OC'ers. Mine is at 2.6ghz on stock air, so you shouldn't have much of a problem.
 
Joined
Oct 30, 2006
Messages
2,596 (0.64/day)
Likes
106
Location
Republic Of Ireland
Processor Intel i5 4670k 4.0Ghz
Motherboard MSI Z97 PC MATE
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance Pro DDR3 2400mhz
Video Card(s) XFX R9 Nano @1050Mhz
Storage Samsung Evo 840 250GB SSD + Seagate 500GB\8Gb 5400rpm SSHD\64Gb Lexar P20 USB 3.0 Drive
Display(s) Samsung 27" s27d390h + 15.6" 1080p Matte 95% Color Gamut
Case Aerocool GT-A
Audio Device(s) Beyerdynamic DT990-Pro 250 ohms Headphones\Edifier R1600TIII 2.0 Speakers\Creative Sound Blaster ZXR
Power Supply Antec High Current Gamer 620m
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD 8200Dpi
Keyboard Redragon Karura
Software Windows 10 64-bit
#16
iam no expect with these cooling things...but the case I got...there is 3 fans in the case...one of them is pointing to the CPU..its right over it...wouldm that help it to cool down if I were to overclock it?
 
Joined
May 30, 2006
Messages
7,626 (1.81/day)
Likes
855
Location
TX, USA
Processor Intel i7 4770K
Motherboard Asrock
Cooling Water
Memory Team Xtreem LV 16GB (2x8GB)
Video Card(s) EK Full WB HD7970
Display(s) CROSSOVER 27Q LED-P 27"
Case Danger Den Torture Rack
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply CORSAIR Professional Series Gold AX1200
Software W 10 Pro
#17
iam no expect with these cooling things...but the case I got...there is 3 fans in the case...one of them is pointing to the CPU..its right over it...wouldm that help it to cool down if I were to overclock it?
well OC it and you'll find out :D

just start out small the if temps are good go higher

lol man its snowing alot over here :)
 
Joined
Oct 1, 2006
Messages
4,015 (0.98/day)
Likes
477
Location
Hong Kong
Processor AMD FX-8350 @4.8Ghz
Motherboard Asrock 990FX Extreme9
Cooling CoolerMaster Seidon 120XL
Memory A-RAM DDR3 2000
Video Card(s) PowerColor HD7970 3GB V3
Storage OCZ Vertex 3 120G + Max IOPS 120G + Seagate 7200.12 250GB *2 Raid 0 + Samsung HD103UJ 1TB *2 RAID 0
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster S24B370
Case SilverStone Raven RV01
Power Supply Corsair TX850W
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit
#18
Joined
Oct 30, 2006
Messages
2,596 (0.64/day)
Likes
106
Location
Republic Of Ireland
Processor Intel i5 4670k 4.0Ghz
Motherboard MSI Z97 PC MATE
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance Pro DDR3 2400mhz
Video Card(s) XFX R9 Nano @1050Mhz
Storage Samsung Evo 840 250GB SSD + Seagate 500GB\8Gb 5400rpm SSHD\64Gb Lexar P20 USB 3.0 Drive
Display(s) Samsung 27" s27d390h + 15.6" 1080p Matte 95% Color Gamut
Case Aerocool GT-A
Audio Device(s) Beyerdynamic DT990-Pro 250 ohms Headphones\Edifier R1600TIII 2.0 Speakers\Creative Sound Blaster ZXR
Power Supply Antec High Current Gamer 620m
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD 8200Dpi
Keyboard Redragon Karura
Software Windows 10 64-bit
#19
heh! make yourself a nice snow cooling system:rockout:
 
Joined
Oct 30, 2006
Messages
2,596 (0.64/day)
Likes
106
Location
Republic Of Ireland
Processor Intel i5 4670k 4.0Ghz
Motherboard MSI Z97 PC MATE
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance Pro DDR3 2400mhz
Video Card(s) XFX R9 Nano @1050Mhz
Storage Samsung Evo 840 250GB SSD + Seagate 500GB\8Gb 5400rpm SSHD\64Gb Lexar P20 USB 3.0 Drive
Display(s) Samsung 27" s27d390h + 15.6" 1080p Matte 95% Color Gamut
Case Aerocool GT-A
Audio Device(s) Beyerdynamic DT990-Pro 250 ohms Headphones\Edifier R1600TIII 2.0 Speakers\Creative Sound Blaster ZXR
Power Supply Antec High Current Gamer 620m
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD 8200Dpi
Keyboard Redragon Karura
Software Windows 10 64-bit
#20
woops...I forgot to mention...how do I check the temp of my CPU??? where do I go?? or what do I download!
 
Joined
May 30, 2006
Messages
7,626 (1.81/day)
Likes
855
Location
TX, USA
Processor Intel i7 4770K
Motherboard Asrock
Cooling Water
Memory Team Xtreem LV 16GB (2x8GB)
Video Card(s) EK Full WB HD7970
Display(s) CROSSOVER 27Q LED-P 27"
Case Danger Den Torture Rack
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply CORSAIR Professional Series Gold AX1200
Software W 10 Pro
#21
I never seen real snow in my life :p
i can take some pic if you want?

it kind of pissed off cuz it its fucking up the signal from the sat. :mad:

i got to watch my cartoons later:eek: :laugh:
 

xman2007

New Member
Joined
Jan 25, 2006
Messages
633 (0.15/day)
Likes
4
Processor E4300@ 3.0ghz
Motherboard Asus P5B
Cooling Arctic freezer
Memory 2gb supertalent ddrII 1000 5.5.5.15
Video Card(s) Inno 3d 8800gts 320mb
Storage Seagate 320gb
Display(s) 19" widescreen tft 5ms
Case Antec 900
Audio Device(s) X-fi Xtreme Audio
Power Supply Hiper 430w 30a dual rails
Software Vista Ultimate
#22
woops...I forgot to mention...how do I check the temp of my CPU??? where do I go?? or what do I download!
well you can check your temps in your bios although that will only be good for giving you idle temps, see if your mobo manufacturer has a windows utility for monitoring your temps. or there is motherboard monitor and sysoft sandra also gives you the current temp of your cpu but the latter isnt really made for testing temps at load.
 
Joined
Oct 1, 2006
Messages
4,015 (0.98/day)
Likes
477
Location
Hong Kong
Processor AMD FX-8350 @4.8Ghz
Motherboard Asrock 990FX Extreme9
Cooling CoolerMaster Seidon 120XL
Memory A-RAM DDR3 2000
Video Card(s) PowerColor HD7970 3GB V3
Storage OCZ Vertex 3 120G + Max IOPS 120G + Seagate 7200.12 250GB *2 Raid 0 + Samsung HD103UJ 1TB *2 RAID 0
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster S24B370
Case SilverStone Raven RV01
Power Supply Corsair TX850W
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit
#23
The coldest it ever get in Hong Kong is around 9C.
So HK never snow. :p

But for some weird reason, there was actually hailstones (is this how to spell? lol basically ice came down from the sky) few summers ago.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jan 19, 2007
Messages
3,376 (0.85/day)
Likes
161
Location
Athens , GREECE
System Name SECONDARY RIG / PRIMARY RIG / THIRD RIG
Processor i920@3.6GHz / i920@4GHz / AMD Phenom II 955
Motherboard Gigabyte EX58-UD4P / Gigabyte EX58-UD7 / ASRock 890GX3
Cooling CoolIT Domino ALC / Thermalright Silver Arrow / Thermalright VenomousX
Memory 12GB DDR3 @ 1800MHZ / 6GB DDR3 @ 2250MHZ / 4GB DDR3 @ 1600MHZ
Video Card(s) XFX ATI RADEON 5970 / GAINWARD NVIDIA GTX 580 / 2xGEFORCE GTX295
Storage 1550GB / 6TB SAS - SSD / 160GB SSD
Display(s) NEC 26WUXi2 / NEC 3090WQXi / SONY 55A2000 (1080P 55inch)
Case COOLER MASTER HAF 932 / COOLER MASTER ATCS 840 / ANTEC DARKFLEET DF85
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster X-Fi Xtreme Music / SoundBlaster X-Fi Fatal1ty Pro / Realtek Onboard
Power Supply CWT 1200W / Enermax Revolution 85+ 1250W / Ikonik Vulcan 1200W
Software Windows 7 x64 / Windows 7 x64 / Windows 7 x64
#24
hmmm contradict yourself there mate, change the cpu and then get a card that wont be bottlenecked by it?? why get a slower card first off, and how will it be bottlenecked by that cpu if he changes it ?

a good 939 4000+ or x2 4600+ will do


I said what people SHOULD do , wasnt refering to this exact case...
 

Wile E

Power User
Joined
Oct 1, 2006
Messages
24,318 (5.94/day)
Likes
3,682
System Name The ClusterF**k
Processor 980X @ 4Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD5 BIOS F12
Cooling MCR-320, DDC-1 pump w/Bitspower res top (1/2" fittings), Koolance CPU-360
Memory 3x2GB Mushkin Redlines 1600Mhz 6-8-6-24 1T
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 580
Storage Corsair Neutron GTX 240GB, 2xSeagate 320GB RAID0; 2xSeagate 3TB; 2xSamsung 2TB; Samsung 1.5TB
Display(s) HP LP2475w 24" 1920x1200 IPS
Case Technofront Bench Station
Audio Device(s) Auzentech X-Fi Forte into Onkyo SR606 and Polk TSi200's + RM6750
Power Supply ENERMAX Galaxy EVO EGX1250EWT 1250W
Software Win7 Ultimate N x64, OSX 10.8.4
#25
woops...I forgot to mention...how do I check the temp of my CPU??? where do I go?? or what do I download!
Coretemp always worked for me. Just google it.